Response to Amendment
This is a response to Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Election/Restriction Office Action filed by Applicant on 12/22/2025.
Claims 1-10 and 17-26 are still pending.
Claims 11-16 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-26 have been added.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. The Claims from Group II (Claims 11-16) have been cancelled by Applicant. It has been determined that newly added Claims 21-26 share the same device limitations as the claims of Group I.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 07/31/2023 is noted by the Examiner.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2023/0067209 (Hereinafter Chen) in view of Wang et al. US 2013/0147505 (Hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400), comprising:
a device under test (DUT) die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410);
a test point (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP) associated with the DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410), the test point electrically coupled to a trace (Figs. 4-7; metal traces; 226a) of the semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400) and associated with a first spacing characteristic (Figs. 4-7; [0036-0045]; testing points; TPP).
Chen does not specifically teach a testing paddle associated with the DUT die; and a land provided on a surface of the testing paddle, wherein the land is electrically coupled to the test point and associated with a second spacing characteristic that is larger than the first spacing characteristic.
However, Wang does teach a testing paddle (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30) associated with the DUT die (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing die; 100, 120); and a land (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) provided on a surface of the testing paddle (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30), wherein the land (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) is electrically coupled to the test point (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing units; 40) and associated with a second spacing characteristic (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) that is larger than the first spacing characteristic (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing apparatus of Chen by implementing the teachings of Wang regarding a testing paddle associated with the DUT die; and a land provided on a surface of the testing paddle, wherein the land is electrically coupled to the test point and associated with a second spacing characteristic that is larger than the first spacing characteristic; for the purpose of “testing integrated circuit devices formed on a semiconductor wafer” (See Wang; [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the first spacing characteristic is a first pitch between the test point and another test point associated with the DUT die (Figs. 4-7; [0036-0045]; testing points; TPP).
Chen does not specifically teach the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the land and another land provided on the surface of the testing paddle.
However, Wang does teach the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the land and another land provided on the surface of the testing paddle (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing apparatus of Chen by implementing the teachings of Wang regarding the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the land and another land provided on the surface of the testing paddle; for the purpose of “testing integrated circuit devices formed on a semiconductor wafer” (See Wang; [0001]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the second spacing characteristic is based, at least in part, on one or more dimensions of the land (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the DUT die is a first DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410) and wherein the semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400) further comprises a second DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410), wherein the testing paddle is provided between the first DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410) and the second DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 4, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the test point associated with the first DUT die is a first test point (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP) and wherein the land provided on the surface of the testing paddle is electrically coupled to a second test point associated with the second DUT die (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the test point (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing units; 40) is a die bond pad ([0025]; conductive bond pads).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Wang further teaches wherein a material of the testing paddle is selected from a group, comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) and a substrate (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; [0018]; probing pad; 30, PCB).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Chen further teaches further comprising a passive electronic component electrically coupled to the testing paddle ([0032-0035, 0043-0043; resistors, resistance).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the passive electronic component is a termination resistor ([0032-0035, 0043-0043; resistors, resistance).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the land is electrically coupled to the test point using a bond wire (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21; [0025]; conductive bond pads).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches a semiconductor package that may be used for device characterization (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400), the semiconductor package comprising:
a device under test (DUT) die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410);
a testing means (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP) associated with the DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410), the testing means electrically coupled to a communication means of the semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400) and associated with a first spacing characteristic (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP).
Chen does not specifically teach a testing surface means coupled to the DUT die, the testing surface means comprising a connection means electrically coupled to the testing means, the connection means having a second spacing characteristic that is greater than the first spacing characteristic.
However, Wang does teach a testing surface means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30) coupled to the DUT die (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing die; 100, 120), the testing surface means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30) comprising a connection means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) electrically coupled to the testing means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing units; 40), the connection means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) having a second spacing characteristic that is greater than the first spacing characteristic (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing apparatus of Chen by implementing the teachings of Wang regarding a testing surface means coupled to the DUT die, the testing surface means comprising a connection means electrically coupled to the testing means, the connection means having a second spacing characteristic that is greater than the first spacing characteristic; for the purpose of “testing integrated circuit devices formed on a semiconductor wafer” (See Wang; [0001]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 17, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the first spacing characteristic is a first pitch between the testing means and another testing means associated with the DUT die (Figs. 4-7; [0036-0045]; testing points; TPP).
Chen does not specifically teach the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the connection means and another connection means of the testing surface means.
However, Wang does teach the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the connection means and another connection means of the testing surface means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing apparatus of Chen by implementing the teachings of Wang regarding the second spacing characteristic is a second pitch between the connection means and another connection means of the testing surface means; for the purpose of “testing integrated circuit devices formed on a semiconductor wafer” (See Wang; [0001]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 17, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the second spacing characteristic is based, at least in part, on one or more dimensions of the connection means (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 17, wherein Wang further teaches wherein a material of the testing surface means is selected from a group, comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) and a substrate (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; [0018]; probing pad; 30, PCB).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches a semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400), comprising:
a device under test (DUT) die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410);
a test point (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP) provided on a surface of the DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410).
Chen does not specifically teach a testing paddle associated with the DUT die; and a land provided on a surface of the testing paddle and electrically coupled to the test point.
However, Wang does teach a testing paddle (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30) associated with the DUT die (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing die; 100, 120); and a land (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21) provided on a surface of the testing paddle (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing pad; 30) and electrically coupled to the test point (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing units; 40).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing apparatus of Chen by implementing the teachings of Wang regarding a testing paddle associated with the DUT die; and a land provided on a surface of the testing paddle and electrically coupled to the test point; for the purpose of “testing integrated circuit devices formed on a semiconductor wafer” (See Wang; [0001]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the test point (Figs. 4-7; testing points; TPP) is electrically coupled to a trace (Figs. 4-7; metal traces; 226a) of the semiconductor package (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor package; 400).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the land has a first set of dimensions and the test point has a second set of dimensions that are different from the first set of dimensions (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface, probing pad; 21, 30).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein Chen further teaches wherein the DUT die is a first DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410) and wherein the semiconductor package further comprises a second DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410), wherein the testing paddle is provided between the first DUT die and the second DUT die (Figs. 4-7; semiconductor dies; 410).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the test point (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; probing units; 40) is a bond pad ([0025]; conductive bond pads).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein Wang further teaches wherein the land is electrically coupled to the test point using a bond wire (Figs. 3-5, 7-12; top surface; 21; [0025]; conductive bond pads).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. US 2018/0299490 - A probe includes a beam and at least two tips.
Campell US 2022/0011361 - A method of securing a probe tip to a device under test (DUT), the method comprising: positioning the probe tip near a test point of the DUT, the probe tip comprising a connection point on a signal-path portion of the probe tip and an attachment tab, the connection point making an electrical connection with the test point of the DUT, the attachment tab extending away from the signal-path portion of the probe tip.
Hussain US 2002/0004339 - A system level test socket for testing semiconductor packages having non-pin grid array footprints. The test socket having solder pads positioned on the test socket to form electrical connections with corresponding leads on the bottom of the semiconductor package.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858