Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 01/15/2026.
Claims 1, 10 and 15 are currently amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the final action on 04/09/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 7-9, filed 01/15/2026, applicant argues that, “Lee, Gillett, Lin, and Chu, individually and in combination, fail to teach, suggest, or disclose "associated with a software-based room system of the physical space" and that "based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list of the video conference.” Recited in claims 1, 10 and 15.
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee teaches associated with a software-based room system of the physical space because a user may choose a device with a built-in microphone and camera to connect to conferencing software of the software platform, such as to enable audio and visual input and output for the user to interact with other conference participants via that device, ¶0058, teaches the conferencing software 314 enables audio, video, and/or other forms of conferences between multiple participants, such as to facilitate a conference between those participants. In some cases, the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room (i.e. physical space).
Lee teaches facilitate a conference between those participants. In some cases, the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room (i.e. physical space). However, Lee in view of Gillett, and further in view of Lin remain silent on based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list the video conference.
Chu teaches based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list the video conference because ¶0034, teaches the portable device's processing unit 60 has a videoconferencing application (i.e. software) 66 with a user interface. When operated, the application 66 allows a participant to use the portable device 50 as a peripheral to the videoconferencing system (10). FIG. 3 shows an example videoconferencing interface 67 for the portable device's application (66), ¶0055, teaches the videoconferencing unit 100 can initiate the videoconference and can begin rendering audio and video obtained with the conventional microphone(s) 124 and the unit's camera (i.e. wherein microphone and camera are components in a single conference) 144. Then, during the videoconference, participants with portable devices 50 can connect or pair with the videoconference unit 100 to join the videoconference, ¶0057, teaches a participant in the room having a portable device 50 running a conferencing application (66) can select to join the videoconference conducted by the unit 100, ¶0089, teaches the slave devices (i.e. follower devices) 50 receive and transmit video/audio only to and from the master device (i.e. leader device) 100, ¶0093, teaches the master device 100 broadcasts its network (e.g., IP) address designated in the local area network to the other portable devices 50, which use the address to connect (i.e., pair) with the master device 100.).
For further clarification, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0081041), hereinafter “Lee” in view of Gillett et al. (US 2013/0136089), hereinafter “Gillett” in view of Lin et al. (US2024/0073372A1), hereinafter “Lin”, and further in view of Chu et al. (US 2013/0106975), hereinafter “Chu”. Lee, Gillett and Chu are cited in applicant IDS filed 11/13/2024, 07/31/2023 and 09/02/2025.
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses a method, comprising:
designating, based on a leader device and one or more follower devices within a physical space each connected to a video conference (¶0021, teaches a first device (i.e. leader device) may be designated as a primary mode device with full access to functionality of a software service and one or more second devices (i.e. follower devices) may each be designated as a secondary mode device with limited access to the functionality of the software service, ¶0058, teaches the conferencing software 314 enables audio, video, and/or other forms of conferences between multiple participants, such as to facilitate a conference between those participants. In some cases, the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room (i.e. physical space), ¶0071, teaches a video capture device within a physical space that includes the shared device can output a video stream that, when processed using facial recognition or like intelligence software, can determine an identity of a user who is actively using a shared device at a given time), and associated with a software-based room system of the physical space (¶0015, teaches a user may choose a device with a built-in microphone and camera to connect to conferencing software of the software platform, such as to enable audio and visual input and output for the user to interact with other conference participants via that device, ¶0058, teaches the conferencing software 314 enables audio, video, and/or other forms of conferences between multiple participants, such as to facilitate a conference between those participants. In some cases, the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room (i.e. physical space), the one or more follower devices in a companion mode in which the leader device maintains control over each of the one or more follower devices for the video conference (¶0021, teaches a first device may be designated as a primary mode device (i.e. leader device) with full access (i.e. control) to functionality of a software service and one or more second devices (i.e. follower devices) may each be designated as a secondary mode device with limited access to the functionality of the software service, ¶0081, teaches the device mode designation tool 508 later designates one or more second devices in a secondary mode, such as a companion mode, a view-only mode, or a listen-only mode), wherein use of the leader device during the video conference is shared by all conference participants within the physical space (¶0066, teaches After the primary mode device 402 connects to the software service 400, the device mode designation software 410 uses information identifying other devices which are logged into the software platform or a software service thereof under the same user account to identify the other devices which can connect to the software service 400 in a secondary mode. For example, the user may be logged into client applications under the same user account at each of the primary mode device 402, the secondary mode device 1 404, and the secondary mode device N 406, ¶0071, teaches a video capture device within a physical space that includes the shared device can output a video stream that, when processed using facial recognition or like intelligence software, can determine an identity of a user who is actively using a shared device at a given time) and use of each of the follower devices during the video conference is by individual ones of the conference participants (¶0058, teaches the conferencing software 314 enables audio, video, and/or other forms of conferences between multiple participants, such as to facilitate a conference between those participants. In some cases, the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room, ¶0071, teaches a shared conference room device may be designated in a group mode which has the same effect as the companion mode, view-only mode, or listen-only mode, but is simultaneously associated with multiple users rather than a single user account as with a typical secondary mode device), and wherein the leader device is a shared physical space computing device (¶0071, teaches a video capture device (i.e. leader device) within a physical space that includes the shared device can output a video stream, ¶0089, teaches a main speaker UI tile 604 for a conference participant who is actively speaking, and controls 606) and each follower device of the one or more follower devices is a personal computing device (¶0053, teaches the shared device 310 is a desk phone, a computer, a mobile device, or a different device which may instead be configured for use by multiple specified or unspecified users); and
at each of the one or more follower devices, based on the companion mode designation for the follower device (¶0081, teaches the device mode designation tool 508 later designates one or more second devices in a secondary mode, such as a companion mode, a view-only mode, or a listen-only mode):
causing an output of first content of the video conference for display (¶0016, teaches a desktop or laptop computer may be a desirable device to use for participating in a conference over conferencing software because such devices typically have speakers and a large display for outputting audio and video content, ¶0067, teaches the primary mode device 402, being in the primary mode, retains access for full functionality of the software service 400, such as…participating in digital whiteboarding (i.e. first content) through the conference),
However, Lee remains silent on causing a capture of second content to share to one or more remote conference devices connected to the video conference.
Gillett discloses causing a capture of second content to share to one or more remote conference devices connected to the video conference (¶0043, teaches the client 206 on the initial terminal, e.g. 102 b, may continue to receive the audio and/or video stream (i.e. second content) of the call but then route the audio and/or video stream onwards to the newly selected terminal, e.g. 102 c, ¶0089, teaches Dave has selected the tablet computer 102 b as his primary terminal. At step S2 the client 206 running on the primary terminal 102 b detects the presence of a potential secondary terminal 102 a on the local network (in this case a mobile terminal 102 a) and prompts him with an on-screen message asking whether he would like to link the devices so as to use the camera on his mobile terminal 102 a to capture video for the purpose of video calls, ¶0092-¶0093, teaches the client on the primary terminal 102 b instructs the remote user's terminal 102 to set up a separate channel with the secondary terminal so as to route one of the streams directly to or from the secondary terminal 102 a in parallel with the primary terminal 102 b… Dave can then direct the camera on his mobile terminal 102 a so as to share video with Sally, e.g. of himself 402, his surroundings 404 or his pet dog “Toby” 406, ¶0125, teaches the first near-end terminal may be a laptop 102 b, tablet or desktop computer 102 c and the second near-end terminal may be a mobile phone 102 a available to provide the service of providing a remote microphone or camera, to capture a voice or video stream (i.e. second content) of the call).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee’s system with causing a capture of second content to share to one or more remote conference devices connected to the video conference of Gillett, in order to allow sharing real time visual information during a video conference and enhancing communication by providing a visual context to discussions (Gillett).
Lee teaches ¶0023, teaches the multimedia conference server 130 may comprise any logical or physical entity that is arranged to establish, manage or control a multimedia conference call between meeting consoles 110-1-m over a network 120, ¶0058, teaches one or more participants may be physically present within a single location and one or more other participants may be remote, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between all of those participants using one or more clients within the conference room and one or more remote clients. However, Lee in view of Gillett remain silent on wherein the leader device and the one or more remote conference devices connect to the video conference via a server-side multimedia router.
Lin discloses wherein the leader device and the one or more remote conference devices connect to the video conference via a server-side multimedia router (¶0016, teaches a virtual conferencing system provides for the reception and transmission of audio and video data between devices, for communication between device users in real-time. A hybrid event provides for conferencing between in-person participants (i.e. leader device) in a physical space and virtual participants (i.e. remote participants), ¶0022, teaches the virtual conference server system 108 provides server-side functionality (i.e. server-side multimedia router) via the network 112 to a particular virtual conference client 104. For example, with respect to transmitting audio and/or video streams (i.e. multimedia router), the virtual conference client 104 (e.g., installed on a first client device 102) may facilitate in transmitting streaming content to the virtual conference server system 108 for subsequent receipt by other participant devices (e.g., one or more second client devices 102) running respective instances of the virtual conference client 104).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee’s system with one or more participants may be physically present within a single location and one or more other participants may be remote with wherein the leader device and the one or more remote conference devices connect to the video conference via a server-side multimedia router of Lin, in order to provide scalability, reliability, security and quality management that direct device to device connections (Lin, ¶0022).
Lin ¶0022, teaches the virtual conference server system 108 provides server-side functionality (i.e. server-side multimedia router) via the network 112 to a particular virtual conference client. However, Lee in view of Gillett, and further in view of Lin remain silent on the one or more follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router, and based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list the video conference.
Chu discloses the one or more follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (¶0032, teaches any other type of connection can be used to communicate between the portable device 50 and the videoconferencing unit (100). As will also be appreciated, establishing a connection between the portable device 50 and the videoconferencing unit (100) and far-end (30) requires particular protocols, applications, ¶0089, teaches the slave devices (i.e. follower devices) 50 receive and transmit video/audio only to and from the master device (i.e. leader device) 100, ¶0115, teaches if video streams (i.e. multimedia router) are communicated from one or more of the slave devices 50 to the master device 100, they are received from the network interface 130, ¶0091, teaches communication between the portable devices 50 and 100 can use the wireless network 134 to send audio, video, and other data between the devices 50 and 100), and based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list the video conference (¶0034, teaches the portable device's processing unit 60 has a videoconferencing application (i.e. software) 66 with a user interface. When operated, the application 66 allows a participant to use the portable device 50 as a peripheral to the videoconferencing system (10). FIG. 3 shows an example videoconferencing interface 67 for the portable device's application (66), ¶0055, teaches the videoconferencing unit 100 can initiate the videoconference and can begin rendering audio and video obtained with the conventional microphone(s) 124 and the unit's camera (i.e. wherein microphone and camera are components in a single conference) 144. Then, during the videoconference, participants with portable devices 50 can connect or pair with the videoconference unit 100 to join the videoconference, ¶0057, teaches a participant in the room having a portable device 50 running a conferencing application (66) can select to join the videoconference conducted by the unit 100, ¶0089, teaches the slave devices (i.e. follower devices) 50 receive and transmit video/audio only to and from the master device (i.e. leader device) 100, ¶0093, teaches the master device 100 broadcasts its network (e.g., IP) address designated in the local area network to the other portable devices 50, which use the address to connect (i.e., pair) with the master device 100.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee’s one or more participants may be physically present within a single location and one or more other participants may be remote in view of Gillet’s, and further in view of Lin’s server-side functionality (i.e. server-side multimedia router) via the network to a particular virtual conference client with the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router, and based on the connection of the one or more follower devices to the video conference via the leader device, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device and the one or more follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list the video conference of Chu, in order to leader device maintain the connection and presents the group as a single unified participant in the conference (Chu, ¶0055).
For claim 10, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 10 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 15, it is a system claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 2, 11 and 18, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein designating the one or more follower devices in the companion mode comprises:
determining that a same participant account is used to connect the leader device and each of the one or more follower devices to the video conference (Lee, ¶0066, teaches the user may be logged into client applications under the same user account at each of the primary mode device 402, the secondary mode device 1 404, and the secondary mode device N 406, ¶0095, teaches determining the second device includes identifying one or more other devices associated with the same user account as the first device, Gillett, ¶0020).
With respect to claim 3, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: pairing the one or more follower devices to the leader device prior to the one or more follower devices connecting to the video conference (Lee, ¶0071, teaches the shared device may be a device that the user account is currently logged into, the user account has previously been logged into, or that can be paired with the primary mode device 402 using a local detection).
With respect to claim 4, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
initiating the video conference based on input received from a follower device of the one or more follower devices (Lee, ¶0020, teaches the secondary mode device is connected to the same conferencing software instance as the primary mode device, the user of those devices is identified to other conference participants only via the primary mode device, ¶0053, teaches The desk phone 304 is a desktop unit configured to at least send and receive calls and includes an input device for receiving a telephone number or extension to dial to and an output device for outputting audio and/or video for a call in progress, ¶0078).
With respect to claim 5, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second content is a video stream (Lee, ¶0071, teaches the shared device can output a video stream, Gillett, ¶0125, teaches the first near-end terminal may be a laptop 102 b, tablet or desktop computer 102 c and the second near-end terminal may be a mobile phone 102 a available to provide the service of providing a remote microphone or camera, to capture a voice or video stream (i.e. second content) of the call).
With respect to claim 6, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first content corresponds to a digital whiteboard (Lee, ¶0067, teaches the primary mode device 402, being in the primary mode, retains access for full functionality of the software service 400, such as…participating in digital whiteboarding through the conference) and the second content corresponds to input usable to add content to the digital whiteboard (Lee, ¶0020, teaches the secondary mode device may instead be limited to displaying the digital whiteboard and to capturing input usable to modify the digital whiteboard).
With respect to claim 7, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuration logic defines functionality of the video conference to prevent access to at the one or more follower devices (Lee, ¶0017, teaches the software service may detect that the user's account is already logged in at a given device and prohibit further devices of that user from accessing that software service using the same account for security purposes, ¶0042, teaches allowing or preventing communications based on configuration settings, ¶0082, Gillet, ¶0073, teaches in order for the resources of another or secondary terminal 102 to be accessed, this may be conditional on the device being online at the time the communication event is received. If the secondary terminal is not online the primary client may be prevented from selecting the resources of the offline secondary device).
With respect to claim 8, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more follower devices are one or both of laptop computers or tablet computers at fixed locations within the physical space (Lee, ¶0053, teaches the shared device 310 is a desk phone, a computer, a mobile device, or a different device which may instead be configured for use by multiple specified or unspecified users, ¶0058, teaches the participants may all be physically present within a single location, for example, a conference room, in which the conferencing software 314 may facilitate a conference between only those participants and using one or more clients within the conference room).
With respect to claim 9, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more follower devices are digital whiteboard devices configured for movement into and out of the physical space (Lee, ¶0071, teaches the shared device may be a digital whiteboarding device which may be represented in a companion mode for a given user while that user is using the digital whiteboarding device… a video capture device within a physical space that includes the shared device can output a video stream that, when processed using facial recognition or like intelligence software, can determine an identity of a user who is actively using a shared device at a given time, Gillett, ¶0087, teaches the user will have the ability to switch to using their mobile phone's camera to move around their environment and show the person they are calling their surroundings).
With respect to claim 12, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the leader device is identified based on configuration logic defined for the video conference (Lee, ¶0078, teaches the device (i.e. leader device) mode designation software 500 may communicate instructions, commands, or data configured to cause a channel to be opened between the other device and the software service).
With respect to claim 13, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first content corresponds to video conference functionality selected for output at the one or more follower devices (Lee, ¶0016, teaches a desktop or laptop computer may be a desirable device to use for participating in a conference over conferencing software because such devices typically have speakers and a large display for outputting audio and video content (i.e. first content)).
With respect to claim 14, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the second content corresponds to one or both of a video stream or whiteboard data (Lee, ¶0068, teaches the secondary mode device 1 404, which may be a tablet computer having a touch interface, may be connected to the conference in response to one of the conference participants launching a digital whiteboard exercise (whiteboard data), Gillett, ¶0125, teaches the first near-end terminal may be a laptop 102 b, tablet or desktop computer 102 c and the second near-end terminal may be a mobile phone 102 a available to provide the service of providing a remote microphone or camera, to capture a voice or video stream (i.e. second content) of the call).
With respect to claim 16, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more follower devices are designated in the companion mode according to configuration logic defined for the video conference (Lee, ¶0078, teaches the device (i.e. leader device) mode designation software 500 may communicate instructions, commands, or data configured to cause a channel to be opened between the other device and the software service, ¶0081, teaches the device mode designation tool 508 later designates one or more second devices in a secondary mode, such as a companion mode, a view-only mode, or a listen-only mode).
With respect to claim 17, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute the instructions to:
authenticate the one or more follower devices for the video conference (Lee, ¶0099, teaches the user of the second device may be prompted to establish the connection between the software service and the second device responsive to an authentication of the user at the second device, Gillett, ¶0063, teaches the client on the primary terminal then authorises the secondary terminal, ¶0064, teaches as such the primary terminal 102 b that initiates a VoIP conversation will have the capability to direct any media stream to any of the secondary terminal that is authorized to use. The media stream of the conversation will be directed to the designated secondary terminal 102 e that the primary user selects).
With respect to claim 19, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the second content captured at a follower device of the one or more follower devices is captured using a camera of the follower device (Gillett, ¶0125, teaches the first near-end terminal may be a laptop 102 b, tablet or desktop computer 102 c and the second near-end terminal may be a mobile phone 102 a available to provide the service of providing a remote microphone or camera, to capture a voice or video stream (i.e. second content) of the call) .
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin in view of Chu, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20160088259), hereinafter “Anderson”.
With respect to claim 20, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu discloses the system of claim 15.
However, Lee in view of Gillett in view of Lin, and further in view of Chu remain silent on wherein the companion mode designation of the one or more follower devices is revoked at an end of the video conference.
Anderson discloses wherein the companion mode designation of the one or more follower devices is revoked at an end of the video conference (¶0040, teaches Granting permission to speak (transferring the floor) is thus performed by using a control such as touching or clicking on the selected participant in the participant list or by releasing or relinquishing the floor. Revoking permission, or taking back the floor, is performed by a facilitator using a control such as clicking or touching their own icon or name in the participant list, or other manners of control. Generally, only a facilitator has this ability to force termination of another participant's position on the floor).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee’s in view of Gillett’s in view of Lin’s, and further in view of Chu’s system with one or more follower devices is revoked at an end of the video conference of Anderson, in order to enhance security and privacy (Anderson).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458