DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 29 May 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are currently pending and under examination.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claims 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed 29 May 2026.
All other rejections are herein maintained.
Claim Interpretation
In the instant case, the following claim limitations will be afforded interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Instant claim 5: grasping means cooperating with the metal sheet or elements thereof to allow extraction of an assembly of the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal.
Instant claim 7: locking means configured to hold the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal in position when opening the cell and for subsequent extraction of an assembly of the plate and metal sheet by the grasping means, the locking means coinciding with the grasping means.
Instant claim 8: mechanical extraction means configured to carry out extraction of an assembly of the metal sheet and electrolytically deposited metal along a translational movement parallel to the electrodes
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The grasping means in claim 6
Clamping means in claim 6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “non-adherent” in claim 1 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “non-adherent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, the phrase describes a generic “coating” and how it relates to an electrolytically deposited metal. It is indefinite as to what materials for the coating are suitable or how the type of electrolytically deposited metal affects the adherence. In other words, it is indefinite because while the phrase describes a generic property, non-adherence, the property differs in scope based on an electrolytically deposited metal. For example, one type of coating may non-adhere to zinc while adhere to copper and another may non-adhere to copper and adhere to zinc. Thus, the scope is unclear as encompassing any coating such that is may non-adhere in someway to any generic electrolytically deposited metal.
The term “low” in claim 10 line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is indefinite what is deemed to be “low” carbon steel sheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bill (US 6,245,209 B1) in view of Elkin (US 3,523,873) and Paterson (US 2023/0077321 A1).
As to claim 1, Bill discloses A device for producing a pure metal or an alloy of the pure metal via electrolytic reduction of an ore of the pure metal or of a substance containing an oxidized form of the pure metal, the device comprising:
a cell (“Tank” used throughout” )equipped with an anode (shown explicitly Fig. 10 #101A/101B), a cathode (Fig. 10 #s 90), an electrolytic area comprising an electrolyte (#91 Fig. 10 col. 7 line 23),;
an electrically conductive metal sheet for extraction of a plate of the electrolytically deposited metal on the cathode (#70a/b Fig. 9), the metal sheet being arranged in the cell in a continuation of the cathode or partially overlapping the cathode, with mechanical and electrical contact at one end with the cathode and extending at least partly beyond the electrolytic area of the cell so as to allow simultaneous depositing of the pure metal on the cathode and on a portion of the metal sheet in contact with the electrolytic area (See Fig. 9 #70 overlapping cathode 90 and partially into slurry 91 ad indicated by the line at the top col. 6 lines 52-60),
wherein an adherence between the cathode and the electrolytically deposited metal being less than an adherence between the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal such that the electrolytically deposited metal is separated from the cathode and is drawn out by the metal sheet during a subsequent extraction of the metal sheet via a mechanical means applied on a portion of the metal sheet, which extends beyond the electrolytic area by a translational movement (col. 5 line 63-col. 6 line 9).
Bill discloses generic tank features throughout but fails to explicitly disclose a removable cell closing system and coating non-adherent for an electrolytically deposited metal.
Elkin discloses applying a coating of aliphatic organic compounds to cathodes for the preparation of stripping the metal deposited thereon (col. 1 lines 9-29) for use in electrorefining (col. 1 lines 54-60).
Paterson explicitly disclose a removable cell closing system (covers 110 [0100]) over the electrowinning cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a coating as taught by Elkin with the cathodes in Bill because it prevents the adherence of the plated metal in order to facilitate the stripping of the deposited metal during an electrorefining process. (Elkin col. 3 lines 18-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a removable cell closing system as taught in Patterson with the tank of Bill because the closure system prevents damage to the cell or injury to operators (Paterson [0047]), keep the housing substantially enclosed to prevent exposure of the corrosive environment (Patterson [0049]), allow access to the cathodes to retrieve product (Patterson [0175]).
As to claims 2 and 12, Bill discloses the wherein a length of the metal sheet is less than 50% of a length of the cathode, or less than 10% (see Fig. 7, 8, 9A/9D relative size of the hook to the cathode sizes).
As to claims 3,10, and 11, Bill discloses wherein the cathode comprises pure metals or coated alloys thereof, such as stainless steel which necessarily comprises nickel (col. 2 lines 42-43).
As to claim 4, Bill, as modified by Elkin and Patterson, discloses wherein one portion of the metal sheet, in continuation of the cathode and projecting beyond the electrolytic area, (See Fig. 9A/9B) but fails to explicitly disclose where the metal sheet is received in the removable closing system, which is closed in operation to hold the electrolyte within the cell.
However, such a modification amount to an obvious integration of the closing unit with the metal sheet unit together when in the closed condition in order to hold the metal sheet in the appropriate location when the closing system is closed in place absent further structural distinction as to how the metal sheet is received therein. See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
As to claims 5, 6, and 13, Bill further discloses grasping means cooperating with the metal sheet or elements thereof to allow extraction of an assembly of the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal. (claim 1 step c “grasping said bracket with a hoist”) where the hoist is deemed to be “added geometric elements cooperating together to ensure a pulling action” as required by instant claim 6 and a traction hook as required by instant claim 13.
As to claim 9, the recitation “wherein the device provides that, after extraction, the metal sheet is either separated from the electrolytically deposited pure metal or alloy of the electrolytically deposited metal to prevent pollution, or subsequently melted with the electrolytically deposited metal” does not further limit the device as claimed because it is drawn to the processing of the metal sheet once removed from the device.
As to claim 16, Bill fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cell includes an opening in a lower part thereof.
Patterson discloses an opening in a lower part of an electrowinning cell (Fig. 1 #s 1030/1040) in order to provide fluid to the cell and from the cell ([0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided an opening in a lower part of the cell as taught by Patterson in the apparatus of Bill, as modified by Elkin and Patterson, in order to facility fluid delivery and removal from the cell (Patterson [0121]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bill, as modified by Elkin and Patterson, as applied to claim 5, in further view of Deng et al (CN107779914 A).
As to claim 7, Bill, as modified by Elkin and Patterson, fails to explicitly disclose locking means configured to hold the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal in position when opening the cell and for subsequent extraction of an assembly of the plate and metal sheet by the grasping means, the locking means coinciding with the grasping means.
Deng discloses a self-locking block as part of a grasping means ([0011]) to secure a starting cathode ([0009]) configured to hold the metal sheet and the electrolytically deposited metal in position when opening the cell and for subsequent extraction of an assembly of the plate and metal sheet by the grasping means, the locking means coinciding with the grasping means ([0043]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the grasping and locking means as taught by Deng in as the grasping means in Bill, as modified by Elkin and Patterson, because it allows for a more secure fix to the cathode (Deng [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the term “non-adherent” is not indefinite, Applicant cites to several passages which discuss the difference in adherence between the cathode and metal sheet. While a description of adherence is discussed, Applicant does not address the specific reasons why it is indefinite, because what may be considered non-adherent for one metal may be adherent for another deposited metal. This relativeness causes indefiniteness as to when can actual material reads or does not read on the instant claim language.
In response to applicant's argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to use a coating of Elkin due to the vapor used to head a cathode in Bill, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In response to Applicant’s argument that use of a coating would not simplify the system of Bill and thus not obvious to combine, this argument is not persuasive because the test of obviousness does not require a simplification of a prior art device. Applicant’s argument further argues that the prior art uses two stages of heating, one for deposition and another “much higher level” for removal. Thus, it would stand to reason that the use of a coating would necessarily assist the second stage irrespective of the heating in the first stage, thus not dissuading the motivation of facilitating the removal of the deposited metal.
No further arguments presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795