DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “first engaging portion” should be “first engaging body”, or vice versa, to be consistent with its use throughout the remaining claims. Appropriate correction is required to correct the antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “second engaging portion” should be “second engaging body”, or vice versa, to be consistent with its use throughout the remaining claims. Appropriate correction is required to correct the antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “component” in Claims 2 and 17, “semiconductor component” in Claim 2.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. CN 115720857 A (hereafter Hu et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu et al. anticipates:
1. A pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100), comprising:
a base (base 40);
a fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26); and
a printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81);
wherein, the base comprises an air outlet pathway (air outlet pipeline 42), the fan installation shell is mounted on the base (Figures 1 and 2), and the fan installation shell has an air outlet (first air outlet 223) communicated with the air outlet pathway (Figure 4);
wherein, the printed circuit board is opposite with the air outlet (main control circuit board 81 is located in a direction opposite the exhaust air flow from air outlet pipeline 42 as shown in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Hu et al. anticipates:
3. The pet hair collector of claim 1, wherein the base (base 40) comprises a top housing (upper shell 412), a side housing (middle shell 413) and a bottom housing (lower shell 414); the side housing is connected between the top housing and the bottom housing (Figure 11); the top housing, the side housing and the bottom housing encompass the air outlet pathway (air outlet pipeline 42)(shown in Figure 11); the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) is mounted inside the top housing (Figures 1 and 2); the bottom housing comprises a bottom housing body (labeled in attached Figure 11 below) and a supporter (labeled in attached Figure 11 below); the bottom housing body encircles a periphery of the supporter (shown in attached Figure 11 below), the printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) is mounted inside the supporter (Figure 11 - when viewed from top); a distance between the supporter and the top housing is less than the distance between the bottom housing body and the top housing (shown in attached Figure 11 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Hu et al. anticipates:
5. The pet hair collector of claim 3, wherein the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100) comprises a hose (unshown suction pipe) mounted on the base (mounts to suction port 44), one side of the side housing (middle shell 413) away from the air outlet pathway (air outlet pipeline 42) has a hose storage portion (internal cavity of suction port 44 – into which the end of the suction pipe can be stored) configured for receiving the hose.
Regarding Claim 6, Hu et al. anticipates:
6. The pet hair collector of claim 1, wherein the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100) comprises a hair collector body (fan driving component 30) and a dust cup (dust collecting cavity 112), the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) covers a periphery of the hair collector body (shown in Figures 3 and 4), the dust cup is connected with the fan installation shell and the base (shown in Figures 1 and 2); the side of the base (base 40) towards the dust cup comprises at least one heat vent (airflow from third air outlet 422 though containing cavity 411 that removes heat from the main control circuit board 81 flows into blowing port 45, see Figure 11, at the bottom of dust collecting cavity 112) that is disposed closer to the dust cup than the hair collector body (best shown in Figure 4), wherein the at least one heat vent is communicated with the air outlet pathway (air outlet pipeline 42).
Regarding Claim 7, Hu et al. anticipates:
7. The pet hair collector of claim 6, wherein the side of the base (base 40) towards the dust cup (dust collecting cavity 112) comprises an engaging portion (blowing port 45 shown in Figures 3 and 11), wherein the engaging portion is located on an opposite side of the base away from the air outlet (first air outlet 223)(shown in Figure 3), and spaced with the heat vent (specifically side blowing ports 45 shown in Figure 11); the dust cup is provided with an engaged portion (suction port 112), the engaging portion is engaged with the engaged portion (connection shown in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Hu et al. anticipates:
9. The pet hair collector of claim 1, wherein the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) is provided with a base connecting portion (portion of containing port 211), the base comprises a mounting portion (hole in upper shell 412 that allows portion of air outlet pipe 42 that mates with containing port 211 extend through upper shell 412 as shown in Figure 11) and a fastening portion (portion of air outlet pipe 42 that mates with containing port 211, Figure 11), the mounting portion and the fastening portion are disposed along a height direction of the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100);
the base (base 40) further comprises an air inlet (passageway into air outlet pipeline 42) communicated with the air outlet (first air outlet 223) and the air outlet pathway (exhaust of air outlet pipeline 42), wherein the fastening portion is disposed inside the air outlet pathway (Figure 11), the base connecting portion passing through the mounting portion is connected with the fastening portion (shown in Figures 4 and 11).
Regarding Claim 10, Hu et al. anticipates:
10. The pet hair collector of claim 9, wherein one side of the base (base 40) faced with the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) comprises a limiting portion (concave portion of upper shell 412 that mates with shell 21, Figure 3), the limiting portion encircles the periphery of the air inlet (passageway into air outlet pipeline 42)(shown in Figure 3), the fan installation shell is provided with a matching portion (outer housing of shell that matches shape of concave portion of upper shell 412); the matching portion is limited in the limiting portion (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, Hu et al. anticipates:
11. A pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100), comprising:
a dust cup (dust collecting cavity 112) connected with a hose (undisclosed hose that connects to suction port 44);
a hair collector body (fan driving component 30) arranged on one side of the dust cup and connected to the dust cup side by side (shown in Figures 1-4), the hair collector body comprises a fan assembly (fan of fan driving component 30) configured for generating airflow to suck pet hair into the dust cup through the hose (Figure 4);
a base (base 40) with an air outlet pathway (pathway through air outlet pipeline 42, third air outlet 422, containing cavity 411, and into blowing port 45) inside, located below the dust cup and the hair collector body (shown in Figure 4);
a fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) covered on the periphery of the hair collector body and installed on the base, the fan installation shell has an air outlet (first air outlet 223) communicated with the air outlet pathway of the base (Figure 4);
a printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) located in the air outlet pathway (specifically in the containing cavity 411) and arranged below the air outlet of the fan installation shell (shown in Figure 4);
wherein, at least one heat vent (side blowing ports 45 shown in Figure 11) is opened on the base below the dust cup (Figures 4 and 11), the airflow generated by the fan assembly of the hair collector body enters the air outlet pathway from the bottom of the hair collector body through the air outlet, and blows to the printed circuit board below the air outlet, and then dissipated from the at least one heat vent below the dust cup (shown in Figures 4 and 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Hu et al. anticipates:
12. The pet hair collector of claim 11, wherein the base (base 40)comprises a top housing (upper shell 412), a side housing (middle shell 413) and a bottom housing (lower shell 414); the side housing is connected between the top housing and the bottom housing (Figure 11); the top housing, the side housing and the bottom housing encompass the air outlet pathway (pathway through air outlet pipeline 42, third air outlet 422, containing cavity 411, and into blowing port 45); the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) is mounted inside the top housing (Figures 1 and 2); the bottom housing comprises a bottom housing body (labeled in attached Figure 11 below) and a supporter (labeled in attached Figure 11 below); the bottom housing body encircles a periphery of the supporter (shown in attached Figure 11 below), the printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) is mounted inside the supporter (Figure 11 - when viewed from top); a distance between the supporter and the top housing is less than the distance between the bottom housing body and the top housing (shown in attached Figure 11 below).
Regarding Claim 13, Hu et al. anticipates:
13. The pet hair collector of claim 12, wherein the outside of the side housing (side with suction port 44) away from the air outlet pathway (pathway through air outlet pipeline 42, third air outlet 422, containing cavity 411, and into blowing port 45) has a hose storage portion (internal cavity of suction port 44 – into which the end of the suction pipe can be stored) configured for receiving the hose (unshown suction pipe).
Regarding Claim 14, Hu et al. anticipates:
14. The pet hair collector of claim 12, wherein the at least one heat vent (side blowing ports 45 shown in Figure 11) is opened on the top housing (upper shell 412), the airflow dissipated from the at least one heat vent blows to the outer wall of the dust cup (airflow from third air outlet 422 though containing cavity 411 that removes heat from the main control circuit board 81 flows into blowing port 45, see Figure 11, at the bottom of dust collecting cavity 112).
Regarding Claim 15, Hu et al. anticipates:
15. The pet hair collector of claim 11, wherein the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) is provided with a base connecting portion (portion of containing port 211), the base comprises a mounting portion (hole in upper shell 412 that allows portion of air outlet pipe 42 that mates with containing port 211 extend through upper shell 412 as shown in Figure 11) and a fastening portion (portion of air outlet pipe 42 that mates with containing port 211, Figure 11), the mounting portion and the fastening portion are disposed along a height direction of the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100);
the base (base 40) further comprises an air inlet (passageway into air outlet pipeline 42) communicated with the air outlet (first air outlet 223) and the air outlet pathway (pathway through air outlet pipeline 42, third air outlet 422, containing cavity 411, and into blowing port 45), wherein the fastening portion is disposed inside the air outlet pathway, the base connecting portion passing through the mounting portion is connected with the fastening portion (shown in Figures 4 and 11).
Regarding Claim 16, Hu et al. anticipates:
16. The pet hair collector of claim 15, wherein one side of the base (base 40) faced with the fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) comprises a limiting portion (concave portion of upper shell 412 that mates with shell 21, Figure 3), the limiting portion encircles the periphery of the air inlet (passageway into air outlet pipeline 42)(shown in Figure 3), the fan installation shell is provided with a matching portion (outer housing of shell that matches shape of concave portion of upper shell 412), the matching portion is limited in the limiting portion (Figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2, 4, 8, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. CN 115720857 A (hereafter Hu et al.) in view of common knowledge or design choice.
Regarding Claim 2, Hu et al. teaches:
2. The pet hair collector of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) comprises a board body (circuit board shown in Figures 4 and 11) and a component, the component is mounted on one side of the board body facing with the air outlet (first air outlet 223); wherein the component comprises at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a transformer and a semiconductor component (see discussion below).
Hu et al. discloses a main control circuit board 81 as shown in Figures 4 and 11 that depicts what appear to be mounted electrical components. This main control circuit board at the least controls the operation of the fan driving assembly 30 and controls the operation of the heating component 50. Hu et al. does not disclose that at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a transformer and a semiconductor component is mounted on the main control circuit board. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a circuit board that is configured to provide electrical control as taught by Hu et al. would include at least a resistor, capacitor, and a semiconductor component that allows the circuit board to “control” the device as disclosed because it is old and well known to employ these parts in electrical control circuits on control circuit boards.
Regarding Claim 4, Hu et al. teaches:
4. The pet hair collector of claim 3, wherein the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100) comprises a power wire (see discussion below) passed through (best shown in Figure 4) the supporter (labeled in attached Figure 11 above) and electrically connected with the printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81), the side of the supporter away from the printed circuit board has a receiving chamber (power cord holder creating a chamber shown on bottom side of labeled supporter as shown in Figure 4) configured for receiving the power wire.
Hu et al. discloses in Figure 4 a structure attached to the bottom of the labeled supporter that is clearly intended to stow a length of the power cord. Figure 4 also shows what appears to be a pathway into a strain relief cavity and a passageway leading to the bottom of the circuit board for electrical connection. Although these features are not discussed in the specification, they are obvious and clearly understood by one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, Hu et al. teaches:
8. The pet hair collector of claim 7, wherein the engaging portion (blowing port 45 shown in Figures 3 and 11) comprises a connecting body (flat surface labeled in attached zoomed Figure 11 below), a first engaging body (labeled in attached zoomed Figure 11 below), a second engaging body (labeled in attached zoomed Figure 11 below) and an elastic body (see discussion below); the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are opposite with each other (opposite sides of blowing port as shown in attached zoomed Figure 11 below), both of them are connected with the connecting body (shown in attached zoomed Figure 11 below); the elastic body is connected with the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion, and spaced with the connecting body; the elastic body is clamped with the engaged portion (see Figure 4).
Hu et al. discloses a blowing port 45 that is mechanically coupled to air suction port 112 as shown in Figure 4 to allow the fan driving component 30 to create a suction the draws air from the hose connected to suction interface 44 into the dust collecting cavity 111. Hu et al. depicts the connection in Figure 4, however, he does not disclose that this mechanical includes an elastic body. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Hu et al. device to include an elastic sealing member, such as a gasket or O-ring, between the labeled connecting body and the dust bin 11 that prevents undesired air leakage between the mechanical connection which would result in a reduction of airflow through the hose.
Regarding Claim 17, Hu et al. teaches:
17. The pet hair collector of claim 11, wherein the printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) comprises a board body (circuit board shown in Figures 4 and 11) and a component (see discussion below), the component is mounted on one side of the board body facing with the air outlet (first air outlet 223).
Hu et al. discloses a main control circuit board 81 as shown in Figures 4 and 11 that depicts what appear to be mounted electrical components. This main control circuit board at the least controls the operation of the fan driving assembly 30 and controls the operation of the heating component 50. Hu et al. does not disclose that at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a transformer and a semiconductor component is mounted on the main control circuit board. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a circuit board that is configured to provide electrical control as taught by Hu et al. would include at least a resistor, capacitor, and a semiconductor component that allows the circuit board to “control” the device as disclosed because it is old and well known to employ these parts in electrical control circuits on control circuit boards.
Regarding Claim 18, Hu et al. teaches:
18. A pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100), comprising:
a dust cup (dust collecting cavity 112) connected with a hose (undisclosed hose that connects to suction port 44);
a hair collector body (fan driving component 30) arranged on one side of the dust cup (shown in Figures 1-4), the hair collector body comprises a fan assembly configured for generating airflow to suck pet hair into the dust cup through the hose (Figure 4);
a base (base 40) with an air outlet pathway (pathway through air outlet pipeline 42, third air outlet 422, containing cavity 411, and into blowing port 45) inside, located below the dust cup and the hair collector body (shown in Figure 4);
a fan installation shell (shell 21 comprising inner shell 22 and cover body 26) covered on the periphery of the hair collector body and installed on the base, the fan installation shell has an air outlet (first air outlet 223) communicated with the air outlet pathway of the base (Figure 4);
a printed circuit board (main control circuit board 81) located in the air outlet pathway (specifically in the containing cavity 411) and arranged below the air outlet of the fan installation shell (shown in Figure 4);
wherein, at least one heat vent (side blowing ports 45 shown in Figure 11) is opened on the base below the dust cup (Figures 4 and 11), the airflow generated by the fan assembly of the hair collector body enters the air outlet pathway from the bottom of the hair collector body through the air outlet, and blows to the printed circuit board below the air outlet, and then dissipated from the at least one heat vent below the dust cup (airflow from third air outlet 422 though containing cavity 411 that removes heat from the main control circuit board 81 flows into blowing port 45, see Figure 11, at the bottom of dust collecting cavity 112 as shown in Figures 4 and 11);
wherein the pet hair collector further comprises a first temperature sensor, which is arranged in the air outlet pathway of the base and adjacent to the air outlet of the fan installation shell (see discussion below).
Hu et al. discloses a “heating component 50 to heat, so as to heat the airflow from the first air outlet 223, wherein the user can adjust the heating temperature according to the need”. Hu et al. discloses that the main control circuit board 81 controls the heating component, however, Hu et al. does not disclose specific control circuit or a first temperature sensor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the device be modified, if necessary, to include at least a control circuit with a first temperature sensor allowing it to measure its current state and provide feedback to the controller/user allowing the temperature to be adjusted to a desired level. Additionally, it would be obviously important from a safety standpoint, to allow the main control circuit board 81 to monitor the temperature such that the device/heat component can be shut off if the temperature exceeds a predetermined maximum value that would otherwise result in user burns or device fire. The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) specifically prohibits consumer products into the commercial market that would injure the user or catch fire. The inability to prevent the device from shutting down when a maximum temperature is sensed would be an obvious problem for success in the commercial market.
Regarding Claim 19, Hu et al. teaches:
19. The pet hair collector of claim 18, wherein the pet hair collector (pet cleaner 100) further comprises a controller communicated with the first temperature sensor, when first temperature value detected by the first temperature sensor continues to exceed a preset temperature value within a first preset time, the controller controls the fan assembly to be turned off (obvious feature as presented in Claim 18 discussion).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of vacuum cleaners.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723