DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 26 May 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 17-20 are currently pending and under examination.
Status of Rejections
Previous objections are herein withdrawn.
Previous rejections are herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s Amendment filed 26 May 2026.
Amended rejections in light of the previously applied art are applied with respect to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that Applicant’s amendment presented 26 May 2026 appears to not included amended limitations from the preliminary claim amendment filed 16 June 2025. The current claim amendment recites “a printhead formed by an application specific integrated circuit” as an underlined claim amendment, as a newly recited limitation. However, the claim amendment filed 16 June 2025 already recited “a printhead having an application specific integrated circuit”. Thus, the current claim amendment as filed does not include the amended claim limitations previously presented. In an effort for compact prosecution, the claim amendment currently pending includes similar language and structure to that previously presented, examination is not precluded and commenced herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 12-14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain et al (US 2022/0162765 A1) in view of Pain et al (US 10,465,307 B2 herein referred to as Pain ‘307) and Van Den Bossche et al (US 2011/0210005 A1).
As to claims 1 and 11, Pain discloses an additive manufacturing system for forming a part (Title/Abstract Fig. 2), the system comprising:
a controller for generating 2D pattern data for printing a part (#222);
a cathode (#220) adapted to be disposed in a solution contained within a reservoir ([0065]), the cathode configured for facilitating electrodeposition to form a part thereon ([0061];
a printhead (#200) formed by application specific integrated circuit comprises a complementary metal oxide silicon (CMOS) application specific integrated circuit. ([0126] “Typical materials used for insulating layers may include for example, without limitation, ceramics such as Silicon Nitride, Silicon Dioxide, Silicon Oxynitride…”, [0132], [0182] which disclose the buildup of silicon dioxide for the anode array thus disclosing the CMOS integrated circuit process) having an application specific integrated circuit (#202) including having a plurality of microanodes forming a microanode array (#201), and being in communication with the controller (See Fig .2); and
the printhead being disposed adjacent to the cathode and configured to receive and use the 2D pattern data to generate current signals applied to the microanodes to enable the microanodes to cause electrodeposition of conductive material, using the solution, on the cathode at a plurality of select locations on the cathode, in parallel (See Fig. 2, [0006], [0062]).
As to claim 2, Pain further discloses , wherein the plurality of microanodes of the printhead are arranged in an X/Y grid (See Fig. 2[0103] “Deposition elements of the printhead may be aligned with a two-dimensional grid. The grid may be partitioned along two axes (labeled as the x-axis and y-axis in FIG. 2) into grid regions.”).
Pain discloses a voltage measurement element ([0262]-[0263] “the ADC directly measures the voltage at the node through the connection.” ), and a microanode circuit having an input for receiving an current (via supply Fig. 41, and explicitly through the power supply shown in Fig. 1, 5, 15A [0143], 16A [0145]) and using multiplexing technology to address the anode array ([0145]),
Pain fails to explicitly disclose a digital to analog converter (DAC) or a current amplifier in communication with an output from a DAC and wherein the printhead comprises a demultiplexer configured to demultiplex the 2D pattern signals received from the controller, and applying the demultiplexed 2D pattern signals to the plurality of microanodes in parallel.
Van Den Bossche discloses an anode array (see Fig. 3A anodes 10) connected to an anode circuit (via traces #20) for receiving a current from an amplifier receiving a current from a DAC (Fig. 7 [0067]). Van Den Bossche discloses that each anode has its own DAC and amplifier which may be integrated into a printed circuit board connected to the conductive tracts ([0067] “The digital to analog converter 31 and the amplifiers 32 are preferably located on a common support such as, for example, a printed circuit board. The support is then electrically coupled to the tracks 20 of the printed circuit board 15 by means of a cable”). Van Den Bossche discloses using a multiplexing system to supply currents to each anode in parallel via computer control ([0068]).
Cited Pain ‘307 discloses using a parallel-in/serial out addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal (#57 col. 7 lines 47-52 thus interpreted to be a “demultiplexer”). Pan ‘307 discloses the addressing system comprising the demultiplexer is integrated onto circuit board 400 which is integrated into the anode array interface board 16 thus integrated with the printhead (col. 5 lines 7-21). Pain ‘307 discloses the demultiplexer demultiplexes the 2d pattern signal to create a demultiplexed 2d patter signals and apply the signals to the plurality of electrodes (“other addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal.” Col. 7 lines 48-50, col. 10 lines 10-14 as required by instant claim 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used specific DAC and amplifiers connected to the current lines as taught by Van Den Bossche for each anode of the anode array in Pain because the use of the conventional electronic components allows the individual control of current values at each anode in addition to the on/off via the transistors of Pain (Van Den Bossche [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the an explicit demultiplexer in the printhead as taught by Pain ‘307 with the printhead in Pain because it allows for the digital signal to be demultiplexed into the analog signal for each anode. (col. 7 lines 47-52 Pain ‘307). Furthermore, making structures integral to one another has been held to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice when constructing devices of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
As to claim 2, Pain further discloses , wherein the plurality of microanodes of the printhead are arranged in an X/Y grid (See Fig. 2[0103] “Deposition elements of the printhead may be aligned with a two-dimensional grid. The grid may be partitioned along two axes (labeled as the x-axis and y-axis in FIG. 2) into grid regions.”).
As to claim 3, Pain discloses grid regions that include deposition elements, i.e. anodes, which can be of any shape, size, or resolution ([0103]), an generic circular shaped anodes via the mask overlap ([0136] Fig. 10a/b), as well as disclosure of prior art anode array apparatuses in US PAT 10,465,307 ([0004]). Pain fails to explicitly disclose that microanode element is formed in a square shape.
Cited Pain ‘307 discloses that anodes in the anode array may be square shaped (claim 2, 5).
The prior art Pain discloses an additive manufacturing system which differs only based on the shape of the electrodes. Pain ‘307 discloses that square electrodes are a recognized shape for use in an anode array for additive manufacturing of 3d parts using electrodepostion from an anode array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a square shaped electrode as taught in Pain ‘307 for the explicit shape of the electrodes in Pain because such a modification amount to an obvious change in shape of anodes in an anode array suitable for carrying out additive manufacturing electrodeposition of three dimensional products absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the anode is significant. See MPEP 2143 B, 2144.07, and 2144.04 IV B.
As to claim 4, Pain further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of microanodes is separated from an adjacent one of the microanodes by a pitch of between 1 pm to 1000 pm.([0008]).
As to claim 5, Pain further discloses a motion control subsystem including at least one of a stepper motor, a piezoelectric motor or a linear actuator, and configured to control movement of at least one of the print head or the reservoir along at least an X axis and a Y axis. ([0097] “Position actuator 124 may control vertical movement 125, so that the cathode may be raised (or alternatively the anode lowered) as the part 130 is built in successive layers. In one or more embodiments position actuator 124 may also move the cathode or deposition anode array horizontally relative to one another, for example so that large parts may be manufactured in tiles.” Thus the horizontal motion is deemed to be a linear actuator along an x-y axis, [0228]).
As to claim 6, Pain further discloses a position controller configured to generate position control signals for use by the motion control subsystem. ([0227]-[0228] #2722 processor which controls the position actuators).
As to claim 7, Pain further discloses wherein the motion control subsystem is further configured to control movement of at least one of the printhead or the reservoir in a Z plane extending perpendicular to a plane formed by the X axis and the Y axis ([0228] “Position actuator 2724 may control vertical movement 2725, so that the cathode may be raised (or alternatively the anode lowered) as the part 2730 is built in successive layers”).
As to claim 8, Pain further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of microanodes comprises a galvanostat. ([0260] via measurement of the current Fig. 42, or “deposition control circuit 221 that controls the flow of current [0106], Fig. 15a/16a).
As to claim 10, Pain further discloses application specific integrated circuit comprises a complementary metal oxide silicon (CMOS) application specific integrated circuit. ([0126] “Typical materials used for insulating layers may include for example, without limitation, ceramics such as Silicon Nitride, Silicon Dioxide, Silicon Oxynitride…”, [0132], [0182] which disclose the buildup of silicon dioxide for the anode array thus disclosing the CMOS integrated circuit process).
As to claims 12 and 17, Pain discloses an additive manufacturing system for forming a part (Title/Abstract Fig. 2), the system comprising:
a controller for generating 2D pattern data for printing a part (#222);
a cathode (#220) adapted to be disposed in a solution contained within a reservoir ([0065]), the cathode configured for facilitating electrodeposition to form a part thereon ([0061];
a printhead (#200) formed by a complementary metal oxide silicon (CMOS) application specific integrated circuit. ([0126] “Typical materials used for insulating layers may include for example, without limitation, ceramics such as Silicon Nitride, Silicon Dioxide, Silicon Oxynitride…”, [0132], [0182] which disclose the buildup of silicon dioxide for the anode array thus disclosing the CMOS integrated circuit process) including having a plurality of microanodes forming a microanode array (#201), and being in communication with the controller (See Fig .2);
a motion control subsystem configured to control motion of the printhead within at least an X axis and Y axis plane [0097] “In one or more embodiments position actuator 124 may also move the cathode or deposition anode array horizontally relative to one another, for example so that large parts may be manufactured in tiles.” Thus the horizontal motion is deemed to be a linear actuator along an x-y axis, [0228];
the printhead being disposed adjacent to the cathode and configured to receive and use the 2D pattern data to generate current signals applied to the microanodes to enable the microanodes to cause electrodeposition of conductive material, using the solution, on the cathode at a plurality of select locations on the cathode, in parallel (See Fig. 2, [0006], [0062]).
As to claim 2, Pain further discloses , wherein the plurality of microanodes of the printhead are arranged in an X/Y grid (See Fig. 2[0103] “Deposition elements of the printhead may be aligned with a two-dimensional grid. The grid may be partitioned along two axes (labeled as the x-axis and y-axis in FIG. 2) into grid regions.”)
the motion control subsystem further configured to move the printhead over a second region of the cathode not coincident with the first region, to enable the printhead to be used to create electrodeposition of metal at select locations within the second region of the cathode, using the solution and additional 2D pattern data. ([0228], [0231]).
Pain discloses a voltage measurement element ([0262]-[0263] “the ADC directly measures the voltage at the node through the connection.” ), and a microanode circuit having an input for receiving an current (via supply Fig. 41, and explicitly through the power supply shown in Fig. 1, 5, 15A [0143], 16A [0145]) and using multiplexing technology to address the anode array ([0145]),
Pain fails to explicitly disclose a digital to analog converter (DAC) or a current amplifier in communication with an output from a DAC and wherein the printhead comprises a demultiplexer configured to demultiplex the 2D pattern signals received from the controller, and applying the demultiplexed 2D pattern signals to the plurality of microanodes in parallel.
Van Den Bossche discloses an anode array (see Fig. 3A anodes 10) connected to an anode circuit (via traces #20) for receiving a current from an amplifier receiving a current from a DAC (Fig. 7 [0067]). Van Den Bossche discloses that each anode has its own DAC and amplifier which may be integrated into a printed circuit board connected to the conductive tracts ([0067] “The digital to analog converter 31 and the amplifiers 32 are preferably located on a common support such as, for example, a printed circuit board. The support is then electrically coupled to the tracks 20 of the printed circuit board 15 by means of a cable”). Van Den Bossche discloses using a multiplexing system to supply currents to each anode in parallel via computer control ([0068]).
Cited Pain ‘307 discloses using a parallel-in/serial out addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal (#57 col. 7 lines 47-52 thus interpreted to be a “demultiplexer”). Pan ‘307 discloses the addressing system comprising the demultiplexer is integrated onto circuit board 400 which is integrated into the anode array interface board 16 thus integrated with the printhead (col. 5 lines 7-21). Pain ‘307 discloses the demultiplexer demultiplexes the 2d pattern signal to create a demultiplexed 2d patter signals and apply the signals to the plurality of electrodes (“other addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal.” Col. 7 lines 48-50, col. 10 lines 10-14 as required by instant claim 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used specific DAC and amplifiers connected to the current lines as taught by Van Den Bossche for each anode of the anode array in Pain because the use of the conventional electronic components allows the individual control of current values at each anode in addition to the on/off via the transistors of Pain (Van Den Bossche [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the an explicit demultiplexer in the printhead as taught by Pain ‘307 with the printhead in Pain because it allows for the digital signal to be demultiplexed into the analog signal for each anode. (col. 7 lines 47-52 Pain ‘307). Furthermore, making structures integral to one another has been held to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice when constructing devices of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
As to claim 13, Pain further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of microanodes is separated from an adjacent one of the microanodes by a pitch of between 1 pm to 1000 pm.([0008]).
As to claim 14, Pain further discloses , wherein the plurality of microanodes of the printhead are arranged in an X/Y grid (See Fig. 2 [0060] “The deposition anode array 201 may be organized in a two-dimensional grid;”).
As to claim 18, Pain further discloses a position controller configured to generate position control signals for use by the motion control subsystem. ([0227]-[0228] #2722 processor which controls the position actuators).
As to claim 20, Pain discloses a printhead for use in an additive manufacturing (AM) electrodeposition system, wherein the AM electrodeposition system includes a cathode submerged in a plating solution having conductive ions, the printhead comprising:
complementary metal oxide silicon (CMOS) application specific integrated circuit. ([0126] “Typical materials used for insulating layers may include for example, without limitation, ceramics such as Silicon Nitride, Silicon Dioxide, Silicon Oxynitride…”, [0132], [0182] which disclose the buildup of silicon dioxide for the anode array thus disclosing the CMOS integrated circuit process)
a substrate forming a printed circuit board (Fig. 21 backplane);
a microanode array formed as part of an application specific integrated circuit on the substrate; and the microanode array including a plurality of spaced apart microanode control circuits arranged in a grid-like arrangement (Fig. 21 #s2103 / 2134); and
an electrical component for feeding 2D pattern data to the microanode array to selectively energize ones of the plurality of microanodes circuits, simultaneously and in parallel, to cause simultaneous electrodeposition of metal material on the cathode at a plurality of locations corresponding to the energized ones of the plurality of microanode circuits (Fig. 21 “deposition control circuits).
Pain discloses a voltage measurement element ([0262]-[0263] “the ADC directly measures the voltage at the node through the connection.” ), and a microanode circuit having an input for receiving an current (via supply Fig. 41, and explicitly through the power supply shown in Fig. 1, 5, 15A [0143], 16A [0145]) and using multiplexing technology to address the anode array ([0145]),
Pain fails to explicitly disclose a digital to analog converter (DAC) or a current amplifier in communication with an output from a DAC and wherein the printhead comprises a demultiplexer configured to demultiplex the 2D pattern signals received from the controller, and applying the demultiplexed 2D pattern signals to the plurality of microanodes in parallel.
Van Den Bossche discloses an anode array (see Fig. 3A anodes 10) connected to an anode circuit (via traces #20) for receiving a current from an amplifier receiving a current from a DAC (Fig. 7 [0067]). Van Den Bossche discloses that each anode has its own DAC and amplifier which may be integrated into a printed circuit board connected to the conductive tracts ([0067] “The digital to analog converter 31 and the amplifiers 32 are preferably located on a common support such as, for example, a printed circuit board. The support is then electrically coupled to the tracks 20 of the printed circuit board 15 by means of a cable”). Van Den Bossche discloses using a multiplexing system to supply currents to each anode in parallel via computer control ([0068]).
Cited Pain ‘307 discloses using a parallel-in/serial out addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal (#57 col. 7 lines 47-52 thus interpreted to be a “demultiplexer”). Pan ‘307 discloses the addressing system comprising the demultiplexer is integrated onto circuit board 400 which is integrated into the anode array interface board 16 thus integrated with the printhead (col. 5 lines 7-21). Pain ‘307 discloses the demultiplexer demultiplexes the 2d pattern signal to create a demultiplexed 2d patter signals and apply the signals to the plurality of electrodes (“other addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal.” Col. 7 lines 48-50, col. 10 lines 10-14 as required by instant claim 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used specific DAC and amplifiers connected to the current lines as taught by Van Den Bossche for each anode of the anode array in Pain because the use of the conventional electronic components allows the individual control of current values at each anode in addition to the on/off via the transistors of Pain (Van Den Bossche [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the an explicit demultiplexer in the printhead as taught by Pain ‘307 with the printhead in Pain because it allows for the digital signal to be demultiplexed into the analog signal for each anode. (col. 7 lines 47-52 Pain ‘307). Furthermore, making structures integral to one another has been held to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice when constructing devices of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al (US 2024/0084473 A1) in view of Pain, Pain ‘307, and Van Den Bossche.
As to claim 19, Mayer discloses a method for additively manufacturing a part, comprising:
disposing a cathode in a solution for facilitating electrodeposition, on which the part is to be formed; and supporting a printhead having an application specific integrated circuit over the cathode at a predetermined distance from the cathode (Fig. 14 deposition head 1401 over cathode 1407a), the printhead application specific integrated circuit having a plurality of spaced apart microanodes forming a microanode array (#1401a “an array 1401a of anode pixels,” [0153], [0162] “positioning 1502 a deposition head in proximity to the surface of the workpiece, wherein the deposition head optionally includes an array of anode pixels; delivering 1503 an electrolyte to the anode pixels through a fluid distribution head (FDH), wherein the FDH is configured to surround the array”);
electrically energizing selected ones of the plurality of spaced apart microanodes, simultaneously and in parallel, using 2D pattern data (; and
using the selected ones of the plurality of spaced apart microanodes to cause simultaneous, parallel electrodeposition of metal at a plurality of locations on the cathode corresponding to the selected ones of the spaced apart microanodes, using the solution, as the printhead is moved along at least one of an X axis, a Y axis or a Z axis. ([0163] “then the deposition head can be re-positioned to another position on the workpiece to extend the first deposited feature (e.g., to extend a conductive line connected between the first position to other positions) or to provide a second deposited feature. To continue depositing, operations 1503-1504 can be conducted and, if the target feature is not deposited, then operations 1502-1504 can be repeated.”
Mayer fails to explicitly disclose CMOS application specific integrated circuit, a digital to analog converter (DAC) or a current amplifier in communication with an output from a DAC and wherein the printhead comprises a demultiplexer configured to demultiplex the 2D pattern signals received from the controller, and applying the demultiplexed 2D pattern signals to the plurality of microanodes in parallel.
Pain discloses use of a complementary metal oxide silicon (CMOS) application specific integrated circuit. ([0126] “Typical materials used for insulating layers may include for example, without limitation, ceramics such as Silicon Nitride, Silicon Dioxide, Silicon Oxynitride…”, [0132], [0182] which disclose the buildup of silicon dioxide for the anode array thus disclosing the CMOS integrated circuit process).
Van Den Bossche discloses an anode array (see Fig. 3A anodes 10) connected to an anode circuit (via traces #20) for receiving a current from an amplifier receiving a current from a DAC (Fig. 7 [0067]). Van Den Bossche discloses that each anode has its own DAC and amplifier which may be integrated into a printed circuit board connected to the conductive tracts ([0067] “The digital to analog converter 31 and the amplifiers 32 are preferably located on a common support such as, for example, a printed circuit board. The support is then electrically coupled to the tracks 20 of the printed circuit board 15 by means of a cable”). Van Den Bossche discloses using a multiplexing system to supply currents to each anode in parallel via computer control ([0068]).
Cited Pain ‘307 discloses using a parallel-in/serial out addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal (#57 col. 7 lines 47-52 thus interpreted to be a “demultiplexer”). Pan ‘307 discloses the addressing system comprising the demultiplexer is integrated onto circuit board 400 which is integrated into the anode array interface board 16 thus integrated with the printhead (col. 5 lines 7-21). Pain ‘307 discloses the demultiplexer demultiplexes the 2d pattern signal to create a demultiplexed 2d patter signals and apply the signals to the plurality of electrodes (“other addressing components which convert a multiplexed digital signal into a de-multiplexed digital or analog signal.” Col. 7 lines 48-50, col. 10 lines 10-14 as required by instant claim 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used specific DAC and amplifiers connected to the current lines as taught by Van Den Bossche for each anode of the anode array in Pain because the use of the conventional electronic components allows the individual control of current values at each anode in addition to the on/off via the transistors of Pain (Van Den Bossche [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the an explicit demultiplexer in the printhead as taught by Pain ‘307 with the printhead in Pain because it allows for the digital signal to be demultiplexed into the analog signal for each anode. (col. 7 lines 47-52 Pain ‘307). Furthermore, making structures integral to one another has been held to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice when constructing devices of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a CMOS application integrated circuit as taught by Pain in the method of Mayer because it allows for the formation of the printhead and deposition anodes using typical thin film semiconductor manufacturing processes ([0120] Pain) allowing for the simplification of the anode array to be able to scale up the size of the anode array and manufacture larger parts with small features (Pain [0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments towards Pain rejected previously under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant argues that Pain’s recitation of plurality of deposition anode and deposition control circuit does not constitute a CMOS ASIC. Applicant does not present any special definition or why the disclosure of Pain does not constitute a CMOS ASIC. Pain explicitly discloses the anode array and associated circuit are formed using conventional semiconductor processing techniques including the use of metal oxides. The circuit is clearly an integrated circuit and explicitly referred to as such by Pain ([0108]). Thus, the teaching of Pain are still relied upon for discloses said structure and associated device.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Pain does not explicitly incorporate a demultiplexer, this argument is not persuasive as Pain is not relied upon as such for disclosing said features.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Pain does not disclose providing the deposition control circuit the ability to control the anode based on the 2D image data, this argument is not persuasive in light of the explicit teachings of Pain. Pain explicitly discloses using a target map (=2D image data) to determine the currents at each anode ([0034] [0219] “The target map may include a two-dimensional grid or image showing locations within the layer where material is to be deposited”) in which the deposition control circuits turn on or off based on the necessity of the target map ([0097]). Pain further explicitly states “Deposition control circuit 221 provides functionality to control conductivity or turn the associated deposition anode 222 on or off or to modify the amount of current flowing through anode 222.” ([0106]).
Applicant does not present further arguments towards Mayer as previously applied. The prior rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment and thus the rejection stands as disclosed above.
Applicant does not present further argument towards the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, now applied to all the pending claims as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795