Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 18-19 and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the recitation “adjustable control a pitch of the plurality of electrodes by applying a stimulus signal to electrodes of the first electrode group” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how to “adjustably control a pitch…by applying a stimulus signal…”. According to the specification, “a pitch of the electrode array may be selected on the order of or smaller than a size of typical cells” (see [0084]. Therefore, it is understood that the pitch can be selected according to the size of the typical cells. However, none of the descriptions in the current specification explains how to “adjustably control a pitch…by applying a stimulus signal…” as claimed in claim 1.
In claims 18 and 31, the recitation “selecting a pitch…from among multiple pitch values by defining a first electrode group comprising one or more electrodes” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how to “selecting a pitch…by defining a first electrode group…”. According to the specification, ”a pitch of the electrode array may be selected on the order of or smaller than a size of typical cells” (see [0084]). Therefore, it is understood that the pitch can be selected according to the size of the typical cells. However, none of the descriptions in the current specification explains how to “selecting a pitch…by defining a first electrode group…” as claimed in claims 18 and 31.
Claims 2, 19, 21-30 and 32-35 are rejected for their dependence upon the rejected independent claims, 1, 18 and 31.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 18 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,747,321 (thereafter referred to as Patent ‘321) in view of Farrow et al. (U. S. Pub. 2015/0276649). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As for claim 1, Patent ‘321 discloses an apparatus for mapping one or more cells (see the apparatus in claim 1 of Patent ‘321), the apparatus comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (see claim 1, line 3 of Patent ‘321), comprising:
a plurality of electrodes exposed at a surface of the semiconductor substrate (see claim 1, lines 4-5 of Patent ‘321);
active circuitry (see claim 1, lines 6-7 of Patent ‘321) coupled to the plurality of electrodes and configured to:
applying a stimulus signal to electrodes of a first electrode group (see claim 2 of Patent ‘321); and
measure a set of cross-electrode currents between a first electrode group of the plurality of electrodes and some or all of the remaining electrodes (see claim 1, lines 8-10 of Patent ‘321); and
one or more processors configured to:
receive the measured cross-electrode currents from the active circuitry and to correlate the one or more cells with the set of cross-electrode currents (i.e., correlate the one or more cells with the set of cross-electrode currents by generating a map of the one or more cells of representative values based on the set of cross-electrode currents, see claim 1, lines 12-20 of Patent ‘321).
Still referring to claim 1, Patent ‘321 does not specifically disclose adjustably control a pitch of the plurality of electrodes.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is adjusted or selected to be equal or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adjusting or selecting the pitch of the electrodes based on the size of the biological cells under test is just routine practice in the art, in order to determine the presence of a single cell, and it does not make the current application patentably distinct from Patent’321.
As for claim 2, Patent ‘321 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the active circuitry is further configured to apply a reference voltage at the remaining electrodes where the cross-electrode currents are being measured from (see claim 2 of Patent ‘321).
As for claim 18, Patent ‘321 discloses a method (see the method claim 18 of Patent ‘321) for mapping one or more cells in contact with an electrode array disposed on a surface area of a semiconductor substrate, each electrode in the electrode array having an electrode location on the surface area, the method comprising:
for each electrode of a first electrode group of the electrode array (see claim 18, lines 4-5 of Patent ‘321):
applying a stimulus signal at the electrode (see claim 18, line 6 of Patent ‘321);
measuring a set of cross-electrode currents between the one or more electrode and some or all of the remaining electrodes in the electrode array (see claim 18, lines 7-9 of Patent ‘321);
generating a representative value associated with the electrode location of the one or more electrodes based on the set of cross-electrode currents (see claim 18, lines 10-13 of Patent ‘321); and
generating a map of representative values on the surface area based on the generated representative values and respective associated electrode locations of the one or more electrodes (see claim 18, lines 14-17 of Patent ‘321).
Still referring to claim 18, Patent ‘321 does not specifically disclose selecting a pitch of the electrode from among multiple pitch values.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is adjusted or selected to be equal or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that selecting the pitch of the electrodes based on the size of the biological cells under test is just routine practice in the art, in order to determine the presence of a single cell, and it does not make the current application patentably distinct from Patent’321.
As for claim 31, Patent ‘321 discloses a system (see the system in claim 19 of Patent ‘321) for mapping one or more cells, the system comprising:
a plurality of electrodes exposed at a surface area of a semiconductor substrate (see claim 19, lines 3-4 of Patent ‘321);
circuitry disposed in the semiconductor substrate that is controllable to apply a stimulus signal and/or measure a current at one or more electrodes of the plurality of electrodes (see claim 19, lines 5-8 of Patent ‘321);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions; and at least one processor programmed by the executable instructions to perform a method comprising acts of (see claim 19, lines 9-12 of Patent ‘321):
for each electrode in the first electrode group:
controlling the circuitry to apply a stimulus signal at the electrode (see claim 19, lines13-15 of Patent ‘321);
controlling the circuitry to measure a set of cross-electrode currents between the electrode and some or all of the remaining electrodes in the plurality of electrodes (see claim 19, lines 16-18 of Patent ‘321);
generating a representative value associated with the electrode location of the electrode based on the set of cross-electrode currents (see claim 19, lines 19-22 of Patent ‘321);
and correlating the generated representative values with respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes (i.e., correlating by generating the map of representative values with respective associated electrode locations of the electrodes, see claim 19, lines 23-26 of Patent ‘321).
Still referring to claim 31, Patent ‘321 does not specifically disclose selecting a pitch of the electrodes from among multiple pitch values.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is adjusted or selected to be equal or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that selecting the pitch of the electrodes based on the size of the biological cells under test is just routine practice in the art, in order to determine the presence of a single cell, and it does not make the current application patentably distinct from Patent’321.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 18-19, 21-26, 29-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U. S. Pub. 2016/0245788), in view of Farrow et al. (U. S. Pub. 2015/0276649).
As for claim 1, Wang et al. discloses an apparatus (See Figs. 1, 2, 6-8 and 16) for mapping one or more cells (102), the apparatus comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (substrate of the chip 101), comprising:
a plurality of electrodes (see the plurality of electrodes in each pixel groups) exposed at a surface of the semiconductor substrate;
active circuitry (see the circuitry shown in Fig. 2) coupled to the plurality of electrodes and configured to:
applying a stimulus signal (i.e., applying voltage to the electrode 5, see Figs. 6 and 7);
measure (using current sensing electrode shown in Fig. 7) a set of cross-electrode currents between a first electrode group of the plurality of electrodes and some or all of the remaining electrodes (e.g., electrode 5 to apply voltage and electrodes 1-4 for I-sensing); and
one or more processors (205 in Fig. 2) configured to receive the measured cross-electrode currents from the active circuitry and to correlate the one or more cells with the set of cross-electrode currents (i.e., Correlating the cells 102 with the measured cross-electrode currents and impedances to determine cell attachment, cells characterization or drug screening, see [0064]—[0067]).
Still referring to claim 1, Wang et al. does not specifically disclose adjustably control a pitch of the plurality of electrodes.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is adjusted or selected to be equal to or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang et al. to adjust or select the pitch of the electrodes based on the size of the biological cells under test, for the purpose of determining the presence of a single cell (see [0018] and abstract in Farrow).
As for claim 2, Wang et. al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the active circuitry is further configured to apply a reference voltage at the remaining electrodes (1-4) where the cross-electrode currents are being measured from (see Fig. 7).
As for claim 18 and 21 Wang et al. discloses (See Figs. 1, 2, 6-8 and 16) a method for mapping one or more cells (102) in contact with an electrode array (see the plurality of electrodes in each pixel groups) disposed on a surface area of a semiconductor substrate (substrate of the chip 101), each electrode in the electrode array having an electrode location on the surface area, the method comprising:
for each electrode of the first electrode group of the electrode array:
applying a stimulus signal at the electrode (applying voltage at electrode 5);
measuring a set of cross-electrode currents (see [0063]) between the one or more electrode of the first electrode group and some or all of the remaining electrodes in the electrode array;
generating a representative value (i.e., generate the impedance value, see [0063]) associated with the electrode location of the one or more electrodes of the first electrode group based on the set of cross-electrode currents; and
generating a map of representative values on the surface area based on the generated representative values and respective associated electrode locations of the one or more electrode of the first electrode group; wherein the first electrode group comprises all electrodes in the electrode array (see the impedance mapping in Figs. 8 and 16).
Still referring to claims 18 and 21, Wang et al. does not specifically disclose selecting a pitch of the electrode array from among multiple pitch values.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is adjusted or selected to be equal to or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang et al. to select the pitch of the electrode array from among multiple pitch values, based on the size of the biological cells under test, for the purpose of determining the presence of a single cell (see [0018] and abstract in Farrow).
As for claim 25, Wang et al. discloses the method of claim18, wherein the map comprises a plurality of pixels, each pixel associated with a representative value (see the plurality of pixels shown in Figs. 8 and 16).
As for claim 29, Wang et. al. discloses the method of claim 18, wherein electrode locations in the electrode array are arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns (see Fig 6).
As for claim 31, Wang et. al. discloses a system (See Figs. 1, 2, 6-8 and 16) for mapping one or more cells (102), the system comprising:
a plurality of electrodes (see the plurality of electrodes in each pixel groups) exposed at a surface area of a semiconductor substrate (substrate of the chip 101);
circuitry disposed in the semiconductor substrate that is controllable to apply a stimulus signal and/or measure a current at one or more electrodes of the plurality of electrodes (see [0063] and Fig. 7);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions; and at least one processor (the data processing portion 205 in Fig. 2 or the controller [0035]) programmed by the executable instructions to perform a method comprising acts of:
for each electrode in the first electrode group:
controlling the circuitry to apply a stimulus signal (i.e., applying voltage at one electrode 5 in Fig. 7) at the electrode;
controlling the circuitry to measure a set of cross-electrode currents between the electrode and some or all of the remaining electrodes in the plurality of electrodes (i.e., measuring current at electrodes 1-4);
generating a representative value (i.e., generate the impedance values based on the current values, [0063]) associated with the electrode location of the electrode based on the set of cross-electrode currents; and
correlating the generated representative values with respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes (i.e., Correlating the cells 102 with the measured cross-electrode currents and impedances to determine cell attachment, cells characterization or drug screening, see [0064]—[0067]).
Still referring to claim 31, Wang et al. does not specifically disclose selecting a pitch of the plurality of electrodes from among multiple pitch values.
Farrow et al. discloses a device for testing biological cells, wherein the pitch or distance between electrodes is selected to be equal to or less than the size of the biological cells to determine the presence of a single biological cell (see [0018] and abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang et al. to select the pitch of the electrodes based on the size of the biological cells under test, for the purpose of determining the presence of a single cell (see [0018] and abstract in Farrow).
As for claim 23, Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: based on the generated map of representative values, identifying a cluster of cells (102) adjacent the semiconductor substrate (substrate of the chip 101) with single cell resolution.
As for claims 24 and 34, Wang et al. discloses the method and system of claims 18 and 31 as discussed above, wherein correlating the generated representative values with respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes comprises generating a map of representative values on the surface area based on the generated representative values and respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes (i.e., see the map or images shown in Fig. 16)., wherein the generated map is a first map generated at a first time (see the first map at T=0) and comprises a plurality of pixels (pixels in group #1, #2), and the method further comprises:
generating a second map (see the second map at T=8 mins, or 30 mins) of representative values on the surface area at a second time subsequent to the first time, wherein the second map comprises a plurality of pixels;
determining a first count of pixels in the first map having a representative value within a predetermined range (first count of pixels in the first map at T=0);
determining a second count of pixels (second count of pixels in the second map at T=8 or 30 mins) in the second map having a representative value within the predetermined range; and
determining a cell adhesion characteristic based on a comparison of the first count with the second count (determining cell detachment based on the comparison of the first map and second map).
As for claims 26 and 35, Wang et al. discloses the method and system of claims 18 and 31, wherein correlating the generated representative values with respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes comprises generating a map of representative values on the surface area based on the generated representative values and respective associated electrode locations of the plurality of electrodes (i.e., Correlating the cells 102 with the measured cross-electrode currents and impedances to determine cell attachment, cells characterization or drug screening, see [0064]—[0067]), and wherein the first electrode group comprises a first electrode (first electrode 5) having a first electrode location and a second electrode (electrode 1-4) having a second electrode location, the first electrode and the second electrode adjacent each other on the surface area (see Fig. 7), and wherein the map comprises a first pixel and a second pixel corresponding to the first electrode location and the second electrode location (see Fig. 12A), respectively, wherein generating the map comprises: determining an up-scaled representative value associated with a third pixel between the first and second pixels (i.e., determining the up-scaled impedance value based on the current values between the first and second pixels).
As for claim 30, Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the electrode array has M rows and N columns, and the map has at least 3M x 3N pixels (see the plurality of pixels shown in Figs. 8 and 16).
As for claims 19 and 32-33, Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al. discloses the method and system of claims 18 and 31, wherein generating the representative value comprises: selecting a maximum current values of the set of cross-electrode currents as the representative value, and calculating an impedance based on the selected current values ([0063]).
Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al. does not specifically disclose selecting a maximum current value of the set of cross-electrode current as the representative value, and calculating the impedance based on the selected maximum current value as the representative value.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al. to select a maximum current values of the set of cross-electrode currents and calculate the impedance based on the selected maximum current value, for the purpose of obtaining more accurate impedance mapping of the desired area on the chip.
As for claim 22, Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al. discloses the method of claim 18 as discussed above.
Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the map has a spatial resolution of 20 um or less.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al. to choose to design the map spatial resolution to be any desired resolution, such as 20 um or less as dependent upon the size of the cells or the specific requirement of the different applications involved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on February 11, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of the 103 rejection based on Wang et al. in view of Farrow et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858