Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have persuasively overcome the objection to the title, the objection to the abstract, the 101 rejection and the 102 rejection. The 112 rejections have been reconsidered. The remaining issues are addressed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation are:
“environment sensing device” – claims 1 and 12
“infrared measurement device” – claims 1 and 12
“operating device” – claim 6
“output device” – claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-12 are rejected as a formality because the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph language in these claims does not have sufficient structure in the specification. This rejection matches the below indefiniteness rejection for the same language. Once that rejection is overcome, this one will be as well.
Claim 1 recites “determining, by the control device, field of vision data … ,” but this is unlimited functional claiming. MPEP 2173.05(g). For example, the plain meaning of “field of vision data” is data related to a field of vision (the claim does not specify which field of vision). As examples of the claim breadth, this could be the time of day that the vision occurs, or an object that the vision sees.
Claims 12 recites corresponding language and is likewise rejected.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “determin[ing] partial field data” but this is also unlimited functional claiming. In addition to the above points, it is not clear how the field of vision data leads to partial field data.
Claim 5 recites “determining driver condition data that describe a condition of the driver,” but this is unlimited functional claiming primarily due to the wide array of possible driver conditions.
Claim 5 recites “determining attention data … by applying an attention detection criterion to the driver condition data,” but this is unlimited functional claiming. Here, “attention detection criterion” could be a wide range of considerations, and thus does not provide sufficient guidance on how this claim language is achieved.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “sensing region of the one or more environment sensing devices” but it is unclear if the sensing region is the union of where the various sensors sense, or if each sensor has its own region.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “partial field,” but the claims do not provide guidance on determining what the partial field is. In other words, if a driver is looking forward, and sees an object in the road, what is the partial field? Is it just the object, is it all of the driver’s field of view? Is it the lane that the object is in? MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 12 recite “describe,” but this is subjective. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claims 1 and 12 recite “the one or more environment sensing devices in part of the sensing region … ” but this lacks sufficient antecedent basis. MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claims 1 and 12 recite “the sensing data detected … ” but this lacks sufficient antecedent basis. MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claims 10 and 11 recite “at a margin,” but this is a relative term. MPEP 2173.05(b)(I).
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-12 recite the claim elements identified in the 112(f) claim interpretation section (above) that are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly link the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. The disclosure of the means plus function claim terms is primarily to the functions performed, and the Figures show boxes (i.e., they do not disclose structure). The reliance on exemplary language requires one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function(s). Reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use renders the claim indefinite. MPEP 2181.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20140222277A1 (“Tsimhoni”)
1. (Currently Amended) A method for operating a motor vehicle having an interior camera, (Tsimhoni, [0041] “The interior sensor 118 may be implemented as a camera”)
one or more environment sensing devices that sense an environment of the motor vehicle, and (Tsimhoni, abstract, “the control system includes an exterior sensor for sensing the environment outside the vehicle.”)
a control device, (Tsimhoni, abstract “A processor is in communication with the exterior sensor”)
the one or more environment sensing devices including one or more of a camera device, a radar device, a Lidar device, an ultrasound sensor, or an infrared measurement device, (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The exterior sensors 110 may be cameras, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers, or other suitable sensing mechanisms as appreciated by those skilled in the art.”)
the control device including a processor and a memory storing program code, (Tsimhoni, [0031] “The processor 103 executes one or more programs”)
the method comprising:
determining, by the control device, field of vision data based on camera data of the interior camera, wherein the field of vision data describe a field of vision of a driver of the motor vehicle; (Tsimhoni, [0041] “The interior sensor 118 may be implemented as a camera (not separately shown) configured to sense the driver of the vehicle 102.”)
determining partial field data that describe a partial field of a sensing region of the one or more environment sensing devices in the environment of the motor vehicle, (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
wherein the partial field of the sensing region overlaps the field of vision of the drive based on the field of vision data; and (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
reducing sensing or evaluating of sensing data that are sensed by the one or more environment sensing devices and that describe the partial field according to the partial field data, (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.”)
wherein the reducing does not reduce sensing or evaluating of sensing data that are sensed by the one or more environment sensing devices in part of the sensing region that does not include the partial field of the sensing region, and (Tsimhoni, [0033] “The control system 100 of the exemplary embodiments further includes a global positioning system (“GPS”) receiver 112.”)
wherein the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data includes at least one of
reducing a scan rate of at least one of the one or more environment sensing devices,
deactivating at least one of the one or more environment sensing devices, or (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.” Using a shorter distance teaches the claimed deactivating because the sensor is less active. Compare with specification [0022] that deactivation can be “total” (and thus can also be partial).)
reducing a portion of the sensing data that are evaluated out of the sensing data detected by at least one of the one or more environment sensing devices. (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.” Using a shorter distance teaches the claimed reduction in evaluation because less data is collected, and thus less is also evaluated.)
2. (Canceled)
3. (Canceled)
4. (Canceled)
5. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining driver condition data that describe a condition of the driver; and (Tsimhoni, [0042] “The processor 103 may then calculate an attention state of the driver”)
determining attention data that describe a degree of attentiveness with which the driver is looking in the field of vision by applying an attention detection criterion to the driver condition data, (Tsimhoni, [0042] “For instance, the processor 103 may determine whether the driver is alert and paying attention to the roadway, whether the driver is alert and distracted, or whether the driver is asleep.”)
wherein the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data is performed in response to determining that the attention data lie in a given attention value range. (Tsimhoni, [0054] “Also, when a driver who had been looking away from the road for some time is trying to hand over control to the vehicle 102 to the control system 100, the driver may better understand when the control system 100 is ready to take over control of the vehicle 102.” The vehicle’s not taking over when the driver is attentive teaches the claimed reduction in evaluating sensing data.)
6. (Original) The method according to claim 5, wherein the driver condition data describe at least one of:
fatigue; (Tsimhoni, [0042] “For instance, the processor 103 may determine whether the driver is alert and paying attention to the roadway, whether the driver is alert and distracted, or whether the driver is asleep.”)
distraction due to operating at least one operating device in the motor vehicle;
distraction due to output of at least one output device in the motor vehicle;
responsiveness to an object in the field of vision; or
changing of the field of vision due to at least one change of viewing direction.
7. (Original) The method according to claim 5, wherein a degree of the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data is dependent on the attention data so determined. (Tsimhoni, [0054] “Also, when a driver who had been looking away from the road for some time is trying to hand over control to the vehicle 102 to the control system 100, the driver may better understand when the control system 100 is ready to take over control of the vehicle 102.” The vehicle’s not taking over when the driver is attentive teaches the claimed reduction in evaluating sensing data.)
8. (Canceled)
9. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the partial field according to the partial field data is smaller than the field of vision according to the field of vision data. (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 9, wherein a region of the field of vision at a margin of the field of vision is free of overlap with the partial field. (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 10, wherein a size of the region of the field of vision at the margin of the field of vision is based on a precision of the interior camera. (Tsimhoni, [0041] “The interior sensor 118 may be implemented as a camera”)
Claim 12 is rejected as per claim 1. Additionally, Tsimhoni, abstract, teaches the claimed vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9460601 B2 – “Driver distraction and drowsiness warning and sleepiness reduction for accident avoidance”
US 11541891 B2 – see the claimed “distractive factor”
US 20200182957 A1 – see claim 9, deactivating sensors
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663