Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 4/2/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination of both groups I and II overlap and does not impose serious burden. This is not found persuasive because search and examination of both groups are not coextensive and will impose serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/2/26.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in section [0056] interlock 414 should be corrected to interlock 404 to be consistent with Fig. 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 1A, the refence number 123 should point to the chamber lid rather than to the gas distributor to be consistent with specification section [0018 and 0028] and Fig. 1B. Reference number 120 in Fig. 1A is not cited and not described in the specification. Specification uses 128 as gas inlets that is also consistent with labels in Fig. 1B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 121 in Fig. 1A. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Bias compensation module (BCM) in claims 3, 4, 10, and 11.
The word “module” is a generic place holder. Specification [0038] describes the corresponding structure as a “circuit” configured to keep the chucking voltage stable and eliminate the effects of pulse-off (stabilize the chucking voltage).
Regarding “a high voltage module (HVM) filter”: this limitation is not interpreted under 112(f) even though it uses the generic place holder “module” because the word “filter” is considered as a structure that perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorf (US 20220037121 A1) in view of Kubota (US2022-0068604) .
Regarding claims 1, 9: Dorf discloses a plasma processing system 100, Fig 1A), comprising: a radio frequency generator (118) electrically coupled to a substrate support assembly (136, [0038]) and configured to deliver a radio frequency voltage waveform (118, 160) at the support base (claim 1 of Dorf); and a chucking module (150, 116, 151) configured to provide a chucking voltage thereto, such as static DC (claim 1of Dorf, [0047]).
Further regarding claim 9: Claim 9 relates to a plasma processing system, and it shares similar technical features with claim 1 except for an additional feature comprising a junction box coupled (160) to an RF generator (118), a PV waveform generator, and a high voltage supply, the junction box configured to receive an RF signal, a PV waveform, and a chucking voltage (150) , supply the RF signal and the PV waveform to a substrate support base of the plasma processing system, and supply the chucking voltage to a biasing electrode (104) of the plasma processing system. However, the additional feature of claim 9 is merely a variation of the disclosure of Dorf that teaches a junction box enclosure (169, Fig. 1C, [0012, 0013, 0062, 0063]) includes a first bias compensation module compartment (171), a second bias compensation module compartment (171), and a radio frequency filter compartment (162, [0012, 0013, 0042, 0062, 0063]). Dorf teaches that it is common to isolate components from interfering with each other using isolation or junction box enclosure ([0012, 00130064, 0065, 0066, 0067]).
Claims 1 and 9 differ from the apparatus of Dorf and require a pulsed voltage (PV) waveform generator coupled to a substrate support base and configured to deliver a PV waveform to the substrate support base while an RF signal is delivered to the substrate support base.
However, this feature is merely a variation of the disclosure of Kubota that teaches a plasma processing apparatus comprising a bias power source (81, Fig. 1) electrically connected to a substrate support (14) and configured to generate bias power for drawing ions into the substrate support, wherein the bias power source is configured to periodically generate a pulsed voltage as the bias power ([0051, 0053, 0054], and claim 1 in Kubota).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have implement the pulsed voltage waveform of Kubota in the apparatus of Dorf in order to generate bias power for drawing ions into the substrate support.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 4, 10, 11 (junction box): Dorf as discussed above discloses junction box 169, bias compensation module 171 including a capacitor 153 and a tuning circuit (bias compensation circuit 116A), filter assembly 151 (Fig. 1D). The additional feature of claim 2 is merely a variation of the disclosure of apparatus of Dorf considering that the RF generator and a PV waveform generator are configured to deliver an RF waveform and a pulsed-voltage waveform to the support base and a biasing electrode, respectively ([0069] in Dorf). These additional features are merely variations of the disclosure of Dorf considering that the junction box enclosure includes one or more bias compensation module compartments and a radio frequency (RF) filter compartment ([0063] in Dorf).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 7, 12, 13: Dorf disclose RF matching circuit 161, RF filter 162 coupled to RF generator 118 ([0044]). Kubota discloses the PV waveform generator 81 is coupled to a PV filter 83 ([0051, 0080]). These additional features are merely variations of the disclosure of Dorf considering that RF signal matching techniques are used during a plasma processing of a substrate to avoid the inefficient delivering of RF power to the complex load ([0073] in Dorf).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorf (US 20220037121 A1) in view of Kubota (US2022-0068604) as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-13 above, and further in view of Dhindsa (US 20220399194 A) or Gui (US 20220367158 A).
Dorf in view of Kubota disclose all limitations of the claims except for explicit teaching of communication between various electrical components of the junction box and power source through a sensor located between substrate support and the electrical components and power source.
Dhindsa and Gui both teach an arrangement wherein a controller is in communication with various electrical components of a junction box and power sources and through a sensor located between substrate support and the electrical components and power source. The controller is configured to control the operation of all components in order to optimized the overall performance of the plasma processing apparatus.
Dhindsa teaches a tuning circuit 170 to adjust and/or manipulate one or more of voltage, current, and/or phase of the RF power used to ignite and/or maintain the plasma 101 (Fig. 1B, [0063]). In some embodiments, one or more characteristics of the generated RF power are measured and/or determined using a signal detection module 187 that is communicatively coupled to the system controller 126 ([0067]). In some embodiments, the data acquisition module 169 is configured to generate a control signal that is used to automatically control one or more characteristics of the RF signal, RF waveforms, PV waveforms, and/or chucking voltages during substrate processing. In some embodiments, desired changes in one or more characteristics are communicated to the signal detection module 187 by the system controller 126, and the data acquisition module 169 may be used to implement the desired change ([0068]).
Gui also teaches a processing chamber 100 further including a signal detection module 188 (Fig. 1A) that is electrically coupled to one or more electrical components found within a processing chamber 100 by use of a plurality of signal lines 187, which are illustrated in FIG. 1E ([0058]). The multiple input channels 172 may also be coupled to various electrical sensing elements, such as a current sensor, which are configured to measure and collect electrical data at various points within the processing chamber 100 ([0059]). Signal information is received by the controller 126 that can analyze and control a desired real-time adjustment of the voltage applied by the DC voltage supply of the clamping network 116 based on the analyzed characteristics of the received signal information ([0059]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have implemented the controller and the sensor arrangements as taught by Dhindsa or Gui in the apparatus of Dorf in view of Kubota in order to control in real-time various applied electrical signals and operations and thus automate the performance of the plasma processing apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Match (US 20220216080 A1) teaches a high voltage power supply or amplifier 316, a chucking sensor 314, RF filter 312, a notch or band stop filter 330, and controller 332 (Fig, 3, [0034, 0035]).
Koshimizu (US 20090255800) teaches HF-RF power 102 with Oscillator 82, matching unit (junction box) 32 including RF sensor 94, filter 90, controller 92, and control unit 80 (Fig. 4, [0087]).
Yamazawa (US 20080236492) teaches DC power 46 with filter 48 and sensor 52 and controller 62. The controller 62 can variably control the impedance position of the variable capacitor 90E via a step motor 98E such that the measured value of the RF leakage current obtained by the current sensor 60 is equal to a set value ([0065]).
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716