DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, claims 16-25 in the reply filed on 7/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
3. The claims are objected because of the following reasons:
Re claims 21-25: are objected because claim 20 is missing, they should be renumbered or changed to claims 20-24.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 16, 19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endoh et al. (US 2013/0119452).
Re claim 16, Endoh teaches, under BRI, in view of Figs. 1, 2, 5, 14, 15 and/or 17, [0007, 0034, 0166, 0171, 0179, 0180, 0189, 0193], a 3D stackable memory cell structure, comprising:
-a first material (pillar 2);
-an insulating layer (8, indicated) that surrounds a first portion of the first material (2);
-a first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated) that surrounds a second portion of the first material (2) and is located above the insulating layer (8);
-a second floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated) that surrounds a third portion of the first material (2) and is located below the insulating layer (8);
-a second material (of insulating layer 8 or of control gate 4) that surrounds the first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated);
-a third material (of insulating layer 8 or of control gate 4) that surrounds the second floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated);
-a front gate material (USG 12);
-a first dielectric layer (layer 8 around 12) located between the front gate material (12) and the first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated);
-a back gate material (LSG 11); and
-a second dielectric layer (layer 8 around 11) located between the back gate material (11) and the second floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated).
Re claim 19, Endoh teaches wherein the first material (2) comprises one of semiconductor (semiconductor pillar 2, [0166]) or conductor material, the second material (consider material control gate 4. [0034]) comprises one of semiconductor or conductor material, and the third material (consider material of 4, [0034]) comprises one of semiconductor or conductor material.
Re claim 21, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1 & 2, wherein the insulating layer (8) directly connects to the first portion of the first material (2).
Re claim 22, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1 & 2, wherein the first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated) directly connects to the second portion of the first material (2) and the insulting layer (indicated) (in straight line).
Note: under BRI, directly connects = connects in straight line # physically connects/contacts.
Re claim 23, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1 & 2, wherein the second floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated) directly connects to the third portion of the first material (2) and the insulting layer (indicated) (in straight line).
Re claim 24, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1 & 2, wherein the first dielectric layer (layer 8 around 12) directly connects to the front gate (12) and the first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated).
Note: under BRI, directly connects = connects in straight line # physically connects/contacts.
Re claim 25, Endoh teaches, Figs. 1 & 2, wherein the second dielectric layer (layer 8 around 11) directly connects to the back gate (11) and the second floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated).
Re claim 16, Endoh teaches, alternatively, under BRI, in view of Figs. 21-22A, [0257-0258], a 3D stackable memory cell structure, comprising:
-a first material (pillar 52);
-an insulating layer (57, indicated) that surrounds a first portion of the first material (52);
-a first floating body semiconductor material (55, indicated) that surrounds a second portion of the first material (52) and is located above the insulating layer (57);
-a second floating body semiconductor material (55, indicated) that surrounds a third portion of the first material (52) and is located below the insulating layer (57);
-a second material (of insulating layer 58 or of control gate 53) that surrounds the first floating body semiconductor material (5, indicated);
-a third material (of insulating layer 58 or of control gate 53) that surrounds the second floating body semiconductor material (55, indicated);
-a front gate material (62);
-a first dielectric layer (layer 57 around 62) located between the front gate material (62) and the first floating body semiconductor material (55, indicated);
-a back gate material (61); and
-a second dielectric layer (layer 57 around 61) located between the back gate material (161 and the second floating body semiconductor material (55, indicated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endoh.
The teachings of Endoh have been discussed above.
Re claim 18, Endoh teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the insulating layer (8) forms a continuous layer, but does not explicitly teach the insulating layer comprises an oxide material or a nitride material.
Endoh does teach “forming another SiO.sub.2 insulating layer 17 on the floating gate 5” [0194] & the use of SiO2 [0185].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Endoh to obtain oxide material as claimed, because SiO2 is known and widely used in the art. it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alsmeier et al. (US 2012/0001249, Figs. 1A-2A) discloses a 3D NAND strings including semiconductor channels and a plurality of control gate electrodes.
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/8/26