DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on March 16, 2026. Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 20 are currently pending, with Claims 1-2, 11, and 15 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed March 16, 2025, the Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretations, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed March 16, 2026, pertaining to the teachings of Polansky (see pages 12-14 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Polansky teaches that the system determines the point and time the aircraft needs to be in a certain place so as to maintain course along each sub-trajectory, which combines to make the overall trajectory and goals for traveling (see at least Paragraphs [0003], [0019], [0029], [0035] of Polansky). Polansky’s teachings are related to a solving a similar problem as indicated in the Applicant’s invention, by adjusting the position and/or speed of a vehicle (or aircraft) so as to hit trajectory points at a certain time, by moving to a first waypoint, and then to a second, and changing the parameters of speed/velocity, so as to arrive at the waypoint at a designated time, and then move to the next waypoint or point in the trajectory. Polansky teaches modifying vehicle parameters so as to meet position and time goals for each trajectory segment. As such, the Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed March 16, 2026, with respect to the teachings of actuating steering control, braking, or throttle the commands (see page 14 of instant arguments), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Tiwari, in view of Polansky, Staehlin, Takeda, and Winter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a remote station system configured to …” in Claims 1 and 11.
“one or more actuation controls configured to enable …” in Claims 1, 16, and 18-20.
“one or more actuator commands configured to …” in Claims 1 and 11.
“a control module configured to …” in Claims 4, 14, and 18.
“one or more remote actuation controls configured to generate …” in Claims 8, 14, and 19.
“a display configured to display …” in Claims 9 and 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the limitation of “a remote station system configured to…”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0115], [0120], at least states that “the remote station system control may be performed using a computing device, a processor, and/or other suitable components …”. The structure for the remote station system is a computing device, processor comprising a memory, or its equivalent, plus corresponding hardware or software capable of sending signals to a vehicle.
Regarding the limitation of “one or more actuation controls configured to enable …”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0078], [0083], [0118], at least states that “the computing device 130 may function as a controller for controlling one or more functions of the vehicle 105 …” and “the one or more actuation controls may comprise a brake pedal, an acceleration pedal, a gear shift control, a steering wheel, and/or one or more other suitable actuation controls …”. The structure for the actuation controls is a component capable of changing vehicle operating characteristics, such as a brake pedal, acceleration pedal or steering wheel.
Regarding the limitation of “one or more actuator commands configured to …”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0077]-[0078], [0134] at least states that “the computing device 130 may comprise a processor 135 and/or memory 140 …”, “the computing device 130 may function as a controller for causing one or more functions of the vehicle to perform …”. The structure for the actuator commands software or hardware components capable of receiving signals from a processor comprising a memory, or its computer equivalent, for executing vehicle functions.
Regarding the limitation of “a control module configured to …”, the instant Specification at Paragraphs [0080], [0092], at least states that “the autonomous driving system 200 for a vehicle … may comprise a sensor module 202, a perception module 220, a planning module 250, a control module 270 …” and “the control module 270 may be configured to generate control signals for the vehicle …”. The structure for the control module is software components in communication with a processor comprising a memory, or its computer equivalent, capable of receiving and sending signals.
Regarding the limitation of “one or more actuation controls configured to generate …”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0107], at least states that “the one or more actuation controls may comprise a brake pedal, an acceleration pedal, a gear shift control, a steering wheel, and/or one or more other suitable actuation controls …”. The structure for the actuation controls is a component capable of changing vehicle operating characteristics, such as a brake pedal, acceleration pedal or steering wheel.
Regarding the limitation of “a display configured to display …”, the instant Drawings at Figure 3C, and at the instant Specification at Paragraphs [0094] and [0098], shows a monitor for displaying road information. The structure for the display is a monitor or its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0154899 A1, to Tiwari, et al (hereinafter referred to as Tiwari; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0045989 A1, to Polansky, et al (hereinafter referred to as Polansky; previously of record); and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0010083 A1, to Staehlin (hereinafter referred to as Staehlin; newly of record).
As per Claim 1, Tiwari discloses the features of a system for controlling a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system), comprising:
a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle, to be operatable between various driving modes);
one or more sensors, coupled to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0036]; where the sensor subsystem in the perception module (110) functions to collect localization data and mapping data from vehicle surroundings, and where the sensor system includes at least one mapping sensor and at least one monitoring sensor, and where the sensors can be on-board the vehicle), configured to
generate one or more data points pertaining to one or more of: an environment of the vehicle; and one or more system component measurements of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0082], [0090]-[0091]; where the system (100) is when in the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system; and where operator inputs are received from the operator and can include a transmission from a teleoperator to actuate a portion of the actuation subsystem; and where the communication module (170) functions to communicatively couple the vehicle control system to a remote computing system and can receive transmissions sent to the vehicle and data to be transmitted away from the vehicle (e.g. sensor data));
one or more actuation controls configured to enable the vehicle to perform one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153));
a remote station system (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system) comprising
one or more remote actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0054], [0059], [0071]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle); and where the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem); and
a computing device, coupled to the remote station system (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0090]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle)), the computing device coupled to the remote station system comprising
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store programming instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0116]; where the system can be implemented as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executed by a controller) that, when executed by the processor, are configured to cause the processor to
receive the one or more data points generated by the one or more sensors (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system);
generate one or more remote driving actions using the one or more remote actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0059]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle); and where the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem); and
generate, when adjustment of the one or more remote actuation controls is manually applied, a remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0050], [0053], [0057], [0059] [0106]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the teleoperator manually selects a task block in response to receiving the sensor data and the teleoperator may manually trigger a directive or provide operator inputs to the actuation subsystem; and where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), wherein:
the remote trajectory command comprises trajectory instructions which comprise one or more trajectory plot points which are based on the one or more remote driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0050], [0053]; where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), and ‘…’
a computing device, coupled to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0038], [0054]; where the vehicle comprises an onboard computing system, which receives inputs from the sensor system and executes instructions at an actuation subsystem to control the vehicle; and where computing modules can be stored locally at the vehicle), the computing device coupled to the vehicle comprising
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store programming instructions that (e.g. Paragraphs [0116]; where the system can be implemented as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executed by a controller), when executed by the processor, are configured to cause the processor to:
receive the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the remote operator transmits controls instructions to the vehicle; and where the behavior planning module (130) can receive the route generated by the mission planning module or from the remote operator);
generate the one or more driving actions based on the trajectory instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153)),
wherein the one or more driving actions correlate to one or more actuator commands configured to cause the vehicle to perform the one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraph [0071], [0075]; where the control outputs can be used to control the actuation subsystem, where the task block can generate control instructions/ signals for control of the actuation subsystem to directly control the control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering)), and
the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075], [0079], [0081], [0085]; where the control module functions to directly control the elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering, braking, etc.) based on the control commands received; and the steering control block functions to generate a steering control signal that results in control of the steering angle of the vehicle; the actuator displaces the throttle or pedal in order to control the vehicle component for braking, accelerating, or shifting gears of the vehicle) calculated based upon the position coordinates and the ‘…’ time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0064], [0101]; where the generated trajectory can be two-dimensional trajectories plotted from the current position of the vehicle to a desired future position of the vehicle, where the trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over a suitable time period; and the planner primitives provide instructions that describe the vehicle behavior and instructions for operation that include traveling specific distances, angles, and time periods to be input into the behavior planning module); and
transmit the one or more driving actions to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0057], [0090], [0110]; where the teleoperator can select vehicle actions based on the processed data and send it to the vehicle to be performed by the onboard vehicle system; and where the selected vehicle action can be transmitted to the vehicle, where the teleoperator performs the action (e.g. using the actuation subsystem of the vehicle)); and
a switch configured to switch command of the vehicle between automatic trajectory control and remote station system control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0083]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system).
Tiwari fails to disclose every feature of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time; and the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
However, Polansky, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time. Polansky teaches a method for providing an indication of a required time of arrival, where the system computes the movement of the aircraft in four dimensions (latitude, longitude, altitude, and time), where the system determines the speed at which the aircraft should travel in order to arrive at a predetermined location at a predetermined time (i.e. plots trajectories for arriving at positional coordinates at a specific time) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0019], [0029], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, with the feature of plotting trajectory points so that a vehicle arrives at a specific time in the system of Polansky, in order to control speed transitions in multi-segment route plans and achieve the desired arrival time (see at least Paragraphs [0004], [0006] of Polansky).
Staehlin more explicitly teaches the features of the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
Staehlin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for generating trajectories of vehicles, where the trajectory can contain particular waypoints at particular times with a particular vehicle alignment and position, to allow the vehicle to follow the trajectory by adjusting the steering angle, by braking interventions or accelerating the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky, with the feature of actuating vehicle components based upon specific time series associated with the trajectory in the system of Staehlin, in order to provide a sufficiently reliable calculation of the trajectory and allow the vehicle to follow the specified trajectory as close as possible (see at least Paragraphs [0003], [0011] of Staehlin).
As per Claim 11, Tiwari discloses the features of a system for controlling a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system), comprising:
a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle, to be operatable between various driving modes);
one or more sensors, coupled to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0036]; where the sensor subsystem in the perception module (110) functions to collect localization data and mapping data from vehicle surroundings, and where the sensor system includes at least one mapping sensor and at least one monitoring sensor, and where the sensors can be on-board the vehicle), configured to
generate one or more data points pertaining to one or more of: an environment of the vehicle; and one or more system component measurements of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0082], [0090]-[0091]; where the system (100) is when in the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system; and where operator inputs are received from the operator and can include a transmission from a teleoperator to actuate a portion of the actuation subsystem; and where the communication module (170) functions to communicatively couple the vehicle control system to a remote computing system and can receive transmissions sent to the vehicle and data to be transmitted away from the vehicle (e.g. sensor data));
one or more actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153));
a remote station system (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system) comprising:
one or more remote actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0054], [0059], [0071]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle); and where the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem); and
a computing device, coupled to the remote station system (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0090]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle)), the computing device coupled to the remote station system comprising
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store programming instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0116]; where the system can be implemented as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executed by a controller) that, when executed by the processor, are configured to cause the processor to
enable the vehicle to perform one or more driving actions via the one or more actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0057], [0090], [0110]; where the teleoperator can select vehicle actions based on the processed data and send it to the vehicle to be performed by the onboard vehicle system; and where the selected vehicle action can be transmitted to the vehicle, where the teleoperator performs the action (e.g. using the actuation subsystem of the vehicle; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle), and the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem);
receive the one or more data points generated by the one or more sensors (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system);
generate one or more remote driving actions using the one or more remote actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0059]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle); and where the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem); and
generate, when adjustment of the one or more remote actuation controls is manually applied, a remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0050], [0053], [0057], [0059] [0106]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the teleoperator manually selects a task block in response to receiving the sensor data and the teleoperator may manually trigger a directive or provide operator inputs to the actuation subsystem; and where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), wherein:
the remote trajectory command comprises trajectory instructions which comprise one or more trajectory plot points which are based on the one or more remote driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0050], [0053]; where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), and ‘…’
a computing device, coupled to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0038], [0054]; where the vehicle comprises an onboard computing system, which receives inputs from the sensor system and executes instructions at an actuation subsystem to control the vehicle; and where computing modules can be stored locally at the vehicle), the computing device coupled to the vehicle comprising
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store programming instructions that (e.g. Paragraphs [0116]; where the system can be implemented as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executed by a controller), when executed by the processor, are configured to cause the processor to:
generate the one or more driving actions based on the trajectory instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153)), wherein
the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075], [0079], [0081], [0085]; where the control module functions to directly control the elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering, braking, etc.) based on the control commands received; and the steering control block functions to generate a steering control signal that results in control of the steering angle of the vehicle; the actuator displaces the throttle or pedal in order to control the vehicle component for braking, accelerating, or shifting gears of the vehicle) calculated based upon the position coordinates and the ‘…’ time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0064], [0101]; where the generated trajectory can be two-dimensional trajectories plotted from the current position of the vehicle to a desired future position of the vehicle, where the trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over a suitable time period; and the planner primitives provide instructions that describe the vehicle behavior and instructions for operation that include traveling specific distances, angles, and time periods to be input into the behavior planning module);
the one or more driving actions correlate to one or more actuator commands configured to cause the vehicle to perform the one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraph [0071], [0075]; where the control outputs can be used to control the actuation subsystem, where the task block can generate control instructions/ signals for control of the actuation subsystem to directly control the control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering)); and
switch control of the vehicle, via a switch, between automatic trajectory control and remote station system control; and the switch (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0083]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system).
Tiwari fails to disclose every feature of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time; and the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
However, Polansky, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time. Polansky teaches a method for providing an indication of a required time of arrival, where the system computes the movement of the aircraft in four dimensions (latitude, longitude, altitude, and time), where the system determines the speed at which the aircraft should travel in order to arrive at a predetermined location at a predetermined time (i.e. plots trajectories for arriving at positional coordinates at a specific time) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0019], [0029], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, with the feature of plotting trajectory points so that a vehicle arrives at a specific time in the system of Polansky, in order to control speed transitions in multi-segment route plans and achieve the desired arrival time (see at least Paragraphs [0004], [0006] of Polansky).
Staehlin more explicitly teaches the features of the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
Staehlin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for generating trajectories of vehicles, However, Staehlin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for generating trajectories of vehicles, where the trajectory can contain particular waypoints at particular times with a particular vehicle alignment and position, to allow the vehicle to follow the trajectory by adjusting the steering angle, by braking interventions or accelerating the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky, with the feature of actuating vehicle components based upon specific time series associated with the trajectory in the system of Staehlin, in order to provide a sufficiently reliable calculation of the trajectory and allow the vehicle to follow the specified trajectory as close as possible (see at least Paragraphs [0003], [0011] of Staehlin).
As per Claim 15, Tiwari discloses the features of method for controlling a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0093]; where a method is provided for controlling a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system), comprising:
generating one or more data points from one or more sensors coupled to a vehicle, wherein the one or more data points pertain to one or more of: an environment of the vehicle; and one or more system component measurements of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0082], [0090]-[0091]; where the system (100) is when in the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system; and where operator inputs are received from the operator and can include a transmission from a teleoperator to actuate a portion of the actuation subsystem; and where the communication module (170) functions to communicatively couple the vehicle control system to a remote computing system and can receive transmissions sent to the vehicle and data to be transmitted away from the vehicle (e.g. sensor data));
one or more actuation controls configured to enable the vehicle to perform one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153));
switching, using a switch, command of the vehicle between automatic trajectory control and remote station system control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0083]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system);
when command of the vehicle is switched to automatic trajectory control, performing, using a processor, the automatic trajectory control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0100], [0114]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode; and where the teleoperator can transmit a directive to the vehicle to enter fully-autonomous (i.e. automatic trajectory control) mode after reaching a certain point);
when command of the vehicle is switched to remote station system control, performing, using the processor, via a remote station system, the remote station system control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0083]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system);
using the remote station system: receiving the one or more data points generated by the one or more sensors (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0082]; where the system (100) is when in the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions to the vehicle system; and where operator inputs are received from the operator and can include a transmission from a teleoperator to actuate a portion of the actuation subsystem); and
generating one or more remote driving actions using the one or more remote actuation controls (e.g. Paragraphs [0054], [0059]; where the behavior planning module (130) can be implemented on a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle), and at least in part at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle); and where the operator inputs can include inputs by a teleoperator to control the actuation subsystem); and
generating, when adjustment of the one or more remote actuation controls is manually applied, a remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0050], [0053], [0057], [0059] [0106]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the teleoperator manually selects a task block in response to receiving the sensor data and the teleoperator may manually trigger a directive or provide operator inputs to the actuation subsystem; and where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), wherein:
the remote trajectory command comprises trajectory instructions which comprise one or more trajectory plot points which are based on the one or more remote driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0050], [0053]; where the mission planning module (120) plans vehicle behavior based on instructions received from a remote operator and the mission planning module outputs a route plan (1201), which includes a sequence of driving behaviors (i.e. trajectories) required to navigate the vehicle), and ‘…’
receiving the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053]; where the remote operator transmits controls instructions to the vehicle; and where the behavior planning module (130) can receive the route generated by the mission planning module or from the remote operator);
generating the one or more driving actions based on the trajectory instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0026], [0071]; where the system (100) includes a behavior planning module (130) which generates control commands, and the control module (150) receives control commands and controls the actuation subsystem (153)),
wherein the one or more driving actions correlate to one or more actuator commands configured to cause the vehicle to perform the one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraph [0071], [0075]; where the control outputs can be used to control the actuation subsystem, where the task block can generate control instructions/ signals for control of the actuation subsystem to directly control the control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering)); and
the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075], [0079], [0081], [0085]; where the control module functions to directly control the elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering, braking, etc.) based on the control commands received; and the steering control block functions to generate a steering control signal that results in control of the steering angle of the vehicle; the actuator displaces the throttle or pedal in order to control the vehicle component for braking, accelerating, or shifting gears of the vehicle) calculated based upon the position coordinates and the ‘…’ time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0064], [0101]; where the generated trajectory can be two-dimensional trajectories plotted from the current position of the vehicle to a desired future position of the vehicle, where the trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over a suitable time period; and the planner primitives provide instructions that describe the vehicle behavior and instructions for operation that include traveling specific distances, angles, and time periods to be input into the behavior planning module).
Tiwari fails to disclose every feature of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time; and the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
However, Polansky, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of each trajectory plot point, of the one or more trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time. Polansky teaches a method for providing an indication of a required time of arrival, where the system computes the movement of the aircraft in four dimensions (latitude, longitude, altitude, and time), where the system determines the speed at which the aircraft should travel in order to arrive at a predetermined location at a predetermined time (i.e. plots trajectories for arriving at positional coordinates at a specific time) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0019], [0029], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, with the feature of plotting trajectory points so that a vehicle arrives at a specific time in the system of Polansky, in order to control speed transitions in multi-segment route plans and achieve the desired arrival time (see at least Paragraphs [0004], [0006] of Polansky).
Staehlin more explicitly teaches the features of the one or more actuator commands comprise a steering angle, a throttle control, and a brake control calculated based upon the position coordinates and the specific time of each trajectory plot point of the one or more trajectory plot points.
Staehlin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for generating trajectories of vehicles, However, Staehlin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for generating trajectories of vehicles, where the trajectory can contain particular waypoints at particular times with a particular vehicle alignment and position, to allow the vehicle to follow the trajectory by adjusting the steering angle, by braking interventions or accelerating the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky, with the feature of actuating vehicle components based upon specific time series associated with the trajectory in the system of Staehlin, in order to provide a sufficiently reliable calculation of the trajectory and allow the vehicle to follow the specified trajectory as close as possible (see at least Paragraphs [0003], [0011] of Staehlin).
As per Claim 2, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the processor of the computing device coupled to the vehicle, are further configured to cause the processor to switch control of the vehicle, via the switch, between the automatic trajectory control and the remote station system control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0107], [0116]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode, where the planning authority can be transferred to an operator (e.g., local operator residing in the vehicle, teleoperator, etc., in response to a button being activated by the local operator)).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claims 12 and 16, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claims 1, 11, and 15, respectively, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the processor of the computing device coupled to the vehicle, are further configured to cause the processor to perform
the automatic trajectory control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0053], [0085], [0114]; where the system (100) functions to control a vehicle during operation and is operable between several operating modes including an autonomous, semi-autonomous, and a teleoperation mode; where the control module (150) receives information from the local planning module (140) to actuate a vehicle system, and the output is received at the vehicle to transition operation modes to an autonomous mode), wherein the performing the automatic trajectory control comprises:
automatically generating an automatic trajectory command based on the one or more data points generated from the one or more sensors (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0059], [0061], [0101]; where the autonomous operation mode includes an onboard computing system receiving inputs from the sensor subsystem, implementing a decision-making block at the computing system to select a task block based on the inputs, and executing instructions generated by the selected task block at an actuation subsystem to control the vehicle; and where the associated task is automatically performed by the system, and the task blocks can include speed, acceleration, and deceleration parameters, lane change and lane keeping functions), wherein:
the automatic trajectory command comprises automatic trajectory instructions which comprise one or more automatic trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraph [0026], [0054], [0064]; where the system can include a trajectory generator (132); and can be implemented in a local computing system (e.g., residing at the vehicle) and at a remote computing system (e.g., a remote operation system or teleoperation system communicatively linked to the vehicle)), ‘…’
generating, based on the one or more automatic trajectory plot points, one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0061], [0075]; where the autonomous operation mode includes an onboard computing system that executes instructions generated by the selected task block to control the vehicle (i.e. driving actions)),
wherein the one or more driving actions correlate to one or more actuator commands (e.g. Paragraphs [0075], [0081]; where the control module (150) functions to directly control the elements of the vehicle based on commands received from the local planning module (140); and the control module (150) includes an actuation subsystem (153) for controlling speed, steering, transmission, and any other suitable control elements) configured to
cause the vehicle to be positioned in accordance with the one or more automatic trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraphs [0075], [0081]; where the control module (150) functions to directly control the elements of the vehicle based on commands received from the local planning module (140); and the control module (150) includes an actuation subsystem (153) for controlling speed, steering, transmission, and any other suitable control elements); and
causing the vehicle, via the one or more actuation controls, to perform the one or more driving actions in accordance with the automatic trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0051]-[0052], [0061], [0075], [0099]; where the autonomous operation mode includes an onboard computing system that executes instructions generated by the selected task block to control the vehicle (i.e. driving actions), such as changing lanes, exiting a highway, braking, accelerating, etc. and the mission planning module generates, updates and modifies the route plan for the vehicle to reach the destination).
Tiwari fails to disclose every feature of each automatic trajectory plot point, of the one or more automatic trajectory plot points, comprises position coordinates for the vehicle to be at a specific time.
However, Polansky, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for providing an indication of a required time of arrival, where the system computes the movement of the aircraft in four dimensions (latitude, longitude, altitude, and time), where the system determines the speed at which the aircraft should travel in order to arrive at a predetermined location at a predetermined time (i.e. plots trajectories for arriving at positional coordinates at a specific time) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0019], [0029], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, with the feature of plotting trajectory points so that a vehicle arrives at a specific time in the system of Polansky, in order to control speed transitions in multi-segment route plans and achieve the desired arrival time (see at least Paragraphs [0004], [0006] of Polansky).
As per Claim 4, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: the programming instructions, when executed by the processor of the computing device coupled to the remote station, are further configured to:
transmit the trajectory command to the vehicle, wherein the generating the one or more driving actions is based on the one or more trajectory plot points (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0091]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the sensor data is transmitted to the remote teleoperation interface (171) and the system can receive driver input from the remote vehicle operator),
the vehicle comprises a control module configured to receive the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0100]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the vehicle receives a directive from the teleoperator instructions for operation), and
perform the remote station system control (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions), wherein the performing the remote station system control comprises:
receiving, via the control module, the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions); and
causing the vehicle, via the one or more actuation controls, to perform the one or more driving actions in accordance with the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions).
As Per Claim 7, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: the one or more sensors comprise:
a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor (e.g. Paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0039]; where mapping sensors of the sensor system gathers image data, range data (e.g. LIDAR, radar, TOF, etc.), and can include radar, LIDAR, cameras, navigation sensors, etc.); and
a camera (e.g. Paragraphs [0036], [0039]; where mapping sensors of the sensor system gathers image data, range data (e.g. LIDAR, radar, TOF, etc.), and can include radar, LIDAR, cameras, navigation sensors, etc.), and the one or more data points comprise:
a LiDAR point cloud generated by the LiDAR sensor; and an image captured by the camera (e.g. Paragraphs [0036], [0113]; where the sensor subsystem gathers the sensor data, such as range data (e.g. LIDAR data, point cloud data); and where the sensor data includes image data collected from one or more camera, as well as cloud point data from one or more rangefinding sensors of the vehicle).
As per Claim 10, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein the one or more actuation controls comprise one or more of: a brake pedal; an acceleration pedal; a gear shift control; and a steering wheel (e.g. Paragraphs [0081]-[0082]; where the actuation subsystem (153) functions to actuate the control interferences of the vehicle, to include a throttle actuation interface, a brake actuation interface, a steering actuation assembly, and a pedal actuation mechanism).
As per Claim 14, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 11, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: programming instructions, when executed by the processor of the computing device coupled to the remote station system, are further configured to cause the processor to:
receive the one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0071], [0075]; where the control outputs can be used to control the actuation subsystem, where the task block can generate control instructions/ signals for control of the actuation subsystem to directly control the control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering); and where the teleoperator receives a subset of data related to the actuation of the vehicle subsystem (i.e. receives driving action data from the operator));
causing the vehicle, via the one or more actuation controls, to perform the one or more driving actions (e.g. Paragraph [0071], [0075]; where the control outputs can be used to control the actuation subsystem, where the task block can generate control instructions/ signals for control of the actuation subsystem to directly control the control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering)).
Claims 5-6, 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, as applied to Claims 4, 11, and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0031202 A1, to Takeda (hereinafter referred to as Takeda; previously of record).
As per Claim 5, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, the features of Claim 4, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein the one or more trajectory plot points comprise trajectory plot points generated in ‘…’ second intervals (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and proximal in time (e.g., coincident with, contemporaneously with, within 1 second, etc.,) the end of the time period corresponding to the completion of travel via the generated trajectory, anew trajectory can be generated).
While Tiwari does not explicitly teach determining the points 0.1 second intervals, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the intervals to 0.1 seconds (or whatever interval was desired) in order to obtain an optimal data set, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Takeda, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of trajectory plot points generated in 0.1 second intervals.
Takeda teaches a method for generating vehicle trajectory data, where the trajectory generating unit sets the target position (K) on the central line of the traveling lane at predetermined time intervals (for example 0.1 seconds) and determines an arrangement interval of the plurality of target positions (K) based on the travel mode (e.g. Paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, with the feature of determining time intervals in the system of Takeda, in order generate a map with higher accuracy and generate an updated trajectory (see at least Paragraphs [0070], [0075] of Takeda).
As per Claim 6, Tiwari, in view of Polansky, Staehlin, and Takeda, teaches the features of Claim 5, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein the trajectory instructions comprise trajectory plot points generated over a 15 second period of time (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and where the generated trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over the next 5 seconds, 15 seconds, 60 seconds, and any other suitable time period).
As per Claim 13, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 11, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein:
the one or more trajectory plot points comprise trajectory plot points generated in ‘…’ second intervals (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and proximal in time (e.g., coincident with, contemporaneously with, within 1 second, etc.,) the end of the time period corresponding to the completion of travel via the generated trajectory, anew trajectory can be generated), and
wherein the trajectory instructions comprise trajectory plot points generated over a 15 second period of time (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and where the generated trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over the next 5 seconds, 15 seconds, 60 seconds, and any other suitable time period).
While Tiwari does not explicitly teach determining the points 0.1 second intervals, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the intervals to 0.1 seconds (or whatever interval was desired) in order to obtain an optimal data set, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Takeda, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of trajectory plot points generated in 0.1 second intervals.
Takeda teaches a method for generating vehicle trajectory data, where the trajectory generating unit sets the target position (K) on the central line of the traveling lane at predetermined time intervals (for example 0.1 seconds) and determines an arrangement interval of the plurality of target positions (K) based on the travel mode (e.g. Paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, with the feature of determining time intervals in the system of Takeda, in order generate a map with higher accuracy and generate an updated trajectory (see at least Paragraphs [0070], [0075] of Takeda).
As per Claim 17, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 15, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein:
the generating the one or more driving actions is based on the one or more trajectory plot points, the one or more trajectory plot points comprise trajectory plot points generated in ‘…’ second intervals (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and proximal in time (e.g., coincident with, contemporaneously with, within i1 second, etc.,) the end of the time period corresponding to the completion of travel via the generated trajectory, anew trajectory can be generated),
the trajectory instructions comprise trajectory plot points generated over a 15 second period of time (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the trajectory generator (132) of the behavior planning module (130) functions to determine the desired trajectory for the vehicle to use to traverse the physical space surrounding the vehicle, and can determine a set of potential trajectories that can be used to traverse the space; and where the generated trajectory can correspond to the path designated for the vehicle to follow over the next 5 seconds, 15 seconds, 60 seconds, and any other suitable time period).
While Tiwari does not explicitly teach determining the points 0.1 second intervals, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the intervals to 0.1 seconds (or whatever interval was desired) in order to obtain an optimal data set, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Takeda, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of trajectory plot points generated in 0.1 second intervals.
Takeda teaches a method for generating vehicle trajectory data, where the trajectory generating unit sets the target position (K) on the central line of the traveling lane at predetermined time intervals (for example 0.1 seconds) and determines an arrangement interval of the plurality of target positions (K) based on the travel mode (e.g. Paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, with the feature of determining time intervals in the system of Takeda, in order generate a map with higher accuracy and generate an updated trajectory (see at least Paragraphs [0070], [0075] of Takeda).
As per Claim 18, Tiwari, in view of Polansky, Staehlin, and Takeda, teaches the features of Claim 17, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: the vehicle comprises
a control module configured to receive the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0075], [0100]; Figure 7; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions; and where the vehicle receives a directive from the teleoperator instructions for operation; and where a control module (150) at the vehicle functions to directly control elements of the vehicle (e.g., throttle, steering, etc.) based on control commands received from the local planning module (140) based on instructions received from the teleoperator), and the performing the remote station system control comprises:
the performing the remote station system control comprises: receiving, via the control module, the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions),
causing the vehicle, via one or more actuation controls, to perform the one or more driving actions in accordance with the remote trajectory command (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where the teleoperation mode includes a remote operator transmitting control instructions (e.g., behavior guidelines, directives, etc.) to the system (e.g., to a decision making block of the system) and controlling the vehicle based on the control instructions).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0192129 A1, to Winter, et al (hereinafter referred to as Winter; previously of record).
As per Claim 9, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: the one or more sensors comprise one or more cameras configured to generate one or more images of the environment of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0031]; Claim 2; where the perception module (110) of the system (100) functions to perceive environment surrounding the vehicle and output sensor data indicative of the features of the environment to directly perceive the environment (e.g., to sample imaging sensors, rangefinding sensors, etc.)),
The combination of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, fails to teach every feature of the remote station system comprises one or more displays configured to display the one or more images of the environment of the vehicle. However, Winter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a user interface for recommending remote assistance actions for a vehicle, where a representation of the forward path on which the vehicle is traveling is displayed (i.e., a trajectory); and where the graphical element may be overlayed onto the first person view (FPV) of the environment displayed on a terminal remote from the movable object (e.g. Paragraphs [0113], [0177]; Figure 7)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, with the feature of overlaying a trajectory on to a remote display in the system of Winter, in order to improve safety and maneuvering of the vehicle and situational awareness for the user (see at least Paragraph [0104] of Winter).
As per Claim 20, Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, teaches the features of Claim 15, and Tiwari further discloses the features of wherein: the one or more sensors comprise one or more cameras configured to generate one or more images of the environment of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0031]; Claim 2; where the perception module (110) of the system (100) functions to perceive environment surrounding the vehicle and output sensor data indicative of the features of the environment to directly perceive the environment (e.g., to sample imaging sensors, rangefinding sensors, etc.)),
The combination of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, fails to teach every feature of the remote station system comprises one or more displays configured to display the one or more images of the environment of the vehicle, and the performing the remote station system control comprises displaying the one or more images of the environment of the vehicle, using the one or more displays.
However, Winter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a user interface for recommending remote assistance actions for a vehicle, where a representation of the forward path on which the vehicle is traveling is displayed (i.e., a trajectory); and where the graphical element may be overlayed onto the first person view (FPV) of the environment displayed on a terminal remote from the movable object (e.g. Paragraphs [0113], [0177]; Figure 7)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control system of Tiwari, in view of Polansky and Staehlin, with the feature of overlaying a trajectory on to a remote display in the system of Winter, in order to improve safety and maneuvering of the vehicle and situational awareness for the user (see at least Paragraph [0104] of Winter).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chaves, et al (U.S. 2023/0334983 A1), which teaches a method for executing motion planning for a vehicle, by tracking the points along the trajectory and providing an indication of the expected next position at a specific time.
Yasui, et al (U.S. 2021/0150772 A1), which teaches a method for creating a target trajectory along which the vehicle drives, and the target trajectory is expressed as points at which the vehicle is to arrive at a specific time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663