DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated due to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 recite the limitation "the one or more follower devices" in lines 17-18 of independent claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-13 recite the limitation "the one or more follower devices" in lines 18-19 of independent claim 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-20 recite the limitation "the one or more follower devices" in line 20 of independent claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Patent No. 11,677,906), and further in view of Patel (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0088698), and further in view of Andersen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0150575).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method comprising:
pairing a follower device within a physical space to a leader device of a software-based room system (col. 11 ll. 15-28) of the physical space (conference room) to enable a companion mode designation for the follower device during a video conference (col. 12 ll. 18-col. 16 ll. 6); based on a connection of the leader device to the video conference: causing the follower device to connect to the video conference according to the companion mode designation (col. 16 ll. 7-col. 20 ll. 52 connecting as companion device any multiple different manners); and
updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (col. 4 ll. 29-31, col. 16 ll. 2-6),
wherein the leader (primary) device is a shared computing device and the follower (secondary) device is a personal computing device (col. 4 ll. 3-22), wherein the follower device and each of one or more other follower devices located within the physical space (conference room) and in the companion (secondary/companion) mode designation connects to the video conference according to the companion mode designation based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 12 ll.18-col. 13 ll. 13), wherein, based on the connection of the follower device and the one or more follower devices to the video conference, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device, the follower device, and the one or more other follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list of the video conference (col. 4 ll. 22-31, col. 14 ll. 19-24); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16 , Fig. 4 item 402 enabled to control items 404,406 via connection between items 400 and 402), (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16) (col. 20 ll. 53-col. 23 ll. 61 for additional details).
Lee does not explicitly teach obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device, but it was well known in the art to display conference participant’s name/ identity during conference, and Lee teaches the follower devices connect to the video conference based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 8 ll. 8-11 network hardware such as routers, switches etc.), but Lee does not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Patel teaches obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device (Paragraphs 0032-0033); and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (Paragraphs 0034-0037).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee to include obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device; and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information as taught by Patel in order to display “the participant's name, company division, site location, office phone number, manager's name, and email address” (Patel, Paragraph 0023).
Lee and Patel do not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Andersen teaches the follower device (Fig. 6F item 684A) and the one or more other follower devices (Fig. 6F any of items 684B, 684C, 684D) connect to the video conference (Paragraphs 0037-0038, 0120, 0123, 0170, 0202, 0204 video call or videoconference) via the leader device (Fig. 6F item 682) based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (Fig. 6F items 685-686); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (Paragraphs 0021, 0038, 0116-0123).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee and Patel to include the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connecting to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference; and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router as taught by Andersen in order to enable “communication between the separate users and a remote device, via point-to-point wireless ad hoc network link between a primary wireless communication device and secondary wireless communication devices and a separate communication link between the primary wireless communication device and the remote device” (Andersen, Paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein causing the follower device to connect to the video conference comprises: using a same participant account used with the leader device to initiate a connection of the follower device to the video conference (col. 12 ll. 43-54, col. 13 ll. 14-31, col. 14 ll. 47-62).
Regarding claim 3, Patel teaches wherein obtaining the name information of the conference participant comprises at least one of: obtaining text input from a user of the follower device; obtaining text input from a user of the leader device; or capturing an image using a camera of the follower device (Abstract, Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches determining an in-use state of the follower device based on a detection of the conference participant within a field of view of a camera of the follower device for more than a threshold period of time (col. 19 ll. 4-29 in-use state as a secondary/follower based on user being in camera view. Note: using a threshold time to effect the detection as an implementation choice would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to avoid rapid fluctuations of mode and resulting excessive processing resource usage.).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the follower device is at a fixed location within the physical space (col. 10 ll. 18-48 desktop computer, desk phone etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches wherein the follower device is configured for movement into and out of the physical space (col. 2 ll. 60-64, col. 4 ll. 19-22, col. 14 ll. 34-38, col. 15 ll. 23-29).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the companion mode designation enables the leader device to maintain control over the follower device for the video conference (col. 13 ll. 44-col. 14 ll. 62).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations (col. 23 ll. 62-col. 24 ll. 58) comprising:
pairing a follower device within a physical space to a leader device of a software- based room system (col. 11 ll. 15-28) of the physical space (conference room) to enable a companion mode designation for the follower device during a video conference (col. 12 ll. 18-col. 16 ll. 6); based on a connection of the leader device to the video conference: causing the follower device to connect to the video conference according to the companion mode designation (col. 16 ll. 7-col. 20 ll. 52 connecting as companion device any multiple different manners);
updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (col. 4 ll. 29-31, col. 16 ll. 2-6),
wherein the leader (primary) device is a shared computing device and the follower (secondary) device is a personal computing device (col. 4 ll. 3-22), wherein the follower device and each of one or more other follower devices located within the physical space (conference room) and in the companion (secondary/companion) mode designation connects to the video conference according to the companion mode designation based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 12 ll.18-col. 13 ll. 13), wherein, based on the connection of the follower device and the one or more follower devices to the video conference, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device, the follower device, and the one or more other follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list of the video conference (col. 4 ll. 22-31, col. 14 ll. 19-24); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16 , Fig. 4 item 402 enabled to control items 404,406 via connection between items 400 and 402), (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16) (col. 20 ll. 53-col. 23 ll. 61 for additional details).
Lee does not explicitly teach obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device, but it was well known in the art to display conference participant’s name/ identity during conference, and Lee teaches the follower devices connect to the video conference based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 8 ll. 8-11 network hardware such as routers, switches etc.), but Lee does not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Patel teaches obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device (Paragraphs 0032-0033); and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (Paragraphs 0034-0037).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee to include obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device; and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information as taught by Patel in order to display “the participant's name, company division, site location, office phone number, manager's name, and email address” (Patel, Paragraph 0023).
Lee and Patel do not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Andersen teaches the follower device (Fig. 6F item 684A) and the one or more other follower devices (Fig. 6F any of items 684B, 684C, 684D) connect to the video conference (Paragraphs 0037-0038, 0120, 0123, 0170, 0202, 0204 video call or videoconference) via the leader device (Fig. 6F item 682) based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (Fig. 6F items 685-686); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (Paragraphs 0021, 0038, 0116-0123).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee and Patel to include the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connecting to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference; and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router as taught by Andersen in order to enable “communication between the separate users and a remote device, via point-to-point wireless ad hoc network link between a primary wireless communication device and secondary wireless communication devices and a separate communication link between the primary wireless communication device and the remote device” (Andersen, Paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches wherein the follower device connects to the video conference using a same participant account as is used to connect the leader device to the video conference (col. 12 ll. 43-54, col. 13 ll. 14-31, col. 14 ll. 47-62).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches wherein the follower device is connected to the video conference based on the connection of the leader device to the video conference and based on a determination that the follower device is in-use (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 20 ll. 52 connecting as companion device any multiple different manners, also while in use as shared device).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches wherein the leader device maintains control over the follower device during the video conference (col. 13 ll. 44-col. 14 ll. 62).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a system comprising:
a memory subsystem storing instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the instructions (col. 23 ll. 62-col. 24 ll. 58) to:
pair a follower device within a physical space to a leader device of a software- based room system (col. 11 ll. 15-28) of the physical space (conference room) to enable a companion mode designation for the follower device during a video conference (col. 12 ll. 18-col. 16 ll. 6); based on a connection of the leader device to the video conference: cause the follower device to connect to the video conference according to the companion mode designation (col. 16 ll. 7-col. 20 ll. 52 connecting as companion device any multiple different manners);
update a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (col. 4 ll. 29-31, col. 16 ll. 2-6),
wherein the leader (primary) device is a shared computing device and the follower (secondary) device is a personal computing device (col. 4 ll. 3-22), wherein the follower device and each of one or more other follower devices located within the physical space (conference room) and in the companion (secondary/companion) mode designation connects to the video conference according to the companion mode designation based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 12 ll.18-col. 13 ll. 13), wherein, based on the connection of the follower device and the one or more follower devices to the video conference, the software-based room system collectively represents the leader device, the follower device, and the one or more other follower devices as a single conference participant within a participant list of the video conference (col. 4 ll. 22-31, col. 14 ll. 19-24); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16 , Fig. 4 item 402 enabled to control items 404,406 via connection between items 400 and 402), (col. 13 ll. 32-col. 14 ll. 16) (col. 20 ll. 53-col. 23 ll. 61 for additional details).
Lee does not explicitly teach obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device, but it was well known in the art to display conference participant’s name/ identity during conference, and Lee teaches the follower devices connect to the video conference based on a connection to a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (col. 8 ll. 8-11 network hardware such as routers, switches etc.), but Lee does not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Patel teaches obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device (Paragraphs 0032-0033); and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information (Paragraphs 0034-0037).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee to include obtaining name information identifying a conference participant using the follower device; and updating a representation of the follower device within the video conference to indicate the name information as taught by Patel in order to display “the participant's name, company division, site location, office phone number, manager's name, and email address” (Patel, Paragraph 0023).
Lee and Patel do not teach the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connect to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Andersen teaches the follower device (Fig. 6F item 684A) and the one or more other follower devices (Fig. 6F any of items 684B, 684C, 684D) connect to the video conference (Paragraphs 0037-0038, 0120, 0123, 0170, 0202, 0204 video call or videoconference) via the leader device (Fig. 6F item 682) based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference (Fig. 6F items 685-686); and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router (Paragraphs 0021, 0038, 0116-0123).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee and Patel to include the follower device and the one or more other follower devices connecting to the video conference via the leader device based on a connection between the leader device and a server-side multimedia router associated with the video conference; and the software-based room system enables the leader device to control the follower device and the one or more other follower devices during the video conference via the connection between the leader device and the server-side multimedia router as taught by Andersen in order to enable “communication between the separate users and a remote device, via point-to-point wireless ad hoc network link between a primary wireless communication device and secondary wireless communication devices and a separate communication link between the primary wireless communication device and the remote device” (Andersen, Paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the connection of the follower device to the video conference is based on a detection of the conference participant within a field of view of a camera of the follower device (col. 19 ll. 4-29).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches to transmit, from the leader device, a signal indicating to disconnect the follower device from the video conference (col. 19 ll. 53-57, col. 20 ll. 14-40 primary device user response to the prompt to disconnect secondary device.).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches the follower device and the leader device are represented as a single logical entity within the video conference (col. 14 ll. 16-27, col. 20 ll. 55-61 represented as single tile in UI.).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches wherein the follower device is one of a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a digital whiteboard device (col. 2 ll. 60-64, col. 4 ll. 19-22, col. 13 ll. 44-col. 14 ll. 62, col. 15 ll. 23-29).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Patel and Andersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0106975).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Patel and Andersen do no teach determining ones of the one or more other follower devices having cameras with fields of view depicting the conference participant; determining a select video stream representing the conference participant from amongst candidate video streams captured at the ones of the one or more other follower devices; and updating a user interface tile associated with the representation of the conference participant to show the video stream.
However, in the similar field, Chu teaches determining ones of the one or more other follower devices having cameras (Fig. 6 multiple items 50) with fields of view depicting the conference participant; determining a select video stream representing the conference participant from amongst candidate video streams captured at the ones of the one or more other follower devices; and updating a user interface tile associated with the representation of the conference participant to show the video stream (Paragraphs 0115-0118).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee, Patel and Andersen to include determining ones of the one or more follower devices having cameras with fields of view depicting the conference participant; determining a select video stream representing the conference participant from amongst candidate video streams captured at the ones of the one or more follower devices; and updating a user interface tile associated with the representation of the conference participant to show the video stream as taught by Chu in order to send “the video stream of the dominant talker to the far-end ” (Chu, Paragraph 0115).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Patel and Andersen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ding (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0381673).
Regarding claim 10, Lee obviously teaches pairing the follower (secondary) device to the leader (primary) device authenticates the follower device for the video conference (col. 13 ll. 54-67 authorized login), but Lee, Patel and Andersen do not explicitly teach wherein pairing the follower (secondary) device to the leader (primary) device authenticates the follower device for the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Ding teaches pairing the follower (secondary) device to the leader (primary) device authenticates the follower device for the video conference (Abstract, Paragraphs 0009-0010, 0014-0015, 0019-0020, 0023-0024, 0027-0028, 0031-0032, 0036-0037, 0051, 0061-0065, 0078-0079 and elsewhere in the Ding art, secondary/follower device providing authentication to primary/leader device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee, Patel and Andersen to authenticate the follower (secondary) device for the video conference to pair with leader (primary) device as taught by Ding in order to enable secure conference communication with verified participants.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Patel and Andersen as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Nagar (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0098094).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches to initiate a connection of a client application running at the follower device to the video conference (col. 16 ll. 55-col. 17 ll. 11), but Lee, Patel and Andersen do not specifically teach to transmit, from the leader device, a signal indicating to initiate a connection of a client application running at the follower device to the video conference.
However, in the similar field, Nagar teaches to transmit, from the leader device (authorized user), a signal (command) indicating to initiate a connection of a client application (any of the applications) running at the follower device (authorized user device to perform action via the application) to the video conference (connect to conference room IVA) (Paragraphs 0008, 0029-0044).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee, Patel and Andersen to transmit, from the leader device, a signal indicating to initiate a connection of a client application running at the follower device to the video conference as taught by Nagar in order to enable “delegating roles to another user to perform actions” (Nagar, Paragraph 0028).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Patel and Andersen as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mande (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0104122).
Regarding claim 19, Lee, Patel and Andersen do not specifically teach the name information is obtained using a near field communications sensor associated with the physical space.
However, in the similar field, Mande teaches the name information is obtained using a near field communications sensor associated with the physical space (Paragraphs 0036, 0070-0073, 0087).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Lee, Patel and Andersen to obtain the name information using a near field communications sensor associated with the physical space as taught by Mande so that “the authentication information is transmitted from the user input system 540 to the video conference system through the network 510, and the user's identity is subsequently authenticated upon receipt of the information” (Mande, Paragraph 0073).
Conclusion
HEMANT PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/HEMANT S PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694