DETAILED ACTION
An amendment, amending claims 1, 14-15 and 19, was entered on 2/25/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the combination of Parker and Garska does not teach the inclusion of both a dispersant and a lignosulfonic acid binder. Applicant further argues that a dispersant and a binder are distinct, where a dispersant aids in dispersing while a binder promotes agglomeration. This is not persuasive. First, claim 1 is directed to a product which is defined by the product itself and not its intended uses. In this case, Garska teaches the inclusion of lignosulfonic acid salt. Whether that lignosulfonic acid serves as a binder or a dispersant is not relevant to a product claim. Second, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that dispersants can also serve as binders (see, e.g., US 6,010,639 at 5:13-18). Finally, as to whether Parker and Garska teaches both a dispersant and a binder, Parker and Garska both teach that more than one dispersant can be included (Parker at ¶ 0122, e.g.; Garska at ¶¶ 0055-0056) and that one of those dispersants is polyacrylate (Parker at ¶ 0055, Garska at ¶ 0056). Garska further teaches that the second dispersant can be a lignosulfonic acid salt.
Applicant also argues that the double patenting rejection is deficient because Garska fails to teach both a polyacrylate dispersant and a lignosulfonic acid binder. This is not persuasive. Garska teaches that multiple dispersants can be included and that suitable dispersants include polyacrylate and lignosulfonic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (US 2021/0032164) in light of Garska et al. (US 2006/0131243).
Claims 1, 2 and 6: Parker teaches a composition comprising: at least one form of attapulgite present in a solid weight fraction (SWF) of 0.5-4% (¶¶ 0025, 0039); kaolin present in a solid in a SWF of 35-40% (¶¶ 0025, 0047); and Ball Clay present in a SWF of 0-25% (¶ 0025).
Parker further teaches that the composition includes multiple dispersants, such as sodium silicate and polyacrylate (¶¶ 0055, 0057, 0122), but fails to teach the inclusion of a lignosulfonic acid. Garska teaches a composition of kaolin (Abst.) and explains that suitable dispersants include sodium silicate or sodium lignosulfonate (i.e. claimed lignosulfonic acid salt) (¶ 0056). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected sodium lignosulfonate in place of sodium silicate in Parker with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 3-5: Parker teaches that the attapulgite is either impoverished in smectite (¶ 0028), dry processed (¶ 0028) or a slurry (¶ 0034).
Claims 7, 10 and 12: Parker teaches that the composition is a pug, paste or cake with a total percentage of solids by weight of 70-90% (¶ 0085).
Claims 8 and 9: Parker teaches the inclusion of a second form of attapulgite present in a SWF of 0.25-4%, where the first form is purified (¶ 0036) and the second form is dry processed (¶ 0038).
Claim 11: Parker teaches that the composition is an aqueous suspension with a total percent solids by weight of 60-74% (¶ 0083).
Claim 13: Parker teaches that the amount of dispersant is adjusted to maintain a desired viscosity (¶ 0057). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a percent solids by weight amount of sodium lignosulfonate of 0.1-0.4% depending on the desired viscosity.
Claims 14-18: Parker, as modified by Garska, teaches a method of forming the composition of claim 1 by mixing and agitating each of the attapulgite, kaolin, dispersant and Ball Clay with water to form a slurry (¶¶ 0092-0094).
Claims 19-20: Parker, as modified by Garska, further teaches forming the composite into wet ceramic pieces (¶ 0106); drying the wet ceramic piece having a defined shape (¶ 0107); sintering the dried piece (¶ 0108) and finishing the sintered piece (¶ 0109).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker and Garska in light of Blackburn et al. (US 2008/0000392).
Claim 21: Parker and Garska are silent regarding the SWF of dispersant. Blackburn, however, explains that the amount of dispersant included in a mixture is based on the desired fluidity (¶ 0037). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a SWF of dispersant of 0.2-0.35% depending on the desired fluidity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,307 in view of Garska. The ‘307 Patent claims identical subject matter to claims 1-18 of the instant application except that it does not claim a polyacrylate or lignosulfonic acid. Garska, as discussed above, teaches that sodium lignosulfonate and polyacrylate are suitable dispersants for kaolin compositions (¶ 0056). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included polyacrylate and sodium lignosulfonate in the composition of the ‘307 Patent with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 14-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,198,646 in view of Garska. The ‘646 Patent claims identical subject matter to claims 14-20 of the instant application except that it does not claim a polyacrylate or lignosulfonic acid. Garska, as discussed above, teaches that polyacrylate and sodium lignosulfonate are suitable dispersant for kaolin compositions (¶ 0056). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included sodium lignosulfonate in the composition of the ‘646 Patent with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,307 in view of Garska and Blackburn. The ‘307 Patent claims identical subject matter to claims 1-18 of the instant application except that it does not claim a polyacrylate or lignosulfonic acid or a SWF of dispersant. Garska, as discussed above, teaches that sodium lignosulfonate and polyacrylate are suitable dispersants for kaolin compositions (¶ 0056). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included polyacrylate and sodium lignosulfonate in the composition of the ‘307 Patent with the predictable expectation of success.
Blackburn explains that the amount of dispersant included in a mixture is based on the desired fluidity (¶ 0037). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a SWF of dispersant of 0.2-0.35% depending on the desired fluidity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712