Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have persuasively overcome most of the 112 rejections, and the remainder were also reconsidered. As to the prior art, see the new claim mappings.
The remaining issues are addressed below.
Examiner Note
There are a number of indefiniteness rejections related to the various fields in the claims because the invention is about reducing sensing in some areas, but not others. See, e.g., specification, [0009]. Thus, the examiner believes that it is very important to precisely define where the sensing is reduce versus where it is not.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation are:
“infrared measurement device” – claims 1 and 12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-12 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected as a formality because the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph language in these claims does not have sufficient structure in the specification. This rejection matches the below indefiniteness rejection for the same language. Once that rejection is overcome, this one will be as well.
Claim 5 recites “determining driver condition data that describe a condition of the driver,” but this is unlimited functional claiming primarily due to the wide array of possible driver conditions.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-12 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, and 12 recite “indicate,” but this is subjective because different people can have different opinions as to whether something is indicated or not. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV). One way to overcome this rejection is to recite an objective standard, such as “is.”
Claims 1 and 10-12 recite “corresponding,” but this raises the same issue as “indicates.”
Claims 1 and 12 recite “partial field,” but the claims do not provide sufficient guidance on determining what the partial field is. MPEP 2173.05(a). Here, the claims recite that it is “a partial field of a sensing region,” but there is not guidance as to how to determine which parts of the sensing region are in the partial field versus not. Additionally, there is not a recitation that the partial field is actually determined.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “a field of vision of a driver of the motor vehicle that is determined based on a viewing direction of the driver of the motor vehicle and a focus zone of eyes of the driver of the motor vehicle.” It is not clear if the “field of vision” is understood under its plain meaning (i.e., where the driver is looking) or if it is only where the driver is focusing. Further, it is unclear what the distinction is between the field of vision and the viewing direction.
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-12 recite the claim elements identified in the 112(f) claim interpretation section (above) that are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly link the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. The disclosure of the means plus function claim terms is primarily to the functions performed, and the Figures show boxes (i.e., they do not disclose structure). The reliance on exemplary language requires one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function(s). Reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to know what structures to use renders the claim indefinite. MPEP 2181.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20140222277A1 (“Tsimhoni”)
1. (Currently Amended) A method for operating a motor vehicle having an interior camera, (Tsimhoni, [0041] “The interior sensor 118 may be implemented as a camera”)
a control device, and (Tsimhoni, abstract “A processor is in communication with the exterior sensor”)
one or more of a camera device, a radar device, a Lidar device, an ultrasound sensor, or an infrared measurement device, (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The exterior sensors 110 may be cameras, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers, or other suitable sensing mechanisms as appreciated by those skilled in the art.”)
the control device including a processor and a memory storing program code, (Tsimhoni, [0031] “The processor 103 executes one or more programs”)
the method comprising:
determining, by the control device, field of vision data based on camera data of the interior camera, wherein the field of vision data indicate an angle region corresponding to a field of vision of a driver of the motor vehicle that is determined based on a viewing direction of the driver of the motor vehicle and a focus zone of eyes of the driver of the motor vehicle; (Tsimhoni, [0054] “when a driver who had been looking away from the road for some time”)
determining partial field data that indicate a partial field of a sensing region of one of the one or more of the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device in an environment of the motor vehicle, (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
wherein the partial field of the sensing region overlaps the field of vision of the driver based on the field of vision data; and (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
reducing sensing or evaluating of sensing data that are sensed by the one or more of the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device and that describe the partial field according to the partial field data, (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.”)
wherein the reducing does not reduce sensing or evaluating of sensing data that are sensed by the one or more of the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device in part of the sensing region that does not include the partial field of the sensing region, and (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.” Where Tsimhoni is still sensing teaches the claimed not reducing.)
wherein the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data includes at least one of
reducing a scan rate of at least one of the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device,
deactivating at least one of the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device, or (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.” Using a shorter distance teaches the claimed deactivating because the sensor is less active. Compare with specification [0022] that deactivation can be “total” (and thus can also be partial).)
reducing a portion of the sensing data that are evaluated out of the sensing data that are sensed by the camera device, the radar device, the Lidar device, the ultrasound sensor, or the infrared measurement device. (Tsimhoni, [0035] “Differing environmental conditions outside the vehicle 102 may affect the sensing distance of the exterior sensor(s) 110. … As such, the processor 103 of the illustrated embodiments is configured to determine a sensing distance based at least in part on the sensed environment outside the vehicle.” Using a shorter distance teaches the claimed reduction in evaluation because less data is collected, and thus less is also evaluated.)
2. (Canceled)
3. (Canceled)
4. (Canceled)
6. (Canceled)
8. (Canceled)
9. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the partial field according to the partial field data is smaller than the field of vision according to the field of vision data. (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 9, wherein a region adjacent to a beginning or end of the angle region corresponding to the field of vision of the field of vision is free of overlap with the partial field. (Tsimhoni, [0032] “The at least one exterior sensor 110 senses the environment outside the vehicle. For instance, the at least one exterior sensor 110 may sense the roadway, markings on the roadway, other vehicles or objects near the vehicle 102, and/or road signs.”)
11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 10, wherein a size of the region of the field of vision at the beginning or end of the angle region corresponding to the of the field of vision is based on a precision of the interior camera. (Tsimhoni, [0041] “The interior sensor 118 may be implemented as a camera”)
Claim 12 is rejected as per claim 1. Additionally, Tsimhoni, abstract, teaches the claimed vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140222277A1 (“Tsimhoni”) in view of Wikipedia’s “Blinking” article from October 1, 2021, retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Blinking&oldid=1047530079 (“Wikipedia”)
5. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining driver condition data that indicate a condition of the driver, wherein the driver condition data indicate responsiveness to an object in the field of vision or changing of the field of vision due to at least one change of the viewing direction of the driver of the motor vehicle; and (Tsimhoni, [0042] “The processor 103 may then calculate an attention state of the driver”)
determining attention data that indicate a degree of attentiveness with which the driver is looking in the field of vision by applying an attention detection criterion to the driver condition data, (Tsimhoni, [0042] “For instance, the processor 103 may determine whether the driver is alert and paying attention to the roadway, whether the driver is alert and distracted, or whether the driver is asleep.”)
wherein the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data is performed in response to determining that the attention data lie in a given attention value range. (Tsimhoni, [0054] “Also, when a driver who had been looking away from the road for some time is trying to hand over control to the vehicle 102 to the control system 100, the driver may better understand when the control system 100 is ready to take over control of the vehicle 102.” The vehicle’s not taking over when the driver is attentive teaches the claimed reduction in evaluating sensing data.)
Tsimhoni is not relied on for the below claim language.
Wikipedia teaches wherein the attention detection criterion is based on a blinking frequency of the driver of the motor vehicle, and (Wikipedia, first section, “Blinking may have other functions since it occurs more often than necessary just to keep the eye lubricated. Researchers think blinking may help us disengage our attention; following blink onset, cortical activity decreases in the dorsal network and increases in the default-mode network, associated with internal processing.” Emphasis added.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wikipedia to the teachings of Tsimhoni such that blinking is used to measure attention for the purpose of providing implementation details for Tsimhoni’s calculating an attention state (Tsimhoni, [0042]).
Based on the above, this is an example of “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
7. (Original) The method according to claim 5, wherein a degree of the reducing of the sensing or the evaluating of the sensing data is dependent on the attention data so determined. (Tsimhoni, [0054] “Also, when a driver who had been looking away from the road for some time is trying to hand over control to the vehicle 102 to the control system 100, the driver may better understand when the control system 100 is ready to take over control of the vehicle 102.” The vehicle’s not taking over when the driver is attentive teaches the claimed reduction in evaluating sensing data.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9460601 B2 – “Driver distraction and drowsiness warning and sleepiness reduction for accident avoidance”
US 11541891 B2 – see the claimed “distractive factor”
US 20200182957 A1 – see claim 9, deactivating sensors
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663