DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Peng (US Publication No. 2012/0014053) does not teach setting a height of the riser cage bracket to different heights (Arguments, 12-14). However, the claims fail to specify how the height is being measured. For example, Peng teaches a riser bracket with an adjustable height when measured between panels 113 and 315 -- see Figures 4-5 reproduced below; see also Figure 2.
Examiner also notes Smalls (US Patent No. 10082843) and Chang (US Patent No. 11747873) teach the claimed device -- see Figure 1 of Smalls reproduced below; see also Figures 4-6 in Chang.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17-22 stand rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, line 13, “another portion of the chassis” should read --the another portion of the chassis” considering “another portion of the chassis” was previously introduced in line 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-15, 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (US Publication No. 2012/0014053) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 2014/0106595).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a system for assembling a riser cage bracket (comprised of bracket member 100 and slot covers 75, 85), comprising: a riser cage body (supporting bracket 13); a first riser cage window (slot cover 75 connected to standard PCI card 71); and a second riser cage window (slot cover 85 connected to low profile PCI card 81), wherein the first and second riser cage windows (75, 85) are configured to be interchangeably and removably connectable to the riser cage body (13) to assemble the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), wherein the first riser cage window (75) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (13), set a height of the riser cage bracket (100, 75) to a first height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 75 is connected to 100; see Figures 4 and 6-7) and define a first space (see Figure 7) between the riser cage body (13) and the first riser cage window (75) to receive a full-height expansion card (71) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85); and wherein the second riser cage window (85) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (13), set a height of the riser cage bracket (100, 85) to a different, second height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 85 is connected to 100; see Figures 5 and 8-9) and define a second space (see Figure 9) between the riser cage body (13) and the second riser cage window (85) to receive a low-profile expansion card (81) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), and wherein each of the first riser cage window (75) and the second riser cage window (85) have a different, fixed length along a respective longitudinal dimension (see Figures 6-9), and wherein the height of the riser card bracket (100, 75, 85) is set based on the different, fixed lengths (see Figures 6-9).
While Peng explicitly discloses cards 81, 71 being removable from bracket 13, Peng suggests (see slot-post engagement in Figures 7-8), but does not explicitly disclose, cards 71, 81 being removable from covers 75, 85. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the slot covers removable, as it has been held that making features of a device separable is obvious if motivation to make said feature separable is present. Here, the motivation to make the slot cover detachable would have been to allow the slot covers to be easily exchanged, replaced, or upgraded based on different design/computing needs. See MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Peng does not explicitly teach a riser cage body configured to be installed in a chassis of an electronic device and directly coupled to a riser card.
However, Zhu teaches a riser cage body (3) configured to be installed in a chassis (100) of an electronic device (motherboard 200 of computer server) and directly coupled to a riser card (4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the chassis, motherboard, and riser card of Zhu to the riser bracket of Peng. Doing so would have allowed the expansion devices to be physically secured within a server housing and electrically coupled to a computing device, so as to allow the expansion devices to provide additional functionality to the computing device (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0024], [0034] in Zhu).
Regarding claim 2, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising the riser card (4 in Zhu) including a first electrical connector (42 in Zhu) configured to be detachably coupled to the full- height expansion card (71 in Peng) when the first riser cage window (75 in Peng) is connected to the riser cage body (13 in Peng) and configured to be detachably coupled to the low-profile expansion card (81 in Peng) when the second riser cage window (85 in Peng) is connected to the riser cage body (13 in Peng), and wherein the riser card (4 in Zhu) further comprises a second electrical connector (44 in Zhu) configured to be detachably coupled (via card connector 201 in Zhu) to a primary system board of an electronic device (200 of server in Zhu) to establish an electrical connection between the primary system board (200 in Zhu) and the full-height expansion card (71 in Peng) or the low-profile expansion card through the riser card (81 in Peng).
Regarding claim 4, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein a length dimension of the first riser cage window (length of 75) extends perpendicular to a length dimension of the riser cage body (length of 13 along 131) when the first riser cage window (75) is connected to the riser cage body (13), and wherein a length dimension of the second riser cage window (length of 85) extends perpendicular to the length dimension of the riser cage body (length of 13 along 131) when the second riser cage window (85) is connected to the riser cage body (13).
Regarding claim 5, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein the riser cage body (13) comprises a coupling portion (first opening 1316) configured to interchangeably connect with the first riser cage window (75) and the second riser cage window (85).
Regarding claim 6, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 5, further comprising (in Peng) one or more fasteners (500, 755, 855) configured to, interchangeably: engage with the first riser cage window (75) and with the coupling portion (1316) to removably connect the first riser cage window (75) to the riser cage body (13); and engage with the second riser cage window (85) and with the coupling portion (1316) to removably connect the second riser cage window (85) to the riser cage body (13).
Regarding claim 8, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein each of the first space (see Figure 7) and the second space (see Figure 9) has dimensions defined by the riser cage body (13) and a corresponding riser cage window (75, 85) among the first riser cage window (75) and the second riser cage window (85), and wherein each of the first space (see Figure 7) and the second space (see Figure 9) has an equal length (up-down direction), an equal width (forward-backward direction), and a different, fixed height (Figures 4-5, left-right direction).
Regarding claim 9, Peng discloses a riser cage bracket (comprised of bracket member 100 and slot covers 75, 85) comprising: a riser cage body (supporting bracket 13); and a riser cage window (slot covers 75, 85) having a fixed length along its longitudinal dimension removably connected to the riser cage body (13) such that a height of the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) is set to one of: a first height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 75 is connected to 100; see Figures 4 and 6-7) to allow the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) to support one of a full-height expansion card (standard PCI card 71); or a different, second height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 85 is connected to 100; see Figures 5 and 8-9) to allow the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) to support a low-profile expansion card (low profile PCI card 81).
Peng does not explicitly disclose wherein the riser cage body is configured to be installed in a chassis of an electronic device and directly coupled to a riser card.
However, Zhu teaches a riser cage body (3) configured to be installed in a chassis (100) of an electronic device (motherboard 200 of computer server) and directly coupled to a riser card (4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the chassis, motherboard, and riser card of Zhu to the riser bracket of Peng. Doing so would have allowed the expansion devices to be physically secured within a server housing and electrically coupled to a computing device, so as to allow the expansion devices to provide additional functionality to the computing device (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0024], [0034] in Zhu).
Regarding claim 10, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the riser card bracket of claim 9, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein a length dimension of the riser cage window (length of 75, 85) extends perpendicular to a length dimension of the riser cage body (length of 13 along 131) when the riser cage window (75, 85) is connected to the riser cage body (13).
Regarding claim 11, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the riser cage bracket of claim 9, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein the riser cage body (13) comprises a coupling portion (1316) configured to removably connect the riser cage body (13) with the riser cage window (75, 85), and wherein the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) further comprises one or more fasteners (500, 755, 855) configured to engage with the riser cage window (75, 85) and with the coupling portion (1316) to removably connect the riser cage window (75, 85) to the riser cage body (13).
Regarding claim 12, Peng discloses a method comprising: determining a desired configuration for a riser cage bracket (comprised of bracket member 100 and slot covers 75, 85), the desired configuration being one of a full-height configuration (Figure 7, standard PCI card 70 connected to 100) in which the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) is configured to support a full-height expansion card (main body 71 of standard PCI card) or a low-profile configuration (Figure 9, low profile card 80 connected to 100) in which the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85) is configured to support a low-profile expansion card (main body 81 of low profile card); selecting, based on the desired configuration of the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), a riser cage window (75, 85) from a group comprising: a first riser cage window (75) associated with the full-height configuration (see Figure 7), wherein the first riser cage window (75) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (13), set a height of the riser cage bracket (100, 75) to a first height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 75 is connected to 100; see Figures 4 and 6-7); and a second riser cage window (85) associated with the low-profile configuration (see Figure 9), wherein the second riser cage window (85) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (13), set a height of the riser cage bracket (100, 85) to a different, second height (as measured between 113 and 315, when 85 is connected to 100; see Figures 5 and 8-9), wherein each of the first riser cage window (75) and the second riser cage window (85) have a different, fixed length along a respective longitudinal dimension (see Figures 6-9), and wherein the height of the riser cage bracket (adjustable heights of 100) is set based on the different, fixed lengths (see Figures 6-9); and interchangeably and removably connecting a selected riser cage window (75, 85) to a riser cage body (13) to assemble the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85).
Peng does not explicitly disclose wherein the riser cage body is configured to be installed in a chassis of an electronic device and directly coupled to a riser card.
However, Zhu teaches a riser cage body (3) configured to be installed in a chassis (100) of an electronic device (motherboard 200 of computer server) and directly coupled to a riser card (4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the chassis, motherboard, and riser card of Zhu to the riser bracket of Peng. Doing so would have allowed the expansion devices to be physically secured within a server housing and electrically coupled to a computing device, so as to allow the expansion devices to provide additional functionality to the computing device (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0024], [0034] in Zhu).
Regarding claim 13, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches (in Peng) when the first riser cage window (75) is selected to assemble the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), a first space (see Figure 7) is defined between the riser cage body (13) and the first riser cage window (75) to receive the full-height expansion card (71) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), and wherein, when the second riser cage window (85) is selected to assemble the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85), a second space (see Figure 9) is defined between the riser cage body (13) and the second riser cage window (85) to receive the low-profile expansion card (81) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85).
While Peng explicitly discloses cards 81, 71 being removable from bracket 13, Peng suggests (see slot-post engagement in Figures 7-8), but does not explicitly disclose, cards 71, 81 being removable from covers 75, 85. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the slot covers removable, as it has been held that making features of a device separable is obvious if motivation to make said feature separable is present. Here, the motivation to make the slot cover detachable would have been to allow the slot covers to be easily exchanged, replaced, or upgraded based on different design/computing needs. See MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 14, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein removably connecting the selected riser cage window (75, 85) to the riser cage body (13) comprises: disposing a length dimension of the selected riser cage window (length of 75, 85) perpendicular to a length dimension of the riser cage body (length of 13 along 131); and engaging one or more fasteners (500, 755, 855) with the selected riser cage window (75, 85) and with a coupling portion (1316) of the riser cage body (13) to removably connect the selected riser cage window (75, 85) to the riser cage body (13).
Regarding claim 15, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: detachably coupling one of the full-height expansion card (81 in Peng) or the low-profile expansion card (71 in Peng) to a first electrical connector of the riser card (41 of 4 in Zhu); and disposing the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85 in Peng) in the electronic device (server in Zhu) such that a second electrical connector of the riser card (44 of 4 in Zhu) is detachably coupled to a primary system board (200 in Zhu) of the electronic device (server of Zhu) to establish an electrical connection between the primary system board (200 in Zhu) and one of the full-height expansion card (71 in Peng) or the low-profile expansion card (81 in Peng) through the riser card (4 in Zhu).
Regarding claim 17, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein the desired configuration is the full-height configuration (see Figure 7), the selecting comprises selecting the first riser cage window (75), and the removably connecting comprises removably connecting the first riser cage window (75) to the riser cage body (13); and the method further comprises inserting the full-height expansion card (71) into a first space (see Figure 7) defined between the riser cage body (13) and the first riser cage window (75) and detachably couple the full-height expansion card (71) to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85).
Regarding claim 18, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein the desired configuration is the low-profile configuration (see Figure 9), the selecting comprises selecting the second riser cage window (85), and the removably connecting comprises removably connecting the second riser cage window (85) to the riser cage body (13); and the method further comprises inserting the low-profile expansion card (81) into a second space (see Figure 9) defined between the riser cage body (13) and the second riser cage window (85) and detachably couple the low-profile expansion card (81) to the riser cage bracket (100, 75, 85).
Regarding claim 22, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein the first riser cage window (75) comprises a first coupling portion (755) to engage directly with the riser cage body (13, via 1316) and a second coupling portion (Figure 7, tabs of 75 engaging 71) configured to engage with the full-height expansion card (71), wherein the first coupling portion (755) and the second coupling portion (tabs of 75 engaging 71) are spaced from one another along the fixed length of the first riser cage window (length of 75) by a fixed first length (see Figure 7); and wherein the second riser cage window (85) comprises a third coupling portion (855) to engage directly with the riser cage body (13, via 1316) and a fourth coupling portion (Figures 8-9, tabs of 85 engaging 81) configured to engage with the low-profile expansion card (81), wherein the third coupling portion (855) and the fourth coupling portions (tabs of 85 engaging 81) are spaced from one another along the fixed length of the second riser cage window (length of 85) by a fixed second length (see Figure 9).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (US Publication No. 2012/0014053), Zhu (US Publication No. 2014/0106595), and in further view of Holmes (US Publication No. 2023/0101986).
Regarding claim 3, Peng in view of Zhu teaches the system of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the riser card is a peripheral component interconnect express (PCI-e) card, and wherein each of the full-height expansion card and the low-profile expansion card is a PCI-e expansion card.
However, Holmes teaches wherein a riser card (106) is a peripheral component interconnect express (PCI-e) card (see Paragraph [0027]), and wherein each of the full-height expansion card and the low-profile expansion card is a PCI-e expansion card (see Paragraphs [0027], [0031]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the riser card and expansion devices of Peng as modified by Zhu to be PCI-e devices, as taught in Holmes, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting expansion cards with a riser card in a server system. Doing so would have also provided the system with a faster interface connection (see Paragraph [0003]-[0004], [0027] in Holmes).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (US Publication No. 2012/0014053) in view of Li (CN Publication No. 200990043Y).
Regarding claim 19, Peng discloses a method comprising: a riser cage assembly (100, 75, 85) in the first configuration comprising: a riser cage bracket (11, 13) having a riser cage body (13) and a first riser cage window (75) removably connected to the riser cage body (13) such that the first riser cage window (75) sets a height of the riser cage bracket (11, 13) is set to a first height (as measured between 113 and 315; see Figures 4 and 6-7) and defines a first space (see Figure 7) to support a first expansion card (71), the first riser cage window (75) comprising a first fixed length corresponding to the first height (as measured between 113 and 315; see Figures 4 and 6-7) along its longitudinal dimension (see Figures 6-7); and the first expansion card (71) having a first form factor disposed in the first space (see Figure 7); reconfiguring the riser cage assembly (100, 75, 85) from the first configuration (see Figure 6-7) to a second configuration (see Figures 8-9) by: decoupling the first expansion card (71); disconnecting the first riser cage window (75) from the riser cage body (13); removably connecting a second riser cage window (85) to the riser cage body (13) such that the second riser cage window (85) sets a height of the riser cage bracket (11, 13) to a different, second height (as measured between 113 and 315; see Figures 5 and 8-9) and defines a second space (see Figure 9) to support a second expansion card (81), the second riser cage window (85) comprising a different, second fixed length corresponding to the second height (as measured between 113 and 315; see Figures 5 and 8-9) along its longitudinal dimension (see Figure 8-9) such that the second space differs in size from the first space (see Figures 7 and 9); and coupling the second expansion card (81) having a second form factor (low profile PCI); and installing the riser cage assembly (100, 75, 85) in the second configuration (see Figures 8-9).
Peng suggests, but does not explicitly disclose, the methods comprising: a riser cage body configured to be installed in a chassis of an electronic device; uninstalling a riser cage assembly in a first configuration from the electronic device, a riser card directly coupled to the riser cage body; decoupling the first expansion card from the riser card; coupling a second expansion card having a second form factor to the riser card; and installing the riser cage assembly in the second configuration to the electronic device.
However, Li teaches the method comprising: a riser cage body (400) configured to be installed in a chassis (100) of the electronic device (100, 200); uninstalling a riser cage assembly (see Figures 1-3) in a first configuration (see Figure 3) from an electronic device (comprised of casing 100 and motherboard 200), the riser cage assembly in the first configuration (see Figure 3) comprising: a riser cage bracket (comprised of bracing frame 400 and fixed mount 500) having a riser cage body (400) and a first riser cage window (500 connected to 300) removably connected to the riser cage body (400) and defining a first space (see Figures 1 and 3); a riser card (adapter 4101) directly coupled to the riser cage body (400); and a first expansion card (first expansion card 300) having a first form factor (see Figures 1 and 3) disposed in the first space (space defined by 500 connected to 300) and detachably coupled to the riser card (300, via connector 4102); reconfiguring the riser cage assembly (400, 500) from the first configuration (see Figures 1 and 3) to a second configuration (see Figure 2) by: decoupling the first expansion card (300) from the riser card (4101); disconnecting the first riser cage window (500 connected to 300) from the riser cage body (400); removably connecting a second riser cage window (Figure 2, frame 500 connected to 302) to the riser cage body (400) to define a second space (space defined by 500 connected to 302), the second space (see Figure 2) differing in size from the first space (see Figures 1 and 3); and coupling a second expansion card (second expansion board 302) having a second form factor (see Figure 2) to the riser card (4101); and installing the riser cage assembly (400, 500) in the second configuration (see Figure 2) to the electronic device (100, 200; last paragraph, “when it is necessary to apply to an expansion card 300 of a different model, it is only necessary to replace its fixing frame 500 and then reassemble its module”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the methods of installing the riser assembly and expansion cards of Peng to a chassis, motherboard, and riser card, as taught in Li. Doing so would have allowed the expansion devices to be physically secured within a server housing and electrically coupled to a computing device, so as to allow the expansion devices to provide additional functionality to the computing device (see pages 1-2 in Li).
Regarding claim 20, Peng in view of Li teaches the method of claim 19, and further teaches (in Peng) wherein removably connecting the second riser cage window (85) to the riser cage body (13) to define the second space (see Figure 9) comprises: disposing a length dimension of the second riser cage window (length of 85) perpendicular to a length dimension of the riser cage body (length of 13 along 131); and engaging one or more fasteners (500, 855) with the second riser cage window (85) and with a coupling portion (1316) of the riser cage body (13) to removably connect the second riser cage window (85) to the riser cage body (13).
Alternatively, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US Publication No. 2009/0073645) in view of Fan (US Publication No. 2008/0100994).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a system for assembling a riser cage bracket (comprised of 20, 50 and 30, 60), comprising: a riser cage body (50, 60) configured to be installed in a chassis (chassis 14) and directly coupled to a riser card (riser cards 70, 80); a first riser cage window (20); and a second riser cage window (30), wherein the first riser cage window (30) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (60), set a height of the riser cage bracket (30, 60) to a first height (measured between 60 and edge of 30) and define a first space (see Figure 3) between the riser cage body (60) and the first riser cage window (30) to receive a full-height expansion card (second expansion card 100; see Figure 5) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (30, 60); and wherein the second riser cage window (20) is configured to, when connected to the riser cage body (50), set a height of the riser cage bracket (20, 60) to a different, second height (measured between 50 and edge of 20) and define a second space (see Figure 3) between the riser cage body (50) and the second riser cage window (20) to receive a low-profile expansion card (first expansion card 90) detachably coupled to the riser cage bracket (20, 50), and wherein each of the first riser cage window (30) and the second riser cage window (20) have a different, fixed length along a respective longitudinal dimension (see Figures 1 and 4), and wherein the height of the riser card bracket (20, 50 and 30, 60) is set based on the different, fixed lengths (see Figures 1 and 4).
Tsai does not disclose wherein the first and second riser cage windows are configured to be interchangeably and removably connectable to the riser cage body to assemble the riser cage bracket.
However, Fan teaches a system for assembling a riser cage bracket (comprised of bracket 10 and housing of riser 20), comprising: a riser cage body (housing of riser 20) configured to be installed in a chassis (chassis 40) and directly coupled to a riser card (riser cards of 20); and a riser cage window (bracket 10); wherein the riser cage window (10) is configured to be interchangeably and removably connectable to the riser cage body (housing of 20) to assemble the riser cage bracket (10, 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the riser cage windows of Tsai to be interchangeably and removably connectable to the riser cage body, as taught in Fan. Doing so would have allowed for an easier assembly process when being installed into the chassis (see Paragraph [0015] and Figures 1, 4 in Tsai).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US Publication No. 2009/0073645), Fan (US Publication No. 2008/0100994), and in further view of Chen (US Publication No. 2011/0002099).
Regarding claim 21, Tsai in view of Fan teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches (in Tsai) wherein the riser cage bracket (20, 50 and 30, 60, as modified by Fan) is configured to: in a state of the first riser cage window (30) connected to the riser cage body (50, 60, as modified by Fan), be installed in a first passageway (openings in 142 aligned with 36, and area corresponding to 30, 60) having a first size (see Figure 1) defined within the chassis (14), and in a state of the second riser cage window (20) connected to the riser cage body (50, 60, as modified by Fan), be installed in a second passageway (opening in 142 aligned with 26, and area corresponding to 20, 50) having a second size defined within the chassis (14).
Tsai in view of Fan does not teach wherein the riser cage body comprises a first fixture configured to engage with a portion the chassis defining the first passageway and the first riser cage window comprises a second fixture configured to engage with the portion the chassis defining the first passageway to secure the riser cage bracket to the first passageway; and wherein the first fixture is configured to engage with another portion of the chassis defining the second passageway, and the second riser cage window comprises a third fixture configured to engage with another portion of the chassis defining the second passageway to secure the riser cage bracket to the second passageway.
However, Chen teaches a riser bracket comprising a riser card body and a riser cage window, wherein the riser cage body (side portion of 30) comprises a first fixture (leg 39; NOTE: see first fixture 244 in Figure 2 of instant application) configured to engage with a portion the chassis (11) defining the first passageway (opening 131, and area corresponding to 30) and the riser cage window (front portion of 30) comprises a second fixture (securing tab 37) configured to engage with the portion the chassis (11) defining the first passageway (opening 131, and area corresponding to 30) to secure the riser cage bracket (30) to the first passageway (opening 131, and area corresponding to 30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bracket fixtures of Chen to the riser bracket assembly of Tsai as modified by Fan, such that the riser bracket assembly was capable of being secured to the different portions of the chassis corresponding to the first and second passageways in Tsai as modified by Fan. Doing so would have allowed the bracket assembly to be removably secured to the chassis (see Paragraph [0012] in Chen).
Conclusion
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc