DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Image pickup part as recited in claims 1-8 where the functional language is image pickup and the generic placeholder is part
Rotating mechanism is recited in claims 6-8 where the functional language is rotating and mechanism is the generic placeholder
According to the original specification the image pickup part is element 92 has an observation lens system consisting of object side telecentric lenses and a CMOS camera see the first full paragraph of page 40 of the original specification.
According to the original specification the paragraph that joins pages 14 and 15 where he rotating mechanism 2B is recited as motor 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada Naoyuki (JP 2008-235302A as cited in the IDS filed March 10, 2026 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided therein) in view of Oono (US 2013/0206726) and Sato (US 2019/0057890).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Osada Naoyuki teaches a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a chamber (CHc) having an internal space; a substrate holder (spin chuck 21) configured to hold a substrate to be substantially horizontal at a predetermined processing position in the internal space; a processing mechanism having a processing liquid discharge nozzle (see rinse nozzle 70 and stripping nozzle 50) configured to discharge a processing liquid onto a peripheral edge part of the substrate held by the substrate holder in the internal space. See [0069] where nozzle 50 is moved between a processing and retracted position. See both nozzles 50 and 70 treat the surfaces of the substrate W to include the peripheral edge part of the substrate. See Figs. 4 and 7 of Osada Naoyuki.
Fig. 4 of Osada Naoyuki (JP 2008-235302A)
Fig. 7 of Osada Naoyuki (JP 2008-235302A)
See Fig. 7 of Osada Naoyuki illustrates a heating mechanism which includes a heater HE attached to an outer wall of the chamber CHc see [0157] . See Fig. 5 and [0105] – [0117] of Osada Naoyuki, which also teaches a gas discharge nozzle 80 disposed in the internal space, and a pipe (gas supply pipe 84) configured to feed an inert gas heated by the heater to the gas discharge nozzle 80, and being configured to heat the substrate held by the substrate holder by supplying the inert gas from the gas discharge nozzle onto the substrate. The prior art of Osada Naoyuki teaches the processing mechanism (nozzles 50 and 70) are configured to the process the substrate surface by supplying the processing liquid from the processing liquid nozzle onto the substrate heated by the heating mechanism.
Fig. 5 of Osada Naoyuki (JP 2008-235302A)
The prior art of Osada Naoyuki fails to specifically teach peripheral edge processing of the wafer and Osada Naoyuki also fails to teach an observing mechanism.
The prior art of Oono teaches a peripheral portion removing using top bevel nozzle 240 and bottom bevel nozzle 250 as the wafer is held and rotated on wafer holding unit 230 (including vacuum chuck 233). See Figs. 3-5, 7, and 12 where an observing mechanism (measuring mechanism 324 and positioning mechanism 3 with first positioning member 311 and second positioning member 321). The observation mechanism of Oono also features CCD cameras 4A-4C when the wafer is held on pick 151 in the transportation chamber 140 see Fig. 2 . Note cameras 4A-4C comprise a light source part and an image pickup part (lenses see [0072] and [0073]) configured to image the peripheral edge part of the substrate illuminated with the illumination light, see [0070] – [0074] of Oono and Fig. 6 of Oono. See [0021] of Oono where the measurements are made after the removal of the peripheral part of the substrate since Oono teaches that the measurements are made of “removed” peripheral edge film of the substrate.
Fig. 3 of Oono (US 2013/0206726)
See [0071] and Fig. 5 of Oono which also teaches the camera 4A-4C are arranged at a position of the cameras do not interfere with a track in which first wafer transportation mechanism 150 transports wafer W between FOUPs 131 and wafer transfer unit 114, for example, at a position adjacent to the right side wall of transportation chamber 140 and higher than the openings of FOUPs 131 when viewed from the placement table 130. The prior art of Oono does not explicitly teach the observation mechanism is arranged at a separation position away from an attachment portion in the outer wall (of the substrate processing chamber as Oono does not illustrate the walls of the chamber) and being configured to observe the peripheral edge part of the substrate after performing the processing by the processing mechanism.
Fig. 5 of Oono (US 2013/0206726)
The prior art of Sato teaches the importance of using observation mechanisms within and outside of the processing chamber to analyze the quality or amount of removal of the peripheral edge part of the wafer. The observation mechanisms of Sato are located in an image capture unit 15 which features first image capturing subunit 400 (with camera 410) and second image capturing subunit 500 with camera 510. Note that cameras 410, 510 both feature a light source and image pickup part (lens 411). Though the cameras of Sato are not provided in the processing chamber (where the peripheral nozzles 831,832 are located) see Fig. 6 where the observation mechanism of Sato is located relative the opening 110 of the observation chamber (image capture unit 15). According to [0080] the observation mechanism is located relative the outer wall of the chamber and conveyance opening is so that accurate analysis of the peripheral processing would be performed without interference from the transport of the wafer or maintenance of the chamber. It is with a reasonable expectation of success to locate the observation mechanism relative the processing chamber opening as Sato has recommended to locate the observation mechanism relative the observation chamber opening for the benefit recited by Sato of limiting interference of the transport through the openings and the measurements from the observation mechanism. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Osada Naoyuki with the nozzles of Oono directed to process the peripheral edge part of the substrate and the observation mechanism (311, 321) as suggested by the prior art of Oono in the location as suggested by Sato so that the observation mechanism is located relative to the chamber opening so that accurate checks of whether or not the film is appropriately removed from the desired location of the substrate, without interfering with chamber maintenance or wafer transport to/from the chamber. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada Naoyuki with the nozzles directed to process the peripheral edge part of the substrate and the observation mechanism as suggested by the prior art of Oono in the location as suggested by Sato.
Fig. 2 of Sato (US 2019/0057890)
Fig. 6 of Sato (US 2019/0057890)
Fig. 7 of Sato (US 2019/0057890)
Observation mechanism as illustrated in Fig. 7 = 400 + 500
Regarding claim 2. See Fig. 4 of Osada Naoyuki that the chamber CHc has a conveyance opening CO configured to convey the substrate along a conveyance path between the outside of the chamber and the substrate holder (spin chuck 1) and in a plan view of the chamber viewed from above.
The prior art of Osada Naoyuki fails to teach an observation mechanism.
See [0071] of Oono does teaches the camera 4A-4C are arranged at a position of the cameras do not interfere with a track in which first wafer transportation mechanism 150 transports wafer W between FOUPs 131 and wafer transfer unit 114, for example, at a position adjacent to the right side wall of transportation chamber 140 and higher than the openings of FOUPs 131 when viewed from the placement table 130. The prior art of Oono does not explicitly teach the location of the observation mechanism relative to the conveyance opening.
Recall the observation mechanism of Sato is located relative the opening 110. According to [0080] of Sato the location of the observation mechanism relative the conveyance opening is so that accurate analysis of the peripheral processing would be performed without interference from the transport of the wafer or maintenance of the chamber, but when placing the observation mechanism of Oono in the chamber of Osada Naoyuki it would be optimal to design the chamber and its processing and observation components as suggested by Sato with respect to a first virtual horizontal line the first virtual horizontal line passing through a center of the substrate holder and being orthogonal to the conveyance path, the second virtual horizontal line passing through the center of the substrate holder and being parallel to the conveyance path as the location of the observation mechanism relative the outer wall of the chamber is a matter of design choice and optimization that would have been determined by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so that accurate analysis of the peripheral processing would be performed without interference from the transport of the wafer or maintenance of the chamber. It is with a reasonable expectation of success to locate the observation mechanism relative the processing chamber opening as Sato has recommended to locate the observation mechanism relative the observation chamber opening for the benefit recited by Sato of limiting interference of the transport through the openings and the measurements from the observation mechanism.
Furthermore, the location of the components of the chamber when the apparatus of Osada Naoyuki is modified by the observation mechanism of Oono using the teaching of Sato to ensure the opening(s) to the chamber do interfere with the process measurements/observation it would be located opposite the heater Osada Naoyuki whether the heater is the heater around/outside of the chamber walls or the heater used to heat the inert gas so that temperature does not negatively impact analysis of the observation mechanism of Oono with the teachings of Sato to consider the location of the observation mechanism relative chamber opening(s) so that the analysis is not negatively impacted due to transport of the wafer in/out of the chamber.
Regarding claim 3. The prior art of Osada Naoyuki also illustrates in Fig. 4 that the chamber CHc has a maintenance opening MO.
Recall The prior art of Osada Naoyuki fails to teach an observation mechanism
Recall Oono teaches CCD cameras 4A-4C according to [0071] the cameras 4A-4C (having both the light source part and the image pickup part) are arranged at a position of the cameras do not interfere with a track in which first wafer transportation mechanism 150 transports wafer W between FOUPs 131 and wafer transfer unit 114, for example, at a position adjacent to the right side wall of transportation chamber 140 and higher than the openings of FOUPs 131 when viewed from the placement table 130. The prior art of Oono does not explicitly teach the location of the observation mechanism relative to the maintenance opening as Oono teaches one opening. Nevertheless it would be obvious to provide an additional opening opposite in the conveyance opening to simplify the transport path of the wafer and to use one opening in and other out per the duplication of parts, according to In re Harza that under MPEP 2144/04, the mere duplication of parts in a patent claim is generally not considered patentable unless it produces a new and unexpected result. Note that once the two openings are provided to the chamber (per duplication of parts) the intended use of the those openings, be in for maintenance and/or conveyance does not structurally limit the claims. Recall the observation mechanism of Sato is located relative the opening 110. It is with a reasonable expectation of success to locate the observation mechanism relative the processing chamber opening as Sato has recommended to locate the observation mechanism relative the observation chamber opening for the benefit recited by Sato of limiting interference of the transport through the openings and the measurements from the observation mechanism. According to [0080] of Sato the location of the observation mechanism relative the conveyance opening is so that accurate analysis of the peripheral processing would be performed without interference from the transport of the wafer or maintenance of the chamber, but when placing the observation mechanism of Oono in the chamber of Osada Naoyuki it would be optimal to design the chamber and its observation mechanism as suggested by Sato. Furthermore, the location of the components of the chamber relative to the one another and relative to the openings to the chamber are a matter of design choice which would be determined without undue experimentation such that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono with the teachings of Sato to locate the observation mechanism out of interference from the conveyance opening. Thus, it would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono to locate the observation mechanism so that the maintenance opening is provided to face the light source part and the image pickup part on the opposite side of the conveyance opening with respect to the substrate holder in order to ensure accurate analysis of the position of the wafer and the amount peripheral portion removed by the processing of the edge to ensure the desired process result this location would prevent interference from either the conveyance or maintenance openings as suggested by the prior art of Sato.
Regarding claim 4. The apparatus resulting from the combined teaching of Osada Naoyuki and Oono fails to explicitly teach the location of the pipe, conveyance opening and observation mechanism as claimed. Recall Oono teaches in [0071] that the cameras 4A-4C (observation mechanism) are arranged at a position of the cameras do not interfere with a track in which first wafer transportation mechanism 150 transports wafer W between FOUPs 131 and wafer transfer unit 114, for example, at a position adjacent to the right side wall of transportation chamber 140 and higher than the openings of FOUPs 131 when viewed from the placement table 130. Recall the observation mechanism of Sato is located relative the opening 110. According to [0080] of Sato is suggested to locate the observation mechanism relative the conveyance opening is so that accurate analysis of the peripheral processing would be performed without interference from the transport of the wafer or maintenance of the chamber, but when placing the observation mechanism of Oono in the chamber of Osada Naoyuki it would be optimal to design the chamber and its observation mechanism in the location as suggested by Sato. Furthermore, the location of the components of the chamber relative to the one another and relative to the openings to the chamber are a matter of design choice which would be determined without undue experimentation such that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono so that wherein in a plan view of the chamber viewed from above, the pipe is arranged on the opposite side of the light source part and the image pickup part with respect to the second virtual horizontal line and on the opposite side of the conveyance opening with respect to the first virtual horizontal line to ensure accurate measurement, maintenance of temperature of the gas and subsequent wafer despite the unload and loading of the wafer or chamber maintenance.
Regarding claim 5. Recall the combined teachings of the prior art of Osada Naoyuki and Oono above.
The combined teachings of the prior art of Osada Naoyuki and Oono fail to teach an observation head.
The prior art of Sato teaches the importance of using an observation to analyze the removal of the peripheral edge part of the wafer. The observation mechanism of Sato features an image capture unit which features first image capturing subunit 400 (with camera 410) and second image capturing subunit 500 with camera 510. Note that the camera 410, 510 feature both a light source and image pickup part. The observation mechanism of Sato further teaches has an observation head (illumination module 420) having a diffused lighting part (diffusing member 426 see [0094] of Sato configured to illuminate the peripheral edge part with diffused light and a guide (mirror member 430 see [0080], [0085], [0086])configured to guide reflected light which is reflected by the peripheral edge part illuminated with the diffused light to the image pickup part, the diffused light generated by diffusedly reflecting the illumination light from the light source part at an observation position for observing the peripheral edge part of the substrate, and the image pickup part is configured to acquire an image of the peripheral edge part by receiving the reflected light guided by the guide.
The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono to provide an observation head as suggested by Sato in [0094] is that the light diffusing member 426 generates diffused light and the mirrors reflect light to improve the observation mechanism to ensure the wafer is positioned correctly see the discussion of the notch aligning process of Sato in [0109]. [0113], and [0137]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono by the enhancing the observation mechanism with the observation head of Sato.
Regarding claim 6. See in the prior art of Osada Naoyuki the spin chuck 21 has a rotating mechanism (rotation shaft 25 and chuck rotation drive mechanism 36 see [0063] of The prior art of Osada Naoyuki) configured to rotate the substrate holder about an axis of rotation extending in a vertical direction.
The prior art of Oono teaches an image acquisition part (images acquired from camera 4A-4C see Fig. 6 and storage unit 52 of controller 5) and inspection part (cut width detection program 524) but fails to teach the observation head.
The prior art of Sato teaches an image acquisition part (image acquiring part 5102 see [0114]) and teaches the image acquisition part is configured to acquire a peripheral-edge-part image of the peripheral edge part along a rotation direction of the substrate from a plurality of images which are acquired by the image pickup part while the substrate held by the substrate holder is rotated about the axis of rotation by the rotating mechanism, in a state where the observation head (illumination module 420 see [0080], [0085], [0086], and [0094]) is positioned at the observation position; and an inspection part (analyzing unit 5103 see [0114]) configured to inspect the peripheral edge part on the basis of the peripheral-edge-part image. The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono to provide the observation head, image acquisition part, and inspection part as suggested by Sato is that it provides enhanced observation of the peripheral removal portion of the wafer and ensures the wafer is maintained at the optimal position for observation without interference due to rotation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono by the enhancing the observation mechanism with the observation head, image acquisition part, and inspection part as suggested by Sato where both Sato and Oono teach observing and measuring eccentricity.
Regarding claim 7. Recall the teachings of Osada Naoyuki. Recall also that the prior art of Oono teaches determining the positional deviation (eccentricity of the wafer/centering deviation in [0070], [0082], and [0083] and [0094]) but the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono fail to teach the observation head.
Recall the rejection of claim 6 and where the prior art of Sato was used to teach the image acquisition part and inspection part. Note further that Sato teaches wherein the image acquisition part (image acquiring part 5102 see [0114]) is configured to acquire the peripheral-edge-part image of the peripheral edge part of the substrate before being processed by the processing mechanism, and the inspection part (analyzing unit 5103 see [0153]) is configured to inspect eccentricity of the substrate with respect to the axis of rotation, from the peripheral-edge-part image. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono by the enhancing the observation mechanism with the observation head, image acquisition part, and inspection part as suggested by Sato.
Regarding claim 8. Recall the teachings of the prior art of Osada Naoyuki. The prior art of Osada Naoyuki fails to teach a “cut width”. Recall the teachings of Oono. Furthermore, in the abstract Oono recites that the image capture unit captures the image of the peripheral edge of the wafer and with the determination unit the actual value of removed width is determined. According to Oono in [0064] a term “cut width” is used to describe the amount of film removed from the bevel or peripheral part of the wafer. The prior art of Oono teaches an image acquisition part (images acquired from camera 4A-4C see Fig. 6 and storage unit 52 of controller 5) and inspection part (cut width detection program 524) but fails to teach the observation head.
The prior art of Sato teaches an image acquisition part (image acquiring part 5102 see [0114]) and teaches the image acquisition part is configured to acquire a peripheral-edge-part image of the peripheral edge part along a rotation direction of the substrate from a plurality of images which are acquired by the image pickup part while the substrate held by the substrate holder is rotated about the axis of rotation by the rotating mechanism, in a state where the observation head (illumination module 420 see [0080], [0085], [0086], and [0094]) is positioned at the observation position; and an inspection part (analyzing unit 5103 see [0114]) configured to inspect the peripheral edge part on the basis of the peripheral-edge-part image. The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono to provide the observation head, image acquisition part, and inspection part as suggested by Sato is that it provides enhanced observation of the peripheral removal portion of the wafer and ensures the wafer is maintained at the optimal position for observation without interference due to rotation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono by the enhancing the observation mechanism with the observation head, image acquisition part, and inspection part as suggested by Sato.
See Sato [0069], [00111], and [0150] – [0153] wherein the image acquisition part 5102 is configured to acquire the peripheral-edge-part image of the peripheral edge part of the substrate after being processed by the processing mechanism, and the inspection part 5103 is configured to inspect a processing width processed by using the processing liquid, from an end surface of the substrate toward a central part of the substrate, from the peripheral-edge-part image. The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Nayok and Oono to provide an observation head as suggested by Sato in [0094] is that the light diffusing member 426 generates diffused light and the mirrors reflect light to improve the observation mechanism to ensure the wafer is positioned correctly see the discussion of the notch aligning process of Sato in [0109]. [0113], and [0137]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Osada Naoyuki and Oono by the enhancing the observation mechanism with the observation head of Sato.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takebayashi (US 2022/0005709) teaches a substrate processing apparatus with a wafer holder 3, a conveyance opening 13, an inert gas heater 216 see [0021].
Yashiki et al (US 7,935,217) teaches a bevel unit with CCD cameras where peripheral edge processing mechanism and observation mechanism are provided in the same chamber.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716