Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/17/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 states that the forth number is less than the fourth number. Examiner believes it should state that the third number is less than the fourth number. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US PGPub 2021/0210506).
Claim 1: Yan teaches an apparatus comprising: a three dimensional non-volatile memory array that includes non-volatile memory cells (Fig. 1a, 2a) [0046]; and a control circuit below the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and configured to control the three dimensional non-volatile memory array [0009], the control circuit including (Fig. 3): a first number of sense amplifier tiers (301-n), each comprising sense amplifiers (SA) arranged along a first axis; a second number of bit line switch regions (BSL-N), each comprising bit line switches, each bit line switch coupled to a corresponding one of the sense amplifiers, the second number greater than the first number (Fig. 3); and a plurality of cross bit lines (302-n) routed along an axis parallel to the first axis and arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, each cross bit line coupled to a corresponding one of the bit line switches, wherein each bit line switch is configured to selectively couple a corresponding one of the cross bit lines to a corresponding one of the sense amplifiers [0063].
Claim 2: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) each sense amplifier tier includes a third number of sense amplifiers, each bit line switch region includes a fourth number of bit line switches, and the third number does not equal the fourth number.
Claim 3: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) the fourth number is less than the fourth number.
Claim 6: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) one of the bit line switches is coupled via a routing through a first sense amplifier tier to a sense amplifier disposed in a second sense amplifier tier.
Claim 7: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) fewer than all of the plurality of cross bit lines are routed above the sense amplifiers. Fewer can equal zero.
Claim 8: Yan teaches (Fig. 2a) the control circuit further comprises a first region comprising the sense amplifier tiers and the bit line switch regions, and a second region adjacent the first region, wherein some of the cross bit lines are routed above the second region.
Claim 9: Yan teaches (Fig. 2a) the control circuit further comprises a plurality of bit lines comprising a bit line pitch, each of the bit line coupled to a corresponding one of the cross bit lines, the cross bit lines comprising a cross bit line pitch greater than the bit line pitch.
Claim 11: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) second number is two more than the first number.
Claim 12: Yan teaches (Fig. 1a, 2a, 3) [0046] A system comprising: a control die comprising a control circuit for a three dimensional non-volatile memory array, the control circuit comprising: a sense amplifier region comprising sense amplifiers arranged along a first axis and cross bit lines routed along an axis parallel to the first axis and arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, each cross bit line coupled to a corresponding one of the sense amplifiers; and a peripheral region comprising circuits other than sense amplifiers, the peripheral region disposed separate from the sense amplifier region, wherein a first plurality of the cross bit lines are routed above the peripheral region.
Claim 13: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) the sense amplifier region further comprises bit line switches, each coupled to a corresponding one of the sense amplifiers and a corresponding one of the cross bit lines.
Claim 14: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) [0063] each bit line switch is configured to selectively couple a corresponding one of the cross bit lines to a corresponding one of the sense amplifiers.
Claim 15: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) [0063] the sense amplifiers are disposed in a first number of sense amplifier tiers, and the bit line switches are disposed in a second number of bit line switch regions, the second number greater than the first number.
Claim 16: Yan teaches (Fig. 3) [0063] the sense amplifier region further comprises: a sense amplifier tier comprising a third number of the sense amplifiers; and a bit line switch region comprising a fourth number of the bit line switches, wherein and the third number is greater than the fourth number.
Claim 17: Yan teaches (Fig. 2a) a second plurality of the cross bit lines are routed above the sense amplifier region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US PGPub 20210210506), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US PGPub 2022/0246208)
Regarding claims 10, as described above, Yan substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Yan does not teach a memory die comprising the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and a first set of bond pads connected to the three dimensional non-volatile memory array; and a control die comprising the control circuit and a second set of bond pads, the first set of bond pads connected to the second set of bond pads. Xu teaches (Fig. 5A,B) [0084] a memory die comprising the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and a first set of bond pads connected to the three dimensional non-volatile memory array; and a control die comprising the control circuit and a second set of bond pads, the first set of bond pads connected to the second set of bond pads. Connecting chips using bond pads is common in the art of semiconductors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device taught Yan to have used bond pads to connect the memory chip to the control die as it is well known in the art of semiconductors.
Regarding claims 18, as described above, Yan substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Yan does not teach a memory die comprising the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and a first set of bond pads connected to the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and to a second set of bond pads on the control die. Xu teaches (Fig. 5A,B) [0084] a memory die comprising the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and a first set of bond pads connected to the three dimensional non-volatile memory array and to a second set of bond pads on the control die. Connecting chips using bond pads is common in the art of semiconductors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device taught Yan to have used bond pads to connect the memory chip to the control die as it is well known in the art of semiconductors.
Regarding claims 4, as described above, Yan substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Yan does not teach a first of the bit line switches is coupled to a first sense amplifier; a second of the bit line switches is coupled to a second sense amplifier; the first bit line switch is disposed adjacent the first sense amplifier; and the second bit line switch is not disposed adjacent the second sense amplifier. Xu teaches (Fig. 9) [0128-0134] a first of the bit line switches is coupled to a first sense amplifier; a second of the bit line switches is coupled to a second sense amplifier; the first bit line switch is disposed adjacent the first sense amplifier; and the second bit line switch is not disposed adjacent the second sense amplifier to mitigate issues with voltage or resistance variations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device taught by Ya to have the structure claimed to mitigate issues with voltage or resistance variations as taught by Xu [0128-0134].
Claim 5: Xu teaches (Fig. 9) [0128-0134] a first of the bit line switches is coupled to a first one of the sense amplifiers disposed in an adjacent sense amplifier tier; and a second of the bit line switches is coupled to a second one of the sense amplifiers disposed in a non-adjacent sense amplifier tier.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814