DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection due to the addition of the Garrod reference as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 10-12, 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrod et al. US 2010/0060512 and Aponte Luis US 2019/0251822.
Regarding claim 1, Garrod teaches a computer system and method for monitoring a water level in a water source (river, fig. 4), comprising at least one processor 54 in communication with at least one memory device and at least one sensor 35, the at least one processor configured to receive water data from the at least one sensor located at the water source (fig. 4 illustrates a sensor 35 located at a river 64), wherein the water data is generated by the at least one sensor using signals that the at least one sensor transmits (36) to and receives from (34) the water source, and wherein the signals detect or measure the water level in the water source (paragraph 0029). The processor then analyzes the received data to determine one or more water levels of the water source (paragraph 0030), and determines whether the water in the water source includes an anomalous water level (if the water level rises above the norm, paragraph 0029), in determination that the water level includes the anomalous water level, an alert is generated (paragraph 0029) indicating that the water includes the anomalous water level (is above the norm), and the alert is transmitted via wireless communication (paragraph 0029). Garrod teaches transmitting the alert, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting it to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source as claimed.
Aponte Luis teaches a computer system as seen in fig. 1 and fig. 2 for detecting water levels and alerting users in real time of the water level, the computer system including at least one processor 105 in communication with at least one memory device 106 and at least one sensors 112a, 112b, 112c, 113, wherein an alert is generated and transmitted via wireless communication or data transmission, to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source when an anomalous level is detected (paragraph 0038).
Aponte Luis is directed towards a rising water level and flooding in a housing but does not detect the water level in a water source itself. Aponte Luis is considered to be analogous art to that of Garrod in the field of liquid detection and it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the processing and transmission means of Aponte Luis with the level sensing device of Garrod in order to monitor a water source for flooding or other rising water and to transmit the detection alerts to users’ mobile devices to provide warning of potential danger in the area.
Regarding claim 2, the system of Garrod teaches detecting an overflowing condition when the river rises above the norm.
Regarding claim 3, the alert of Garrod includes the water level since it is generated when the norm is exceeded.
Regarding claim 6, Garrod teaches determining a water level above the norm which would require comparing the water data to a threshold as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, the water source of Garrod is a river as claimed (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 10, Garrod teaches a computer system and method for monitoring a water level in a water source (river, fig. 4), comprising at least one processor 54 in communication with at least one memory device and at least one sensor 35, the at least one processor, the method comprising receiving water data from the at least one sensor located at the water source (fig. 4 illustrates a sensor 35 located at a river 64), wherein the water data is generated by the at least one sensor using signals that the at least one sensor transmits (36) to and receives from (34) the water source, and wherein the signals detect or measure the water level in the water source (paragraph 0029), analyzing the received data to determine one or more water levels of the water source (paragraph 0030), and determining whether the water in the water source includes an anomalous water level (if the water level rises above the norm, paragraph 0029). In response to determination that the water level includes the anomalous water level, an alert is generated (paragraph 0029) indicating that the water includes the anomalous water level (is above the norm), and the alert is transmitted via wireless communication (paragraph 0029). Garrod teaches transmitting the alert, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting it to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source as claimed.
Aponte Luis teaches a computer system as seen in fig. 1 and fig. 2 and method for detecting water levels and alerting users in real time of the water level, the computer system including at least one processor 105 in communication with at least one memory device 106 and at least one sensors 112a, 112b, 112c, 113, wherein an alert is generated and transmitted via wireless communication or data transmission, to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source when an anomalous level is detected (paragraph 0038).
Aponte Luis is directed towards a rising water level and flooding in a housing but does not detect the water level in a water source itself. Aponte Luis is considered to be analogous art to that of Garrod in the field of liquid detection and it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the processing and transmission means of Aponte Luis with the level sensing device of Garrod in order to monitor a water source for flooding or other rising water and to transmit the detection alerts to users’ mobile devices to provide warning of potential danger in the area.
Regarding claim 11, the system of Garrod teaches detecting an overflowing condition when the river rises above the norm.
Regarding claim 12, the alert of Garrod includes the water level since it is generated when the norm is exceeded.
Regarding claim 15, Garrod teaches determining a water level above the norm which would require comparing the water data to a threshold as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, the water source of Garrod is a river as claimed (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 19, Garrod teaches a computer system and method for monitoring a water level in a water source (river, fig. 4) which would be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operation on the processor, comprising at least one processor 54 in communication with at least one memory device and at least one sensor 35, the at least one processor configured to receive water data from the at least one sensor located at the water source (fig. 4 illustrates a sensor 35 located at a river 64), wherein the water data is generated by the at least one sensor using signals that the at least one sensor transmits (36) to and receives from (34) the water source, and wherein the signals detect or measure the water level in the water source (paragraph 0029). The processor then analyzes the received data to determine one or more water levels of the water source (paragraph 0030), and determines whether the water in the water source includes an anomalous water level (if the water level rises above the norm, paragraph 0029), in determination that the water level includes the anomalous water level, an alert is generated (paragraph 0029) indicating that the water includes the anomalous water level (is above the norm), and the alert is transmitted via wireless communication (paragraph 0029). Garrod teaches transmitting the alert, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting it to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source as claimed.
Aponte Luis teaches a computer system as seen in fig. 1 and fig. 2 for detecting water levels and alerting users in real time of the water level, the computer system including at least one processor 105 in communication with at least one memory device 106 and at least one sensors 112a, 112b, 112c, 113, wherein an alert is generated and transmitted via wireless communication or data transmission, to one or more client devices associated with at least one user of the water source when an anomalous level is detected (paragraph 0038).
Aponte Luis is directed towards a rising water level and flooding in a housing but does not detect the water level in a water source itself. Aponte Luis is considered to be analogous art to that of Garrod in the field of liquid detection and it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the processing and transmission means of Aponte Luis with the level sensing device of Garrod in order to monitor a water source for flooding or other rising water and to transmit the detection alerts to users’ mobile devices to provide warning of potential danger in the area.
Regarding claim 20, the system of Garrod teaches detecting an overflowing condition when the river rises above the norm.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 and claims 13 and 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrod and Aponte Luis as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Walbert US 2018/0089981.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the processor as generating a user list based on user data previously received from the client devices as claimed. Walbert teaches a system for detecting rising water levels and alerting users to potentially hazardous conditions. Paragraph 0069 of Walbert teaches generating a user list and contacting the users via client devices such as cell phones which have been previously entered into the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Walbert with those of Garrod and Aponte in order to contact users via cellphone who may be in danger due to the rising water levels.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the processor as generating a user list based on user data previously received from the client devices as claimed. Walbert teaches a system for detecting rising water levels and alerting users to potentially hazardous conditions. Paragraph 0069 of Walbert teaches generating a user list and contacting the users via client devices such as cell phones which have been previously entered into the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Walbert with those of Garrod and Aponte in order to contact users via cellphone who may be in danger due to the rising water levels.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrod and Aponte Luis as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Vaskovic US 7,417,552.
Regarding claim 8, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the processor configured to in response to determining that the water source includes an anomalous water level, transmit drainage instructions to the water depth controller and cause the water depth controller to drain the water source based on the transmitted draining instructions. Vaskovic discloses a flood alarm system which operates in a sump basin 20 and comprises a level sensor and pump means 24 for initiating drainage when an anomalous water level is reached. Vaskovic further comprises a processor (column 2, lines 46-60) which notifies a user of a potential flood when detected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Vaskovic with those of Garrod and Aponte Luis in order to provide similar flood reduction means in the form of a pump system or similar to allow for draining and potential flood prevention as it was known in the art at the time of filing to use such systems in flood-prone locations.
Regarding claim 17, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the processor configured to in response to determining that the water source includes an anomalous water level, transmit drainage instructions to the water depth controller and cause the water depth controller to drain the water source based on the transmitted draining instructions. Vaskovic discloses a flood alarm system which operates in a sump basin 20 and comprises a level sensor and pump means 24 for initiating drainage when an anomalous water level is reached. Vaskovic further comprises a processor (column 2, lines 46-60) which notifies a user of a potential flood when detected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Vaskovic with those of Garrod and Aponte Luis in order to provide similar flood reduction means in the form of a pump system or similar to allow for draining and potential flood prevention as it was known in the art at the time of filing to use such systems in flood-prone locations.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrod and Aponte Luis as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Kusumoto et al. US 2018/0356221.
Regarding claim 9, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the use of an unmanned vehicle (UV), wherein the processor receives topography data from the UV including imagery information indicative of one or more water levels in the water source, and determines based upon the topography data, whether water in the water source includes the anomalous water level. Kusumoto discloses a system and method for monitoring a water level in a water source such as river or lake (paragraph 0042) using an unmanned vehicle (fig. 1, paragraph 0044) which records imagery information of one or more water levels of the water source (water level gauge 200 is recorded with a camera 160, paragraph 0044), and a water level of the water source is determined via processing means (fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Kusumoto with those of Garrod and Aponte Luis in order to provide a visual confirmation of a water level in the water source to safely verify the correct level is being recorded prior to transmitting an alert.
Regarding claim 18, Garrod and Aponte Luis teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the use of an unmanned vehicle (UV), wherein the processor receives topography data from the UV including imagery information indicative of one or more water levels in the water source, and determines based upon the topography data, whether water in the water source includes the anomalous water level. Kusumoto discloses a system and method for monitoring a water level in a water source such as river or lake (paragraph 0042) using an unmanned vehicle (fig. 1, paragraph 0044) which records imagery information of one or more water levels of the water source (water level gauge 200 is recorded with a camera 160, paragraph 0044), and a water level of the water source is determined via processing means (fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Kusumoto with those of Garrod and Aponte Luis in order to provide a visual confirmation of a water level in the water source to safely verify the correct level is being recorded prior to transmitting an alert.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A SHABMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855