CTNF 18/365,359 CTNF 89044 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/16/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 8/4/23 . These drawings are acceptable . Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004-239748 A (JP’748) in view of WO 2014/115513 A1 (WO’513) . As to Claim 1: JP’748 discloses: a battery device comprising a voltage measurement circuit designed for measuring the voltage of a battery used in portable electronic equipment (p. 1, lines 1–5); a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage of the battery, specifically terminals and circuitry that detect an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to the battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29); a setting unit that sets an acquisition range of the closed-circuit voltage. In particular, JP’748 teaches shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter’s dynamic range, thereby establishing the effective voltage window for measurement (p. 3, lines 30–33); a conversion unit that converts the detected closed-circuit voltage into a digital signal within the acquisition range set by the setting unit. Specifically, the A/D converter outputs a digital signal D corresponding to the voltage difference between the detected voltage Vx and the shifted reference voltage VL, thereby performing conversion within the defined range between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). However, JP’748 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of battery cells electrically connected to each other, nor does JP’748 disclose a storage unit that stores battery information including a closed-circuit voltage of the plurality of battery cells and a change amount in the closed-circuit voltage. WO’513 discloses the missing limitations. WO’513 teaches a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each battery block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected to each other (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units that detect terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18). WO’513 additionally discloses a storage unit that stores battery information, including detected terminal voltages and calculated change amounts such as ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). These ΔSOC and ΔV values correspond to change amounts associated with the battery voltage and charge state over time. JP’748 and WO’513 are analogous arts because both are directed to battery voltage detection and monitoring systems and address improving accuracy and control of battery operation through voltage measurement and processing. Both references concern electrical measurement and control architectures used in battery devices. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the voltage measurement circuit of JP’748 to include the multi-cell battery configuration, storage unit, and stored change amount information taught by WO’513 in order to improve battery monitoring accuracy and enable voltage-based control across multiple electrically connected cells. Such a modification would have involved the predictable use of known battery monitoring techniques in combination with a known dynamic acquisition-range A/D conversion architecture, yielding no more than predictable results . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004-239748 A (JP’748) in view of WO 2014/115513 A1 (WO’513) , as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3 865 889 A1 (EP’889) . As to Claim 2: JP’748 discloses a battery device comprising a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage, specifically terminals and circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). However, JP’748 does not disclose that the change amount includes a charge and discharge amount of battery cells during a period from a first detection timing at which the closed-circuit voltage stored in the storage unit is detected to just before a second detection timing at which the closed-circuit voltage is newly detected. JP’748 does not disclose multiple detection timings or accumulation of charge/discharge amounts between such timings. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each battery block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18), and a storage unit that stores battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). These ΔSOC and integrated ΔV values represent change amounts of battery state derived from charge and discharge behavior over a detection interval. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose the specific framework of a first detection timing and a second detection timing defining a period during which the charge and discharge amount is accumulated between two discrete voltage detection events. EP’889 discloses determining and storing battery state information at specific detection timings associated with vehicle operational states. EP’889 describes voltage detection circuits measuring open circuit voltage (OCV) and calculating SOC at defined timings t11–t14 and t21–t24, including storage of SOC values in memory (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). EP’889 further describes vehicle Ready-OFF and Ready-ON transitions and detection periods before and after such state changes (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). The SOC difference between stored timings corresponds to a charge/discharge amount accumulated between the first and second detection timings. JP’748, WO’513, and EP’889 are analogous arts because each is directed to battery monitoring systems involving voltage detection, storage of battery information, and processing of battery state changes over time. All references address measuring and tracking battery state using electrical sensing and digital processing techniques. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the timing-based charge/discharge accumulation framework of EP’889 into the battery monitoring architecture of JP’748 as modified by WO’513 in order to define the stored change amount as the accumulated charge and discharge amount between discrete voltage detection timings. Doing so would have predictably improved the monitoring resolution and state tracking capability of the battery device by explicitly correlating stored change amounts with defined detection intervals, yielding no more than predictable results from the combination of known battery monitoring techniques. As to Claim 3: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed circuit voltage, specifically circuitry that detects an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range of the detected voltage by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). However, JP’748 does not disclose a storage unit storing a change amount of closed circuit voltage, nor does JP’748 disclose that the setting unit sets a median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on the stored closed circuit voltage and the stored change amount. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including calculated ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts in battery voltage and charge state over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing both voltage information and change amounts associated with battery operation. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose setting a median value of an acquisition range at a second detection timing based on both the stored closed-circuit voltage and the stored change amount. EP’889 discloses storing battery state values, including SOC calculated from detected voltages, at discrete detection timings t11–t14 and t21–t24 (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). EP’889 further teaches determining a new battery state at a later timing based on previously stored values and detected voltage information (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). EP’889 thus teaches adjusting or determining a battery-related control value at a second detection timing based on stored prior values and calculated change amounts between timings. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the storage and change amount teachings of WO’513, to determine a central or median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on the stored closed circuit voltage and the stored change amount, as suggested by the timing-based recalculation of battery state parameters in EP’889. Such a modification would predictably center the acquisition range around an expected voltage value derived from previously stored voltage and change information, thereby improving measurement accuracy and resolution in a manner consistent with the teachings and objectives of the cited references. As to Claim 4: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). Thus, JP’748 teaches defining and controlling an acquisition range for battery voltage measurement. However, JP’748 does not disclose storing a change amount of closed-circuit voltage, does not disclose setting a median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on stored voltage and change amount, and does not disclose setting a width of the acquisition range at the second detection timing based on a difference between the stored closed-circuit voltage and the median value of the acquisition range at a first detection timing. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including calculated ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). WO’513 thus teaches storing both closed circuit voltage-related values and change amounts associated with battery operation. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose adjusting the width of an acquisition range at a later detection timing based on a difference between a stored voltage and a previously set median value of that acquisition range. EP’889 discloses determining battery state parameters at discrete detection timings and recalculating battery state values at later timings based on previously stored voltage-derived values (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). EP’889 further teaches determining changes in SOC and voltage-related values between timings associated with operational transitions (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). The magnitude of the difference between stored values at a first timing and recalculated values at a second timing is used to adjust battery-related control parameters. This teaching suggests using the difference between stored voltage-related information and updated central values to determine a parameter magnitude at a subsequent timing. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the stored change amount teachings of WO’513, to determine and adjust the width of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on the difference between a previously stored closed circuit voltage and a previously set median or central acquisition value, as suggested by the timing-based difference calculations and parameter updates in EP’889. Such modification would predictably allow the acquisition window to be expanded or contracted based on the magnitude of voltage change between detection timings, thereby improving measurement precision and stability in accordance with the teachings of the cited references. As to Claim 8: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). Thus, JP’748 teaches establishing reference values that define the operative voltage window for digital conversion. However, JP’748 does not disclose storing a change amount of closed-circuit voltage, does not disclose setting a median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on stored closed-circuit voltage and change amount, and does not disclose that when the closed circuit voltage is a predetermined voltage, the setting unit sets the median value of the acquisition range at the second detection timing to the predetermined voltage. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing voltage information and associated change amounts for use in battery monitoring and control. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose setting a median value of an acquisition range equal to a predetermined voltage when the detected closed-circuit voltage matches that predetermined voltage. EP’889 discloses detecting battery voltage (including open circuit voltage), storing battery state information at discrete detection timings, and comparing detected voltage values to predetermined reference values associated with defined battery states (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 5, lines 21–30). EP’889 further teaches that battery control parameters are determined based on whether the detected voltage corresponds to a predetermined state threshold. This teaching suggests aligning a control or reference value with a detected predetermined voltage condition. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the stored voltage and change amount teachings of WO’513, to set the median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing equal to a predetermined voltage when the detected closed circuit voltage corresponds to that predetermined voltage, as suggested by the threshold-based state alignment disclosed in EP’889. Such modification would predictably center the acquisition range around a known predetermined operating voltage when detected, thereby improving measurement stability and ensuring accurate digital conversion at significant battery state thresholds, yielding no more than predictable results from the combination of known voltage reference control techniques. As to Claim 9: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). Thus, JP’748 teaches detecting battery voltage and digitally converting it within a defined acquisition range. However, JP’748 does not disclose a plurality of battery cells electrically connected to each other, does not disclose storing a change amount including charge and discharge amount between detection timings, and does not disclose that a first detection timing occurs before switching from a drive state to a non-drive state and that a second detection timing occurs after switching from the non-drive state to the drive state. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each battery block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing battery voltage information and change amounts associated with battery operation. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose that the first detection timing is before switching from a drive state to a non-drive state and that the second detection timing is after switching from the non-drive state to the drive state. EP’889 discloses determining battery state information at discrete detection timings associated with vehicle operational states. EP’889 explicitly describes Ready-OFF (non-drive) and Ready-ON (drive) transitions and detection timings before and after such state changes (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). EP’889 further discloses storing battery state information such as SOC and OCV at defined timings t11–t14 and t21–t24 corresponding to these operational state transitions (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). Thus, EP’889 teaches a first detection timing before switching from drive to non-drive and a second detection timing after switching from non-drive to drive. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the operational state timing framework of EP’889 into the battery monitoring architecture of JP’748 as supplemented by WO’513 in order to define the first detection timing as occurring before a transition from drive to non-drive state and the second detection timing as occurring after a transition from non-drive to drive state. Such modification would predictably align voltage detection and change amount calculation with vehicle operational transitions to improve monitoring accuracy and state tracking, yielding no more than predictable results from combining known battery monitoring and vehicle state management techniques . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004-239748 A (JP’748) in view of WO 2014/115513 A1 (WO’513), and further in view of EP 3 865 889 A1 (EP’889) and US 2016/006275 A1 (US’275) . As to Claim 5: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). Thus, JP’748 teaches defining upper and lower bounds of an acquisition range for A/D conversion of battery voltage. However, JP’748 does not disclose a storage unit storing a change amount of closed circuit voltage, does not disclose setting a median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on stored voltage and change amount, and does not disclose setting a magnitude relationship between an upper limit range width and a lower limit range width based on the change amount, wherein the upper and lower limit range widths are defined relative to the median value at the second detection timing. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each battery block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing both voltage information and change amounts associated with battery state evolution. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose setting asymmetric upper and lower limit range widths relative to a median acquisition value based on the stored change amount. EP’889 discloses calculating battery state values at discrete detection timings and determining differences between stored and subsequently detected values to adjust control parameters (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15; p. 5, lines 21–30). EP’889 thus teaches adjusting battery-related control parameters based on differences between stored and updated values at different detection timings. US’275 discloses that battery terminal voltage comprises an open circuit voltage plus voltage changes due to current profile and internal resistance, and further teaches predicting terminal voltage behavior based on current direction and magnitude (para. discussing terminal voltage being sum of OCV and current-induced voltage change; see US’275, p. 4–5, lines discussing OCV and voltage change). US’275 teaches that battery voltage response differs depending on charge or discharge conditions, and that voltage variation magnitude depends on operating state. This teaching suggests adjusting upper and lower allowable voltage margins differently depending on the direction and magnitude of change in battery state. JP’748, WO’513, EP’889, and US’275 are analogous arts because each is directed to battery monitoring, voltage measurement, and control of battery operation based on detected voltage and battery state changes. All references address electrical characteristics of battery systems and processing of voltage information to improve monitoring accuracy and operational control. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the stored change amount teachings of WO’513, to determine asymmetric upper and lower acquisition range widths relative to a median value at a second detection timing based on stored voltage and change amount information, as suggested by the timing-based difference calculations of EP’889 and the charge/discharge-dependent voltage behavior disclosed in US’275. Such modification would predictably allow the acquisition window to be biased differently on upper and lower sides depending on the magnitude and direction of battery state change, thereby improving measurement precision and preventing saturation during asymmetric voltage excursions, yielding no more than predictable results from the combination of known battery monitoring and voltage prediction techniques. As to Claim 6: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). JP’748 therefore teaches defining upper and lower bounds of an acquisition range for battery voltage measurement. However, JP’748 does not disclose storing a change amount of closed circuit voltage, does not disclose setting a median value of the acquisition range based on stored voltage and change amount, does not disclose setting a magnitude relationship between upper and lower limit range widths based on the change amount, and does not disclose setting the lower limit range width larger than the upper limit range width when the change amount tends to decrease and vice versa when the change amount tends to increase. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing change amounts reflecting increases or decreases in battery state. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose asymmetrically adjusting upper and lower acquisition range widths based on whether the change amount tends to increase or decrease. EP’889 discloses calculating differences between stored battery state values at earlier detection timings and newly detected values at later timings, and adjusting battery-related control parameters based on those differences (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15; p. 5, lines 21–30). EP’889 therefore teaches using the magnitude and direction of battery state change between detection timings to adjust a control parameter at a later timing. US’275 discloses that battery terminal voltage is a sum of open circuit voltage and voltage changes due to current profile and internal resistance, and further explains that voltage response differs depending on whether the battery is charging or discharging (p. 4–5, discussing OCV plus voltage change due to current profile). US’275 teaches that voltage variation magnitude and direction depend on operating state, implying that voltage excursions above and below a nominal value are not symmetric during charge and discharge. This teaching suggests that upper and lower voltage margins may be adjusted differently depending on whether the battery voltage tends to increase (charging) or decrease (discharging). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the stored change amount teachings of WO’513, to adjust the relative upper and lower limit range widths based on whether the stored change amount indicates an increasing or decreasing battery state, as suggested by the timing-based difference adjustments of EP’889 and the charge/discharge-dependent voltage behavior described in US’275. Such modification would predictably bias the acquisition window toward the expected direction of voltage excursion (larger lower margin when voltage tends to decrease; larger upper margin when voltage tends to increase), thereby improving measurement stability and avoiding saturation during asymmetric voltage transitions, yielding no more than predictable results from combining known battery monitoring and voltage behavior principles . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004-239748 A (JP’748) in view of WO 2014/115513 A1 (WO’513), and further in view of EP 3 865 889 A1 (EP’889) and CN 111108401 A (CN’401) . As to Claim 7: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed-circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). Thus, JP’748 teaches defining and adjusting an acquisition range for A/D conversion of battery voltage. However, JP’748 does not disclose storing a change amount of closed circuit voltage, does not disclose setting a median value of the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on stored closed circuit voltage and change amount, and does not disclose determining whether to newly set the acquisition range based on whether a difference between the median value and the stored closed circuit voltage is equal to or greater than a change voltage, or stopping such setting when the difference is smaller than the change voltage. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing voltage information and change amounts associated with battery operation. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose determining whether to newly set an acquisition range based on whether a difference between a median value and stored voltage exceeds a threshold change voltage. EP’889 discloses determining battery state values at discrete detection timings and calculating differences between stored values and subsequently detected values (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). EP’889 further discloses controlling battery-related operations based on whether a difference value exceeds a predetermined threshold associated with vehicle state transitions (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). Thus, EP’889 teaches a threshold-based determination in which action is taken when a calculated difference exceeds a predetermined value and is not taken when the difference is below that value. CN’401 discloses that stored batteries undergo self-discharge over time and teaches calculating a self-discharge parameter including a self-discharge rate SDRx and determining remaining time to reach a minimum SOC (p. 3, lines 15–23; p. 5, lines 24–28). CN’401 thus explicitly teaches that battery state change over a time interval can include an amount attributable to self-discharge. JP’748, WO’513, CN’401, and EP’889 are analogous arts because each is directed to battery monitoring systems involving detection of battery voltage, storage of battery state information, and control of battery-related parameters based on calculated differences between stored and newly detected values. All references address improving accuracy and stability of battery monitoring and control in multi-cell battery systems. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the acquisition range setting mechanism of JP’748, as supplemented by the stored change amount teachings of WO’513, to determine whether to newly set the acquisition range at a second detection timing based on whether the difference between a stored voltage-derived median value and the stored closed circuit voltage exceeds a predetermined change voltage, as suggested by the threshold-based difference determinations in EP’889. Such modification would predictably prevent unnecessary resetting of the acquisition range when voltage deviation is small and ensure resetting when deviation is significant, thereby improving measurement stability and control efficiency, yielding no more than predictable results from combining known battery monitoring and threshold-based control techniques. As to Claim 10: JP’748 discloses a battery device including a voltage measurement circuit for measuring battery voltage (p. 1, lines 1–5). JP’748 discloses a detection unit that detects a closed circuit voltage, specifically circuitry detecting an analog input voltage Vx corresponding to battery voltage (p. 2, lines 27–29). JP’748 further discloses a setting unit that sets an acquisition range by shifting a reference voltage VL to define the lower bound of the A/D converter dynamic range (p. 3, lines 30–33). JP’748 additionally discloses a conversion unit that converts the detected voltage into a digital signal D within the acquisition range defined between VL and Vref (p. 3, lines 27–35). However, JP’748 does not disclose a plurality of battery cells electrically connected to each other, does not disclose storing a change amount including charge and discharge amount between defined detection timings associated with drive and non-drive states, and does not disclose that the change amount includes an amount of self-discharge of the battery cells from the first detection timing to the second detection timing. WO’513 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery blocks connected in series, each battery block comprising multiple battery cells electrically connected (p. 2, lines 12–22; p. 3, lines 1–6). WO’513 further discloses voltage detection units detecting terminal voltages of the battery blocks (p. 2, lines 15–18) and a storage unit storing battery information including ΔSOC and ΔV integrated values corresponding to change amounts over time (p. 4, lines 12–20; p. 4, lines 21–24). Thus, WO’513 teaches storing battery voltage information and change amounts associated with battery operation. However, WO’513 does not explicitly disclose that the change amount includes an amount of self-discharge occurring during a period between a first detection timing and a second detection timing corresponding to drive/non-drive transitions. EP’889 discloses determining battery state information at defined detection timings associated with vehicle operational states, including Ready-OFF (non-drive) and Ready-ON (drive) transitions (p. 5, lines 21–30; p. 6, lines 1–10). EP’889 further discloses storing SOC and OCV values at timings t11–t14 and t21–t24 corresponding to such transitions (p. 3, lines 3–20; p. 4, lines 3–15). Thus, EP’889 teaches first and second detection timings associated with drive-to-non-drive and non-drive-to-drive state changes. CN’401 discloses that stored batteries undergo self-discharge over time and teaches calculating a self-discharge parameter including a self-discharge rate SDRx and determining remaining time to reach a minimum SOC (. 3, lines 15–23; p. 5, lines 24–28). CN’401 thus explicitly teaches that battery state change over a time interval can include an amount attributable to self-discharge. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the drive/non-drive timing framework of EP’889 and the self-discharge parameter teachings of CN’401 into the battery monitoring architecture of JP’748 as supplemented by WO’513, in order to define the stored change amount as including an amount of self-discharge occurring between the first detection timing and the second detection timing. Such modification would predictably improve accuracy of battery state estimation by accounting for self-discharge during non-drive periods, yielding no more than predictable results from combining known battery monitoring, timing-based detection, and self-discharge modeling techniques . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20060260120 A1 discloses a method of making a secondary battery includes the steps of a) providing a circuit board and a cell having a positive terminal and a negative terminal, b) bonding a first plate electrode and a second plate electrode to the circuit board, and c) connecting the cell to the circuit board by bonding the positive terminal to the first plate electrode and the negative terminal to the second plate electrode. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIMMY K VO whose telephone number is (571)272-3242. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 am to 6 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tong Guo can be reached at (571) 272-3066. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 1723 /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 10 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 11 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 12 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 13 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 14 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 15 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 16 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 17 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 18 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 19 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 20 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 21 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 22 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/365,359 Page 23 Art Unit: 1723