DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamison et al. (US 10,989,646, hereafter Jamison) in view of Rapoport (US 5,978,694) and Badri et al. (US 2015/0107349)
With respect to claim 1, Jamison teaches a method comprising: obtaining cuttings samples from a plurality of depths while drilling a wellbore in a subsurface formation; and performing the following operations for each of the cuttings samples, loading a cuttings sample (recovered subterranean material 208) into a container, loading the container into a magnetic susceptibility instrument (optical pumped magnetometer 100) configured with one or more sensors (photo detector 110), applying a magnetic field to the cutting sample in the container, and obtaining magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, via the one or more sensors based on a response of the cutting sample to the applied magnetic field. (col. 2, lines 16-39, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 1, 2A)
Jamison does not particularly teach the cuttings are unwashed or the sensors are configured to directly sense a response of the cuttings sample to the applied magnetic field or the container is a removable container configured to be inserted into a magnetic susceptibility instrument for obtaining magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample.
Rapoport teaches a method of determining the magnetic susceptibility of a sample (sample 18) by directly sensing a response of the sample to the applied magnetic field including placing the sample into a removable sample container (sample holder 16) configured to be inserted into a testing instrument to obtain measurements of the sample. (col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 4; col. 8, lines 43-57, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to include a direct sensing of the sample response using a removable sample container, as taught by Rapoport, as an alternative method of determining the magnetic susceptibility of the sample. It should be noted that the prior art includes many different methods of sensing magnetic susceptibility.
Badri teaches that it is known to place an unwashed downhole sample directly into a removable sample container for transport to the surface for further analysis. (par. 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to use unwashed samples, as taught by Badri, in order to decrease the need for additional processing steps.
With respect to claim 4, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the one or more sensors include one or more inductors (laser 102) and one or more receivers (photo detector 110). (Jamison, col. 2, lines 16-39, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 5, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches applying a magnetic field to the cuttings sample in the container with the one or more inductors; and obtaining the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample with the one or more receivers based on a cuttings sample response to the magnetic field. (Jamison, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 2A)
With respect to claim 6, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the sample can be rotated during testing. (col. 4, lines 32-63, Fig. 2B) Although Jamison does not explicitly teach the one or more sensors translates along a length of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, and wherein the one or more sensors translates around a perimeter of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, this would have been an obvious modification of the system to provide a similar relative movement between the sample and the detectors while maintaining a stationary position of the sample itself to simplify the sample handling process.
With respect to claim 7, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the one or more sensors remain stationary when obtaining the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample. (Jamison, col. 2, lines 16-39, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 1, 2A)
With respect to claim 10, Jamison teaches a system (system 400) comprising: a magnetic susceptibility instrument (optical pumped magnetometer 100) configured with one or more sensors (photo detector 110); a container configured to hold a cuttings sample (recovered subterranean material 208); a processor (system controller 418); and a computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor to cause the processor to, load the cuttings sample into the container, load the container into the magnetic susceptibility instrument, apply a magnetic field to the cutting sample in the container, and obtain magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, via the one or more sensors, based on a response of the cutting sample to the applied magnetic field. (col. 2, lines 16-39, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 54, Figs. 1-4)
Jamison does not particularly teach the cuttings are unwashed or the sensors are configured to directly sense a response of the cuttings sample to the applied magnetic field or the container is a removable container configured to be inserted into a magnetic susceptibility instrument for obtaining magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample.
Rapoport teaches a system for determining the magnetic susceptibility of a sample (sample 18) by directly sensing a response of the sample to the applied magnetic field including placing the sample into a removable sample container (sample holder 16) configured to be inserted into a testing instrument to obtain measurements of the sample. (col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 4; col. 8, lines 43-57, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to include a direct sensing of the sample response using a removable container, as taught by Rapoport, as an alternative method of determining the magnetic susceptibility of the sample. It should be noted that the prior art includes many different methods of sensing magnetic susceptibility.
Badri teaches that it is known to place an unwashed downhole sample directly into a removable sample container for transport to the surface for further analysis. (par. 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to use unwashed samples, as taught by Badri, in order to decrease the need for additional processing steps.
With respect to claim 13, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the one or more sensors include one or more inductors (laser 102) and a one or more receivers (photo detector 110). (Jamison, col. 2, lines 16-39, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 14, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the instructions further comprise; applying a magnetic field to the cuttings sample in the removable container with the one or more inductors; and obtaining the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample with the one or more receivers based on a cuttings sample response to the magnetic field. (Jamison, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 2A)
With respect to claim 15, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the sample can be rotated during testing. (col. 4, lines 32-63, Fig. 2B) Although Jamison does not explicitly teach the one or more sensors translates along a length of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, and wherein the one or more sensors translates around a perimeter of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, this would have been an obvious modification of the system to provide a similar relative movement between the sample and the detectors while maintaining a stationary position of the sample itself to simplify the sample handling process.
With respect to claim 16, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the one or more sensors remain stationary when obtaining the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample. (Jamison, col. 2, lines 16-39, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 1, 2A)
With respect to claim 17, Jamison teaches a magnetic susceptibility instrument (optical pumped magnetometer 100) comprising: a container, wherein a cuttings sample (recovered subterranean material 208) obtained while drilling a wellbore in a subsurface formation is loaded into the container; and one or more sensors (photo detector 110), each of the one or more sensors configured to obtain magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample in the container based on a response of the cutting sample to a magnetic field applied to the cutting sample. (col. 2, lines 16-39, col. 3, line 51 – col. 4, line 31, Fig. 1, 2A)
Jamison does not particularly teach the sensors are configured to directly sense a response of the cuttings sample to the applied magnetic field or the container is a removable container configured to be inserted into a magnetic susceptibility instrument for obtaining magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample.
Rapoport teaches an instrument for determining the magnetic susceptibility of a sample (sample 18) by directly sensing a response of the sample to the applied magnetic field. (col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 4) including placing the sample into a removable sample container (sample holder 16) configured to be inserted into a testing instrument to obtain measurements of the sample. (col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 4; col. 8, lines 43-57, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to include a direct sensing of the sample response, as taught by Rapoport, as an alternative method of determining the magnetic susceptibility of the sample. It should be noted that the prior art includes many different methods of sensing magnetic susceptibility.
Badri teaches that it is known to place an unwashed downhole sample directly into a removable sample container for transport to the surface for further analysis. (par. 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Jamison to use unwashed samples, as taught by Badri, in order to decrease the need for additional processing steps.
With respect to claim 20, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches the sample can be rotated during testing. (col. 4, lines 32-63, Fig. 2B) Although Jamison does not explicitly teach the one or more sensors translates along a length of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, and wherein the one or more sensors translates around a perimeter of the removable container to obtain the magnetic susceptibility measurements of the cuttings sample, this would have been an obvious modification of the system to provide a similar relative movement between the sample and the detectors while maintaining a stationary position of the sample itself to simplify the sample handling process.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamison in view of Rapoport and Badri, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Smith. (US 2018/0355717)
With respect to claims 3, 12 and 19, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport and Badri, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except wherein the magnetic susceptibility instrument is configured with an autoloader to load the removable container into the magnetic susceptibility instrument.
However, it is known to take and load samples automatically. For example, Smith teaches a sampling device which automatically loads sample containers into a detection instrument. (par. 28, 52, 63)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the structure of Jamison to include automatic loading, as taught by Smith, in order to perform the testing process more efficiently.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamison in view of Rapoport and Badri, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2023/0184705, hereafter Mitchell)
With respect to claim 8, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for explicitly teaching labeling each of the magnetic susceptibility measurements with depths based on the corresponding cuttings sample; generating a log comprising magnetic susceptibility measurements as a function of depth; and performing a subsurface operation based on the log.
Mitchell teaches a method of evaluating a downhole environment including taking and labeling a plurality of magnetic susceptibility measurements with depths based on corresponding cuttings samples; generating a log comprising magnetic susceptibility measurements as a function of depth; and performing a subsurface operation based on the log. (par. 6, 40-41, 58-62, Figs. 2, 11)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the method of Jamison to include taking a plurality of samples and generating a log, as taught by Mitchell, in order to apply the measurements to control of the downhole process.
With respect to claim 9, Jamison, as modified by Rapoport, Badri and Mitchell, teaches determining one or more subsurface formation properties based on the log, wherein the subsurface formation properties include changes in lithological properties over depth and changes in diagenetic environment over depth. (Mitchell, par. 6, 40-41, 58-62, Figs. 2, 11)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 8, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853