DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that because both inventions are classified in the general class of 451 “separate searches would likely identify the same references”. This is not found persuasive because examiner finds that the references found would not likely be the same references as Group I only requires a structure which could be considered a pad conditioning assembly or can be coupled to a pad conditioning assembly whereas Group II requires the method of conditioning a pad for chemical mechanical polishing. Therefore, references such as polishing heads could be relevant art for Group I, but may not be relevant art for Group II, and therefore a significant search burden exists.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Gimbal control feature” in claims 1, 5, and 8, because (A) the term “feature” is a generic placeholder, see above; (B) “gimbal control” designates a function performed by the mechanism, and (C) no additional structure is specified, to support the claimed function of “gimbal control” – in effect the language is equivalent to a predetermined means for controlling a gimbal. Examiner is interpreting “gimbal control feauture” to be an annular structure lined with magnets, a passive annular structure that comprises a ferromagnetic material, or an equivalent structure as discussed in at least paragraph 0033 of Applicant's specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gimbal control feature” in claims 2-3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US20020033230), hereinafter Hayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a pad conditioning assembly (Fig. 1 element 1), comprising: a base (Fig. 1 element 14); an arm (Fig. 1 element 16) coupled to the base (Fig. 1); a conditioning head (Fig. 2 element 30, excluding element 33) coupled to the arm (Fig. 1); a gimbal control assembly (Fig. 2 elements 50 and 33) comprising: at least one electromagnet (Fig. 2 element 58) coupled to the conditioning head (Fig. 1, where the at least one electromagnet is coupled to the conditioning head through elements 57, 17 and 20); a gimbal flexure (Fig. 2 element 33, 0044) configured to couple to a pad conditioning disk (Fig. 2 element 40 corresponds to a pad conditioning disk and Fig. 2 shows the gimbal flexure coupled to the pad conditioning disk); and a gimbal control feature (Fig. 2 elements 54 and 55) coupled to the gimbal flexure (Fig. 2, 0035 and 0033, where the gimbal control feature is coupled to the gimbal flexure through elements 51, 52, 53, and 41); and a controller configured to control operation of the pad conditioning assembly (0010 and 0038, where "control system" and "control device" are the same and correspond to a controller). Examiner notes that the assembly being for “pad conditioning” and the head being a “conditioning” head are considered to be intended use and examiner finds that the assembly disclosed by Hayashi can be used for pad conditioning and the head can be used for conditioning as well.
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the gimbal control feature is an annular feature (Fig. 2, 0035) lined with magnets (Fig. 2 elements 54 and 55) configured to interact with the at least one electromagnet (0039-0040).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the gimbal control feature is a passive annular feature comprising a ferromagnetic material (Fig. 2, 0035, where the gimbal control feature being permanent magnets means that the gimbal control mechanism comprises a ferromagnetic material and is passive (i.e. the permanent magnet continuously generates a magnetic field without needing an external power source) configured to interact with the at least one electromagnet (0039-0040).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses at least one sensor configured to provide a distance data stream (0046, where the structure used to determine the "position of the polishing member 40 relative to the rotating table 13" corresponds to at least one sensor configured (i.e. capable of) providing a distance data stream (i.e. distance information relating to the distance between the polishing member and polishing table)).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the controller is configured to apply a bias to the gimbal control feature using the at least one electromagnet (0038 and 0046-0047).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further discloses the bias is applied toward an outer edge of a platen (Fig. 1, where element 13 corresponds to a platen; 0038 and 0046-0047, where when the "areas where the polishing surface (polishing pad 43) tends to float upward from the surface of the wafer" correspond to an outer edge of the of the polishing surface, the bias is applied toward an outer edge of the platen).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further discloses the bias is applied toward a center of a platen (Fig. 1, where element 13 corresponds to a platen; 0038 and 0046-0047, where when the "areas where the polishing surface (polishing pad 43) tends to float upward from the surface of the wafer" correspond to a center of the polishing surface, the bias is applied toward a center of the platen).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi discloses a gimbal control assembly (Fig. 2 elements 50 and 33), comprising: at least one electromagnet (Fig. 2 element 58) coupled to a conditioning head (Fig. 2 element 30, excluding element 33) of a pad conditioner (Fig. 1 element 1, where Fig. 1 shows the at least one electromagnet coupled to the conditioning head); a gimbal flexure (Fig. 2 element 33, 0044) configured to couple to a pad conditioning disk of the pad conditioner (Fig. 2 element 40 corresponds to a pad conditioning disk and Fig. 2 shows the gimbal flexure coupled to the pad conditioning disk); and a gimbal control feature (Fig. 2 elements 54 and 55) coupled to the gimbal flexure (Fig. 2, 0035 and 0033, where the gimbal control feature is coupled to the gimbal flexure through elements 51, 52, 53, and 41). Examiner notes that the gimbal control assembly being used in a “pad conditioner” and with a “conditioning head” are considered to be intended use and examiner finds that the gimbal control assembly disclosed by Hayashi can be used in a pad conditioner with a conditioning head.
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses the at least one electromagnet comprises a first electromagnet (Fig. 4 any one of elements 58) and a second electromagnet (Fig. 4, element 58 which is positioned opposite to the first electromagnet).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet are aligned along a first axis (see annotated Fig. 1 below, where the first and second electromagnets correspond to the electromagnets shown in Fig. 2) that is parallel to a pad conditioning arm (Fig. 1 element 16) coupled to the conditioning head (see annotated Fig. 1 below and Fig. 4, where the first axis is shown to be parallel to the pad conditioning arm) and configured to control a pitch of the pad conditioning disk (0040, where controlling the tilt of the polishing member corresponds to controlling a pitch of the pad conditioning disk).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet are aligned along a second axis (Fig. 1, where an axis going into the page through element 30 corresponds to a second axis and where the first and second electromagnets correspond to the electromagnets opposite to those shown in Fig. 2) that is perpendicular to a pad conditioning arm (Fig. 1 element 16) coupled to the conditioning head (Fig. 1, where the second axis is perpendicular to the pad conditioning arm).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses the at least one electromagnet comprises a first electromagnet, a second electromagnet, and a third electromagnet (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the first electromagnet, the second electromagnet, and the third electromagnet are separated by a first angle (see annotated Fig. 4 above, where the first angle is an arc angle between the centers of the first and second electromagnets), a second angle (see annotated Fig. 4 above, where the second angle is an arc angle between the centers of the second and third electromagnets), and a third angle (see annotated Fig. 4 above, where the first angle is an arc angle between the centers of the third and first electromagnets), a sum of the first angle, second angle, and third angle equal to 360 degrees (the arc angles added together cover the entire circle which equals 360 degrees).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses the at least one electromagnet comprises a first electromagnet, a second electromagnet, a third electromagnet, and a fourth electromagnet (see annotated Fig. 4’ below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that what examiner is using to read on the pad conditioning assembly is actually a polishing head for a wafer and that “a polishing pad being prevented from over polishing the outer rim of a substrate wafer by tilting is fundamentally different from a pad conditioner (smaller than a polishing pad) conditioning a polishing pad especially where tilting of the pad conditioner is a desired outcome for effective conditioning”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (see MPEP 2114-II) and examiner finds that the apparatus disclosed by Hayashi contains all of the structural elements recited and therefore the apparatus of Hayashi anticipates the apparatus of the instant invention. Examiner further finds that examiner stated in the rejections of claims 1 and 8 that “the assembly being for “pad conditioning” and the head being a “conditioning” head are considered to be intended use and examiner finds that the assembly disclosed by Hayashi can be used for pad conditioning and the head can be used for conditioning as well” and that Applicant has not argued why this interpretation is incorrect.
Applicant argues that Hayashi fails to disclose each of the limitations of claims 1 and 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that Applicant has not provided any reasoning that examiner’s interpretation for each limitation in claims 1 and 8 are improper, and therefore examiner finds this argument unpersuasive and maintains the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723