DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 05/05/2026 which has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 12 and 15 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (2010/0153563 A1) in view of Van Elburg et al (2010/0325275 A1), and further in view of Periyannan et al (2014/0267569 A1).
As per Claim 1, Ku teaches a method, comprising: determining whether a session initiation request, received at an on-premises telephony node, is associated with audio or video communication with an external station (Page 1, Paragraph [0014] – Page 2, Paragraph [0017]; Page 3, Paragraph [0037]), determining, a session type for a session based on whether the session initiation request is associated with the audio or video communication with the external station (Page 3, Paragraph [0037]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0014] and [0015], Ku describes an IP multimedia subsystem network [IMS] with a plurality of endpoint devices [personal computers, laptops and smartphones/personal digital assistants – PDAs], network elements [routers, gateways, proxy servers, firewall, switch, SIP servers, routers, etc.], access networks [LAN, WAN, 3rd Party Network, Internet])
(Note: In paragraph [0016], Ku describes the IMS core network and the elements within it. In paragraph [0017], Ku describes the S-CSCF as being responsible for user registration and providing various services [e.g. VoIP services] and is responsible for communication routing among other tasks. In paragraph [0037], Ku indicates that when a call is received the S-CSCF may determine the type of service associated with the call)
(Note: In paragraph [0037], Ku describes making a determination of call service type based on a value indicated in the Session Description Protocol [SDP] in the session request. Ku also describes how a SIP INVITE message has a SDP value which is processed by the S-CSCF. If the SDP value indicates that an IMS service [VoIP] is to be provided the session request is forwarded to the UE by the S-CSCF. If the SDP value indicates a service is to be provided over the circuit switched network the call is forwarded towards the circuit switched gateway [PSTN])
Ku does not teach the determining of a session type for a session is performed by the on-premises telephony node. However, Van Elburg teaches determining of a session type for a session is performed by the on-premises telephony node (Page 3, Paragraphs [0039], [0041] and [0045]).
(Note: In paragraph [0039], Van Elburg describes a procedure and system enable IMS services to be provided to user terminals located within a corporate network. In paragraph [0041], Van Elburg describes facilitating IMS services located behind an access point to the IMS. In paragraph [0045], Van Elburg describes computer program products loaded within an internal memory of a digital computer comprising software code for performing the steps of operating a S-CSCF)
(Note: Enterprises and corporate networks often desire to protect sensitive communications while having the most up to date telecommunications capabilities. Downloading a software-based S-CSCF [i.e. virtualized network function such as Dialogic ControlSwitch System] on a network element [See the teachings of Ku above] within an on-premises node allows for this)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Ku with the method taught by Van Elburg to leverage standardized software-based virtualized IMS components eliminating the need for expensive, vendor-specific proprietary equipment while providing the ability to quickly scale or reduce capacity based on real-time demand.
The combination of Ku and Van Elburg does not teach wherein the external station is not an on-premises station residing on one of one or multiple premises associated with an entity hosting the on-premises telephony node. However, Periyannan teaches wherein the external station is not an on-premises station residing on one of one or multiple premises associated with an entity hosting the on-premises telephony node (Page 1, Paragraph [0013] – Page 2, Paragraphs [0015] and [0017]; Page 9, Paragraphs [0083] and [0086]; Page 10, Paragraph [0092]).
(Note: In paragraph [0013], Periyannan describes a micro point of presence [POP] that is part of an enterprise network [i.e. an entity hosting an on-premises telephony node] capable of providing video conferencing services. Periyannan indicates the enterprise may be an organization, a corporation, a company, a customer, a user, a population of a city or a country, etc. In paragraph [0015], indicates the micro-POP may be tied to a Core media POP to form a globally distributed infrastructure to enable the provisioning of services throughout the world)
(Note: In paragraph [0017], Periyannan describes a process called chaining as handling media processing on a multiparty video conferencing using one or more micro-POPs for endpoints internal to devices associated with an enterprise network and media processing for endpoints external to the enterprise network [i.e. an external station not being an on-premises station residing on one of multiple premises associated with an entity hosting the on-premises telephony node]. In paragraph [0083], Periyannan also describes a plurality of endpoints associated with an enterprise network which may be in communication with external stations outside the enterprise network and unassociated with the enterprise)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Ku and Van Elburg with the method taught by Periyannan to enable conferencing participants to join from anywhere they are located which significantly reduces travel, lodging and logistical expenses while eliminating commuting time resulting in faster decision making and enhanced productivity.
The combination of Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan teaches wherein at least one of: the session type is determined to be a public switched telephone network (PSTN) session responsive to the session initiation request being associated with the audio or video communication with the external station, or the session type is determined to be a Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) session responsive to the session initiation request not being associated with the audio or video communication with the external station; and causing initiation of the session based on the determination of the session type as described above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Ku and Van Elburg with the method taught by Periyannan to enable conferencing participants to join from anywhere they are located which significantly reduces travel, lodging and logistical expenses while eliminating commuting time resulting in faster decision making and enhanced productivity.
As per Claim 8, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Ku also teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions (Page 5, Paragraphs [0057]); and a processor (Figure 4 – References 402; Page 5, Paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Ku and Van Elburg with the method and non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Periyannan to enable conferencing participants to join from anywhere they are located which significantly reduces travel, lodging and logistical expenses while eliminating commuting time resulting in faster decision making and enhanced productivity.
As per Claim 15, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Ku also teaches a system, comprising: a memory subsystem (Figure 4 – References 404; Page 5, Paragraph [0056]); and processing circuitry (Figure 4 – References 402; Page 5, Paragraph [0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system taught by Ku and Van Elburg with the method and system taught by Periyannan to enable conferencing participants to join from anywhere they are located which significantly reduces travel, lodging and logistical expenses while eliminating commuting time resulting in faster decision making and enhanced productivity.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 7, 9-11, 13, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (2010/0153563 A1) in view of Van Elburg et al (2010/0325275 A1), and further in view of Periyannan et al (2014/0267569 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Pearce (2014/0157338 A1).
As per Claims 2, 9 and 16, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan teaches the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system of Claims 1, 8 and 15; but does not teach responsive to the session initiation request being associated with the audio or video communication with the external station, transmitting, to an on-premises session border controller coupled with the on-premises telephony node, a signal to initiate the PSTN session with the external station for the audio communication.
However, Pearce teaches responsive to the session initiation request being associated with the audio or video communication with the external station, transmitting, to an on-premises session border controller coupled with the on-premises telephony node, a signal to initiate the PSTN session with the external station for the audio communication (Figure 1 – Reference 104; Page 1, Paragraphs [0013] and [0014]; Page 2, Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Pearce to ensure telecom providers are in compliance with legal requirements and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations utilize legacy networks that guarantee the continued availability of essential public services.
As per Claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg, Periyannan and Pearce teaches responsive to the session initiation request not being associated with the audio or video communication with the external station, initiating, by the on-premises telephony node, the VoIP session corresponding to the session initiation request. (Note: An external participant is shown in Figures 1 and 2 of Pearce [Reference 124]. As described above in Claim 1, Ku describes the establishment of a VoIP session in response to a session initiation request)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Pearce to ensure telecom providers are in compliance with legal requirements and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations utilize legacy networks that guarantee the continued availability of essential public services.
As per Claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg, Periyannan and Pearce teaches responsive to the session initiation request being associated with the video communication with the external station: using the PSTN session with the external station to process audio of the video communication; and causing transmission of imagery to or from the external station via a network different from that of the PSTN session as described in Claim 2.
(Note: In paragraph [0014], Pearce describes routing audio through the PSTN and not utilizing VoIP connections. In paragraph [0027], Pearce describes the shunting of audio and video. In paragraph [0017], Periyannan describes the process of chaining where some media processing for endpoints are handled using one or more micro points of presence [POP] for on-premises enterprise endpoints and some media processing being handled by core media POPs for endpoints external to the enterprise network [i.e. off-premises]. In paragraph [0017], Periyannan alsoindicates that audio-only stream may be sent to a micro-POP whereas video communications [i.e. imagery] may be sent to a Core Media POP)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Pearce to ensure telecom providers are in compliance with legal requirements and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations utilize legacy networks that guarantee the continued availability of essential public services.
As per Claims 6, 7 and 20, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg, Periyannan and Pearce teaches wherein the one or multiple premises comprise multiple premises; and wherein one or multiple premises comprise a single premise. (Note: The claims recite that one or more premises are associated with an entity hosting the on-premises telephony node)
(Note: In paragraph [0013], Periyannan indicates that an entity [i.e. enterprise] may be any of an organization, a corporation, a company, a customer, a user, a population of a city or a country, etc. In the event that the enterprise may be an organization it would be obvious for the one or multiple premises comprise multiple premises. In the event that the enterprise may be a customer or a user it would be obvious for the one or multiple premises comprise a single premises)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Pearce to ensure telecom providers are in compliance with legal requirements and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations utilize legacy networks that guarantee the continued availability of essential public services.
As per Claims 13 and 14, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg, Periyannan and Pearce teaches wherein the external station is not connected to a network of the one of the one or multiple premises associated with the entity hosting the on-premises telephony node; and wherein the one or more multiple premises comprise a single premises, wherein the external station is not connected to a network of the single premise as described in Claims 6, 7 and 20.
(Note: In paragraphs [0018], [0019] and [0043], Periyannan describes an enterprise making use of firewalls to secure enterprise networks as a security layer to keep out unwanted intruders. The use of a firewall to prevent external devices to connect to the enterprise network is taught and as such the recitations of the claim language are met by the combination of applied prior art)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Pearce to ensure telecom providers are in compliance with legal requirements and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations utilize legacy networks that guarantee the continued availability of essential public services.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU (2010/0153563 A1) in view of Van Elburg et al (2010/0325275 A1), and further in view of Periyannan et al (2014/0267569 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of ZEHAVI et al (2016/0191573 A1).
As per Claims 5, 12 and 19, the combination of Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan teaches the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system of Claims 1, 8 and 15; but does not teach storing, at an on-premises data repository coupled with an on-premises session border controller, a call detail record generated by the on-premises session border controller, the call detail record comprising representations of sessions having the session type of the PSTN session.
However, Zehavi teaches storing, at an on-premises data repository coupled with an on-premises session border controller, a call detail record generated by the on-premises session border controller, the call detail record comprising representations of sessions having the session type of the PSTN session (Figure 5 – Reference 512; Page 5, Paragraph [0056]; Page 7, Paragraphs [0073] and [0074]).
(Note: In paragraph [0056], Zehavi describes an outbound proxy server that includes a call detail record [CDR] generation unit responsible for producing call detail records. In paragraphs [0073] and [0074], Zehavi describes the function of an outbound proxy server and the role it plays in the establishing and recording of communications. Additionally, Zehavi indicates these functions may be performed by a Session Border Controller)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Ku, Van Elburg and Periyannan with the method, non-transitory computer readable medium and system taught by Zehavi to utilize the current state of a connection medium in conjunction with communication metadata to rapidly update session status information in an effort to provide accurate and far more reliable billing information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uzelac (2017/0346784 A1), Hockey et al (2017/0093929 A1), Benzaia et al (10,477,144 B2), Srinath et al (2020/0351265 A1), Richards et al (2017/0295208 A1), MEGHANI et al (2014/0269674 A1), Elad et al (2017/0195391 A1), Rao et al (9,736,194 B1), HODGE et al (2017/0331960 A1) and John Chuan et al (10,326,886 B1). Each of these describes systems and methods of implementing communication withing hybrid packet/circuit switched environments.
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693