DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0288634).
In reference to claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a mower 10 comprising:
a main frame 42 that includes a first electronics bay 106 and a second electronics bay 108;
a cutting assembly 30 supported by the main frame 42 to cut plant material during operation of the mower 10 (Fig. 2);
one or more first power electronic devices 40 housed within the first electronic bay 106 (Fig. 2); and
an electrical power source 38 and one or more second power electronic devices (par. 0037, “one or more sensors and electronic control units”; or par. 0088, an inductive coil for charging the power source 38) housed within the second electronics bay 108,
wherein a flow path A1-A4 (Fig. 2, par. 0064) for a cooling airflow is defined by the mower 10 to extend from an air inlet 96, through the first electronics bay 106 to the second electronics bay 108, and from the second electronics bay 108 to an air outlet 98 (Fig. 2, par. 0053).
In reference to claim 2, Hasegawa discloses that the air inlet 96 provides an upward air flow A1 along the flow path A1-A4 from outside the mower 10 to an interior space of the mower 10 (Fig. 2); and
wherein the air outlet 98 provides a downward air flow A3 along the flow path A1-A4 from the second electronics bay 108 to outside the mower 10 (Fig. 2).
In reference to claim 3, Hasegawa discloses that the air inlet 96 is disposed on a bottom side of the main frame 42; and wherein the air inlet 96 is separated from the first electronics bay by one or more baffle walls (Fig. 2, the wall separating inlet 96 from chamber 110) to provide the upward air flow (Fig. 2).
In reference to claim 4, Hasegawa discloses an outlet fan 94 (par. 0053) supported at a bottom wall (Fig. 2, the wall associated with outlet 142) of the second electronics bay 108 and arranged to direct the downward air flow to be vented away from the mower 10 through the air outlet 98 (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0288634) in view of Allen et al. (US Patent No. 3,732,671).
In reference to claim 5, Hasegawa discloses that the one or more second power electronic devices include a first charger for the electrical power source 38 (par. 0088); and
wherein the outlet fan 94 is located vertically below the power source 38 to direct the downward air flow A3 past the first charger (Fig. 2, par. 0088).
Hasegawa fails to disclose that the first charger is arranged to a rear side of the electrical power source.
Allen discloses a first charger 98 arranged to a rear side of an electrical power source 94 (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose a charger at a rear side of an electrical power source with a reasonable expectation of success so that the charger is accessible from the rear of the mower.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sasaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0246281) discloses a mower 100 with a flowpath for air extending from an inlet 211 (Fig. 2); and Ullrich et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0059756) discloses a mower 1 with a flowpath for air cooling (par. 0023).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
1/08/26