DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The ABSTRACT filed on 1/21/2026 is ACCEPTED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20080110138) in view of Kwack et al. (KR 1020120084109) and Ueda et al. (US 6,977,474).
Per claim 1, Kim teaches a refrigeration & heat pump system comprising:
one or more heat exchangers (4);
one or more vibration systems (“a mechanical vibrator that applies mechanical vibration directly to a heat exchanger”, pg. 2, second to last paragraph) attached to the heat exchanger; and
a plurality of sensors attached to the heat exchanger (“the load detector 40 is an outdoor heat exchanger temperature sensor 42 for detecting the temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger 4”, pg. 6, second paragraph) but fails to explicitly teach
the vibration system being mechanically attached to the heat exchanger for removing ice formation by mechanically breaking ice crystals and
one or more amplifiers connected to the one or more vibration systems.
Regarding the mechanically attached system, Kwack teaches a heat pump having a vibration system (system of figure 4) being mechanically attached (see figure 4) to a heat exchanger (141) for removing ice formation by mechanically breaking ice crystals (“Therefore, the outdoor heat exchanger 140 subjected to the impact by the strike of the striking member 153 is vibrated, and frost generated on the surface of the outdoor heat exchanger 140 can be more easily removed”, pg. 5 of translation) for improved performance (pg. 1 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a vibration system being mechanically attached to a heat exchanger for removing ice formation by mechanically breaking ice crystals, as taught by Kwack in thein invention of Kim, in order to advantageously improve system performance (pg. 1 of translation).
Regarding the amplifier, Ueda teaches using having an amplifier (“power amplifier”, col. 11, lines 12-13) connected to a vibration system (100) for providing high efficiency (col. 11, lines 13). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an amplifier connected to a vibration system, as taught by Ueda in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously provide high efficiency vibration (col. 11, line 13).
Per claim 2, Kim, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Kim, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the vibration system is a motor vibration system having an eccentric mass.
However, Kwack teaches a heat exchanger defrosting system having a vibration system as a motor vibration system (motor used to rotate “rotation cam 151”, pg. 2 of translation) having eccentric mass (see cam 151) for improved performance (pg. 1 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a motor vibration system having eccentric mass, as taught by Kwack in thein invention of Kim, as modified, in order to advantageously improve system performance (pg. 1 of translation).
Per claim 8, Kim, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Kim, as modified, teaches wherein the sensors (40) are communicatively connected to a user device (30) but fails to explicitly teach the user device is for displaying control data.
However, the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that having user devices display control data in refrigeration systems is old and well known in the refrigeration art to maintain optimal operational control of the refrigeration system and allow operators to see real time data. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a user device for displaying control data in order to advantageously maintain optimal operational control of the system and allow operators to see real time data.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20080110138) in view of Kwack et al. (KR 1020120084109) and Ueda et al. (US 6,977,474) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Yan et al. (CN 114111136).
Per claim 6, Kim, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Kim, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the vibration system includes a hammer vibration.
However, Yan teaches an air conditioner defrosting system having a vibration system including a hammer vibration (“defrosting structure 10 continuously knocking the heat exchanger 20, to defrost the heat exchanger 20”, pg. 8, third paragraph of translation) for high defrosting efficiency (pg. 7, first paragraph of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a vibration system including a hammer vibration, as taught by Yan in the invention of Kim, as modified, in order to advantageously provide high defrosting efficiency (pg. 7, first paragraph of translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763