CTNF 18/366,110 CTNF 99266 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication filed on 08/07/2023 claims 1-4 are pending. Claim 1 is independent. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: “A Multi-Channel Charge-Discharge Control Device For Minimizing Primary-Side Power Supply” . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Miyata (Japanese Patent JP-2011080966-A; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the Japanese Office Action) . With respect to independent claim 1 , Miyata teaches a charge-discharge control device (Fig. 1; a power receiving system 1) . Miyata teaches an alternating current-direct current converter that converts alternating current power from a primary side into direct current power (Fig. 1; an AC/DC power supply unit 2 which converts AC power from a primary side into DC power) . Miyata teaches a direct current bus that distributes electric power from the alternating current-direct current converter (Fig. 1; the secondary side of the AC/DC power supply unit 2 feeds into a DC bus that distributes electric power from the AC/DC power supply unit 2) . Miyata teaches a plurality of channels, the channels being connected in parallel with each other to the direct current bus (See annotated Fig. 1 below) . PNG media_image1.png 428 626 media_image1.png Greyscale Miyata teaches a processor configured to control a charge or discharge current value for a secondary battery connected to each of the channels such that electric power supplied from the primary side is minimized (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; a measurement and control device 5 for controlling charging and discharging currents of batteries 41 and 42 which are each connected to a respective channel. ¶[36]; discharging and charging currents are maintained between batteries 41 and 42 thereby reducing power supplied from the AC source) . With respect to claim 2 , Miyata teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Miyata teaches wherein the channels each include a direct current-direct current converter that changes a voltage of the direct current power (Fig. 1; a DC/DC regenerative charging and discharging device 31 and 32 for each channel for changing the DC voltage) . With respect to claim 3 , Miyata teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Miyata teaches wherein when the secondary battery is connected to or disconnected from each of the channels, the processor controls the charge or discharge current value for the secondary battery connected to each of the channels such that the electric power supplied from the primary side is minimized (¶[36]; the measurement and control device 5 controls the charge and discharge currents of the batteries 41 and 42 thereby reducing power supplied from the AC source. ¶[40]; charge and discharge power (i.e., current) between the batteries 41 and 42 is controlled via the DC/DC converters 31 and 32, thereby one of ordinary skills understands the batteries are connected or disconnected from each channel) . With respect to claim 4 , Miyata teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Miyata teaches wherein the processor controls the charge or discharge current value for the secondary battery connected to each of the channels to be a current value within a process standard range of each of the channels (¶[18]; current setting values are specified for each battery 41 and 42 depending on whether it is the buffer battery or the test battery (e.g., to be within a process standard range)) . Relevant Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and/or cited in Foreign Office Actions were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes. Ishikura et al. (USPGPN 20190006870) teaches a DC power supply system that limits the number of times of charging/discharging of the storage battery when a DC load is connected to a DC bus line. The system includes a DC bus line connectable to a DC load; a power generation device for supplying electric power to the DC bus line; a secondary battery for supplying electric power to the DC bus line; a DC-AC converter connected between the DC bus line and an AC power system; and a controller that controls power supply from the power generation device, the secondary battery, and the DC-AC converter to the DC bus line, and when the power supply of the power generation device cannot satisfy a power supply request of the DC load, the controller controls the DC-AC converter to supply electric power in preference to the secondary battery from the power system . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Frank A Silva whose telephone number is (703)756-1698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/366,110 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859