DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the processing method controls viscosity of the kelp”. It is not clear if this is the viscosity of the initial kelp material in relation to the pressed out liquid or the retained solids material, or some other interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 10-11, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al [US 4,323,007] in view of Granstrom et al [US 2024/0225050A1], Williams [US 4,901,635], and Sample [US 2009/0022877A1].
Hunt et al teach a method for juice extraction (title) by providing kelp (column 2, line 41), adding the kelp to a chamber (Figure 1, #32), moving the kelp inside a perforated screen (Figure 1, #42), pressing the kelp with threads, a shaft, and the screen (Figure 1, #24, 20, 26, 42), and collecting a cake and liquor (Figure 1, #53-54, B, C). It is further noted that the act of pressing and removing liquid from the kelp material would also naturally control the viscosity of both the liquid and retained solids.
Hunt et al do not explicitly recite steam injection (claim 5), shredding (claim 8), at least partial cooking (claim 10), the cake comprising 45-50% iodine (claim 11).
Granstrom et al teach a method for refining microalgae (title) by pretreatment followed by separation into a liquid and solid phase (Figure 1, Step a-b), the separation occurring at a temperature up to 80C (paragraph 0028), and the mechanical pretreatment including shredding (paragraph 0022) to provide better separation (paragraph 0021).
Williams teaches a method for separating solids and liquids by use of a screw press with steam injection ports (Figure 1, #3).
Sample teaches a method for extraction of liquid from food material by steam injection (Figure 2, B-1), a screw press (Figure 2, P-1), the steam injection causing rupture of cells to provide better extraction (paragraph 0020), and the combination of steam injection with pressing providing a cake with lower moisture content without the need for toxic chemicals used in conventional dewatering systems (paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed steam injection and partial cooking into the invention of Hunt et al, in view of Granstrom et al, Sample, and Williams; since all are directed to food separation systems, since Hunt et al already included a screw press device for separation of kelp into cake and liquor, since kelp was a common type of algae, since microalgae was commonly separated into cake and liquor at a temperature of up to 80C as shown by Granstrom et al, since a material temperature of 80C would naturally result in at least partial cooking of edible material, since screw press devices commonly included steam injection ports (Figure 1, #3) as shown by Williams, since extraction systems commonly provided steam injection causing rupture of cells to provide better extraction (paragraph 0020) and the combination of steam injection with pressing providing a cake with lower moisture content without the need for toxic chemicals in conventional dewatering systems (paragraph 0026) as shown by Sample, and since the claimed steam injection and partial cooking would have also enabled better preservation of the cake of Hunt et al by eliminating any potentially harmful bacteria and pathogens present in the kelp.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed shredding into the invention of Hunt et al, in view of Granstrom et al, since both are directed to liquid extraction systems, since Hunt et al already included a screw press for kelp, since liquid extraction systems commonly included shredding (paragraph 0022) to provide better separation (paragraph 0021) as shown by Granstrom et al, and since shredding would have enabled better separation of the solids and liquids of the kelp of Hunt et al, in view of Granstrom et al.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combined system of Hunt et al, in view of Sample, Granstrom et al, and Williams, would have provided the claimed reduced iodine content in the cake since the combined system of Hunt, in view of the secondary references, used the same processing elements and steps as those claimed by applicant, since the separated liquor would be expected to include at least a portion of the iodine content of the initial kelp material, and since the amount of retained iodine in the cake of Hunt et al, in view of the secondary references, would have been achieved during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures based upon factors such as the length and dimensions of the screw press, the type and form of the initial kelp material, and/or the amount of time, temperature, and pressure under which the screw press was operated in the combined system of Hunt et al, in view of Sample, Granstrom et al, and Williams.
In conclusion, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al, in view of Sample, Williams, and Granstrom et al; as applied above, and further in view of Osborne [US 4,003,837].
Hunt et al, Sample, Williams, and Granstrom et al teach the above mentioned concepts. Hunt et al do not explicitly recite notches on the threads (claim 20). Osborne teaches a self-cleaning strainer (title) comprising a threaded shaft with teeth/notches (Figure 3, #29, 33, 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed notches into the invention of Hunt et al, in view of Granstrom et al and Osborne, since all are directed to methods of straining and/or dewatering material, since Hunt et al already included a screw press device, since Granstrom et al already included shredding of the material, since strainer systems commonly included a threaded shaft with teeth/notches (Figure 3, #29, 33, 35) as shown by Osborne, since Osborne also disclosed that the teeth/notches acted to break down and cut through the material (column 2, line 14), and since the claimed notches would have enabled better dewatering of the material of Hunt et al by shredding and tearing the material to release more liquid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., controlling viscosity by steam injection, and using steam injection to remove moisture) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 10 does not explicitly attribute viscosity control to steam injection. Also, Sample teaches the combination of steam injection with pressing providing a cake with lower moisture content without the need for toxic chemicals in conventional dewatering systems (paragraph 0026).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792