DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0273136 in view of Otsuka U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0392737.
Regarding claim 1, Lindsay discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the apparatus comprising: an electron gun 40 configured to generate an input electron beam 41 and irradiate a sample 10 with the input electron beam 41 (“the electron beam 41 is approximately perpendicular to the first face 12 of the sample 10” [0062]); an ion beam device 30 configured to generate an ion beam 31 and irradiate the sample 10 with the ion beam 31 (“the focussed ion beam 31 is approximately parallel with the first face 12 of the sample 10” [0090]); and a detector configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample to capture images of the sample (“an electron detector configured to collect scattered electrons from the electron transparent sample layer to provide an electron intensity image” [0033]) simultaneously when the sample is irradiated by the ion beam (“a focussed ion beam system 30 and an electron beam system 40 to allow for simultaneous imaging and milling of the sample 10” [0061]): a stage configured to support and rotate the sample (“a sample holder configured to move the sample relative to the electron beam system” [0036] – “As shown in FIG. 1B sample 10 is then rotated to allow for FIB milling on the adjacent second face 13 of the sample” [0063]). However, Lindsay does not disclose a processor programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample and control the stage to rotate the sample, automatically based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications.
Otsuka discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a semiconductor device ([0186]), the apparatus comprising: an electron gun 12 configured to generate an input electron beam (“The scanning electron microscope 100 includes an electron gun 12 which generates electron beams” [0076]) and irradiate a sample 22 with the input electron beam (“The electron beam generated by the electron gun 12 is irradiated onto the specimen 22” [0079]); an ion beam device configured to generate an ion beam and irradiate the sample with the ion beam (“the position information of the defect is sent to a focused ion beam (FIB) apparatus. The focused ion beam apparatus processes a region including a defect indicated by the position information into a specimen applicable to a transmission electron microscope (TEM)” [0299]); and a detector 20 configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample 22 (“The detector 20 is disposed above the specimen 22 (i.e., on an electron gun 12 side), to detect the reflected electrons released from the specimen 22” [0080]) to capture images of the sample (“the detector 20 generates an electric signal which is amplified for generation of an image of the reflected electrons” [0080]): a stage configured to support and rotate the sample (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed” [0157]); and a processor (“The functions of the apparatuses are implemented when programs stored in an unillustrated storage are read and executed by the one or more processors” [0173]) programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample (“The electron beam is focused on the surface of the specimen 22, and the stage retaining the specimen 22 is rotated by a predetermined angle, for example, in a range from 0° to 90°, and intermittently moved to positions separated by the predetermined angle” [0159]) and control the stage to rotate the sample while being disposed on the stage (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner.” [0157]), automatically (“The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]) based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner… The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay with the automated sample rotation of Otsuka in order to ensure desired loading alignment of a sample specimen prior to any processing of the sample so that such processing is performed only in the desired orientation, thereby reducing errors in such processing.
Regarding claim 2, Lindsay discloses that the detector is configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample that were substantially delivered to the sample by the input electron beam (“the focused electron beam 41 is directed through the electron transparent surface layer 15 and the scattered electrons 42 emerging from the first surface 12 of the sample 10 are collected with the electron imaging detector 43” [0072]), the sample includes a substrate and a plurality of material layers positioned on the substrate (“The first face of the sample may comprise a polycrystalline surface layer” [0026] – “depositing a protective layer on the second face of the sample using electron beam deposition prior to the milling step” [0027]), and the detector obtains an image of the substrate (“the sample can be oriented with the first face 12 perpendicular to the electron beam 41 to allow for various characterisation techniques to be carried out on the sample surface, including secondary electron and backscatter electron imaging” [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Lindsay discloses that the detector measures a Kikuchi pattern of the substrate (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Lindsay discloses that the input electron beam is incident upon the sample in a vertical direction (as illustrated in figure 1B), and the input electron beam and the ion beam are arranged at a first angle of about 45 degrees to about 55 degrees (“For conventional orientations of the FIB 30 relative to the electron beam system 40 of around 50-60 degrees” [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Lindsay discloses that the emitted electrons and a horizontal direction, which is perpendicular to a vertical direction in parallel with an incident direction of the input electron beam, are arranged at a second angle of about 15 degrees to about 25 degrees (“For conventional orientations of the FIB 30 relative to the electron beam system 40 of around 50-60 degrees” [0063] – “a sample holder allowing the sample to be tilted between each of the orientations of FIG. 6A to 6E, i.e. allowing tilt of 0 to 160 degrees” [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Lindsay discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the apparatus comprising: a scanning electron microscope (“a region of interest 11 to be used for preparation of the sample is identified using plan view SEM imaging” [0062]) configured to generate an input electron beam 41 and irradiate a sample 10 with the input electron beam (“the electron beam 41 is approximately perpendicular to the first face 12 of the sample 10” [0062]), and including a detector configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample (“an electron detector configured to collect scattered electrons from the electron transparent sample layer to provide an electron intensity image” [0033]); an ion beam device 30 configured to generate an ion beam 31 and irradiate the sample 10 with the ion beam 31 (“the focussed ion beam 31 is approximately parallel with the first face 12 of the sample 10” [0090]); a stage configured to support and rotate the sample (“a sample holder configured to move the sample relative to the electron beam system” [0036] – “As shown in FIG. 1B sample 10 is then rotated to allow for FIB milling on the adjacent second face 13 of the sample” [0063]); and a processor (“a memory holding computer-readable instructions, that when executed, cause the apparatus to perform the method steps defined in the appended claims or set out in the above or below defined aspects of the invention” [0038]) configured to control the stage (“a sample holder configured to move the sample relative to the electron beam system” [0036] – “The sample 10 is preferably rotated such that the ion beam is approximately parallel to the first face 12 of the sample 10, as shown in FIG. 1B” [0063]) based on information obtained from the detector (“The apparatus further includes an electron beam system 40 for imaging and characterisation and one or more detectors 43, 44 for collecting the various signals… correctly orientating the sample 10 relative to the electron beam system 40, milling beam system 30, and detectors 43, 44” [0087]), wherein the detector includes an electron backscatter diffraction detector (“backscatter electron imaging” [0088]), wherein the detector is configured to detect the emitted electrons to capture images of the sample simultaneously when the sample is irradiated with the ion beam (“a focussed ion beam system 30 and an electron beam system 40 to allow for simultaneous imaging and milling of the sample 10” [0061]). However, Lindsay does not disclose a processor programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample and control the stage to rotate the sample, automatically based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications.
Otsuka discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a semiconductor device ([0186]), the apparatus comprising: an electron gun 12 configured to generate an input electron beam (“The scanning electron microscope 100 includes an electron gun 12 which generates electron beams” [0076]) and irradiate a sample 22 with the input electron beam (“The electron beam generated by the electron gun 12 is irradiated onto the specimen 22” [0079]); an ion beam device configured to generate an ion beam and irradiate the sample with the ion beam (“the position information of the defect is sent to a focused ion beam (FIB) apparatus. The focused ion beam apparatus processes a region including a defect indicated by the position information into a specimen applicable to a transmission electron microscope (TEM)” [0299]); and a detector 20 configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample 22 (“The detector 20 is disposed above the specimen 22 (i.e., on an electron gun 12 side), to detect the reflected electrons released from the specimen 22” [0080]) to capture images of the sample (“the detector 20 generates an electric signal which is amplified for generation of an image of the reflected electrons” [0080]): a stage configured to support and rotate the sample (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed” [0157]); and a processor (“The functions of the apparatuses are implemented when programs stored in an unillustrated storage are read and executed by the one or more processors” [0173]) programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample (“The electron beam is focused on the surface of the specimen 22, and the stage retaining the specimen 22 is rotated by a predetermined angle, for example, in a range from 0° to 90°, and intermittently moved to positions separated by the predetermined angle” [0159]) and control the stage to rotate the sample while being disposed on the stage (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner.” [0157]), automatically (“The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]) based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner… The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay with the automated sample rotation of Otsuka in order to ensure desired loading alignment of a sample specimen prior to any processing of the sample so that such processing is performed only in the desired orientation, thereby reducing errors in such processing.
Regarding claim 13, Lindsay discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the method comprising: capturing an image of a sample (“backscatter electron imaging” [0088]); measuring an orientation from the sample (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]); wherein the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus includes: a scanning electron microscope (“using a FIB-SEM” [0061]) configured to generate an input electron beam 41 and irradiate the sample 10 with the input electron beam 41, and including a detector 43 configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample 10 (“the scattered electrons 42 emerging from the first surface 12 of the sample 10 are collected with the electron imaging detector 43” [0072]); an ion beam device (“using a FIB-SEM” [0061]) configured to generate an ion beam 31 and irradiate the sample 10 with the ion beam; a stage (“sample holder” [0091]) configured to support and rotate the sample (“the apparatus preferably includes a sample holder allowing the sample to be tilted between each of the orientations of FIG. 6A to 6E, i.e. allowing tilt of 0 to 160 degrees” [0091]); and a processor (“a memory holding computer-readable instructions, that when executed, cause the apparatus to perform the method steps defined in the appended claims or set out in the above or below defined aspects of the invention” [0038]) configured to control the stage (“a sample holder configured to move the sample relative to the electron beam system” [0036] – “The sample 10 is preferably rotated such that the ion beam is approximately parallel to the first face 12 of the sample 10, as shown in FIG. 1B” [0063]) based on information obtained from the detector (“The apparatus further includes an electron beam system 40 for imaging and characterisation and one or more detectors 43, 44 for collecting the various signals… correctly orientating the sample 10 relative to the electron beam system 40, milling beam system 30, and detectors 43, 44” [0087]), wherein the detector includes an electron backscatter diffraction detector (“backscatter electron imaging” [0088]), and wherein the detector is configured to detect the emitted electrons to capture images of the sample simultaneously when the sample is irradiated by the ion beam (“a focussed ion beam system 30 and an electron beam system 40 to allow for simultaneous imaging and milling of the sample 10” [0061]). Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of comparing a current orientation value from the sample with a target orientation value; and there is no explicit disclosure that the processor is programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample and control the stage to rotate the sample, automatically based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications.
Otsuka discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a semiconductor device ([0186]), the apparatus comprising: an electron gun 12 configured to generate an input electron beam (“The scanning electron microscope 100 includes an electron gun 12 which generates electron beams” [0076]) and irradiate a sample 22 with the input electron beam (“The electron beam generated by the electron gun 12 is irradiated onto the specimen 22” [0079]); an ion beam device configured to generate an ion beam and irradiate the sample with the ion beam (“the position information of the defect is sent to a focused ion beam (FIB) apparatus. The focused ion beam apparatus processes a region including a defect indicated by the position information into a specimen applicable to a transmission electron microscope (TEM)” [0299]); and a detector 20 configured to detect emitted electrons from the sample 22 (“The detector 20 is disposed above the specimen 22 (i.e., on an electron gun 12 side), to detect the reflected electrons released from the specimen 22” [0080]) to capture images of the sample (“the detector 20 generates an electric signal which is amplified for generation of an image of the reflected electrons” [0080]): a stage configured to support and rotate the sample (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed” [0157]); and a processor (“The functions of the apparatuses are implemented when programs stored in an unillustrated storage are read and executed by the one or more processors” [0173]) programmed to repeatedly select rotation of the sample (“The electron beam is focused on the surface of the specimen 22, and the stage retaining the specimen 22 is rotated by a predetermined angle, for example, in a range from 0° to 90°, and intermittently moved to positions separated by the predetermined angle” [0159]) and control the stage to rotate the sample while being disposed on the stage (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner.” [0157]), automatically (“The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]) based on a difference between target orientation information and current orientation information from the sample determined by the processor from a current image of the sample, until a difference between the current orientation information from the sample and the target orientation information is within process specifications (“it may be considered to rotate a stage on which the specimen 22 is placed while observing an image being generated based on the absolute value IS, until the specimen 22 is adjusted to an orientation where the step riser 22a is represented in an emphasized manner… The operation to adjust the orientation may be automatically performed” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay with the automated sample rotation of Otsuka in order to ensure desired loading alignment of a sample specimen prior to any processing of the sample so that such processing is performed only in the desired orientation, thereby reducing errors in such processing.
Regarding claim 14, Lindsay discloses that the detector is configured to detect the emitted electrons from the sample that were substantially delivered to the sample by the input electron beam (“As shown in FIG. 2, the sample 10 is oriented relative to the electron beam system 40 such that the focused electron beam 41 is directed through the electron transparent surface layer 15 and the scattered electrons 42 emerging from the first surface 12 of the sample 10 are collected with the electron imaging detector 43” [0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Lindsay discloses that the sample includes a substrate and a plurality of material layers positioned on the substrate, and the measuring of the pattern from the sample includes measuring the pattern of the substrate (“The first face of the sample may comprise a polycrystalline surface layer” [0026] – “depositing a protective layer on the second face of the sample using electron beam deposition prior to the milling step” [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Lindsay discloses that the substrate has a thickness of 100 nm or more in a vertical direction (“The first face of the sample may comprise a polycrystalline surface layer, for example wherein the polycrystalline surface layer comprises a thickness of less than 100 nm and/or comprises nanocrystalline structures with dimensions less than 100 nm” [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Lindsay illustrates in figure 1B that at least a portion of an upper surface of a substrate is exposed.
Regarding claim 20, Lindsay discloses that the input electron beam and the ion beam are arranged at a first angle, the emitted electrons and a horizontal direction, which is perpendicular to a vertical direction in parallel with an incident direction of the input electron beam (as illustrated in figure 1B), are arranged at a second angle, the sum of the first angle and the second angle is between about 60 degrees and about 80 degrees (“For conventional orientations of the FIB 30 relative to the electron beam system 40 of around 50-60 degrees” [0063] – “a sample holder allowing the sample to be tilted between each of the orientations of FIG. 6A to 6E, i.e. allowing tilt of 0 to 160 degrees” [0091]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0273136 in view of Otsuka U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0392737 in further view of Michael et al. U.S. Patent No. 6,326,619.
Regarding claim 8, Lindsay discloses the claimed invention, except that while Lindsay discloses (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]), Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the processor includes a Kikuchi pattern recognition unit, a Kikuchi pattern comparison unit, an orientation comparison unit, and a correction unit.
Michael discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the method performed by a computer 40 having a processor 44, and the method comprising: capturing an image of a sample (“The electrons interact with a small volume of the material sample at the selected points, and diffracting crystals cause electron backscatter diffraction patterns or backscattered electron Kikuchi patterns (BEKPs) to form on a screen near the specimen. The BEKPs may be imaged through a video camera and digitized for further processing” [col. 2; lines 13-19]); measuring an orientation from the sample (“The present invention provides microstructural, morphological, elemental, orientation, and phase information, all from a single apparatus or instrument” [col. 4; lines 4-6]); and comparing a current orientation value from the sample with a target orientation value (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]), wherein: the measuring of the orientation from the sample includes: measuring a Kikuchi pattern from the sample; and comparing the Kikuchi pattern from the sample with a preset target Kikuchi pattern (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay and Otsuka with the orientation comparison of Michael in order to fully evaluate the effectiveness of a process of manufacturing a semiconductor sample by comparing a measured result to a desired result.
Regarding claim 9, Lindsay discloses the claimed invention, except that while Lindsay discloses (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]), Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of a processor recognizing a Kikuchi pattern from the images of the sample captured by the detector.
Michael discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the method performed by a computer 40 having a processor 44, and the method comprising: capturing an image of a sample (“The electrons interact with a small volume of the material sample at the selected points, and diffracting crystals cause electron backscatter diffraction patterns or backscattered electron Kikuchi patterns (BEKPs) to form on a screen near the specimen. The BEKPs may be imaged through a video camera and digitized for further processing” [col. 2; lines 13-19]); measuring an orientation from the sample (“The present invention provides microstructural, morphological, elemental, orientation, and phase information, all from a single apparatus or instrument” [col. 4; lines 4-6]); and comparing a current orientation value from the sample with a target orientation value (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]), wherein: the measuring of the orientation from the sample includes: measuring a Kikuchi pattern from the sample; and comparing the Kikuchi pattern from the sample with a preset target Kikuchi pattern (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay and Otsuka with the orientation comparison of Michael in order to fully evaluate the effectiveness of a process of manufacturing a semiconductor sample by comparing a measured result to a desired result.
Regarding claim 10, Lindsay discloses the claimed invention, except that while Lindsay discloses (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]), Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the processor compares the recognized Kikuchi pattern with a preset Kikuchi pattern.
Michael discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the method performed by a computer 40 having a processor 44, and the method comprising: capturing an image of a sample (“The electrons interact with a small volume of the material sample at the selected points, and diffracting crystals cause electron backscatter diffraction patterns or backscattered electron Kikuchi patterns (BEKPs) to form on a screen near the specimen. The BEKPs may be imaged through a video camera and digitized for further processing” [col. 2; lines 13-19]); measuring an orientation from the sample (“The present invention provides microstructural, morphological, elemental, orientation, and phase information, all from a single apparatus or instrument” [col. 4; lines 4-6]); and comparing a current orientation value from the sample with a target orientation value (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]), wherein: the measuring of the orientation from the sample includes: measuring a Kikuchi pattern from the sample; and comparing the Kikuchi pattern from the sample with a preset target Kikuchi pattern (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay and Otsuka with the orientation comparison of Michael in order to fully evaluate the effectiveness of a process of manufacturing a semiconductor sample by comparing a measured result to a desired result.
Regarding claim 19, Lindsay discloses the claimed invention, except that while Lindsay discloses (“analysing a collected signal to identify one or more Kikuchi bands and preferably determine a crystallographic orientation of the sample or a part of the sample” [0034]), Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the measuring of the orientation from the sample includes: measuring a Kikuchi pattern from the sample; and comparing the Kikuchi pattern from the sample with a preset target Kikuchi pattern.
Michael discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the method performed by a computer 40 having a processor 44, and the method comprising: capturing an image of a sample (“The electrons interact with a small volume of the material sample at the selected points, and diffracting crystals cause electron backscatter diffraction patterns or backscattered electron Kikuchi patterns (BEKPs) to form on a screen near the specimen. The BEKPs may be imaged through a video camera and digitized for further processing” [col. 2; lines 13-19]); measuring an orientation from the sample (“The present invention provides microstructural, morphological, elemental, orientation, and phase information, all from a single apparatus or instrument” [col. 4; lines 4-6]); and comparing a current orientation value from the sample with a target orientation value (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]), wherein: the measuring of the orientation from the sample includes: measuring a Kikuchi pattern from the sample; and comparing the Kikuchi pattern from the sample with a preset target Kikuchi pattern (“comparing the backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern of the sample with the calculated backscattered electron Kikuchi pattern using the line angles calculated from the database crystallography data to confirm the determination of the crystalline phase and crystalline characteristics of the sample” [col. 3; lines 39-44]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay and Otsuka with the orientation comparison of Michael in order to fully evaluate the effectiveness of a process of manufacturing a semiconductor sample by comparing a measured result to a desired result.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0273136 in view of Otsuka U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0392737 in further view of Kimura et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0303030.
Regarding claim 16, Lindsay discloses the claimed invention except that while Lindsay discloses “electron backscatter diffraction (EBSD) hardware within the SEM” [0068] utilized for “the characterization of polycrystalline thin films” [0004], there is no explicit disclosure that the substrate includes a single crystal material.
Kimura discloses “a scanning electron microscope comprising a detector to detect an electron backscattered pattern” [0084] wherein “the sample is… a single-crystal substrate” [Claim 3].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lindsay and Otsuka for analyzing the sample of Kimura in order to utilize such a device for imaging a range of different samples having different crystalline structures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881