DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 112 rejections, the specification recites: “At 402, UE 410 may determine PUSCH resources based on reduced bandwidth, and an indication received from NE 420, on a predefined rule known to UE 410 (e.g., using the first 25 PRBs of the PRB allocation, or otherwise), and/or the like.”; there will be a subset, if the PRB allocation is more than 25 PRBs. Please indicate where in the specification can be found that the PRB allocation is more than 25 PRBs.
Applicant submits: “Rastegardoost fails to disclose or suggest that the wireless device is configured to "adjust at least one characteristic of a physical resource block allocation based on the subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission and the reduced bandwidth, the adjustment of the at least one characteristic being based on a number of preambles mapped to the subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources," (emphasis added) as required by claim 1. As discussed above, Rastegardoost only discloses that the BS provides the configuration to the wireless device, including the preamble configuration, and Rastegardoost fails to disclose or suggest that the wireless device itself adjusts at least one characteristic of a PRB allocation based on a number of preambles mapped to the subset of the PUSCH resources, as required by claim 1.”; the examiner’s position is that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, Kim discloses to adjust at least one characteristic of a physical resource block allocation based on the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission and the reduced bandwidth (see par. 0436-0440). Guo discloses to determine a subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission(see par. 0016,0025-0026). Rastegardoost configuration to the wireless device allows the wireless device to adjust at least one characteristic of a PRB allocation based on a number of preambles mapped to the subset of the PUSCH resources (see par. 0245). Thereby, when combined the references teach the argued limitations.
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Parent claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation: “determining, by the UE, a subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission based on a reduced bandwidth supported by the UE”; the examiner was unable to find support for the limitation in the specification for the above-mentioned limitation. Paragraphs 0033-0036 of the specification UE 410 may determine PUSCH resources based on reduced bandwidth, but fails to mention determining a subset. Please indicate where the support can be found. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Parent claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation: “determining, by the UE, a subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission based on a reduced bandwidth supported by the UE”, since the examiner was unable to find support for the limitation in the specification. It is unclear the scope of the claim. Please clarify. For examination purposes a subset is going to be interpreted such as a PRB. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 14-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 20230292322 in view of Guo 20230058672 and further in view of Rastegardoost 20240032103.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor [102, 202] (see par. 0524); and at least one memory [104, 204] storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see par. 0018, 0524), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network entity, a configuration indicating physical uplink shared channel resources [The random access response may include a frequency hopping flag for the Msg3 PUSCH, and the frequency hopping flag may be set to ‘0’] (see par. 0014, 0524);
determine physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission based on a reduced bandwidth or reduced physical resource blocks supported by the apparatus, the reduced bandwidth being smaller than a bandwidth associated with the physical uplink shared channel resources configured for the apparatus [the PUCCH is transmitted without a frequency hopping based on an initial uplink bandwidth being greater than a bandwidth of the RedCap UE] (see par. 0010, 0436);
adjust at least one characteristic of a physical resource block allocation based on the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission and the reduced bandwidth (see par. 0436-0440); and
perform data communication based on the adjusted at least one characteristic of the physical resource block allocation (see par. 0436-0438). Kim fails to explicitly recite a subset of the channel resources. In an analogous art, Guo discloses to determine a subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission [the TBS is determined] (see par. 0015, 0025-0026), adjust at least one characteristic of a physical resource block allocation based on the subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission and the reduced bandwidth [modifying the TBS] (see par. 0016,0025-0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to determine subset of the channel resources for the simple purpose of maximizing the finite wireless resources. The previous references fail to disclose wherein the adjustment of the at least one characteristic is based on a number of preambles mapped to physical uplink shared channel resources.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost disclose wherein the adjustment of the at least one characteristic is based on a number of preambles mapped to physical uplink shared channel resources (see par. 0236, 0245); apply an offset to a starting physical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of supporting legacy devices with reduced capabilities and improving user satisfaction for the owners of legacy devices.
As to claim 3, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration is received via system information block (see par. 0173), a radio resource control configuration (see par. 0070, 0077, 0148), or a radio resource control release message (see par. 0188, 0193).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the data transmission comprises random access procedure (see par. 0010-0026).
As to claim 5, 7, 9, 16, 18 and 20 Kim fails to explicitly recite a subset of the channel resources. In an analogous art, determine a subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission [the TBS is determined] (see par. 0015, 0025-0026), adjust at least one characteristic of a physical resource block allocation based on the subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources to be used for data transmission and the reduced bandwidth [modifying the TBS] (see par. 0016,0025-0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to determine subset of the channel resources for the simple purpose of maximizing the finite wireless resources. Kim fails to disclose wherein the data transmission comprises small data transmission. In an analogous art, Rastegardoost disclose wherein the data transmission comprises small data transmission (see par. 0311), wherein the adjustment of the at least one characteristic is based on a predetermined number of physical resource blocks (0232-0234, 0244); apply an offset to a starting physical resource block of the physical resource block allocation based on a preamble index (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of supporting legacy devices with reduced capabilities and improving user satisfaction for the owners of legacy devices.
As to claim 6, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicating the physical uplink shared channel resources is based on the reduced bandwidth (see par. 0010).
Regarding claims 12, 14-15 and 17, they are the corresponding method claims of device claims 1, 3-4 and 6. Therefore, claims 12, 14-15 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claims 21-22, Kim discloses everything as explained above except for wherein the at least one characteristic comprises a transport block size of the physical resource block allocation. In an analogous art, Guo discloses wherein the at least one characteristic comprises a transport block size of the physical resource block allocation (see par. 0015, 0026); wherein the determination of the subset of the physical uplink shared channel resources is based on a predetermined rule known to the apparatus (see par. 0193). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to determine subset of the channel resources for the simple purpose of maximizing the finite wireless resources.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647