DETAILED ACTION
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 5, line 9 to page 6, line 24, filed January 01st, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eid et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0066265) and the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0162115) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001410) and Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0384304).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401).
In re claim 1, Kang discloses a wafer chip scale package (WCSP), comprising: a semiconductor die 110 having a device side (bottom side) in which circuitry is formed and a non-device side (top side) opposite the device side (see paragraphs [0021], [0023], [0026] and figs. 1-6); a solder bump 150 electrically coupled to the circuitry (see paragraph [0019] and figs. 1-6); a mold compound 440 in contact with the device side, the solder bump 150, and four lateral sides of the semiconductor die 110 (see paragraphs [0024], [0026] and figs. 1-6, note that the mold cap 440 surrounds the semiconductor die 110); and a thermal pad 300 in contact with the non-device side of the semiconductor die 110 and the mold compound 440 (see paragraphs [0023], [0026] and figs. 4-6).
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses wherein the mold compound 440 is not in contact with the non-device side of the semiconductor die 110 (see paragraphs [0023], [0026] and figs. 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0384304).
In re claim 10, Kang discloses a wafer chip scale package (WCSP), comprising: a semiconductor die 110 having a device side (bottom side) in which circuitry is formed and a non-device side (top side) opposite the device side (see paragraph [0019] and figs. 1-6); a solder bump 150 coupled to the device side 110 (see paragraph [0019] and figs. 1-6); a mold compound 440 contacting the device side and the solder bump 150 (see paragraphs [0024], [0026] and figs. 1-6, note that the mold cap surrounds the semiconductor die 110); a thermal interface material 350 coupled to and supported by the semiconductor die 110 (see paragraphs [0023], [0024] and figs. 1-6); and a heat sink 300 coupled to the thermal interface material 350 (see paragraphs [0023], [0024] and figs. 1-6).
Kang is silent to wherein the thermal interface material having a thickness between 0.1 millimeters and 0.5 millimeters and a thermal conductivity coefficient of at least 1.5 watts per meter-Kelvin (W/mK).
However, Lee discloses in a same field of endeavor, a wafer chip scale package (WCSP) including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die 111 having a device side in which circuitry is formed and a non-device side opposite the device side (see paragraph [0016] and figs. 1A-3A), a solder bump 117 electrically coupled to the circuitry (see paragraph [0017] and figs. 1A-3A), a mold compound 135 over the semiconductor die 111 (see paragraph [0015] and figs. 1A-3A), and a thermal interface material 141 coupled to and supported by the semiconductor die 111, wherein the thermal interface material 141 having a thickness between 0.1 millimeters and 0.2 millimeters and a thermal conductivity coefficient of between about 10-15 watts per meter-Kelvin (W/mK) (see paragraph [0042] and figs. 1A-3B).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Lee into the wafer chip scale package of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material having a thickness between 0.1 millimeters and 0.5 millimeters and a thermal conductivity coefficient of at least 1.5 watts per meter-Kelvin (W/mK) in Kang to be formed in order to improve the heat dissipation efficiency, reduce the stress in the chip package, and improve the structural integrity of the device (see paragraph [0014] of Lee). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Kang in combination with Lee disclose, wherein the mold compound 440 contacts four lateral sides of the semiconductor die 110 and does not contact the non-device side of the semiconductor die.110 (see paragraphs [0024], [0026] and figs. 1-6 of Kang).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang is silent to wherein the WCSP has a junction-to-ambient thermal resistance value ranging up to 50 degrees Celsius per watt.
However, since Kang discloses a same wafer chip scale package (WCSP) made of a same structure to that of Applicant’s claimed invention, it is respectfully submitted that Kang inherently discloses that the WCSP of Eid has a junction-to-ambient thermal resistance value ranging up to 50 degrees Celsius per watt since it has been held that where the claimed and the prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either obviousness has been established. Since the composition is the same, the product must obviously exhibit the properties. MPEP 2112.01.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eid et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0066265).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal pad comprises gold or tin.
However, Eid discloses in a same field of endeavor, a WCSP including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal pad 120 comprises gold or tin (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Eid into the WCSP of Kang in order to enable the thermal pad comprises gold or tin in Kang to be formed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401) in view of Eid et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0066265), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0162113).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal pad has a thickness ranging up to 4 microns.
However, Park discloses in a same field of endeavor, a wafer chip scale packaging, including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal pad 117 has a thickness of between 0.2 and 0.3 microns (see paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technique as taught by Park in to the WCSP of Kang to optimize the thickness of the thermal pad in Kang to be in a range of up to 4 microns since it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0162113).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses wherein the WCSP further comprising a thermal interface material 350 in contact with the thermal pad 300 (see paragraph [0024] and figs. 1-6) but is silent to wherein the thermal interface material comprising a phase change compound and a thermally conductive polyimide film.
However, Park discloses in a same field of endeavor, a WCSP including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal interface material 140 comprising a phase change compound and a thermally conductive polyimide film (see paragraph [0047] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Park into the WCSP of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material comprising a phase change compound and a thermally conductive polyimide film in Kang to be formed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Kang in combination with Park discloses wherein the WCSP further comprising a heat sink 460 in contact with the thermal interface material 240 and comprising a fin structure 461 (see paragraph [0078] and fig. 9A of Park).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0162113), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0384304).
In re claims 8 and 9, as applied to claim 6 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal interface material has a thickness ranging from 0.09 millimeters to 1.1 millimeters and wherein the thermal interface material has a thermal conductivity coefficient of at least 1.5 watts per meter-Kelvin.
However, Lee discloses in a same field of endeavor, a wafer chip scale package including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die 111 having a device side in which circuitry is formed and a non-device side opposite the device side (see paragraph [0016] and figs. 1A-3A), a solder bump 117 electrically coupled to the circuitry (see paragraph [0017] and figs. 1A-3A), a mold compound 135 over the semiconductor die 111 (see paragraph [0015] and figs. 1A-3A), and a thermal interface material 141 coupled to and supported by the semiconductor die 111, wherein the thermal interface material 141 having a thickness between 0.1 millimeters and 0.2 millimeters and a thermal conductivity coefficient of between about 10-15 watts per meter-Kelvin (W/mK) (see paragraph [0042] and figs. 1A-3B).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Lee into the wafer chip scale package of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material has a thickness ranging from 0.09 millimeters to 1.1 millimeters and wherein the thermal interface material has a thermal conductivity coefficient of at least 1.5 watts per meter-Kelvin in Kang to be formed in order to improve the heat dissipation efficiency, reduce the stress in the chip package, and improve the structural integrity of the device (see paragraph [0014] of Lee). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (U.S. Pub. 2010/0001401) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0384304), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. 2024/0162113).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 10 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal interface material comprises a gap filler pad.
However, Park discloses in a same field of endeavor, a WCSP including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal interface material 140 comprises a gap filler pad (see paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Park into the WCSP of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material comprises a gap filler pad in Kang to be formed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Kang in combination with Lee and Park discloses wherein the gap filler pad comprises a silicone compound (see paragraph [0047] of Park). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 10 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal interface material comprises a phase change compound and a polyimide film.
However, Park discloses in a same field of endeavor, a WCSP including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal interface material 140 comprises a phase change compound and a polyimide film (see paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Park into the WCSP of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material comprises a phase change compound and a polyimide film in Kang to be formed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 15, as applied to claim 10 above, Kang is silent to wherein the thermal interface material comprises an acrylic adhesive.
However, Park discloses in a same field of endeavor, a WCSP including, inter-alia, wherein the thermal interface material 140 comprises an acrylic adhesive (see paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Park into the WCSP of Kang in order to enable wherein the thermal interface material comprises an acrylic adhesive in Kang to be formed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed over prior art of record.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
It is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of independent claim 16 as a whole taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “cutting through a thickness of the semiconductor wafer to produce partial first and second trenches; applying a mold compound to the device side, the solder bumps, and the partial first and second trenches; backgrinding the semiconductor wafer to reduce a thickness of the semiconductor wafer, the backgrinding producing first and second semiconductor dies", as recited in independent claim 16.
Claims 17-20 also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claim.
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892