DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 07/27/2027. Currently, claims 1-14 and 18-30 are pending in the application. Claims 9, 11-14 and 18-27 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU et al (CN 112331720 A). A machine English translation of LIU is provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 1, Figure 5 of LIU discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (100, page 2 of English translation of LIU);
a drain electrical contact (150) on the semiconductor substrate;
a source electrical contact (160) on the semiconductor substrate;
a barrier layer (140) over a channel region (130) of the semiconductor substrate between the drain electrical contact and the source electrical contact;
a gate layer (170) over the barrier layer, the gate layer including a first semiconductor portion (in contact with 231) and a second semiconductor portion (in contact with 232); and
a gate electrical contact (231+232, page 5 of English translate of LIU) contacting the gate layer, the gate electrical contact including a first metal portion (231) and a second metal portion (232), the first metal portion including a first metal layer contacting the gate layer and forming a first junction with the first semiconductor portion, the second metal portion (232) including a second metal layer over the first metal layer and extending through an opening in the first metal layer to contact the second semiconductor portion of the gate layer thereby forming a second junction with the second semiconductor portion, the first junction (schottky junction with 231) having a higher energy barrier height than the second junction (ohmic junction with 232).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first junction has a first energy barrier height, the second junction has a second energy barrier height, the first energy barrier height is at least 1.7 electron volt (eV), and the second energy barrier height is less than 1.7 eV (some of the material meets these limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: the first junction (with 231) is a Schottky junction; and the second junction (with 232) is an ohmic junction.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: the first junction (with 231) is a first Schottky junction; and the second junction is a second Schottky junction (considering 231 on both side of 232 and at an interface of 231 and 232 there would be a week schottky junction).
Regarding claim 5, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first metal portion includes a metal material different from a metal material of the second metal portion (list of the material in page 3 of English translation teaches that the schottky and ohmic metals are different).
Regarding claim 6, Figure 5 of LIU discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein the first metal portion and the second metal portion include at least one of: titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW), titanium nitride (TiN), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), tantalum nitride (TaN), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), gold (Au), aluminum (Al), titanium tungsten aluminum (TiWAl), or titanium aluminum nitride (TiAIN) (page 3 of English translation of LIU).
Regarding claim 8, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein: the first metal portion (231) is over a first surface of the gate layer (170) parallel with a surface of the barrier layer (140), the first metal portion being over the first semiconductor portion at the first surface; and the second metal portion (232) is over the first surface, the second metal portion contacting the second semiconductor portion at the first surface (at 231).
Regarding claim 10, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein: the second metal portion (232) is over the first surface (at 231) proximate the source electrical contact (160); and the source electrical contact (160) is notched on a side proximate to the gate layer (170) and in a channel length direction corresponding to where the second metal portion (232) contacts the first surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LIU et al (CN 112331720 A). A machine English translation of LIU is provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 5 of LIU (page 3 of English translation) discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first metal portion and the second metal portion includes a same metal material (Pd is common) but does not explicitly teach that the metal material including at least one of: titanium (Ti), titanium tungsten (TiW), titanium nitride (TiN), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), tantalum nitride (TaN), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), gold (Au), aluminum (Al), titanium tungsten aluminum (TiWAl), or titanium aluminum nitride (TiAIN).
However, the Examiner takes an official notice that metal materials as claimed above is very well known in pertinent prior arts.
Regarding claims 28-30, Figure 5 of LIU does not explicitly teach that the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a surface area of the first semiconductor portion and a surface area of the second semiconductor portion are selected to obtain a gate leakage below a threshold while obtaining at least one of a stabilized gate overdrive voltage or an increased drain current. Or
The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a surface area of the first semiconductor portion is at least ten times of a surface area of the second semiconductor portion. Or
The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second junction forms an ohmic resistor configured to bias the gate layer at a voltage that tracks a voltage applied to the gate electrical contact under both direct current (DC) and switching conditions.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to have an improved device manufactured less area and cost since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (1987).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims, filed on 07/27/2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813