DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection argument that the claim amendments have overcome the rejections. After consultation, it has been determined that 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections still apply after the amendments. Any ‘additional elements’ in claims 2-3 and 5-7 do not integrate the abstract ideas into practical applications because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas.
The amendments to claim 1 overcome the prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 as discussed in the 11/19/2025 interview; however, a different combination of prior art is now used to provide a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1. No other arguments were presented regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Previous claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections are withdrawn, as they have been corrected by amendment.
The amendments to claims 1-8, and the new claims 9 & 10, are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-3 & 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim 2 recites correcting the set temperature. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because generally controlling the temperature to be the corrected temperature is not particular as it is just applying it.
Claim 3 recites generating a control command. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because generating a control command is an abstract idea generally based on measured temperatures, but there is no application. Even if the generating a command was a physical process it would just be applying the determined command.
Claim 5 recites calculating a correction value for the set temperature, holding the correction value, and correcting the set temperature. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because calculating a value, holding the value, and correcting the temperature via a processor are abstract ideas done by a general-purpose computer where there is no application of the corrected temperature.
Claim 6 recites calculating a number of shots until the temperature of the nozzle reaches the set temperature. Mathematical calculations are abstract ideas and can be performed by the human mind. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application this is a mathematical calculation and there is no application.
Claim 7 recites steps of determining a set point within a range, and correcting/changing the set temperature. Determining is a mental step that can be done by the human mind, and correcting and changing set temperature are also considered mental steps of calculating and determining.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Claims 2-3 & 5-7 do not contain additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Any ‘additional elements’ in these claims do not integrate the abstract ideas into practical applications because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (JP2019166648A), and in view of Buja (US20020084543A1) and Nishimura (US20070042068A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. An injection molding machine comprising: an injection device including a cylinder, a screw, a nozzle, a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector, the injection device being configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material, and the nozzle being pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances; a nozzle temperature detector that measures a temperature of the nozzle; an in-mold temperature detector that directly measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device; at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the mold device measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Nakayama teaches an injection molding machine comprising: an injection device (Fig. 1, item 2) including a cylinder, a screw, and a nozzle (Fig. 1, item 5; [P. 2, ¶ 3]).
Nakayama teaches the injection device is configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device [P. 4, ¶ 7] including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material [P. 2, last ¶], wherein the injection device is pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances [P. 4, ¶ 7]; a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 14) that measures a temperature of the nozzle [P. 3, ¶ 3]; a sprue bush in-mold temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 15) that measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device [P. 3, ¶ 3]; and at least one processor (Fig. 1, item 17 [P. 3, ¶ 2]).
Nakayama teaches memory storing instructions in the controller, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the molding device measured by an in-mold temperature detector. Nakayama teaches “the injection nozzle temperature and the sprue bush temperature are input to the controller 17 of the injection molding machine 1, and the heater 7 is turned on / off under the control of the controller 17” [P. 3, ¶ 2].
Regarding a metering motor, Nakayama teaches for an inline screw type molding machine, a metering step is performed [P. 5, ¶ 2], ‘resin pellet melts in the process of being sent forward by the screw, the molten resin accumulates in front of the screw and the screw moves backward, it is weighed’ [P. 1, last ¶ - P. 2, ¶ 1], and that the screw can be ‘driven in the rotation direction and the axial direction within the heating cylinder’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding an injection motor, Nakayama teaches ‘when the screw is driven in the axial direction, the molten resin is filled in the cavity of the mold’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding a load detector, Nakayama teaches a ‘predetermined back pressure is applied to the screw’ [P. 2, ¶ 1], implicitly teaching the back pressure would be detected and measured.
Nakayama is silent on an in-mold temperature detector that directly measures a molding material temperature in the mold device. Nakayama teaches the mold temperature sensor used is within the mold near the sprue bushing, at a distance from the molding material flow path, and calculations must be made by the controller to estimate the molding material temperature in the mold [P. 3, ¶ 1-5].
Nakayama is silent on the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement, and does not teach the detector type for measuring back pressure; and therefore, does not explicitly teach that the injection device includes a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector. Nakayama does not discuss all components of what the Examiner understands to be a conventional molding machine, as the focus of Nakayama is nozzle temperature control and the components ranging from the cylinder nozzle to the mold.
However, the prior art of Buja teaches an injection molding machine comprising a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 3A, item Tc at area of ‘210’; [0064]) as well as an in-mold temperature detectors (Fig. 3B, items 318 & 320) that directly measures the molding material temperature at the wall of the mold cavity [0064], wherein signals from both sensors are sent to a controller to generate and send commands.
While Buja does not explicitly teach the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, the Examiner takes Official Notice that a motor is prima facie obviously shown in Figure 3A (rectangular item above and abutting item 332), wherein a motor is widely known in the field to be a very common driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute cavity wall in-mold temperature sensor, taught by Buja, in place of the sprue bushing in-mold temperature sensor of Nakayama, to predictably yield a more accurate measure of the molding material temperature within the mold, which could allow for an improved molding process and nozzle temperature control after optimization. This modification would require a relocation of the in-mold temperature sensor, and an adjustment in temperature control programming to account for the location change.
It would also have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an injection device motor, taught by Buja, as the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, in place of the undisclosed means for screw movement in the art of Nakayama; this substitution would predictably provide the driving means for movement of the injection screw in the apparatus of Nakayama, in view of Buja, with no expected change in system operation.
The prior art of Nishimura supports the Buja teaching that for a conventional inline screw-type injection molding machine, the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement can be a motor, used for metering [0034] and for injection [0029, 0031].
Nakayama, in view of Buja, is silent on a means for measuring back pressure in their injection molding machines.
Nishimura further provides evidence the detector type for measuring back pressure can be a load detector [0005, 0029-0030].
Based on the teachings of Nishimura, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that for the injection molding machine of Nakayama, in view of Buja, that the undisclosed detector type for measuring back pressure could be a load detector.
2. The injection molding machine according to claim 1, wherein a set temperature of the nozzle on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature measured by the in-mold temperature detector, and control the temperature of the nozzle such that the measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector reaches the corrected set temperature.
With respect to claim 2, Nakayama teaches the set temperature of the nozzle is corrected by the processor on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature measured by the in-mold temperature detector, and the temperature of the nozzle is controlled by the processor such that the measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector reaches the corrected set temperature.
Nakayama teaches memory storing instructions in the controller, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the molding device measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
Nakayama teaches “the injection nozzle temperature and the sprue bush temperature are input to the controller 17 of the injection molding machine 1, and the heater 7 is turned on / off under the control of the controller 17” [P. 3, ¶ 2].
As set forth in the rejection of claim 1, the temperature controls would be modified to use a cavity molding material temperature input instead of a ‘sprue bush’ temperature input from the teachings of Nakayama, in view of Buja.
Nakayama also teaches ‘this temperature control method is a control method in which the heater 7 is operated by PID control so that the injection nozzle temperature detected by the temperature sensor 14 becomes a predetermined target temperature as in the conventional control but during the mold cycle’ [P. 3, ¶ 3].
3. The injection molding machine according to claim 1, further comprising: a heater that heats the nozzle, wherein the control command is generated and sent by the processor on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
With respect to claim 3, Nakayama teaches a heater (Fig. 1, item 7) that heats the nozzle [P. 2, last ¶], wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: generate a control command, which is to be given to the heater, on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature, located in the sprue bush of the mold assembly, measured by the in-mold temperature detector [P. 3, ¶ 2].
As set forth in the rejection of claim 1, the temperature controls would be modified to use a cavity molding material temperature input instead of a ‘sprue bush’ temperature input from the teachings of Nakayama, in view of Buja.
4. The injection molding machine according to claim 1, wherein the temperature of the nozzle is controlled by the processor on the basis of the measured nozzle temperature and the measured in-mold temperature that are obtained in a case where the mold device is filled with the molding material.
With respect to claim 4, Nakayama teaches the processor controls the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of the measured nozzle temperature and the measured in-mold temperature that are obtained in a case where the mold device is filled with the molding material, during the molding cycle [P. 3, ¶ 2-3].
5. The injection molding machine according to claim 2, wherein a feedback value for the set temperature of the nozzle is calculated and held by the processor on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature measured by the in-mold temperature detector, and the set temperature is corrected by the processor on the basis of the feedback value held in the processor.
With respect to claim 5, Nakayama teaches the instructions further cause the processor to: calculate a feedback value for the set temperature of the nozzle on the basis of the measured in-mold temperature measured by the in-mold temperature detector, hold the feedback value calculated by the processor, and correct the set temperature on the basis of the feedback value held in the processor [P. 5, ¶ 2].
7. The injection molding machine according to claim 2, wherein whether or not the corrected set temperature is included in a predetermined temperature range is determined by the processor, and the set temperature is changed by the processor such that the set temperature is included in the range in a case where the processor determines that the set temperature is not included in the range.
With respect to claim 7, Nakayama teaches a temperature control mode where the processor can determine whether or not the corrected set temperature is included in a predetermined temperature range and change the set temperature such that the set temperature is included in the range in a case where the processor determines that the set temperature is not included in the range [P. 3, ¶ 2-3].
8. The injection molding machine according to claim 1, further comprising: a cylinder temperature detector that measures a temperature of the cylinder, wherein the temperature of the cylinder is controlled by the processor on the basis of a measured cylinder temperature measured by the cylinder temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the mold device measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
With respect to claim 8, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, Nakayama focuses on nozzle temperature control and the components ranging from the cylinder nozzle to the mold, and is silent on temperature control for the other parts of a conventional molding machine, such as a cylinder temperature sensor and controls.
However, Buja teaches cylinder temperature detectors (Fig. 3A, items 340 & 342) measuring temperatures of the cylinder, wherein the cylinder temperatures are controlled by the processor on the basis of a measured cylinder temperature measured by the cylinder temperature detectors and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the mold device measured by the in-mold temperature detector [0105].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to apply the known technique of measuring and controlling cylinder temperatures, taught by Buja, to improve the injection molding apparatus taught by Nakayama, which would improve nozzle temperature control by providing a means for temperature control for the molding material leading to the nozzle.
9. An injection molding machine comprising: an injection device including a cylinder, a screw, a nozzle, a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector, the injection device being configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material, and the nozzle being pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances; a nozzle temperature detector that measures a temperature of the nozzle; an in-mold temperature detector that includes a surface temperature sensor disposed at a flow channel and that measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device; at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the mold device measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of Nakayama teaches an injection molding machine comprising: an injection device (Fig. 1, item 2) including a cylinder, a screw, and a nozzle (Fig. 1, item 5; [P. 2, ¶ 3]).
Nakayama teaches the injection device is configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device [P. 4, ¶ 7] including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material [P. 2, last ¶], wherein the injection device is pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances [P. 4, ¶ 7]; a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 14) that measures a temperature of the nozzle [P. 3, ¶ 3]; a sprue bush in-mold temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 15) that measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device [P. 3, ¶ 3]; and at least one processor (Fig. 1, item 17 [P. 3, ¶ 2]).
Nakayama teaches memory storing instructions in the controller, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the molding device measured by an in-mold temperature detector. Nakayama teaches “the injection nozzle temperature and the sprue bush temperature are input to the controller 17 of the injection molding machine 1, and the heater 7 is turned on / off under the control of the controller 17” [P. 3, ¶ 2].
Regarding a metering motor, Nakayama teaches for an inline screw type molding machine, a metering step is performed [P. 5, ¶ 2], ‘resin pellet melts in the process of being sent forward by the screw, the molten resin accumulates in front of the screw and the screw moves backward, it is weighed’ [P. 1, last ¶ - P. 2, ¶ 1], and that the screw can be ‘driven in the rotation direction and the axial direction within the heating cylinder’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding an injection motor, Nakayama teaches ‘when the screw is driven in the axial direction, the molten resin is filled in the cavity of the mold’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding a load detector, Nakayama teaches a ‘predetermined back pressure is applied to the screw’ [P. 2, ¶ 1], implicitly teaching the back pressure would be detected and measured.
Nakayama is silent on an in-mold temperature detector that directly measures a molding material temperature in the mold device. Nakayama teaches the mold temperature sensor used is within the mold near the sprue bushing, at a distance from the molding material flow path, and calculations must be made by the controller to estimate the molding material temperature in the mold [P. 3, ¶ 1-5].
Nakayama is silent on the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement, and does not teach the detector type for measuring back pressure; and therefore, does not explicitly teach that the injection device includes a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector. Nakayama does not discuss all components of what the Examiner understands to be a conventional molding machine, as the focus of Nakayama is nozzle temperature control and the components ranging from the cylinder nozzle to the mold.
However, the prior art of Buja teaches an injection molding machine comprising a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 3A, item Tc at area of ‘210’; [0064]) as well as an in-mold temperature detectors (Fig. 3B, items 318 & 320) that directly measures the molding material temperature at the wall of the mold cavity [0064], wherein signals from both sensors are sent to a controller to generate and send commands.
While Buja does not explicitly teach the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, the Examiner takes Official Notice that a motor is prima facie obviously shown in Figure 3A (rectangular item above and abutting item 332), wherein a motor is widely known in the field to be a very common driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute cavity wall in-mold temperature sensor, taught by Buja, in place of the sprue bushing in-mold temperature sensor of Nakayama, to predictably yield a more accurate measure of the molding material temperature within the mold, which could allow for an improved molding process and nozzle temperature control after optimization. This modification would require a relocation of the in-mold temperature sensor, and an adjustment in temperature control programming to account for the location change.
It would also have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an injection device motor, taught by Buja, as the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, in place of the undisclosed means for screw movement in the art of Nakayama; this substitution would predictably provide the driving means for movement of the injection screw in the apparatus of Nakayama, in view of Buja, with no expected change in system operation.
The prior art of Nishimura supports the Buja teaching that for a conventional inline screw-type injection molding machine, the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement can be a motor, used for metering [0034] and for injection [0029, 0031].
Nakayama, in view of Buja, is silent on a means for measuring back pressure in their injection molding machines.
Nishimura further provides evidence the detector type for measuring back pressure can be a load detector [0005, 0029-0030].
Based on the teachings of Nishimura, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that for the injection molding machine of Nakayama, in view of Buja, that the undisclosed detector type for measuring back pressure could be a load detector.
10. An injection molding machine comprising: an injection device including a cylinder, a screw, a nozzle, a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector, the injection device being configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material, and the nozzle being pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances; a nozzle temperature detector that measures a temperature of the nozzle; an in-mold temperature detector that is disposed in the movable mold and that measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device; at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the mold device measured by the in-mold temperature detector.
With respect to claim 10, the prior art of Nakayama teaches an injection molding machine comprising: an injection device (Fig. 1, item 2) including a cylinder, a screw, and a nozzle (Fig. 1, item 5; [P. 2, ¶ 3]).
Nakayama teaches the injection device is configured to advance and retreat with respect to a mold device [P. 4, ¶ 7] including a stationary mold and a movable mold to fill the mold device with a molding material [P. 2, last ¶], wherein the injection device is pressed against the mold device when the injection device advances [P. 4, ¶ 7]; a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 14) that measures a temperature of the nozzle [P. 3, ¶ 3]; a sprue bush in-mold temperature detector (Fig. 1, item 15) that measures a temperature of the molding material in the mold device [P. 3, ¶ 3]; and at least one processor (Fig. 1, item 17 [P. 3, ¶ 2]).
Nakayama teaches memory storing instructions in the controller, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the molding device measured by an in-mold temperature detector. Nakayama teaches “the injection nozzle temperature and the sprue bush temperature are input to the controller 17 of the injection molding machine 1, and the heater 7 is turned on / off under the control of the controller 17” [P. 3, ¶ 2].
Regarding a metering motor, Nakayama teaches for an inline screw type molding machine, a metering step is performed [P. 5, ¶ 2], ‘resin pellet melts in the process of being sent forward by the screw, the molten resin accumulates in front of the screw and the screw moves backward, it is weighed’ [P. 1, last ¶ - P. 2, ¶ 1], and that the screw can be ‘driven in the rotation direction and the axial direction within the heating cylinder’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding an injection motor, Nakayama teaches ‘when the screw is driven in the axial direction, the molten resin is filled in the cavity of the mold’ [P. 2, last ¶]. Regarding a load detector, Nakayama teaches a ‘predetermined back pressure is applied to the screw’ [P. 2, ¶ 1], implicitly teaching the back pressure would be detected and measured.
Nakayama is silent on an in-mold temperature detector that directly measures a molding material temperature in the mold device. Nakayama teaches the mold temperature sensor used is within the mold near the sprue bushing, at a distance from the molding material flow path, and calculations must be made by the controller to estimate the molding material temperature in the mold [P. 3, ¶ 1-5].
Nakayama is silent on the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement, and does not teach the detector type for measuring back pressure; and therefore, does not explicitly teach that the injection device includes a metering motor, an injection motor, and a load detector. Nakayama does not discuss all components of what the Examiner understands to be a conventional molding machine, as the focus of Nakayama is nozzle temperature control and the components ranging from the cylinder nozzle to the mold.
However, the prior art of Buja teaches an injection molding machine comprising a nozzle temperature detector (Fig. 3A, item Tc at area of ‘210’; [0064]) as well as an in-mold temperature detectors (Fig. 3B, items 318 & 320) that directly measures the molding material temperature at the wall of the mold cavity [0064], wherein signals from both sensors are sent to a controller to generate and send commands.
While Buja does not explicitly teach the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, the Examiner takes Official Notice that a motor is prima facie obviously shown in Figure 3A (rectangular item above and abutting item 332), wherein a motor is widely known in the field to be a very common driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute cavity wall in-mold temperature sensor, taught by Buja, in place of the sprue bushing in-mold temperature sensor of Nakayama, to predictably yield a more accurate measure of the molding material temperature within the mold, which could allow for an improved molding process and nozzle temperature control after optimization. This modification would require a relocation of the in-mold temperature sensor, and an adjustment in temperature control programming to account for the location change.
It would also have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an injection device motor, taught by Buja, as the driving means for the axial and rotational movement of the screw within the cylinder, in place of the undisclosed means for screw movement in the art of Nakayama; this substitution would predictably provide the driving means for movement of the injection screw in the apparatus of Nakayama, in view of Buja, with no expected change in system operation.
The prior art of Nishimura supports the Buja teaching that for a conventional inline screw-type injection molding machine, the driving means for rotational and axial screw movement can be a motor, used for metering [0034] and for injection [0029, 0031].
Nakayama, in view of Buja, is silent on a means for measuring back pressure in their injection molding machines.
Nishimura further provides evidence the detector type for measuring back pressure can be a load detector [0005, 0029-0030].
Based on the teachings of Nishimura, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that for the injection molding machine of Nakayama, in view of Buja, that the undisclosed detector type for measuring back pressure could be a load detector.
While Buja is silent on which mold half the cavity thermocouples (Fig. 3B, items 318) directly measuring the molding material temperature within the mold cavity, It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that the thermocouples could be present in the moveable mold half as desired or based on mold/cavity design.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (JP2019166648A), and in view of Buja (US20020084543A1) and Nishimura (US20070042068A1), as set forth in the rejection of claim 2, and further in view of Hutchinson (US3642402A). Claim elements are presented in italics.
6. The injection molding machine according to claim 2, wherein the number of shots, which is required until the temperature of the nozzle reaches the corrected set temperature, is calculated by the processor on the basis of the measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector.
With respect to claim 6, Nakayama teaches memory storing instructions in the controller, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to: control the temperature of the nozzle on the basis of a measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector and a temperature of the molding material during filling in the molding device measured by the in-mold temperature detector. Nakayama teaches “the injection nozzle temperature and the sprue bush temperature are input to the controller 17 of the injection molding machine 1, and the heater 7 is turned on / off under the control of the controller 17” [P. 3, ¶ 2].
As set forth in the rejection of claim 1, the temperature controls would be modified to use a cavity molding material temperature input instead of a ‘sprue bush’ temperature input from the teachings of Nakayama, in view of Buja and Nishimura.
Nakayama, in view of Buja and Nishimura, is silent on the instructions further cause the processor to: calculate the number of shots, which is required until the temperature of the nozzle reaches the corrected set temperature, on the basis of the measured nozzle temperature measured by the nozzle temperature detector.
However, the prior art of Hutchinson teaches a shot number counter to count the number of shots until automatic control of barrel/nozzle temperature is restored to allow the system to stabilize after a correction [Col. 5, lines 28-36; Claims 7-9].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the known technique of a shot number counter to allow the system to stabilize after a temperature correction, taught by Hutchinson, to predictably improve the similar injection molding machine temperature controls of Nakayama, in view of Buja and Nishimura, in the same way. The modified system of Nakayama, in view of Buja, Nishimura, and Hutchinson, would have all controls taught by Nakayama and further comprise the shot number counter to allow for system stabilization after a temperature correction, taught by Hutchinson. This modification is understood to require additional control programming, but should not require additional equipment.
Conclusion
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748