DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on the date: November 03, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 5-6, 9 and 19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or are new.
Response to Arguments
The Pending Claims are Patentable over the Cited References
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS pages 7-9, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of Richard et al. US2018/0216965.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. 2020/0309566 (called Fujita hereinafter and previously cited), in view of Tonge et al. 2019/0383645 (called Tonge hereinafter and applicant disclosed art) and further in view of Richard et al. US2018/0216965 (called Richard hereinafter and newly cited).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fujita teaches a method of multi-turn magnetic sensing with rollover counting (Fig. 4; Abstract), the method comprising:
resetting a multi-turn magnetic sensor (Fig. 4; rotation angle sensor 31) to a reset state (para [0082-0084]; powering of the rotation angle sensor 31);
updating an index value in association with the resetting (para [0082-0084]; maintaining a rotation count without electric power); and
determining a turn count based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value (para [0082 and 0084]), wherein the turn count has a value having a magnitude that is greater than N (para [0082-0084]).
Fujita fails to teach wherein the multi-turn magnetic sensor comprises a magnetic spiral having N turns, and wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1.
Tonge teaches wherein the multi-turn magnetic sensor (Fig. 2; MT sensor 120) comprises a magnetic spiral having N turns (Fig. 4; para [0041]), and wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1 (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita with the spiral magnetic sensor as described by Tonge for the purpose of improving the sensor output by enabling the initialization state of the sensor to be monitored (para [0004]).
Fujita and Tonge fail to teach determining a turn count based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value, wherein the output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor are indicative of a state of the multi-turn magnetic sensor.
Richard teaches determining a turn count (Fig. 12B; para [0083]; half-turn count) based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value (para [0083]; integer index N), wherein the output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor are indicative of a state of the multi-turn magnetic sensor (para [0083]; position detected is either at full-turn or half-turn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita and Tonge with a half-turn counting as described by Richard for the purpose of determining the position of a magnetic field while also determining if a half-turn of the magnetic field has occurred and provide phase shift correction (para [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the method of claim 1, Fujita further teaches wherein the turn count has a quarter turn resolution (para [0084]; motor rotation angle is calculated within one rotation, thus the turn count has a quarter turn resolution).
Regarding claim 8, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the method of claim 1, Fujita further teaches further comprising: processing an output signal from an angle sensor to generate angle information (para [0084]; motor rotation angle); and generating a position measurement based on the turn count and the angle information (para [0086]; absolute angle uses the count value and motor rotation angle to determine the position).
Regarding independent claim 9, Fujita teaches a multi-turn magnetic sensing system with rollover counting (Fig. 4), the multi-turn magnetic sensing system comprising:
a multi-turn magnetic sensor (Fig. 4; rotation angle sensor 31); and
processing circuitry (Fig. 4; components in rotation angle sensor 31 and control unit 70) comprising:
memory configured to store an index value (para [0072 and 0082-0084]; maintaining a rotation count without electric power); and
a decoder (Fig. 4; para [0086]; control unit 70) configured to determine a turn count with a value having a magnitude that is greater than N based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value (para [0082-0084]), wherein the turn count represents a number of rotations of a magnetic field (para [0082-0084]).
Fujita fails to teach a multi-turn magnetic sensor comprising a magnetic spiral with N turns, wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1.
Tonge teaches a multi-turn magnetic sensor (Fig. 2; MT sensor 120) comprising a magnetic spiral with N turns (Fig. 4; para [0041]), wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1 (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita with the spiral magnetic sensor as described by Tonge for the purpose of improving the sensor output by enabling the initialization state of the sensor to be monitored (para [0004]).
Fujita and Tonge fail to teach determine a turn count with a value having a magnitude that is greater than N based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value, wherein the output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor are indicative of a state of the multi-turn magnetic sensor.
Richard teaches determining a turn count (Fig. 12B; para [0083]; half-turn count) with a value having a magnitude that is greater than N (Fig. 12B; para [0083]) based on output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor and the index value (para [0083]; integer index N), wherein the output signals from the multi-turn magnetic sensor are indicative of a state of the multi-turn magnetic sensor (para [0083]; position detected is either at full-turn or half-turn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita and Tonge with a half-turn counting as described by Richard for the purpose of determining the position of a magnetic field while also determining if a half-turn of the magnetic field has occurred and provide phase shift correction (para [0007]).
Regarding claim 18, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the multi-turn magnetic sensing system of claim 9, Fujita further teaches further comprising an angle sensor (Fig. 4; position detector 40; para [0083]), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to output a position measurement based on the turn count and angle information from the angle sensor (para [0086]; absolute angle uses the count value and motor rotation angle to determine the position).
Claim(s) 2 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita, in view of Tonge, in view of Richard and further in view of Makino et al. 2021/0293902 (called Makino hereinafter and previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the resetting comprises applying a reset magnetic field to the multi-turn magnetic sensor using a coil.
Makino teaches wherein the resetting comprises applying a reset magnetic field to the multi-turn magnetic sensor using a coil (para [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita, Tonge and Richard with a coil used to reset a magnetic sensor as described by Makino for the purpose of setting the magnetic sensor to a desired state that is appropriate for detecting a magnetic field properly (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the multi-turn magnetic sensing system of claim 9, but fail to teach further comprising a magnetic reset configured to magnetically reset the magnetic spiral.
Makino teaches a magnetic reset configured to magnetically reset the magnetic spiral (para [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita, Tonge and Richard with a coil used to reset a magnetic sensor as described by Makino for the purpose of setting the magnetic sensor to a desired state that is appropriate for detecting a magnetic field properly (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujita, Tonge, Richard and Makino teach the multi-turn magnetic sensing system of claim 10, Makino further teaches wherein the magnetic reset comprises a coil configured to apply a reset magnetic field to magnetically reset the magnetic spiral in response to a control signal from the processing circuitry (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Fujita, Tonge, Richard and Makino teach the multi-turn magnetic sensing system of claim 10, Fujita further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to update the index value in association with magnetically resetting the magnetic spiral (para [0082-0084]; powering of the rotation angle sensor 31 to reset and maintaining a rotation count without electric power).
Regarding claim 13, Fujita, Tonge, Richard and Makino teach the multi-turn magnetic sensing system of claim 10, Fujita further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to update the index value in response to detecting rotation of the magnetic field after magnetically resetting the magnetic spiral (para [0082-0084]; maintaining a rotation count without electric power and when power is restored).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita, in view of Tonge, in view of Richard and further in view of Schrubbe 2021/0364270 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Fujita, Tonge and Richard teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the resetting comprises causing a permanent magnet to move in proximity to the multi-turn magnetic sensor.
Schrubbe teaches wherein the resetting comprises causing a permanent magnet to move in proximity to the multi-turn magnetic sensor (Fig. 1A; para [0022-0023]; reset magnet 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Fujita, Tonge and Richard with a reset magnet as described by Schrubbe for the purpose of resetting the polarization of the Wiegand wire to prepare for a next count to occur (para [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
Claims 4-6 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 19, these claims were indicated as allowable subject matter in the previous Office Action mailed on August 12, 2025.
Claims 5-6 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 4.
Claims 15-17 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 14.
Claim 20 is indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zimmer et al. discloses “Multi-turn counter sensor” (see US2019/0195613)
Ausserlechner discloses “Turn counter and sensing of a rotational angle” (see US2021/0018308)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858