Claim(s) 12 to 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al (Semiconductor Science and Technology) in view of Stein et al (DE 4310745).
The Hartmann et al reference teaches a method and apparatus of growing a crystal semiconductor, note entire reference. The apparatus consists of the crucible. The crucible is a vessel with a lid arrange on the vessel, note fig 3a. The crucible as configured to receive and hold a source material, fig 3a. There is a heater that is arranged such that the source material is heated to sublime or become gases, note page 3. There is a seed crystal that is placed between the source and the lid, note 3b. Further the seed is not in contact with either the bottom or the lid. The source material is placed in the vessel and heated to sublimation temperatures. Then the gas flows to the seed and deposits to grow a single crystal. The sole difference between the instant claims and the prior art is the seed holder. However, the Stein et al reference teaches using a seed holder which is not in contact with the bottom or lid of the crucible and holds the seed so that it faces the lid, note fig 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Hartmann et al reference by the teachings of the Stein et al reference to use a seed holder in order to stabilize the seed growing a more uniform layer. The Stein et al, and Zwieback et al reference further differ from the instant claim in the properties of the crystal. The references do teach either aluminum nitride or silicon carbide single crystals. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have the crystal with low dislocations and a Burgens vector along the (0001) in order to increase the use of the crystal.
With regards to claims 13, 14, 18 and 19, the references do teach the use of the grown crystal in further semiconductor device formation steps including mechanical or chemical steps.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1, 2 and 4 to 11 are allowable over the prior art of record in view of the amendment and arguments.
Applicants’ argument concerning inherency in the rejection of claims 12 to 19 is noted. However, the references do teach a similar process to that which is claimed which would create a similar result. It is noted that applicants have not shown any reasoning or evidence that this is not the case. There is no showing of differences in the Burgers vectors, Further, the references do teach a less or defect free final product.
Applicants’ argument concerning Official Notice has been considered and not deemed persuasive. The Hartmann reference in particular does teach that the seed and process do materially affect the final product defect amounts. The reference does teach this is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. The Hartman et al reference further teaches growing as low as possible defect. The examiner has relied on known teachings in the art, and not just taken Official Notice to reject the product claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714