Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III, claims 16-20 in the reply filed on March 05, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is advised to cancel the withdrawn and nonelected claims 1-15 in the next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yun et al. (U. S. Pub. 2015/0148863).
As for claim 16, Yun et al. discloses (see Figs. 3, 4 and 14; [0047]—[0051]) a method for monitoring an electrogenic cell (i.e., brain cell of the subject S), the method comprising:
decreasing an input impedance of the electrogenic cell (brain cell) by driving an output current (minute current) through an electrode (110) placed in contact with the electrogenic cell (brain cell of the subject); and
sensing electric signals (i.e., sensing brain signals using detecting element 300) generated by the electrogenic cell (brain cell) with an amplifying circuit (i.e., amplifying module 330 as shown in Fig. 14) coupled to the electrode (110).
As for claim 19, Yun et al. discloses the method of claim 16, wherein driving the output current through the electrode (110) comprises driving a direct current (DC) for at least one minute (i.e., using the transcranial direct current stimulation in [0034]).
As for claim 20, Yun et al. discloses method of claim 16, wherein the output current is controlled (using control unit 400 and the stimulating element 200) to alternate between two or more values (i.e., two or more values of the minute current, which are based on the received optimal range of stimulation determined by the control unit 400; see [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (U. S. Pub. 2015/0148863), in view of Petrofsky (U. S. Pub 2011/0121859).
As for claims 17 and 18, Yun et al. disclose the method of claim 16 as discussed above.
Yun et al. does not specifically disclose wherein driving the output current through the electrode comprises causing an input voltage of an impedance element to follow an output voltage of the impedance element, and coupling the output voltage to the electrode, and wherein causing the input voltage to follow the output voltage comprises causing a source terminal of a transistor to follow a gate terminal of the transistor.
Petrofsky discloses the use of a conventional voltage follower, wherein an input voltage follows an output voltage, and further the use of a NMOS based voltage follower wherein a source terminal of a transistor follows a gate terminal of the transistor (see abstract and [0020], [0074]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yun et al. to use a conventional voltage follower, or a NMOS based voltage follower, wherein a source terminal of a transistor follows a gate terminal of the transistor, as taught by Petrofsky, to drive the output current through the electrode, for the purpose of reducing the phase noise of the output signal, and ensures desired stimulation or sensing voltage is applied (see abstract).
Conclusion
/AMY HE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858