Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment of the claim, filed on 08/26/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-14 and 25 from the non-final office action (06/17/2026), by amending claims 1 and 25 and cancelling claims 15-24 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ cancellation of claims 15-24 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The newly added limitation “wherein a gap is formed between a side of the first hole and a side of the bolt in a second direction intersecting the first direction“, as the gap is three dimensional, any two of the three dimension is intersecting the “first direct” (one the other dimension) and will be examined accordingly. Note Applicants’ Fig. 3 and 1, together, also shows the length direction of the GAP is the same direction as the flow direction of the connecting member 400 in D1.
The “at least one first hole that is slot-shaped” of claims 1 and 25, Applicants’ drawing did not label where is “a slot hole”. The examiner considered the hole H1 shows a slot shape being the claimed “slot hole” (or the claim should be considered as “at least one first hole formed in a shape of a slot”). Alternatively, the slot shown between the two plates 342 in Fig. 2, but then the hole H1 is really well below the slot hole. This portion of the claim will be examined inclusive both interpretations.
The “a crucible” of claims 1 and 25, unlikely commonly used in the art of vaporization where crucible is where the vaporization occurs, Applicants’ Specification describes “The crucible 310 may have an empty space therein (see FIG. 5)” ([0079]). On the other hand, “a vaporizing member” being “the vaporizing member 500 to provide a space in which the deposition material stored in the vaporizing member 500 moves to the nozzle member 300” ([0063]), which is where material vapor is generated. The “a crucible” of claim 1 is merely a passage for the material vapor passing through and will be examined accordingly.
The ”adjacent to” in various claims, it is considered adjacent relative to any other components of the apparatus.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a vaporizing member” of claims 1 and 25, this is considered a body and a cover ([0107]) that store deposition materials ([0062]).
The “a connecting member” of claims 1 and 25, this is considered a pipe as shown in various figures.
On the other hand, the “a fastening member” of claims 1 and 25 is not considered under 112(f) as it is further structurally modified by “the fastening member including a bolt, a nut, and a washer”.
The “wherein the deposition material includes a metal or an inorganic insulating material” is considered an intended use of the apparatus.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a first direction” which raises antecedent issue with the newly added “the deposition material moves in a first direction“ of claim 1.
Claim 2 will be examined inclusive “the second direction”.
Dependent claims 3-4 are also rejected under USC 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, 13-14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20210381096, hereafter ‘096), in view of MIYAYA et al. (US 20220081774, hereafter ‘774).
‘096 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: An apparatus for vapor jet deposition includes a source vapor generation part generating a source vapor (abstract, includes the claimed “A deposition source comprising”):
Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, a nozzle par 20 includes a diffusion block 25, a nozzle plate 26, and a coupling member 27 disposed between the diffusion block 25 and the nozzle plate 26 ([0053], includes the claimed “a nozzle member including”, the coupling member 27 or an upper portion of the nozzle plate 26 reads into the claimed “a body portion”);
While the source vapor is sprayed to an upper surface of the substrate 50 ([0051]), The nozzle plate 26 includes nozzles NZ spaced apart from each other in a first direction D1 (Fig. 3, [0054], 2nd sentence, the lower portion of the nozzles NZ reads into the claimed “a plurality of nozzles coupled to a first surface of the body portion and that eject a deposition material to an outside”; and the diffusion block 25 reads into the claimed “a crucible”);
a source vapor generation part 10 and a nozzle part 20, which receives a source vapor from the source vapor generation part 10 and discharges the source vapor (Figs. 1-2, [0044], includes the claimed “a vaporizing member spaced apart from the nozzle member and storing the deposition material”);
The nozzle part 20 may include a connection portion 24 into which the source vapor flows ([0049], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “a connecting member connecting the nozzle member and the vaporizing member, the connecting member through which the deposition material moves in a first direction“, and Fig. 1 shows the connection portion is much smaller than the nozzle part 20, includes the claimed “wherein the crucible comprises a floor surface that intersects the first direction and a has an inner width greater than an inner width of the connecting member“).
Claim 25: An apparatus for vapor jet deposition includes a source vapor generation part generating a source vapor (abstract, includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising”):
in case that a desired size of an organic thin film is increased, an effective usage rate of a source material may be reduced, and a required size of a vacuum chamber may be increased ([0004]), the nozzle part 20 may discharge the source vapor to a substrate 50 disposed on a stage 40 to form an organic thin film pattern 52 on the substrate 50 (Fig. 1, [0045], includes the claimed “a substrate holder disposed in a process chamber and fixing a substrate”),
a source vapor generation part 10 and a nozzle part 20, which receives a source vapor from the source vapor generation part 10 and discharges the source vapor ([0044], includes the claimed “a deposition source facing the substrate holder, wherein the deposition source including”):
Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, a nozzle par 20 includes a diffusion block 25, a nozzle plate 26, and a coupling member 27 disposed between the diffusion block 25 and the nozzle plate 26 ([0053], includes the claimed “a nozzle member including:”, the coupling member 27 or an upper portion of the nozzle plate 26 reads into the claimed “a body portion”);
While the source vapor is sprayed to an upper surface of the substrate 50 ([0051]), The nozzle plate 26 includes nozzles NZ spaced apart from each other in a first direction D1 (Fig. 3, [0054], 2nd sentence, the lower portion of the nozzles NZ reads into the claimed “a plurality of nozzles coupled to a first surface of the body portion and that eject a deposition material to an outside”; and the diffusion block 25 reads into the claimed “a crucible”);
a source vapor generation part 10 and a nozzle part 20, which receives a source vapor from the source vapor generation part 10 and discharges the source vapor (Figs. 2-1, [0044], includes the claimed “a vaporizing member spaced apart from the nozzle member and storing the deposition material”);
The nozzle part 20 may include a connection portion 24 into which the source vapor flows ([0049], 3rd sentence, includes the claimed “a connecting member connecting the nozzle member and the vaporizing member, the connecting member through which the deposition material moves in a first direction“, and Fig. 1 shows the connection portion is much smaller than the nozzle part 20, includes the claimed “wherein the crucible comprises a floor surface that intersects the first direction and a has an inner width greater than an inner width of the connecting member“).
‘096 further teaches that differences of thermal expansion coefficients between the coupling member 27 and the diffusion block 25 and between the coupling member 27 and the nozzle plate 26 are relatively small. Thus, damage or breakdown by thermal expansion difference may be reduced or prevented after the bonding process is performed ([0059]).
‘096 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1 and 25: (1A) (a body portion) including at least one first hole that is slot-shaped;
(a crucible) including at least one second hole overlapping the first hole and coupled to a second surface of the body portion by a fastening member inserted into the first hole and the second hole, the fastening member including a bolt, a nut, and a washer;
wherein a gap is formed between a side of the first hole and a side of the bolt in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
‘774 is an analogous art in the field of VACUUM PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), in manufacturing organic electroluminescence (EL) displays ([0012], same as ‘096, [0003]), the member supporting the shower plate may be rubbed according to the thermal expansion and thermal contraction of the shower plate, and particles or the like may be generated due to scratching of the member([0014]). ‘774 teaches that As shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 5, the slide plate 120 includes a recessed groove 125 formed at a portion in contact with the shower plate 105, that is, on a lower surface of the slide plate 120 ([0159]), The stepped bolt 121 penetrates through each of the through holes 125a. A diameter of the through hole 125a is set to be larger than a diameter of the stepped bolt 121. An outline shape of the through hole 125a corresponds to an elongated hole 131 (Fig. 3, [0167], i.e. slot-shaped), a long slide member (long washer) 132 is disposed in an opening of the elongated hole 131 on the suspending groove 130 side. The shaft portion 121b of the stepped bolt (support member) 121 penetrates through the long slide member 132 ([0180]) ,A slide member (washer) 133 and disc springs 134 and 135 are disposed to be stacked from above between the long slide member 132 and the bolt head 121a ([0183], washer 133 is considered a nut), even during the thermal expansion, a contact state therebetween is maintained without being deformed, and therefore a sealed state and a state of supporting a load of the shower plate 105 can be maintained ([0273], last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the coupling member 27 that bridge the thermal expansion difference between the nozzle plate 26 and the diffusion block 25 with the stepped bolt 121 with elongated hole 131, washers 132, 133, for its suitability to maintain contact during thermal expansion and contraction with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘096 further teaches the limitation of:
Claims 2 and 4: Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein each of the plurality of nozzles extends in a first direction, and the plurality of nozzles are spaced apart from each other along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction” of claim 2 and “wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is configured to spray the deposition material in the first direction, and each of the body portion and the crucible extends in the second direction” of claim 4.
Claims 8-9: The source vapor generation part 10 may include a heater 12 to generate the source vapor ([0048], includes the claimed “further comprising: a heating member adjacent to the vaporizing member and heating the vaporizing member” of claim 8 and “wherein the heating member surrounds at least a portion of the vaporizing member” of claim 9).
Claim 11: Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein the body portion and the plurality of nozzles are integral with each other”.
Claim 13: the nozzle plate 26 may include silicon ([0056], as both the nozzle plate 26 and the source vapor generation part 10 are being heated or near heater, the material has to be heat-resistant, includes the claimed “wherein each of the nozzle member and the vaporizing member includes a heat-resistant material”, or obvious to choose heat-resistant material).
Claim 14: the source vapor may include a precursor material for forming a metal layer ([0047], includes the clamed “wherein the deposition material includes a metal or an inorganic insulating material”, note this is an intended use of the apparatus).
The combination of ‘096 and ‘774 further teaches the limitation of:
Claim 3: the imported elongated hole 131 and through hole 125a from ‘774 to ’096 reads into the claimed “wherein a diameter of the first hole in the second direction is greater than a diameter of the second hole in the second direction” of claim 3, note the “a diameter” is considered as effective diameter as Applicants’ Fig. 4 shows DM1 being an slot, see also [0080].
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘096 and ‘774, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of JEONG (US 20160215384, hereafter ‘384).
The combination of ‘096 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 5: further comprising: an insulating member adjacent to the plurality of nozzles and coupled to a plurality of plates.
Claim 6: wherein the plurality of plates are coupled by a first fastening member penetrating the plurality of plates and a second fastening member disposed between the plurality of plates and surrounding the first fastening member.
‘384 is an analogous art in the field of DEPOSITION SOURCE INCLUDING REFLECTOR (title), vapor of a deposition material (for example, an organic material) ([0005], same as ‘625, [2]). ‘384 teaches that As shown in FIGS. 3 to 7, a reflector for a deposition source according to an exemplary embodiment may be disposed at an upper end of a frame 10 of the deposition source that receives predetermined organic particles. The reflector may be fin the form of a reflection plate 20 in which nozzle apertures are punched ([0038]), The double installation port 30 may be used to connect and arrange the reflection plate 20 and to include multiple plates 20a, 20b, and 20c. The double installation port 30 may be implemented in various forms, such as a structure having a plurality of engaging grooves 31 formed on an external portion of a body thereof ([0049]), By using the reflection plate 20 having the multi-plate structure, it may be possible to minimize influence due to external air upon vapor heating for a deposition process and at the same time and to achieve heat loss of the deposition source ([0052], clearly avoiding heat loss of the deposition source).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added multiple reflection plates with double installation port including engaging grooves of ‘384, near the nozzle plate 26 of ‘096, for the purpose of heat loss management, as taught by ‘384 ([0052]).
The combination of ‘096, ‘744, and ‘384 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 7: Figs. 4-7 of ‘384 shows the installation port 30 is a pin (includes the claimed “wherein the first fastening member has a pin shape”), it would have been obvious to have added nuts of ‘685 or washer of ‘744 for attachment between installation port 30 and reflection plates 20 (includes the claimed “and the second fastening member has a ring shape”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘096 and ‘774, as being applied to claim 9 rejection above, further in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 6074487, hereafter ‘487).
‘096 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 10: The source vapor generation part 10 may include a heater 12 to generate the source vapor ([0048], includes the claimed “wherein the heating member includes: a first heating member adjacent to a side surface of the vaporizing member”.)
The combination of ‘096 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10. and a second heating member adjacent to an upper surface of the vaporizing member.
‘487 is an analogous art in the field of Unit For Vaporizing Liquid Materials (title), to vaporize a volatile metal organic compound to be formed into a thin film or a liquid of the metal dissolved into a solvent (col. 1, lines 22-24). ‘487 teaches that The vaporizer 206 comprises a heating element 216 accommodated in the body 202, a side heater 217 installed to surround the heating element 216, a top heater 218 installed top of the heating element 216 and an external heater 215 installed to surround the body 202 and top surface of the top cover 203 to heat inside the body 202 (Fig. 13, col. 10, lines 17-23), vaporizing efficiency of the liquid material M can be further improved (col. 13, lines 61-62).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added heaters to surround the four sides of the crucible, as taught by ‘487, to the source vapor generation part 10 of ‘096, for the purpose of vaporizing efficiency, as taught by ‘487 (col. 13, lines 61-62).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘096 and ‘774, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of An et al. (US 20180037982, hereafter ‘982).
The combination of ‘096 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 12: wherein the body portion and the plurality of nozzles are formed independently of each other.
‘982 is an analogous art in the field of LINEAR EVAPORATION SOURCE AND DEPOSITION APPARATUS INCLUDING THE SAME (title). ‘982 teaches that The nozzle unit 340 includes a nozzle plate 341 above the exposed upper portion of the crucible 320 and at least one nozzle 342 protruding from the nozzle plate 341 ([0086], Fig. 2 shows the nozzle plate is independently formed than other parts).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated the nozzle plate 26 of ‘096 into an independent nozzle plate of ‘982. It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Note ‘982 also teaches a slot hole between two plates and nozzles are formed in the slot hole (Fig. 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
Applicants argue that the vaporizing member and connecting member should not be considered 112(f) because they denote definite structure.
This is found not persuasive.
The claim interpretation section explains what triggers 112(f) interpretation and list ways for Applicants to avoid 112(f) interpretations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 20120078055 (Fig. 4) teaches a crucible/nozzles 220, 250, connecting member 240, and a vaporizing member 210.
Applicants submitted IDS, CN 108004508 teaches self-expansion between crucible body and cover from thermal expansion (abstract). Applicants submitted IDS, KR 20150000327 teaches bolts between crucible and connection portion (various figures). US 20110165320 is cited for the crucible and connection portion direction relative to nozzles (various figures).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716