DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on January 9, 2024 and June 15, 2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8,10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Stubenrauch (US 2023/0166612; cited in the IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Stubenrauch discloses a modular, expandable, prefabricated chassis (see figure 1) for EV charging stations useful in supporting a plurality of EVSE charging posts, the chassis (see figure 1) comprising: a support housing (10), the support housing (10) presenting as an enclosed, modular, raised platform (see figure 2), with a plurality of EVSE charging post positions (AI) defined thereon, and a port (22) at each said EVSE charging post position (AI); a connection cabinet (SK) affixed to the support housing (10), the connection cabinet(SK) having a master circuit breaker and electrical circuitry capable of receiving electricity from a power source, and distributing the electricity to a plurality of power supply cables and a plurality of electrical wires (paragraph 0058; see figure 2), wherein the connection cabinet (SK) further comprises communication cabling, and wherein the power supply cables, electrical wires and communication cabling are routed through the support housing (10; see figure 2) to the EVSE charging post positions (AI); and a plurality of cable supports secured within or integral with an interior of the support structure, the cable supports facilitating and managing the routing of the power supply cables and the electrical wires through the support housing (paragraph 0058; see figure 2);
Regarding claim 3, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein the support housing (10) comprises a plurality of connected elongated tubes with a rectangular cross-section, or a plurality of connected rectangular pads, or a connected combination of one or more elongated tubes with a rectangular cross section and one or more rectangular pads, and wherein the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and the rectangular pads (see figure 2), present with an open channel to facilitate the routing of the power supply cables (VL1; VL2) and the electrical wires through the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and rectangular pads (see figure 2)
Regarding claim 4, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein a top or side surface of the support housing (10) has one or more apertures, and wherein one or more plates are removably secured to the support housing, covering the apertures (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein a portion of the support housing (10) is raised for purposes of accommodating the cables (AL) and the cable supports, while a lateral adjacent portion of the support housing has a lower profile, and wherein at least some of the EVSE charging post (AI) positions are positioned in the adjacent portion of the support housing (see figure 2) .
Regarding claim 6, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein at least one of the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads include a removable end cap to allow for future expansion of the chassis (see figure 2), which when removed expose a channel through which power supply cables and electrical wires may pass (VL1; VL2;see figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Stubenrauch discloses a modular, portable EV charging station comprising: a chassis (see figure 1) comprising: a support housing (10), the support housing (10) presenting as an enclosed, modular, raised platform (see figure 2), with a plurality of EVSE charging post positions (AI) defined thereon, and a port (22) at each said EVSE charging post position (AI); a connection cabinet (SK) affixed to the support housing (10), the connection cabinet (SK) having a master circuit breaker and electrical circuitry capable of receiving electricity from a power source, and distributing the electricity to a plurality of power supply cables and a plurality of electrical wires (paragraph) 54, wherein the connection cabinet (SK) further comprises communication cabling, and wherein the power supply cables, electrical wires and communication cabling are routed through the support housing to the EVSE charging post positions (see figure 2); and a plurality of cable supports secured within or integral with an interior of the support structure, the cable supports facilitating and managing the routing of the power supply cables and the electrical wires through the support housing (10, see figure 2); and a plurality of EVSE charging posts affixed to the support housing at one or more of the EVSE charging post positions, wherein the power cables, the electrical wire and the communications cabling are electrically or communicatively coupled with the EVSE charging post (paragraph 0058; see figure 2);.
Regarding claim 10, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein the support housing (10) comprises a plurality of connected elongated tubes with a rectangular cross-section, or a plurality of connected rectangular pads, or a connected combination of one or more elongated tubes with a rectangular cross section and one or more rectangular pads, and wherein the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and the rectangular pads (see figure 2), present with an open channel to facilitate the routing of the power supply cables (VL1; VL2) and the electrical wires through the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and rectangular pads (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein a top or side surface of the support housing (10) has one or more apertures, and wherein one or more plates are removably secured to the support housing, covering the apertures (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein a portion of the support housing (10) is raised for purposes of accommodating the cables (AL) and the cable supports, while a lateral adjacent portion of the support housing has a lower profile, and wherein at least some of the EVSE charging post (AI) positions are positioned in the adjacent portion of the support housing (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein at least one of the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads include a removable end cap to allow for future expansion of the chassis (see figure 2), which when removed expose a channel through which power supply cables and electrical wires may pass (VL1; VL2;see figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Stubenrauch discloses the chassis (see figure 1), wherein the support housing (10) comprises a plurality of connected elongated tubes with a rectangular cross-section and a plurality of connected rectangular pads, wherein the elongated tubes and the rectangular pads(see figure 2), present with an open channel to facilitate the routing of the power supply cables (VL1; VL2) and the electrical wires through the elongated tubes and the rectangular pads (see figure 2); and wherein the plurality of EVSE charging posts (AI) include at least two different models of EVSE charging posts, a first model affixed to a rectangular pad, and a second model affixed to an elongated tube (see figures 1 and 2; pages 13-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubenrauch (US 2023/0166612; cited in the IDS) in view of Toda et al (CN 102044893; hereinafter Toda; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Stubenrauch discloses the claimed invention except for the chassis, wherein the support housing further comprises a plurality of internal lifting lugs secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing, to support the cabling or the cable supports, and to provided additional support to the support housing and additional protection for the cabling or the cable supports. Toda teaches a charging station (see figure 4) comprising a support housing, wherein the support housing (1) further comprises a plurality of internal lifting lugs (40) secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing (1), to support the cabling or the cable supports (40), and to provided additional support to the support housing and additional protection for the cabling or the cable supports (paragraph 0059 and 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’ support housing with a plurality of internal lifting lugs secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing as taught by Toda to provide the support housing with cable management means.
Regarding claim 9, Stubenrauch discloses the claimed invention except for the chassis, wherein the support housing further comprises a plurality of internal lifting lugs secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing, to support the cabling or the cable supports, and to provided additional support to the support housing and additional protection for the cabling or the cable supports. Toda teaches a charging station (see figure 4) comprising a support housing, wherein the support housing (1) further comprises a plurality of internal lifting lugs (40) secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing (1), to support the cabling or the cable supports (40), and to provided additional support to the support housing and additional protection for the cabling or the cable supports (paragraph 0059 and 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’s support housing with a plurality of internal lifting lugs secured to or integral with a wall of an exterior channel of the support housing as taught by Toda to provide the support housing with cable management means.
5. Claims 7, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubenrauch (US 2023/0166612; cited in the IDS) in view of Derrien et al (US 2018/0345809; hereinafter Derrien; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 7, Stubenrauch discloses the claimed invention except for the support housing comprises one or more strong eye bolts positioned on posts, useful in lifting the chassis from a transportation vehicle and position it at a station site. Derrien teaches a recharging station comprising a support housing (100) having one or more strong eye bolts (6021-6023), positioned on posts, useful in lifting the chassis from a transportation vehicle and position it at a station site (see figures 6b and 6c; paragraph 0125-0127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’s support housing with one or more strong eye bolts positioned on posts as taught by Derrien to provide means for lifting and transporting the station.
Regarding claim 14, Stubenrauch discloses the claimed invention except for the support housing comprises one or more strong eye bolts positioned on posts, useful in lifting the chassis from a transportation vehicle and position it at a station site. Derrien teaches a recharging station comprising a support housing (100) having one or more strong eye bolts (6021-6023), positioned on posts, useful in lifting the chassis from a transportation vehicle and position it at a station site (see figures 6b and 6c; paragraph 0125-127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’s support housing with one or more strong eye bolts positioned on posts as taught by Derrien to provide means for lifting and transporting the station.
Regarding claim 16, Stubenrauch discloses a method of installing an EV charging station at a site, the method comprising the steps of: transporting an EV charging station to a site, the EV charging station (see figure 1) comprising: a chassis comprising: a support housing (10), the support housing (10) presenting as an enclosed, modular, raised platform, with a plurality of EVSE charging post (AI) positions defined thereon, and a port at each said EVSE charging post position (see figure 2); a connection cabinet (SK) affixed to the support housing (10), the connection cabinet (SK) having a master circuit breaker and electrical circuitry capable of receiving electricity from a power source, and distributing the electricity to a plurality of power supply cables and a plurality of electrical wires (paragraph 0058; see figure 2), wherein the connection cabinet (SK) further comprises communication cabling, and wherein the power supply cables, electrical wires and communication cabling are routed through the support housing (10) to the EVSE charging post (AI) positions; and a plurality of cable supports (see figure 2) secured within or integral with an interior of the support structure (10), the cable supports facilitating and managing the routing of the power supply cables and the electrical wires through the support housing (10); but Stubenrauch lacks the step of positioning the EV charging station on a solid pad provided at the site; and connecting utility lines to the connection cabinet of the chassis. Derrien teaches a recharging station comprising a support housing (100) having one or more strong eye bolts (6021-6023), positioned on posts, useful in lifting the chassis from a transportation vehicle, position the station on a solid pad provided at the site (see figures 6b and 6c; paragraph 0125-0127), and connecting utility lines (504) to the connection cabinet of the chassis (see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’s method with the step of positioning the EV charging station on a solid pad provided at the site; and connecting utility lines to the connection cabinet of the chassis as taught by Derrien to provide means for lifting and transporting the station.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Stubenrauch discloses claimed invention except for the step of leveling the station by means of one or more levelers. Derrien teaches method of installing a recharging station comprising a support housing (100) having one or more levels (608) for leveling the station (see figures 6b and 6c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Stubenrauch’ support housing with one or more levels for leveling the station as taught by Derrien to provide means for adjusting the relative position of the station.
Regarding claim 18, Stubenrauch discloses the method (see figure 1) of installing an EV charging station, wherein the support housing (10) comprises a plurality of connected elongated tubes with a rectangular cross-section, or a plurality of connected rectangular pads, or a connected combination of one or more elongated tubes with a rectangular cross section and one or more rectangular pads, and wherein the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and the rectangular pads (see figure 2), present with an open channel to facilitate the routing of the power supply cables (VL1; VL2) and the electrical wires through the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads, or the elongated tubes and rectangular pads (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Stubenrauch discloses the method (see figure 1) of installing an EV charging station at a site, wherein at least one of the elongated tubes or the rectangular pads include a removable end cap (see figure 2), and wherein at the site the end cap is removed, exposing a channel through which power supply cables and electrical wires may pass (VL1, VL2; see figure 2), and another elongated tube or rectangular pad is secured to the at least one of the elongated tubes or rectangular pads by means of an extender (see figure 2).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Osei-Kusi (US 12,233,731), Wyckoff (US 12,106,336), and Bowen et al (US 2024/0166066) disclose a modular charging station.
June 26, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841