Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on January 5, 2026. Claim(s) 1-2 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-2 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-2 filed on January 5, 2026.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 2 are sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims, as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections, which respectively indicated the claims as being anticipated by anticipated by Ganapathiappan (US PG Pub No. 20210205951) and Kojima (US PG Pub No. 20160133466) in view of Ganapathiappan.
Please see the new rejections set forth within the action.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-6, filed January 5, 2026 have been fully considered.
102 and 103 Rejections: The applicants remarks are found persuasive. The reference of Ganapathiappan fails to disclose or make obvious a loss tangent ranging from 0.1 to 0.25 at 30 °C. As such, the amended claims overcome the rejections presented in the previous action, and Ganapathiappan. However, upon further search and consideration, a new reference, Tsai (US PG Pub No. 20220119586) has been found to disclose polishing pad properties that fall within the claimed range. Please see the new rejections set forth within the present action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US PG Pub No. 20220119586).
In regards to claim 1, Tsai discloses
A polishing pad ([0033]: CMP polishing pad) for polishing a silicon carbide substrate, wherein the polishing pad ([0033]: CMP polishing pad)
contains polyurethane ([0025]: blocked polyurethane (ABPU) and abrasive grains ([0021]: fixed abrasive pad has abrasive particles held in a containment media) fixed by the polyurethane ([0003] These conventional polishing pads are typically prepared by molding, casting or sintering polyurethane materials) and
has a loss tangent of 0.1 to 0.25 at 30°C and a glass transition temperature of 40°C to 65°C (see annotated fig. 3B and table 1; resins with different ratios of certain components were tested, four of which having glass transition temperatures above 40°C to 65°C. Of the four resins, two of them had loss tangents between 0.1 and 0.25 at 30°C).
Examiner’s Note:
Pursuant of MPEP 2115, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69. As such, Tsai does not need to explicitly disclose “a silicon carbide” substrate, as its disclosure does present the structure and configuration capable of polishing a substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (US PG Pub No. 20160133466) in view of Tsai (US PG Pub No. 20220119586).
In regards to claim 2, Kojima discloses
a polishing method for polishing a silicon carbide substrate (Abstract), comprising:
Abstract: A method of polishing a SiC substrate by supplying a polishing liquid and bringing a polishing pad into contact with the SiC substrate is provided
a holding step ([0015]) of holding a workpiece having the silicon carbide substrate by
a chuck table (chuck table 4, fig. 1) of a polishing apparatus (polishing apparatus 2, fig. 1); and
[0015] First, the first polishing step is conducted in which the SiC substrate is polished by using the first polishing pad. FIG. 1 illustrates schematically the first polishing step. As shown in FIG. 1, a polishing apparatus 2 used in the present embodiment includes a chuck table 4 for holding a SiC substrate 11 by suction.
a polishing step of polishing the silicon carbide substrate by a disk-shaped polishing pad (polishing pad 18, fig. 1) while supplying polishing liquid (polishing liquid 15, fig. 1) from a through-hole (longitudinal hole 10a, fig. 1) of a polishing tool (first polishing unit 8, fig. 1) that has a disk-shaped base substrate (wheel base 16, fig. 1) and the polishing pad (polishing pad 18, fig. 1) and that is formed at a radially central part thereof with the through-hole penetrating the base substrate and the polishing pad,
[0017] … An upper end of the longitudinal hole 10a is connected with a supply source 20 for supplying a polishing liquid 15 through a piping or the like. In the supply source 20 is stored the polishing liquid 15 which contains a permanganate, inorganic salts having an oxidizing ability, and water. Here, the permanganate is an oxoacid salt of manganese, represented by potassium permanganate and sodium permanganate. The inorganic salts having an oxidizing ability are oxidizing solids (corresponding to category I of hazardous materials under Japanese Fire Service Law), such as chlorinates, sulfates, nitrates, and chromates. The polishing liquid 15 fed from the supply source 20 into the longitudinal hole 10a is supplied via an opening of the longitudinal hole 18a formed in the center of the lower surface of the first polishing pad 18 to an area of contact between the SiC substrate 11 and the first polishing pad 18.
[0018] While the chuck table 4 and the first spindle 10 kept rotated, the first polishing wheel 14 is lowered to bring the lower surface of the first polishing pad 18 into contact with the upper side of the SiC substrate 11 while supplying the polishing liquid 15, whereby the upper side of the SiC substrate 11 can be polished. The first polishing step is finished when the SiC substrate 11 has been polished to reach a preset arbitrary polishing amount.
the polishing pad containing polyurethane and abrasive grains fixed by the polyurethane,
[0016]:… The first polishing pad 18 is formed from a material obtained by mixing abrasive grains with a rigid polyurethane having a hardness of 40 to 80 as measured by a durometer type D (Shore D) as specified in ISO 7619. It is to be noted, however, that the first polishing pad 18 is not limited to this.
However, Kojima fails to explicitly disclose that the polishing pad has a loss tangent of 0.1 to 0.25 at 30°C and a glass transition temperature of 40°C to 65°C.
Tsai teaches several polishing pad resin compositions that meet the claimed requirements for loss tangent and glass transition temperature.
Kojima and Tsai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polyurethan polishing pads used for polishing substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kojima to incorporate the chemical compounds recited in Tsai necessary to yield a loss tangent between 0.1 and 0.25, and glass transition temperature between 40° C and 65° C, as Tsai discloses polishing pads of such chemical composition “[0051]: using a 50:50 ratio of the TBEMA capped prepolymer to the HEA capped prepolymer, showed a comparable removal rate(s).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723