Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (11487172)
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a display panel (Gao teaches the device above is part of a display panel), comprising:
a first base plate (please see device seen in fig. 8 above), wherein the first base plate comprises:
a first substrate (fig. 8: 10);
a transistor array layer (please see array of TFTs in fig. 8 above) provided at a side of the first substrate and comprising a transistor (please see three TFTs in fig. 8 above);
a pixel electrode layer (fig. 8, which shows multiple portions of 60) and a common electrode layer (fig. 8, which show multiple portions of 70) that are provided at a side of the transistor array layer away from the first substrate (please see fig. 8 above), the pixel electrode layer comprising a pixel electrode (fig. 8: 60), and the common electrode layer comprising at least one common electrode (fig. 8: 70);
a first inorganic insulating layer (col. 34, lines 51-65 teaches that the ILDs above and below 70 being composed of insulating materials, such as Sin; these ILD layers can be seen in white in fig. 8 above) that is an insulating layer between the transistor array layer and one of the pixel electrode layers and the common electrode layer close to the transistor array layer (please see white ILDs, below 70, in fig. 8 above); and
a second inorganic insulating layer (col. 33, lines 11-25 teaches that the ILDs above and below 60 being composed of insulating materials, such as Sin; these ILD layers can be seen in white in fig. 8 above) provided between the pixel electrode layer and the common electrode layer (please see white ILDs, below 60, in fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 3, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first inorganic insulating layer comprises at least one of silicon oxide or silicon nitride; or the second inorganic insulating layer comprises at least one of silicon oxide or silicon nitride; or wherein the transistor comprises a polysilicon semiconductor layer (please see rejection for claim 1 above which teaches SiN).
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first base plate further comprises at least one touch line (TP1) provided on a side of the first inorganic insulating layer close to the first substrate and configured to provide a signal to the at least one common electrode, wherein a first slit is formed in one of the at least one common electrode (please see slits between 70), and at least a part of one first slit of the at least one first slit partially overlaps with one touch line of the at least one touch line along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel (please see this arrangement above), or, the at least one common electrode comprises a plurality of common electrodes, a second slit is formed between adjacent ones of the plurality of common electrodes, and at least a part of the second slit at least partially overlaps with one of the at least one touch line along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel.
Regarding claim 6, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first base plate further comprises a data line (S) provided on a side of the first inorganic insulating layer close to the first substrate and configured to provide a signal for the pixel electrode (Gao teaches S provides voltage signal to the TFT, which controls the pixel electrode), wherein a first slit is formed in one of the at least one common electrode (please see this arrangement in figure above), and the data line does not overlap with the first slit along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel (please see this arrangement in figure above), or, the at least one common electrode comprises a plurality of common electrodes, a second slit is formed between adjacent ones of the plurality of common electrodes, and the data line does not overlap with the second slit along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel.
Regarding claim 7, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first base plate further comprises a touch line (TP1) provided on a side of the common electrode layer close to the first substrate; a plurality of first vias (see multiple D1s above) are formed in the first inorganic insulating layer, and a plurality of second vias (please see plurality of vias above D1 above) are formed in the second inorganic insulating layer; and the common electrode layer is provided on a side of the pixel electrode layer close to the transistor array layer, and the pixel electrode layer further comprises a bridge electrode (M3) electrically connected to one of the at least one common electrode through the second vias (Gao teaches that 70 is connected to TP1, through M3, which is connected to D1 and via above), wherein the bridge electrode is electrically connected to the touch line through the second via and the first via that communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 8, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 7, wherein at least one first opening is formed in the at least one common electrode, wherein one of the at least one first opening overlap with one of the pluralities of first vias along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel (please see figure 8 above which shows this orientation).
Regarding claim 10, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the transistor comprises a first electrode electrically connected to a data line, and a second electrode electrically connected to the pixel electrode (Gao teaches that 50D is connected to 60), wherein at least one second opening is formed in the at least one common electrode, and one of the at least one second opening at least partially overlaps with the first electrode of the transistor along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel (please see figure 8 above), or, at least one third opening is formed in the at least one common electrode, and one of the at least one third opening at least partially overlaps with the second electrode of the transistor along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel.
Regarding claim 12, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a second base plate (fig. 61: M) comprising a second substrate (fig. 61: 001); and at least one support pillar (fig. 61: PS) provided between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first base plate further comprises scan lines and data lines (Gao teaches TFT array including scanning lines and data lines electrically connected to the TFT), wherein an extension direction of each of the scan lines intersects an extension direction of each of the data lines (please see fig. 15), and one of the at least one support pillar does not overlap with at least one of one of the scan lines and one of the data lines along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel (please see fig. 61 which shows outside pillar which do not intersect any element in a top down view).
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches a display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first base plate further comprises a data line (Gao teaches TFT array including scanning lines and data lines electrically connected to the TFT) and a touch line (TP1), wherein the data line is electrically connected to the pixel electrode (Gao teaches TFT array including scanning lines and data lines electrically connected to the TFT), and the touch line is electrically connected to one of the at least one common electrode (Gao teaches that TP1 is connected to 70) and is located in a same layer as the data line (Gao teaches that TP1 can be in a similar layer as S).
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches a display apparatus, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises:
a first base plate (please see device seen in fig. 8 above),
wherein the first base plate comprises:
a first substrate (fig. 8: 10);
a transistor array layer (please see array of TFTs in fig. 8 above) provided on a side of the first substrate and comprising a transistor (please see three TFTs in fig. 8 above);
a pixel electrode layer (fig. 8, which shows multiple portions of 60) and a common electrode layer (fig. 8, which show multiple portions of 70) that are provided at a side of the transistor array layer away from the first substrate (please see fig. 8 above), the pixel electrode layer comprising a pixel electrode (fig. 8: 60), and the common electrode layer comprising at least one common electrode (fig. 8: 70);
a first inorganic insulating layer (col. 34, lines 51-65 teaches that the ILDs above and below 70 being composed of insulating materials, such as SiN; these ILD layers can be seen in white in fig. 8 above) that is an insulating layer between the transistor array layer and one of the pixel electrode layers and the common electrode layer close to the transistor array layer (please see white ILDs, below 70, in fig. 8 above); and
a second inorganic insulating layer (col. 33, lines 11-25 teaches that the ILDs above and below 60 being composed of insulating materials, such as SiN; these ILD layers can be seen in white in fig. 8 above) provided between the pixel electrode layer and the common electrode layer (please see white ILDs, below 60, in fig. 8 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5, which depends on claim 4, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9, which depends on claim 8, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11, which depends on claim 10, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13, which depends on claim 12, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14, which depends on claim 13, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15, which depends on claim 14, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16, which depends on claim 13, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17, which depends on claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18, which depends on claim 13, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818