DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2018/0151817).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (123, fig. 6 and paragraph 0189);
a switching element arranged above the substrate (130, fig. 6 and paragraph 0196);
a first insulating layer arranged above the substrate (124, fig. 6 and paragraph 0197) and including a first contact hole penetrating to the switching element (122c, fig. 6 and paragraph 0198);
a conductive material filled in the first contact hole (122c, fig. 6 and paragraph 0200);
a lower electrode arranged above the first insulating layer, overlapping the first contact hole, and being in contact with the conductive material (160, fig. 6 and paragraph 0200);
an organic layer stacked on the lower electrode (170, fig. 6 and paragraph 0202) and including a hole injection layer on the lower electrode, a hole transport layer on the hole injection layer, and a light emitting layer on the hole transport layer (paragraphs 0036, 0174);
an upper electrode stacked on the organic layer (180, fig. 6 and paragraph 0203); and
a coating layer covering an end surface of the lower electrode, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer, and including an opening directly above the first contact hole (125, fig. 6 and paragraph 0201).
Regarding claim 2, Cho further discloses wherein the organic layer further includes an electron blocking layer between the hole transport layer and the
light emitting layer (paragraphs 0036, 0175), and
the coating layer covers an end surface of the electron blocking layer (125, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Cho further discloses wherein the coating layer covers an end surface of the light emitting layer (125 covers end surface of all layers of 170, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Cho further discloses wherein the organic layer further includes a hole blocking layer on the light emitting layer (paragraphs 0037, 0182), and the coating layer covers an end surface of the hole blocking layer (125 covers end surface of all layers of 170, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Cho further discloses wherein the organic layer further includes an electron transport layer on the hole blocking layer (paragraphs 0036-0037), and the coating layer covers an end surface of the electron transport layer (125 covers end surface of all layers of 170, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Cho further discloses wherein the organic layer further includes an electron injection layer on the electron transport layer (paragraph 0037), and the coating layer covers an end surface of the electron injection (125 covers end surface of all layers of 170, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Cho further discloses wherein a boundary surface between the conductive material and the lower electrode is located under an upper surface of the first insulating layer (122c, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Cho further discloses wherein a boundary surface between the conductive material and the lower electrode is located above an upper surface of the first insulating layer (122c, fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0151817) in view of Do et al. (US 2017/0133635).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (123, fig. 6 and paragraph 0189);
a switching element arranged above the substrate (130, fig. 6 and paragraph 0196);
a first insulating layer arranged above the substrate (124, fig. 6 and paragraph 0197) and including a first contact hole penetrating to the switching element (122c, fig. 6 and paragraph 0198);
a conductive material filled in the first contact hole (122c, fig. 6 and paragraph 0200);
a lower electrode arranged above the first insulating layer, overlapping the first contact hole, and being in contact with the conductive material (160, fig. 6 and paragraph 0200);
an organic layer including a light emitting layer, and stacked on the lower electrode (170, fig. 6 and paragraph 0202);
an upper electrode stacked on the organic layer (180, fig. 6 and paragraph 0203); and
a coating layer covering an end surface of the lower electrode and including an opening directly above the first contact hole (125, fig. 6 and paragraph 0201), wherein the coating layer exposes a top surface of the lower electrode in the opening (160, fig. 6), and the organic layer is in contact with the top surface of the lower electrode in the opening of the coating layer (170, fig. 6).
Cho further discloses that the coating layer is a pixel defining layer (125, fig. 6 and paragraph 0201) but does not disclose if it is formed of an inorganic material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an inorganic or an organic material for the pixel defining layer since such practices were well known in the art at the time of filing and commonly employed. To illustrate such known practices see Do (1624, fig. 16 and paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 9, Cho further discloses a sealing layer (190, 121, fig. 6 and paragraphs 0205-0207), wherein the sealing layer covers the upper electrode (180, fig. 6) and the coating layer (125, fig. 6) and is in contact with the first insulating layer (although not shown in the figure because of the cutout, it is understood that the encapsulation layer covers the entire surface for protecting the light emitting device and touches the planarization layer in the periphery, paragraphs 0205-0207).
Regarding claim 10, Cho further discloses a sealing layer (190, 121, fig. 6 and paragraphs 0205-0207), wherein the upper electrode (180, fig. 6) covers the coating layer (125, fig. 6) and is in contact with the first insulating layer (although not shown in the figure because of the cutout, it is common practice for the upper electrode to touch the planarization layer), and the sealing layer is stacked on the upper electrode (180,fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cho does not explicitly disclose a power supply line arranged on the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer including a second contact hole penetrating to the power supply line, wherein the upper electrode is in contact wit the power supply line in the second contact hole. However, as mentioned above, Do discloses such features and therefore would be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the rationale mentioned above.
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses the device of claim 1 as mentioned above and further discloses a sealing layer covering the upper electrode and the coating layer (121, fig. 6 and paragraph 0206) and sealing to substrate 123, fig. 6. As such it would be deemed obvious to make contact with the planarization layer 124.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oooka et al. (US 2016/0204176) in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0170850).
Regarding claim 11, Oooka discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (10, figs. 7-9 and paragraph 0076);
a switching element arranged above the substrate (11, figs. 7-9 and paragraph 0076);
a first insulating layer (13, figs. 7-9 and paragraph 0076) arranged above the substrate and including a first contact hole penetrating to the switching element (32a, figs. 7-9 and paragraphs 0076-0077);
a conductive material filled in the first contact hole (paragraph 0037);
a lower electrode arranged above the first insulating layer and being in contact with the conductive material (32, figs. 7-9 and paragraph 0077);
an organic layer (33b, figs.8-9 and paragraph 0080) including a light emitting layer (33c, fig. 9 and paragraph 0080), stacked on the lower electrode, and covering an end surface of the lower electrode (32c, figs. 8-9 and paragraph 0078), and being in contact with the first insulating layer (13, fig. 9 and paragraph 0078);
an upper electrode stacked on the organic layer and covering an end surface of the organic layer (34, fig. 9 and paragraph 0080).
Oooka does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper electrode is in contact with the first insulating layer. Oooka’s figure 9 shows electrode 34 angled down towards insulating layer 13 but the figure is cutoff. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have Oooka’s electrode (34,fig. 9) make contact with the insulating layer (13, fig. 9) because a well known common configuration would have the electrode come in contact with and penetrate the planarization insulating layer to connect with a power source.
To illustrate such known teachings see Choi figure 1 as follows:
Planarization layer (160, fig. 1 and paragraph 0054);
Bottom electrode (171, fig. 1 and paragraph 0056);
Organic layer with emission layer (190, fig 1 and paragraph 0057);
Top electrode (200,fig. 1 and paragraph 0057) angles down and contacts planarization layer (160, fig. 1), penetrates planarization layer and connects to power supply line (150a, fig. 1 and paragraph 0055).
Regarding claims 12-13, Oooka in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 11, as mentioned above. Oooka further discloses a sealing layer (40, fig. 4) on the upper electrode (34, fig. 4). Oooka does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing layer (claim 12) or the upper electrode (claim 13) is in contact with the first insulating layer. However, Oooka does explicitly disclose wherein the organic layer is formed by an oblique evaporation method utilizing an acute angle of deposition (paragraphs 0078-0079). As such, edge regions of the organic layer and layers thereafter would be at an inclined plane. Thus it would be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing within normal experimentation of Oooka’s teachings that the upper electrode and/or the sealing layer would contact the insulating layer (13, fig. 3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0151817) in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0170850).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses the device of claim 1 as mentioned above and further discloses a sealing layer (121, fig. 6) covering the upper electrode (180, fig. 6) and the upper electrode covering the coating layer (125, fig. 6). Cho does no disclose wherein the upper electrode contacts the insulating layer. However, as mentioned above, such feature would be deemed obvious in view of Choi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 4/13/26