DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on August 4, 2023, has been considered by examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The acronym “IoT” is claims 6, 13, and 20 should be noted in the first instance of the claim set in independent claims 1, 8, and 15. For instance, “receiv[ing] Internet of things data (IoT) from a set of IoT sensors, wherein the IoT data identifies current incentives for a group of products….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 1-20 do fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite a machine (i.e., computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium1 and system) and process (i.e., a method).
Although claims 1-20 fall under at least one of the four statutory categories, it should be determined whether the claim wholly embraces a judicially recognized exception, which includes laws of nature, physical phenomena, and abstract ideas, or is it a particular practical application of a judicial exception (See MPEP 2106 I and II).
Claims 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea) without significantly more.
Part I: Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the Abstract Idea
Under step 2A, Prong One of the Alice framework, the claims are analyzed to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. MPEP §2106.04(a). The determination consists of a) identifying the specific limitations in the claim that recite an abstract idea; and b) determining whether the identified limitations fall within at least one of the three subject matter groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity).
The identified limitations of independent claim 1 (representative of independent claims 8 and 15) recite:
receiving, by a number of processor units, Internet of things data from a set of Internet of things sensors, wherein the Internet of things data is used identify current incentives for a group of products;
identifying, by the number of processor units, a set of transaction tokens for purchasing the group of products with a greatest benefit using the current incentives applicable to the group of products and token incentives for the set of transaction tokens; and
completing, by the number of processor units, the transaction for the group of products using the set of transaction tokens
The identified limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover commercial or interaction (including advertising, marketing, sales activities or behaviors) but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than processing units, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps form practically certain methods of organizing human activity. For example, the identified limitations encompass a user completing a transaction via a credit card loyalty or rewards program. The claim limitations fall within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity groupings of abstract ideas. Thus, the claimed invention recites a judicial exception.
Part I: Step 2A, prong two: additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application
Under step 2A, Prong Two of the Alice framework, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. In particular, the claims are evaluated to determine if there are additional elements or a combination of elements that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claims are more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception.
As a whole, the processing units are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Since these claims are directed to an abstract idea, the Office must determine whether the remaining limitations “do significantly more” than describe the abstract idea.
Part II. Determine whether any Element, or Combination, Amounts to“Significantly More” than the Abstract Idea itself
Under Part II, the steps of claims, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not improve another technology or technical field, do not improve the functioning of the computer itself, and are not enough to qualify as "significantly more". For example, the steps require no more than a conventional computer to perform generic computer functions. As a whole, the processing units are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.. Therefore, based on the two-part Mayo analysis, there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself. Claims 1-20, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional claims do no recite significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortolin et al. (US 2014/0025466 A1) in view of Yan (US 2023/0230065 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Bortolin discloses computer implemented method for managing a transaction, the computer implemented method comprising:
identifying, by the number of processor units, a set of transaction tokens for purchasing the group of products with a greatest benefit using the current incentives applicable to the group of products and token incentives for the set of transaction tokens (Paragraph [0034]: a combination reward program that provides a combination reward can be provided (step 14). Typically, a host organization such as a credit, debit, or smart card issuer can provide the combination reward program and the combination reward. ); and
completing, by the number of processor units, the transaction for the group of products using the set of transaction tokens (Paragraph [0055]: Company S has a program C (75) that works in conjunction with program AuB (74) by providing another program 75 that provides a reward of an additional $0.60 for only purchasing products made by Company S, and not Cola Z produced by Company T).
Bortolin discloses the limitations above. Bortolin does not explicitly disclose, but Yan teaches:
receiving, by a number of processor units, Internet of things data from a set of Internet of things sensors, wherein the Internet of things data is used identify current incentives for a group of products (Paragraph [0232]: otherwise receive (e.g., via transmission or syncing using a communications protocol or mechanism such as Bluetooth®, cellular, IOT, etc.) the one or more transaction code(s) 42, or and obtain information relevant to complete a given transaction. Such transaction code(s) 42 presented by the merchant 31 to the cardholder 11 may include information indicating one or more of: other offering(s) that are the subject of a proposed transaction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bortolin to disclose receiving, by a number of processor units, Internet of things data from a set of Internet of things sensors, wherein the Internet of things data is used identify current incentives for a group of products as taught by Yan. Using the Internet of Things data of Yan would obtain needed transaction details to provide the most relevant incentives.
Regarding 2, 9, and 10, Bortolin discloses wherein completing, by the number of processor units, the transaction comprises:
automatically suggesting, by the number of processor units, the set of transaction tokens for use in purchasing the group of products (Paragraph [0055]); and
completing, by the number of processor units, the transaction for the group of products using a set of selected transaction tokens in response to a user input selecting the set of selected transaction tokens (Paragraph [0055]).
Regarding 3, 10, and 17, Bortolin discloses further comprising: automatically paying, by the number of processor units, for the group of products using the set of transaction tokens (Paragraph [0055]).
Regarding 4, 11, and 18, Bortolin discloses further comprising: determining, by the number of processor units, the greatest benefit using at least one of threshold milestone specific tailoring that identifies a set of incentives that have priority over other incentives, an earning value, or a redemption value (Paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Bortolin does not explicitly disclose, but Yan teaches:
wherein the set of IoT sensor is selected from at least one of a physical sensor, an online sensor, a global positioning system sensor, Bluetooth low energy beacon, a near field communication sensor, a purchase history sensor, a social media sensor, a product interest sensor, a consumer device advertising ID sensor, a time and date sensor, or a broadcast media sensor (Paragraph [0139]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bortolin to disclose wherein the set of IoT sensor is selected from at least one of a physical sensor, an online sensor, a global positioning system sensor, Bluetooth low energy beacon, a near field communication sensor, a purchase history sensor, a social media sensor, a product interest sensor, a consumer device advertising ID sensor, a time and date sensor, or a broadcast media sensor as taught by Yan. Using the Internet of Things data of Yan would obtain needed transaction details to provide the most relevant incentives.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Bortolin does not explicitly disclose, but Yan teaches:
wherein the Internet of Things data comprises at least one of transaction attributes, a retailer profile, a location, a loyalty offer, an incentive, a reward, or a social media feed (Paragraph [0136]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bortolin to disclose wherein the Internet of Things data comprises at least one of transaction attributes, a retailer profile, a location, a loyalty offer, an incentive, a reward, or a social media feed as taught by Yan. Using the Internet of Things data of Yan would obtain needed transaction details to provide the most relevant incentives.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortolin et al. (US 2014/0025466 A1) in view of Yan (US 2023/0230065 A1) in further view of Williams et al. (US 2023/0179955 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Bortolin, in view of Yan, does not explicitly disclose, but Williams teaches:
simulating, by the number of processor units, purchases of a set of products using points without a full accumulation of the points needed for the set of products in an incentive simulation (Paragraph [0403]); and
determining deficit points based on accumulated points and the points used to purchase the set of products in the simulation (Paragraph [0403]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bortolin, in view of Yan, to disclose simulating, by the number of processor units, purchases of a set of products using points without a full accumulation of the points needed for the set of products in an incentive simulation; and determining deficit points based on accumulated points and the points used to purchase the set of products in the simulation as taught by Yan. Using the simulation of Williams would provide facilitate the overall action selection and generation process of the incentives.
Conclusion
/CHINYERE MPAMUGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685
1 Claim interpretation affects the evaluation of both criteria for eligibility. For example, in Mentor Graphics
v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d 1275, 112 USPQ2d 1120 (Fed. Cir. 2017), claim interpretation was crucial to
the court’s determination that claims to a “machine-readable medium” were not to a statutory category. In
Mentor Graphics, the court interpreted the claims in light of the specification, which expressly defined the
medium as encompassing “any data storage device” including random-access memory and carrier
waves. In this case, Paragraph [0018] of Applicant’s specification discloses, “A computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media.” The specification discloses non-transitory storage devices only. Thus, claims 8-14 are not directed to a transitory signal per se.