DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-20, 23-26, and 29-36 in the reply filed December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20, 23-26, 29-36, 38, and 39 are pending in the present application. Claims 38 and 39 are withdrawn as directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-20, 23-26, and 29-36 are under examination.
Priority/Effective filing date
The present application, filed on August 4, 2023, claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/395,722, filed on August 5, 2022. No other priority claims presently exist in the application. Therefore, the effective filing date is determined to be August 5, 2022.
Drawings
The drawings filed on August 4, 2023 are acceptable.
Specification
The use of the terms “454 sequencing”, “Ion Torrent”, “Illumina”, “PacBio”, “Oxford Nanopore”, “SMRT,”, “Zeonor”, “Hoechst”, “VAA3D”, “Pacific Biosciences”, “Life Technologies”, and “Solexa”, which are each a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)- Indefiniteness
Claims 8, 26, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 contains the trademark/trade name “Hoechst” stains. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a genus of fluorescent dye molecules with distinct structures and spectral properties. Accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 26 recites a “closed form shape is elliptic or circular and… has a diameter of between 3 microns and 90 microns.” Ellipses do not have a single diameter, but rather a major and minor axis. It is unclear whether the recited “diameters” are intended to limit one or both of these dimensions (i.e. a] any ellipse having a major axis between 3 microns and 90 microns and a minor axis of any dimension shorter than the major axis length OR b] any ellipse having a minor axis between 3 microns and 90 microns and a major axis of any dimension longer than the minor axis, OR c] any ellipse wherein both of the minor and major axis are between 3 microns and 90 microns in length). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the genus of elliptic closed-form shapes recited by claim 26 are unclear.
Claim 33 recites “a first detectable marker… is indicative of… a cell nucleus, and… using a measured intensity of the first detectable marker… to determine… [an] estimate of a number of cells…”. It is unclear whether this claim language is intended to limit the type of cells that may be detected/quantified by the claimed method because the recited relationship between a measured intensity of a cell nuclear marker (e.g. a nuclear protein such as a histone or DNA such as DAPI staining) does not correlate with cell number for all cell types. For example, a) multinucleate cells such as osteoclasts, skeletal and cardiac muscle cells, syncytiotrophoblast, b) anucleate cells such as mammalian erythrocytes, or c) populations of cells having diverse ploidy status (i.e. tumor cells having diverse aneuploidies or exhibiting micronuclei). It is unclear whether methods comprising determining an estimate of a number of cells based upon the measured intensity of a detectable nuclear marker in a capture region that may comprise multiple cells of diverse lineage or identity or cancer status is intended to encompass embodiments wherein the multiple cells comprise multinucleate, anucleate, or aneuploid cells.
Claim 35 recites “a pattern of abundance of [a] second detectable marker [that is indicative of the presence of a cell membrane]… to validate… the… estimate of the number of cells [based upon the abundance of a first marker that is indicative of the presence of a cell nucleus]”. Neither the claims nor the specification define the claim term “pattern of abundance”. It is unclear whether the claim requires: a) comparing a ratio of the intensities of the first and second detectable markers summed over each of the capture spots (e.g. a ratiometric pattern of total “nuclear” signal to total “cell membrane” signal for a given capture spot, b) a spatial pattern of the second detectable marker relative to the first detectable marker within each of the capture spots (e.g. “rings” of second marker signal surrounding first marker signal), or c) something else.
Claim 36 recites “the method of claim 1, further comprising the display of all or the portion of the first spatial dataset and the corresponding all or the portion of the second dataset co-registered to each other characterizes a biological condition in a subject.” Claim 36 does not appear to positively recite any method steps in addition to those recited by claim 1, which recites a step of “…displaying all or a portion of the first spatial dataset and a corresponding all or a portion of the second spatial dataset co-registered to each other…”. Rather, it appears that the further recitation of “characterizes a biological condition in a subject” constitutes an intended result. Furthermore, the claim does not define how the display of the two datasets characterizes a biological condition in a subject or provide any positively recited method steps to accomplish the recited goal of “characteriz[ing] a biological condition”. Regarding intended results, In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a "‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention." Id. However, the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). In the present case, the claim language “characterizes a biological condition…” does not state a condition material to patentability or provide any structure or method steps in addition to the “display [of the data]” recited by claim 36 and claim 1, upon which claim 36 depends. It is the position of the examiner that the instant claim language instead raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim language similar to the non-limiting example “whereby” clauses described in M.P.E.P. 2111.04(I).
Claim 34 is rendered indefinite because it depends from, and thus includes the indefinite limitations of claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In the instant case, as described in the 112(b) rejection above, claim 36 does not positively recite any method steps or structural limitations in addition to those already recited by claim 1, upon which claim 36 depends. Therefore, claim 36 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, 25, 26, 29-32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mellen et al., US 2021/0097684 A1 (filed September 30, 2020 and published April 1, 2021).
It is noted that Mellen et al. does not share any named inventors with the present application.
Regarding claim 1, Mellen et al. teach methods of analyzing tissue samples comprising: obtaining sets of images of the tissue sample overlayed on an array of capture spots, wherein a first dataset is acquired for (a) detectable marker(s) for each capture spot indexed by a spatial barcode corresponding to each capture spot and a second dataset is acquired comprising nucleic acid quantification data indexed by a spatial barcode to each capture spot, wherein the two datasets are co-registered on a display by the spatial barcodes (Mellen et al., Figure 20 and paragraph 0313).
Mellen et al. further teach the plurality of capture probe spots comprises at least 1000 capture spots (Mellen et al., paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 2, Mellen et al. teach the datasets are spatially displayed in an interactive manner on a computer system (Mellen et al., paragraph 0329).
Regarding claim 3, Mellen et al. teach that users can perform computer-implemented actions such as zooming, panning, and adjusting opacity of all or a portion of the first and second datasets (Mellen et al., paragraphs 0285-0288).
Regarding claim 4, Mellen et al. teach the obtaining uses fluorescence microscopy (Mellen et al., paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 5, Mellen et al. teach exposing the tissue sample to the set of detectable markers prior to the obtaining step (Mellen et al., paragraph 0103).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Mellen et al. teach the detectable markers are fluorescently-labeled antibodies (Mellen et al., paragraph 0103).
Regarding claim 8, Mellen et al. teach detectable markers in the set of detectable markers includes: “Haemotoxylin and Eosin, a Periodic acid-Schiff reaction stain, a Masson’s trichome stain, an Alcian blue stain, a Van Gieson stain, a reticulin stain, an Azan stain, a Giemsa stain, a Toluidine blue stain, an isamin blue/eosin stain, a NissI and methylene blue stain, a Sudan black and/or osmium staining (Mellen et al., paragraphs 0018 and 0091-0102). Mellen et al. further teach the samples can be stained with “acridine orange, Bismarck brown, carmine, Coomassie blue, cresyl violet, DAPI, eosin, ethidium bromide, acid fuchsine, hematoxylin, Hoechst stains, iodine, methyl green, methylene blue, neutral red, Nile blue, Nile red, osmium tetraoxide, propidium iodide, rhodamine, safranine, and/or an immunofluorescence stain” (Mellen et al., paragraph 0147).
Regarding claim 9, Mellen et al. teach each image in the set of images comprises at least 100,000 pixel values (Mellen et al., paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 10, Mellen et al. teach that a spatial dataset comprises obtaining sequence reads from 5000 molecularly barcoded, spatially encoded capture probes in probe spots (i.e. 1000 or more capture probes per capture spot), wherein the capture probes associate with native mRNA (i.e. a nucleic acid from the tissue sample), wherein the capture probes incorporate a spatial barcode corresponding to the particular capture spot and a unique molecular index into a resulting cDNA sequencing library (Mellen et al., paragraph 0138 or 0309). Mellen et al. further teach grouping sequence reads by spatial barcodes and unique molecular indices, and assigning the sequence reads to a respective capture spot (Mellen et al., paragraph 0171). Furthermore, Mellen et al. teach collecting one hundred thousand or more (i.e. at least 10,000) sequence reads for a tissue sample (Mellen et al., paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 11, Mellen et al. teach each capture probe comprises a poly-T sequence and a unique spatial barcode corresponding to a particular capture spot (Mellen et al., figure 19)
Regarding claim 12, Mellen et al. teach that each capture probe in the respective capture spot includes the same spatial barcode (Mellen et al., figure 19).
Regarding claim 13, Mellen et al. teach that each capture probe in the respective capture spot includes the same spatial barcode AND a Unique Molecular Identifier (UMI) (i.e. each capture probe includes a different spatial barcode; a “unique spatial barcode”) (Mellen et al., paragraph 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 14, Mellen et al. teach the obtaining comprises high-throughput sequencing (Mellen et al., paragraph 0309).
Regarding claim 15, Mellen et al. teach that each capture probe in the respective capture spot includes the same spatial barcode (Mellen et al., figure 19).
Regarding claim 16, Mellen et al. teach that teach representation of a number of molecules is a count of a number of unique sequence reads having the same spatial barcode associated with a particular capture spot (Mellen et al., paragraph 0024-0026).
Regarding claim 17, Mellen et al. teach the plurality of loci (i.e. distinct transcripts; nucleic acids) comprises more than 1000 loci (Mellen et al., paragraph 0027 or paragraph 0175).
Regarding claim 18, Mellen et al. teach the plurality of nucleic acids comprises RNA or DNA (Mellen et al., paragraph 0313).
Regarding claim 19, Mellen et al. teach the plurality of nucleic acids comprises mRNA (Mellen et al., paragraph 0313).
Regarding claim 20, Mellen et al. teach the tissue sample is a sectioned tissue sample having a thickness of 10 µm (i.e. a depth of 30 microns or less) (Mellen et al., paragraph 0140).
Regarding claim 25, Mellen et al. teach the capture spots are circular (i.e. a closed-form shape) (Mellen et al., figure 19).
Regarding claim 26, Mellen et al. teach the capture spots have a diameter of 55 microns (Mellen et al., paragraph 0138) (i.e. between 3 and 90 microns).
Regarding claim 29, Mellen et al. teach each capture spot is at a different position in a two-dimensional array of capture spots on the substrate (Mellen et al., figure 19).
Regarding claim 30, Mellen et al. teach the capture probes (i.e. the capture spots) can be affixed to the substrate as a solid array (i.e. directly coupled), or through a bead (i.e. indirectly coupled) (Mellen et al., paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 31, Mellen et al. teach a first detectable marker that is indicative of a particular cell type (i.e. having a wild type or variant receptor), and filtering from the display portions of the datasets not associated with the detectable marker (Mellen et al., figure 6 and paragraph 0303)
Regarding claim 32, Mellen et al. teach a first detectable marker (immunohistochemistry fluorescence for CD3 protein expression) is used to filter those portions of the dataset not associated with CD3 protein expression (i.e. the first detectable marker that is a dye-labeled antibody to a protein expressed by a particular cell type) (Mellen et al., paragraph 0276).
Regarding claim 36, Mellen et al. teach assigning different “classes” such as tumor versus healthy to groups of probe spots in a particular tissue (Mellen et al., paragraph 0238). Furthermore, Mellen et al. teach characterizing tissue sections of triple negative breast cancer tissues (Mellen et al., paragraph 0308-0311).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, 23-26, 29-32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellen et al., US 2021/0097684 A1 (filed September 30, 2020 and published April 1, 2021) in view of Weisenfeld et al., US 2021/0150707 A1 (filed November 18, 2020 and published May 20, 2021).
Regarding claims 1-20, 25, 26, 29-32, and 36, the teachings of Mellen et al. are described in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) in detail above.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Mellen et al. teach capture spots have a diameter of 100 µm or less and are distributed with a center to center distance of 200 µm or less, and in particular examples, have a diameter of 55 µm and a center to center distance of 100 µm).
Mellen et al. do not teach capture spots having a diameter of 2 µm (i.e. contained within a 2 micron by 2 micron square or capture spots having a center to center distance of between 2 microns and 8 microns (i.e. having a diameter between 2 and 8 microns, assuming capture spots do not overlap).
However, Weisenfeld et al. teach similar methods of spatial analysis of tissue samples comprising preparing a tissue slice on an array of capture spots, imaging the tissue and/or array using fluorescent and/or bright field microscopy for multiple detectable markers, preparing spatially indexed, UMI-containing, next-generation sequencing libraries from nucleic acids released by the tissue onto the array of capture spots, sequencing the libraries, and overlaying the detectable marker signals and the sequencing data for each capture spot (Weisenfeld et al., figure 3A, 3B, and 12)
Weisenfeld et al. further teach that the capture spots on the array can be a variety of sizes including, a diameter no larger than 2 microns (i.e. fitting within a 2 micron by 2 micron square, or having a center to center distance between 2 microns and 8 microns) (Weisenfeld et al., paragraph 0455).
Weisenfeld et al. further teach that resolution of data collected on such arrays of capture spots is dependent upon the diameter, and thus density, of the capture spots, wherein “low resolution arrays” have capture spots with 20 micron diameters or greater (i.e. Weisenfeld et al. describe the arrays taught by Mellen et al. as “low resolution”) and “high resolution arrays” have capture spots with a diameter of about 1 micron to about 10 microns. Weisenfeld additionally suggests “resolution of an array can be improved by constructing an array with smaller capture spots” (Weisenfeld et al., paragraphs 0473-0475).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the methods for analyzing tissue samples taught by Mellen et al. with the teachings and suggestions of Weisenfeld et al. to increase the resolution of the capture array by decreasing the diameter of each individual capture spot to between 1 and 10 microns, wherein smaller diameters correspond to higher expected resolution of analytes (i.e. mRNA expression) on a given biological sample. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to select the smallest practicable diameter capture spots in order to predictably attain the highest possible resolution spatial gene expression data by the methods taught by Mellen et al. and Weisenfeld et al. (i.e. 1 micron diameter capture spots).
Claim(s) 1-20, 25, 26, and 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellen et al., US 2021/0097684 A1 (filed September 30, 2020 and published April 1, 2021) in view of Kjaerulff et al., US 2012/0045757 A1 (published February 23, 2012).
Regarding claims 1-20, 25, 26, 29-32, and 36, the teachings of Mellen et al. are described in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) in detail above.
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Mellen et al. teach computationally segmenting probe spots based upon different combinations of fluorescent markers present in the corresponding images, identification of tissue structures, and/or identification of pathology (Mellen et al., paragraph 0115), and that the samples can be stained with a variety of DNA-binding (i.e. indicative of a nucleus) dyes such as DAPI.
Mellen et al. do not teach using a measured intensity of a detectable marker that is indicative of the presence of a nucleus to estimate a number of cells in each capture spot.
However, Kjaerulff et al. teach various methods for automatic detection of fluorescence signals from a sample (Kjaerulff et al., paragraph 0028-0029) comprising staining nuclei with DAPI and viable cells with DACM (N-(7-dimethylamino-4-methyl-3-coumarinyl)-maleimide) (a dye that reacts with thiols found in proteins in living cells (i.e. cells with intact membranes) (Kjaerulff et al., paragraph 0011 and 0015). Kjaerulff et al. further teach that automated methods comprising staining cell nuclei and viable cells having intact membranes provide for rapid detection and quantitation of live cells (Kjaerulff et al., paragraph 0146).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the methods taught by Mellen et al., comprising automated brightfield and fluorescent imaging of tissues (including nuclear stains such as DAPI or Hematoxylin and cytosolic stains such as Eosin and cell-membrane associated stains such as fluorescently-labeled anti-CD3 antibodies) associated with specific capture spots with the methods taught by Kjaerulff et al. comprising automatically detecting and counting intact cells (having nuclei stained with a DNA binding dye and intact membranes) on a substrate.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to count the number of cells per capture spot in the method taught by Mellen et al. by the cell-staining methods taught by Kjaerulff et al. because the ordinary artisan would have recognized the benefits of a) normalizing measured mRNA expression values to a concrete count of the number of cells from which the mRNA molecules are derived, b) excluding background counts from capture spots that do not contain a cell (i.e. due to diffusion of mRNA from neighboring spots or contamination), and/or c) determining which capture spots are representative of a single cell type (i.e. a cancer cell) within a mixed population of cells (i.e. a section of a tumor sample).
Regarding claim 35, Kjaerulff et al. teach that DNA-binding dyes such as propidium iodide, ethidium bromide, and DAPI stain DNA in nuclei in intact cells as well as in dead or dying cells (Kjaerulff et al., paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the methods taught by Mellen et al. for quantitative, spatial assessment of mRNA expression from discrete cells or cell populations associated with a particular capture spot with the methods taught by Kjaerulff et al. for determining whether a particular cell or cells are viable (i.e. stained with a DNA-binding dye such as DAPI and a dye indicator of intact cell membranes such as DACM) (i.e. determining a count of cells per capture spot based on detection of nuclei AND an intact membrane).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,514,575 B2, (herein referred to as ‘575). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘575 recite all of the method steps recited by the present claim 1.
Claim 1 of ‘575 recites a method comprising steps using a computer system to: for each capture spot in an array of capture spots, obtaining one or more spatial projections of a biological sample, obtaining one or more two-dimensional images of a tissue section from the biological sample overlaid on a substrate having the array of capture probes, obtaining a corresponding set of discrete attribute values obtained from two-dimensional spatial sequencing of the tissue section, wherein each attribute value is for a different loci (i.e. mRNA molecule counts in each capture spot); obtaining cluster assignments of each capture spot based on the two-dimensional images and the attribute values, and displaying pixel values of all or a portion of the two-dimensional images overlaid with each capture spot (‘575, claim 1). Claim 8 of ‘575, which depends on claim 1, further recites the two-dimensional images comprise bright-field images and immunohistochemistry images taken at different wavelengths (i.e. emission images of detectable immunohistochemistry markers). Finally, claim 15 of ‘575, which depends on claim 1, further recites that each of the “loci” for which “attribute values” are collected, recited by claim 1, are each a respective gene, and that each attribute value is a count of unique molecular indices that also map to a respective gene (i.e. the attribute values assigned to each capture spot are representations of numbers of molecules of a nucleic acid originating from the tissue sample).
Therefore, the claims of ‘575 recite all of the positively recited method steps recited by the present claim 1.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 64 of copending Application No. 16/951,864 (herein referred to as ‘864). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 64, which depends from claim 1, of ‘864 claims all of the recited method steps of the present claim 1.
Claim 1 of ‘864 recites steps comprising: placing a sample on a substrate comprising fiducial markers and at least 1000 capture spots, obtaining one or more images of the sample, obtaining sequence reads from the capture spots wherein each capture probe a capture spot comprises a unique spatial barcode associated with a particular location on the substrate, and providing a composite representation of the one or more images aligned to the capture spots and a representation of the sequence reads at each position within the one or more images that maps to a capture spot (i.e. spatially displaying the two datasets co-registered by the plurality of spatial barcodes) (‘864, claim 1).
Claim 64 depends from claim 1 and further claims that the one or more images comprises brightfield or fluorescence images.
Therefore, the claims of ‘864 encompass all of the claimed method steps recited by the present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Z.M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682