DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (U.S 2014/0061891 A1) (of record).
As to claim 1, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D a package structure, comprising: a plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0049]); and a rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) located on the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0052], [0053]), wherein a bottom surface of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) is located on a top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D).
As to claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) includes a rib like portion (comprising portions of 203 & 204) and a hollow portion (vertical portion of 203), a bottom surface of the rib like portion (comprising portions of 203 & 204) is located on the top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0041]-[0043]), and the hollow portion (vertical portion of 203) exposes the top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0052-[0053], [0055]).
As to claim 3, as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the rib like portion (comprising portions of 203 & 204) includes a plurality of portions extending along a first direction (horizontal direction) and a plurality of portions (vertical portions of 203) extending along a second direction (vertical direction), the first direction (horizontal direction) intersects the second direction (vertical direction), and both are perpendicular to a thickness direction of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) (Fig. 4D).
As to claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a material of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) is different from that of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0040]-[0043], [0053]).
As to claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) is less than that of a material of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) {see Fig. 4D, para. [0040]-[0043], [0053], a material of the rib like structure (203, 204) includes at least “carbon fiber” which has CTE of
-1 to +8×10-6 K-1, and a material of the plastic encapsulation layer 205 can be “polyimide resin” which has CTE of 3 to 6
x 10-5 /K-1}.
As to claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) ranges from 9ppm/K to 36ppm/K {a material of the plastic encapsulation layer 205 can be “polyimide resin” which has CTE of 3 to 60 ppm/ºC and the recited range of 9ppm/K to 36ppm/K having at least one value/number that falls in the range of 3 to 60 ppm/ºC}, and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) ranges from 0.12ppm/K to 0.18ppm/K {the rib like structure (203, 204) which can be “carbon fiber” that has CTE of 0 to 5 ppm/C, and the recited range of 0.12ppm/K to 0.18ppm/K having at least one value/number that falls in the range of 0 to 5 ppm/C}.
As to claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a thermal conductivity of a material of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) is greater than 200W/(m·K) {a thermal conductivity of a material of the rib like structure (203, 204) including “carbon fiber” that has a range from 600-1300 W/m-K (for typical fibers) which is greater than 200W/(m·K) as claimed}.
As to claim 9, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D a memory system, comprising: a package substrate (Fig. 4D); a chip (202) located on the package substrate (201) (Fig. 4D, para. [0039]-[0041]); a plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) covering the chip (202) (Fig. 4D, para. [0049]); and a rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) located on the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0052], [0053]), wherein a bottom surface of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) is located on a top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D).
As to claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) includes a rib like portion (comprising portions of 203 & 204) and a hollow portion (vertical portion of 203), a bottom surface of the rib like portion (comprising portions of 203 & 204) is located on the top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0041]-[0043]), and the hollow portion (vertical portion of 203) exposes the top surface of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material” 205) (Fig. 4D, para. [0052-[0053], [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (U.S 2014/0061891 A1) (of record) in view of Huang et al. (U.S 2023/0101826 A1) (of record).
As to claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations except for the limitation: wherein a material of the rib like structure is the same as that of the plastic encapsulation layer.
Huang et al. disclose in Fig. 1 a package structure comprising: a material of the rib like structure (comprising 122, 124) is the same as that of the plastic encapsulation layer (120) (Fig. 1, para. [0024], [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of KIM et al. by having a material of the rib like structure is the same as that of the plastic encapsulation layer as taught by Huang et al., in order to provide support for the package structure and protect the chips in the package.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (U.S 2014/0061891 A1) (of record) in view of KAWASE et al. (U.S 2016/0307818 A1) (of record).
As to claims 11 and 12, as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, KIM et al. disclose in Fig. 4D all claimed limitations except for the limitation: wherein the chip includes a memory chip and a controller chip arranged in a direction parallel to the package substrate, a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion directly above the controller chip on the package substrate to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure directly above the controller chip on the package substrate is a first ratio, a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion directly above the memory chip on the package substrate to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) directly above the memory chip on the package substrate is a second ratio, and the first ratio is greater than or equal to the second ratio; and wherein the memory chip includes a three-dimensional NAND memory chip.
KAWASE et al. disclose in Fig. 3 a package structure comprising: the chip includes a memory chip (“storage unit” 20 comprising “NAND-type flash memory chip”, para. [0021]) and a controller chip (“control unit” 22) arranged in a direction parallel to the package substrate (14) (Fig. 3, para. [0021]-[0022]), a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion (portion of 12a) directly above the controller chip (22) on the package substrate (14) to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure (12a) directly above the controller chip (22) on the package substrate (14) is a first ratio, a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion (portion of 12a) directly above the memory chip (“storage unit” 20 comprising “NAND-type flash memory chip”, para. [0021]) on the package substrate (14) to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure (12a) directly above the memory chip (20) on the package substrate (14) is a second ratio, and the first ratio is greater than or equal to the second ratio; and wherein the memory chip (20) includes a three-dimensional NAND memory chip (Fig. 3, para. [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of KIM et al. by having the chip includes a memory chip and a controller chip arranged in a direction parallel to the package substrate, a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion directly above the controller chip on the package substrate to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure directly above the controller chip on the package substrate is a first ratio, a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like portion directly above the memory chip on the package substrate to an area of an orthographic projection of the rib like structure (comprising “mold” 203 & “member” 204) directly above the memory chip on the package substrate is a second ratio, and the first ratio is greater than or equal to the second ratio; and wherein the memory chip includes a three-dimensional NAND memory chip, as taught by KAWASE et al., in order to provide additional functions for the package structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Kim does not describe wherein a thermal conductivity of the rib like structure is greater than a thermal conductivity of the plastic encapsulation layer, Kim fails to anticipate independent claims 1 or 9.
In response, Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed because Kim et al. clearly disclose in Fig. 4D a package structure comprising: a plastic encapsulation layer ("molding material" 205) and a rib like structure (comprising "mold" 203 & "member" 204), and wherein a thermal conductivity of the rib like structure (including at least “warpage suppressing reinforcement member” 204 which can be made of “carbon fiber composite material” or “metal material”, para. [0042]) is greater than a thermal conductivity of the plastic encapsulation layer (“molding material" 205 which can be made of “epoxy resin”, para. [0040]) (see Fig. 4D, para. [0040], [0042]).
It should be noted that: “carbon fiber composite material” of the rib like structure (204) containing carbon fiber which has a thermal conductivity from 10 to 800 W/m-K while “epoxy resin” of the plastic encapsulation layer (205) containing epoxy which has a thermal conductivity from 0.1 to 0.2 W/(m-K. Therefore, a thermal conductivity of the rib like structure (204) is greater than a thermal conductivity of the plastic encapsulation layer (205), as recited in independent claims 1 and 9. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is deemed unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 June 12, 2026