DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) and Species A (Fig. 5, claims 1-8 and 12) in the reply filed on 4/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the phrase “continuous with the thermal pad” is unclear as to: integral one-piece; metallurgically joined; or merely touching?
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0062541 (Warner) in view of 2008/0157401 (Kim).
Warner discloses (at least Fig. 4)
1. An integrated circuit (“IC”) package, comprising:
a thermal pad 271 having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite the top surface;
a flange 272 extending transversely of and continuous with the thermal pad 271, the flange 272 having a surface continuous with the bottom surface of the thermal pad 271; and
a mold compound 243 through which the bottom surface of the thermal pad 271 and the surface of the flange 272 are exposed,
wherein:
the surface of the flange 272 is flush with a side surface of the mold compound 243.
Warner fails to disclose
the bottom surface of the thermal pad is flush with a bottom surface of the mold compound.
Kim teaches (Figs. 5, 11, 13)
An IC package comprising:
a thermal pad 534;
a flange (unlabeled angle portion of thermal pad 534, e.g., Figs. 1, 7, 8);
a molding compound 530, wherein
the bottom surface of the thermal pad 534 is flush with a bottom surface of the mold compound 530.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a thermal pad having a bottom surface flush with a bottom surface of a mold compound in Warner. The motivation would be to provide improved thermal performance / heat conduction, improved electrical performance / increased ground signal connections, and improved electromagnetic interference protection as taught by Kim ([0055]).
Warner discloses
2. The IC package of claim 1, wherein the surface of the flange 272 is substantially perpendicular to the bottom surface.
Kim teaches (an obvious engineering design, see MPEP 2144.04)
3. The IC package of claim 1, wherein the surface of the flange (Figs. 1, 7, 8) is connected to the bottom surface by an arcuate surface portion.
Kim teaches
4. The IC package of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of leads 512 extending laterally outwardly of first and second lateral side edges of the thermal pad 534.
Kim teaches
5. The IC package of claim 4, further comprising:
a die 516 attached to the top surface of the thermal pad 534, the die 516 having electrical contacts connected to the plurality of leads 512.
Warner discloses
6. The IC package of claim 1, wherein the flange 272 extends a portion of a full width of the thermal pad 271.
Kim teaches
7. The IC package of claim 6, further comprising:
a first tie bar 510 (left) projected past the surface of the flange (Figs. 1, 7, 8); and
a second tie bar 510 (right) projected past the surface of the flange, wherein the flange is positioned between the first tie bar and the second tie bar.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide tie bars in Warner. The motivation would be they are well-known in the package art as taught by Kim ([0051]-[0055]). See MPEP 2144.03.
Kim teaches
8. The IC package of claim 7, wherein the first and second tie bars 510 are integrally formed with and extended along lateral sides of the thermal pad 534.
Warner discloses
12. The IC package of claim 1, wherein the flange 272 is a first flange (left),
a second flange 272 (right) extending transversely of and continuous with the thermal pad 271, wherein the second flange 272 has a second surface continuous with the bottom surface of the thermal pad 271, the second surface being exposed through the mold compound 243 and flush with a second side surface of the mold compound 243 opposite the side surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2023/0005880 (Poddar), 2007/0273023 (Zhao), U.S. Patent Nos. 7,833,840 (Ahn), 7,642,638 (Kuah) teach a molded IC package including a thermal pad and a flange.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893