DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicants argument “Currently, the amended claim 1 recites the feature of a first plasmonic bridge vertically overlapped and electrically connected with both the first electric integrated circuit component…" Applicant deems Kim at least fails to disclose the foregoing feature”, Examiner assert that through a reinterpretation of the structural relationships of the limitations as cited below, Kim does in fact teach the new combination of claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a semiconductor package comprising, among other things, a first plasmonic bridge embedded in the insulating encapsulant, wherein the first plasmonic bridge comprises a first electrical-optical conversion module, a second electrical-optical conversion module, and a first plasmonic waveguide optically connecting the first electrical-optical conversion module and the second electrical-optical conversion module; a first redistribution structure sandwiched between the first electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant, wherein the first redistribution structure electrically connects the first electric integrated circuit component and the first electrical-optical conversion module; and a second redistribution structure sandwiched between the second electric integrated circuit component and the insulating encapsulant, wherein the second redistribution structure electrically connects the second electric integrated circuit component and the second electrical-optical conversion module.
The closest relevant prior art of record, Kim (U.S. PG Pub. # 2013/0011094 A1), teaches the encapsulant (hashed area) embedding a plasmonic waveguide (110, 120 130) and not the modules as claimed nor the redistribution structures as claimed.
Thus, with no teaching from the prior art, and without the benefit of applicant's teachings, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/modify the prior art of record in a manner so as to create the claimed invention.
Claim 3, 5, 6, 11 – 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a package comprising, among other things, wherein the first plasmonic waveguide optically connects the first electric integrated circuit component and the second electric integrated circuit component respectively through the first electrical-optical conversion module and the second electrical-optical conversion module;
a plurality of through vias penetrating through the substrate and the insulating encapsulant;
and an insulating encapsulant filled among the substrate, the first electric integrated circuit component, and the second electric integrated circuit component, wherein the insulating encapsulant encapsulates the first plasmonic bridge.
The closest relevant prior art of record, Kim (U.S. PG Pub. # 2008/0080807 A1), teaches electrically coupling from 112 and 119 to 106, not optically coupling nor does it teach vias or insulating encapsulant as claimed.
Thus, with no teaching from the prior art, and without the benefit of applicant's teachings, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/modify the prior art of record in a manner so as to create the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub. # 2013/0011094 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘094 teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 5), comprising: a first electric integrated circuit component (510); a second electric integrated circuit component (520) aside the first electric integrated circuit component; and a first plasmonic bridge (structures of fig. 5, except for 530, 540, 550 and 560) vertically overlapped and electrically connected (150, pars. 0034 – 0035, 0037, 0045 and 0046) with both the first electric integrated circuit component and the second electric integrated circuit component, wherein the first plasmonic bridge comprises a first plasmonic waveguide (110, 120 and 130) optically connecting the first electric integrated circuit component and the second electric integrated circuit component (fig. 5).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub. # 2008/0080807 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘807 teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 3B), comprising: a first electric integrated circuit component (106 on left); a second electric integrated circuit component (106 on the right) aside the first electric integrated circuit component; and a first plasmonic bridge (109 and 112 OR 109, 111 and 112 OR 109, 111, 112 119 and 119B as boundaries of the bridge have not been recited) vertically overlapped and electrically connected (via 112) with both the first electric integrated circuit component and the second electric integrated circuit component, wherein the first plasmonic bridge comprises a first plasmonic waveguide (111, pars. 0018, 0053, 0078) optically connecting the first electric integrated circuit component and the second electric integrated circuit component.
In Re claim 2, ‘807 teaches wherein the first plasmonic bridge further comprises: a first electrical-optical conversion module (104), electrically coupled to the first electric integrated circuit component and optically coupled to the first plasmonic waveguide; and a second electrical-optical conversion module (113), electrically coupled to the second electric integrated circuit component and optically coupled to the first plasmonic waveguide.
In Re claim 4, ‘807 teaches a substrate (101) underneath the first plasmonic bridge; and an insulating encapsulant (around 109, par. 0053) disposed on the substrate, wherein the insulating encapsulant encapsulates the first plasmonic bridge (pars. 0060, 112 and 111 are inside the encapsulant).
In Re claim 7, ‘807 teaches a second plasmonic bridge embedded in the insulating encapsulant, and the second plasmonic bridge is coupled to the second electric circuit component (as seen as an array in fig. 5A).
In Re claim 9, ‘807 teaches a plurality of conductive terminals on the substrate opposite to the insulating encapsulant (118).
In Re claim 10, ‘807 teaches a semiconductor package, comprising: a first electric integrated circuit component (106 on left); a second electric integrated circuit component (106 on right) disposed adjacent to the first electric integrated circuit component; and a first plasmonic bridge comprising a first terminal (108 on left or 119), a second terminal (108 on right or 119a), and a first plasmonic waveguide (111, pars. 0018, 0053, 0078) optically connecting the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first electric integrated circuit component, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the second electric integrated circuit component (figs 1A, 1B, 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub. # 2008/0080807 A1).
‘807 teaches the package of claim 7, and an array of bridges (fig. 5A), but is silent to wherein the second plasmonic bridge comprises a third electrical-optical conversion module, a fourth electrical- optical conversion module, and a second plasmonic waveguide extending horizontally between the third electrical-optical conversion module and the fourth electrical-optical conversion module, and both of the third electrical-optical conversion module and the fourth electrical- optical conversion module are electrically connected to the second integrated circuit component and are optically connected to the second plasmonic waveguide.
However, it is well known that arrays of E/O conversion module connected to arrays of waveguides or bridges allows for a greater amount of communication within a circuit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘807 to use an array of bridges and corresponding E/O conversion modules as taught by ‘807 so as to allow for a greater amount of communication within a circuit thus making a more robust system as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874