Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I related to Figs. 3-8, which read at least upon Claims 1-4, 6-12, 16 and 19-20 in the reply filed on 08/19/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "the search required for examination of all claims would not be unduly burdensome on the Examiner". This is not found persuasive because the reasons and distinctions between Species is set forth in Page 2-3 of the Restriction Election Requirement Office Action and furthermore " There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries)" .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 2-3.
Claim Objections
The objections to the Claims 1-4, 6-12, 20 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 1-2, 8-10, 12, 20.
Claim 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 status states "Currently Amended", Claim 14 is not part of the set of Claims under review due to the Election of Species I as per above, status of Claim 14 should be changed to read "(Withdrawn)" and amendments to Claim 14 should be retracted.
Claim 1 and amendments to Claim 17 should be retracted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikubo (US 6,014,314 - hereinafter, "Mikubo") in view of Dopadlo et al. (US 2025/0015582 - hereinafter, "Dopadlo") in view of NOZAKI et al. (JP-2019160955-A – hereinafter, “Nozaki”).
With respect to Claim 1, Mikubo teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B below)
A heatsink for cooling an electric component of a power equipment, the heatsink comprising:
a first fin and a second fin (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B below) spaced away from and overlapping each other; and
a first pair of screws (one pair of 11, see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B below) and a second pair of screws (another pair of 11, see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B below) connecting the first and second fins (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B below) to each other.
.Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest the second fin includes a first hole extending through the second fin and a second hole extending through the second fin; and a rivet connecting the first and second fins to each other, wherein the first hole is located between the first pair of the rivets and the second hole is located between the second pair of rivets.
Dopadlo, however, teaches (in paragraph [0060]) a rivet (rivet) connecting a first component to a second component (first component (10) and second component (200), see Figure 1) to each other (in paragraph [0060], “In order to be able to fasten the support 10 to the insulated component 200, fastening elements such as screws and/or rivets or bolts can be passed through the holes 12 and fixed to the insulated component 200”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dopadlo with Mikubo, such that a rivet connecting a first component to a second component to each other as taught by Dopadlo since doing so would allow other fastening elements to be utilized to pass through the holes to fix the components together. (in paragraph [0060])
With respect to the limitation requiring the second fin includes a first hole extending through the second fin and a second hole extending through the second fin; and wherein the first hole is located between the first pair of the rivets and the second hole is located between the second pair of rivets.
Nozaki, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 below and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
a second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 below) includes a first hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 below) extending through the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 below) and a second hole (another of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 below) extending through the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 below); and wherein the first hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 below) is located between a first pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 below) and the second hole (another of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 below) is located between the second pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nozaki with Mikubo, such that a second fin includes a first hole extending through the second fin and a second hole extending through the second fin; and wherein the first hole is located between a first pair of connection points and the second hole is located between the second pair of connection points as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
Figure I
Figure II
Figure III
With respect to Claim 2, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
further comprising:
a mounting body (6) including,
a first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) that is configured to be thermally coupled (heat would be able to transfer to the first surface from the electric component) to the electric component (1), and
a second surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) that is connected to the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) and extends away from the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) at an angle (90 degrees), wherein
the first and second fins (9s) are mounted onto the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) or the second surface.
With respect to Claim 3, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein
the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) is mounted onto the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) or the second surface, and
the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) is mounted onto and overlaps the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above).
Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest the second fin includes a third hole extending through the second fin, and the third hole is located between the one rivet of the first pair of rivets and one rivet of the second pair of rivets.
Nozaki, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 above and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) includes a third hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above) extending through the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above), and the third hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above) is located between the one rivet of the first pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above) and one rivet of the second pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nozaki with Mikubo, such that the second fin includes a third hole extending through the second fin, and the third hole is located between the one rivet of the first pair of connection points and one rivet of the second pair of connection points as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
With respect to Claim 4, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 3 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) is mounted onto the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) and spaced away from the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above),
each of the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 and 6A-6B above) and the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 6A-6B above) is a rectangular plate
.Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest the first fin includes at least one rectangular opening that extends through the first fin and is spaced away from the first pair of rivets and the second pair of rivets.
Nozaki, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 above and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
a first fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) includes at least one rectangular opening (one of the (32) on first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) that extends through the first fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) and is spaced away (see annotated Figure 3 above) from the first pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above) and the second pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nozaki with Mikubo, such that a first fin includes at least one rectangular opening that extends through the first fin and is spaced away from the first pair of connection points and the second pair of connection points as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
With respect to Claim 7, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 3 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein the mounting body (5) is a rectangular block (see annotated Figure 5A-5B above),
the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) has a first area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) and the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) has a second area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) that is larger than the first area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above), and
the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) is configured to abut (next to) the electric component (1) when the heatsink (3+5+9+10+11) and the electric component (1) are installed on the power equipment.
With respect to Claim 9, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as per above, Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein each of the first hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Nozaki in Claim 1 as per above) and the second hole (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Nozaki in Claim 1 as per above) is a rectangular opening (see Nozaki’s annotated Figure 3 above).
With respect to Claim 10, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 9 as per above, Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
Wherein
The first fin (9) includes a first convective surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) that opposes the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above),
The second fin (9) includes a second convective surface (see annotated Figure 2 above), the first (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Nozaki in Claim 1 as per above) and the second holes (one of the (32), see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Nozaki in Claim 1 as per above) extend through the second convective surface (see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Nozaki in Claim 1 as per above), and
the mounting body (5) extends away (downward, away from the fins (9)) from the first and second convective surfaces (see annotated Figure 2 above) in a direction that is orthogonal to the convective surfaces (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 11, Mikubo teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
A heatsink for cooling an electric component of a power equipment, the heatsink comprising:
a mounting body (5);
a plurality of fins (9) spaced apart from each other and mounted onto the mounting body (5), the plurality of fins (9) includes a first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above); and
a plurality of screws (11) connecting the fins (9) to each other.
Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest a first fin that includes a plurality of first empty openings, each of the first empty openings extend through the first fin; and a plurality of rivets connecting the fins to each other, wherein each of the first empty openings is located between a different pair of the rivets
Dopadlo, however, teaches (in paragraph [0060]) a plurality of rivets (rivets) connecting components (10 and 200) to each other (in paragraph [0060], “In order to be able to fasten the support 10 to the insulated component 200, fastening elements such as screws and/or rivets or bolts can be passed through the holes 12 and fixed to the insulated component 200”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dopadlo with Mikubo, such that a plurality of rivets connecting components to each other as taught by Dopadlo since doing so would allow other fastening elements to be utilized to pass through the holes to fix the components together. (in paragraph [0060])
With respect to the limitation requiring a first fin that includes a plurality of first empty openings, each of the first empty openings extend through the first fin; and wherein each of the first empty openings is located between a different pair of the rivets.
Nozaki, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 above and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
a first fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) that includes a plurality of first empty openings (one of the (32) of the first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above), each of the first empty openings (one of the (32) of the first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) extend through the first fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above); and wherein each of the first empty openings (one of the (32) of the first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) is located between a different pair of connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nozaki with Mikubo, such that a first fin that includes a plurality of first empty openings, each of the first empty openings extend through the first fin; and wherein each of the first empty openings is located between a different pair of connection points as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
With respect to Claim 12, Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein the plurality of fins (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) includes a second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above), each of the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) and the second fin (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a rectangular plate (see annotated Figure 6A above) that includes a flat convective surface (see annotated Figure 6A-6B above),
the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) abuts the mounting body (5) and includes a plurality of spacers (10) protruding from the flat convective surface (see annotated Figure 6A-6B above),
the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) abuts each of the spacers (10, see annotated Figure 2 above) and is spaced away from the flat convective surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first fin (see annotated Figure 2 above) by each of the spacers (10), and
each of the rivets (11, as taught by Dopadlo in Claim 11 as per above, screws replaced by rivets as other fastening elements) extends through a respective one of the spacers (10, see annotated Figure 2 above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikubo in view of Dopadlo in view of Nozaki in view of Ito et al. (US 2018/0235149 - hereinafter, "Ito").
With respect to Claim 8 , Mikubo as modified by Dopadlo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 7 as per above, Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above) the heatsink according to claim 7.
Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest an electric power equipment, comprising: a housing; and a battery connected to the housing, wherein the electric component is contained in the housing and electrically connected to the battery, the heatsink abuts the battery or the electric component, and the housing is devoid of a fan in fluid communication with the heatsink.
Ito, however, teaches (in Figure 1&3) Power equipment, comprising:
a housing (10); and
a battery (51) connected to the housing (10, see Figure 1&3, in paragraph [0081], “The power supply unit 5 that supplies electrical power to the electric motor 4 is provided in the vehicle body 10. The power supply unit 5 is provided with the inverter unit 50 and the battery 51 provided in the vehicle body 10”),
wherein the electric component (50) is contained in the housing (10, see Figure 1&3, in paragraph [0081]) and electrically connected to the battery (38, in paragraph [0070], “One side of the inverter unit 50 is connected to the electric motor 4, and another side is connected through a power cable 57 to a battery 51, which is one constituent element of the power supply unit 5”),
the heatsink (30) abuts (near or next to) the battery or the electric component (50, see Figure 1, in paragraph [0088], “Thus, the mower deck 30 as a whole, which includes the mounting base 34 made of steel plate, functions as a heat sink of the electric motor 4 and the inverter unit 50”), and the housing (10, housing (10) does not have a fan for forced ventilation for cooling) is devoid of a fan in fluid communication with the heatsink (30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Ito with Mikubo, such that an electric power equipment, comprising: a housing; and a battery connected to the housing, wherein the electric component is contained in the housing and electrically connected to the battery, the heatsink abuts one of the battery and the electric component, and the housing is devoid of a fan in fluid communication with the heatsink as taught by Ito since doing so would allow the heatsink of Mikubo to be applicable to Ito’s electric component of a power equipment to further improve heat dissipation of the electric component.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikubo (US 6,014,314 - hereinafter, "Mikubo") in view of NOZAKI et al. (JP-2019160955-A – hereinafter, “Nozaki”).
With respect to Claim 16, Mikubo teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
A heatsink for cooling an electric component of a power equipment, the heatsink comprising:
a mounting block (5) having a first side (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) with a first surface area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) and a second side (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) with a second surface area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above) that is less than the first surface area (see annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B above);
a plurality of fins (9s) spaced apart from each other and mounted onto the mounting block (5), the plurality of fins (9) includes; and
a first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) having a third surface area (see annotated Figure 6A-6B above) that is greater than the first surface area (see annotated Figure 2 and 6A-6B above); and
a second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) connected to the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above); and
a fastener (11) extending through the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) and into the mounting block (5), the fastener (11) is spaced away (a gap between fastener (11) and second fin (9)) from the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above).
Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest a second fin including an empty opening.
Nozaki, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 above and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation) a second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) including an empty opening (first hole, second hole, third hole or fourth hole, see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nozaki with Mikubo, such that a second fin including an empty opening as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikubo in view of Nozaki in view of Dopadlo et al. (US 2025/0015582 - hereinafter, "Dopadlo").
With respect to Claim 19, Mikubo as modified by Nozaki teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above and Mikubo further teaches (in Figure 2, 5A-5B, 6A-6B and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 5A-5B, 6A-6B above)
wherein the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 and 6A-6B above) is a rectangular plate (see annotated Figure 6A above) that abuts the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) and extends parallel to the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 above) and perpendicular to the first surface (see annotated Figure 2 above),
the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 and 6A-6B above) includes,
a convective surface (see annotated Figure 2 and 6A-6B above) that is parallel to the second surface (see annotated Figure 2 above), and
a plurality of spacers (10) adjacent (near or next to) the convective surface (see annotated Figure 2 above),
the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) is a rectangular plate (see annotated Figure 6A above) that is parallel to the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) and spaced away from the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above) by the spacers (10), and
a plurality of screws (11) extends through the first fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above), the second fin (9, see annotated Figure 2 above), and a respective one of the spacers (10).
Mikubo fails to specifically teach or suggest a plurality of rivets extends through the first fin, the second fin, and a respective one of the spacers.
Dopadlo, however, teaches (in paragraph [0060]) a plurality of rivets (rivets) extends through components (10 and 200, in paragraph [0060], “In order to be able to fasten the support 10 to the insulated component 200, fastening elements such as screws and/or rivets or bolts can be passed through the holes 12 and fixed to the insulated component 200”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dopadlo with Mikubo, such that a plurality of rivets extends through components as taught by Dopadlo since doing so would allow other fastening elements to be utilized to pass through the holes to fix the components together. (in paragraph [0060])
With respect to Claim 20, Mikubo as modified by Nozaki as modified by Dopadlo teaches the limitations of Claim 19 as per above and Nozaki further teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown on annotated Figure 3 above and on page 3, 9th paragraph and on page 4, 4th paragraph and on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
wherein
the first fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) includes a plurality of first empty openings (one of the (32) of the first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above),
the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) includes a plurality of second empty openings (one of the (32) of the second fin, see annotated Figure 3 above), the plurality of second empty openings (one of the (32) of the second fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) include the empty opening (first hole, second hole, third hole or fourth hole, see annotated Figure 3 above) of the second fin (one of the (30’), see annotated Figure 3 above) and
each of the plurality of first (one of the (32) of the first fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) and second openings (one of the (32) of the second fin, see annotated Figure 3 above) is located between a respective pair of the connection points (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that wherein the first fin includes a plurality of first empty openings, the second fin includes a plurality of second empty openings, the plurality of second empty openings include the empty opening of the second fin and each of the plurality of first and second openings is located between a respective pair of the connection points as taught by Nozaki since doing so would allow Mikubo’s heatsink to increase/decrease heat dissipation capabilities and can appropriately obtain the desired heat dissipation capabilities. (on page 4, 11th paragraph of the provided translation)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/17/2025 have been fully considered, but notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835