DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 10, 11,16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. In claim 10, the limitation: “a further bond wire having a first end connected to one of a die attach pad and a tie bar,” is not shown. In claims 11,16, the limitation: “wherein one of the first and second bond wires overlies the other one of the first and second bond wires,” is not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10,11,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10,16, it is not clear on how the bond wire is connected to one of a die attach pad and a tie bar. It appears that wire is attached to one of the leads.
Regarding claim 11, it is not clear how the first and second bond wires overlies the other first and second bond wires because they are extending from the doe to the lead, rather than overlying each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,9,12,13,14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated over Truhitte US 2017/0133302.
Regarding claim 1, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device, comprising: a semiconductor die (124)[0004]; conductive leads (504,510)[0068] in first and second rows along respective opposite sides of a package structure (504, 510 are on both sides)(see FIG. 5f); a first bond wire( 546) having a first end connected to a first one of the conductive leads (504, 510) and a second end connected to the semiconductor die (124); and a second bond wire (wire 548)[0069] (connected to 510) having a first end connected to a second one of the conductive leads (510) and an unterminated second end exposed along a further side of the package structure.
Regarding claim 2, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device, having a small outline no-lead (SON) package [0071], wherein: the package structure has: opposite first and second sides (opposite side of 124); opposite third and fourth sides (lateral side of 124); and opposite fifth and sixth sides (thickness side of 124), the third and fourth sides being spaced apart from one another along a first direction, the fifth and sixth sides being spaced apart from one another along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (see 2a-7f), and the first and second sides being spaced apart from one another along a third direction that is orthogonal to the first and second directions; the first row of the conductive leads extends along the fifth side (see FIG. 5f); the second row of the conductive leads extends along the sixth side; and the unterminated second end of the second bond wire (wire 548 connected to 510) is exposed along one of the third and fourth sides of the package structure.
Regarding claim 9, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device comprising a further bond wire (wire 548 connected to 510 on the opposite side of 124) having a first end connected to one of the conductive end leads and an unterminated second end exposed along the further side of the package structure.
Regarding claim 12, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device, wherein: the first and second rows of the conductive leads (multiple 504 and 510 on each sides of 124) include conductive end leads at opposite ends of the respective row and a conductive intermediate lead between the conductive end leads of the respective row; and each of the conductive leads of the first and second rows has a plated surface [0076] exposed along the respective side of the package structure.
Regarding claim 13, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device, comprising: a small outline no-lead (SON) package [0072] having a molded (550)[0068] package structure and conductive leads with plated sidewalls [0076] exposed along opposite lateral sides of the package structure; a semiconductor die (124) at least partially enclosed by the molded package structure (mold 550 encapsulating the package); a first bond wire (546) enclosed by the molded package structure and connected between a first one of the conductive leads (504s positioned on multiple sides of 124) and the semiconductor die; and a second bond wire (548 connected to 510) having a first end and an unterminated second end exposed along a further side of the package structure.
Regarding claim 14, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device wherein: the conductive leads (504s, 510s positioned on multiple sides of 124) include conductive end leads at opposite respective ends of the respective lateral sides and a conductive intermediate lead (second 504) between the conductive end leads; and the first end of the second bond wire (546) is connected to one of the first and second conductive intermediate leads.
Regarding claim 15, Truhitte discloses and shows in FIG. 2a-7f, an electronic device, wherein: the conductive leads (504s, 510s) include conductive end leads at opposite respective ends of the respective lateral sides and a conductive intermediate lead (second 504) between the conductive end leads (510s); and the first end of the second bond wire (548) is connected to one of the conductive end leads (510s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813