DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim(s) are directed to a signal per se.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See in re Zietz, 893 F. 2d 3 19 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 21 1 1.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory matter. See in re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1246, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir.2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter).
The term "machine-readable medium" shall also be taken to include any medium other than a transitory medium such as a carrier wave that is capable of storing or encoding a set of instructions for execution by the machine that cause the machine to perform any one or more of the methodologies of the present invention. The term " storing computer-readable instructions" shall accordingly be taken to include, but not be limited to, solid-state memories, and optical and magnetic media.) allows computer readable storage medium to read on both non-transitory storage medium and transitory storage medium, the claims are rejected under the broadest reasonable interpretation as a product of transitory propagating signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 14-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Karnagel et al. (US 2020/0118036 A1).
Re Claim 1, 8 & 15, Karnagel teaches a processor comprising:
one or more circuits to cause one or more neural networks to be trained in parallel based, at least in part, on two or more randomly selected, similarly-sized portions of one or more datasets. (Karnagel; FIG. 1-5; Background, ¶ [0013]-[0043], [0125]-[0141]; The embodiment(s) detail the parallel execution of training neural networks on random selected similar sized datasets.)
Re Claim 3, 10 & 17, Karnagel discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits further cause the one or more datasets to be randomly split into two or more subsets of training data samples. (Karnagel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0013]-[0023], [0047]-[0079]; The datasets can be broken in various seized training related subsets.)
Re Claim 7 & 14, Karnagel discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the two or more randomly selected, similarly-sized portions contain training data samples of similar number of sequences. (Karnagel; FIG. 1-3; ¶ [0013]-[0023], [0140]; Randomly selected, similar seize training data sample of sequences.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karnagel et al. (US 2020/0118036 A1) and further in view of DAVID et al. (US 2022/0012595 A1).
Re Claim 2, 9 & 16, Karnagel discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more neural networks are trained in parallel on two or more training processors, and (Karnagel; FIG. 1-5; Background, ¶ [0013]-[0043], [0125]-[0141]; The embodiment(s) detail the parallel execution of training neural networks on random selected similar sized datasets.)
Karnagel does not explicitly suggest wherein each of the two or more training processors updates at least a part of the one or more neural networks using at least one of the two or more randomly selected similarly-sized portions.
However, in analogous art, DAVID teaches wherein each of the two or more training processors updates at least a part of the one or more neural networks using at least one of the two or more randomly selected similarly-sized portions. (DAVID; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0017]-[0027], [0040]-[0054]; The updating of neural network using random selected datasets.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Karnagel in view of DAVID to updated neural networks for the reasons of training and generating new neural networks based on training data sets. (DAVID Abstract)
Claim(s) 4-6, 11-13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karnagel et al. (US 2020/0118036 A1) and further in view of Kida (US 2019/0065989 A1).
Re Claim 4, 11 & 18, Karnagel discloses the processor of claim 3, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the one or more circuits further cause the training data samples in each of the two or more subsets to be further split into two or more portions based on sample sizes, wherein each of the two or more portions contains a set of training data samples of a similar size.
However, in analogous art, Kida teaches wherein the one or more circuits further cause the training data samples in each of the two or more subsets to be further split into two or more portions based on sample sizes, (Kida; FIG. 1-12; ¶ [0018]-[0028], [0038]-[0048]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as training data samples, splitting data samples and classifying data samples by size.)
wherein each of the two or more portions contains a set of training data samples of a similar size. (Kida; FIG. 1-12; ¶ [0018]-[0028], [0038]-[0048]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as training data samples, splitting data samples and classifying data samples by size.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Karnagel in view of Kida to split subsets of data for the reasons of training machine learning models by dividing training data samples. (Kida Abstract)
Re Claim 5, 12 & 19, Karnagel-Kida discloses the processor of claim 4, wherein the one or more circuits further cause the two or more portions within each subset to be ranked according to their corresponding sample sizes. (Kida; FIG. 1-12; ¶ [0018]-[0028], [0038]-[0058]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as the classification (ranked) data samples associated with sample sizes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Karnagel in view of Kida to split subsets of data for the reasons of training machine learning models by dividing training data samples. (Kida Abstract)
Re Claim 6, 13 & 20, Karnagel-Kida discloses the processor of claim 5, wherein at least one of the two or more randomly selected, similarly-sized portions is sampled corresponding to a ranking among portions within a first subset, and (Kida; FIG. 1-12; ¶ [0018]-[0028], [0038]-[0058]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as randomized size, classified subset of sample data.)
at least another of the two or more randomly selected, similarly-sized portions is sampled corresponding to a same ranking among portions within a second subset. (Kida; FIG. 1-12; ¶ [0018]-[0028], [0038]-[0058]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as randomized size, classified subset of sample data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Karnagel in view of Kida to split subsets of data for the reasons of training machine learning models by dividing training data samples. (Kida Abstract)
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443