Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species (Group) C in the reply filed 12/29/2025 is acknowledged Claims 6, 8, 16 and 19 are withdrawn from further prosecution, and Claims 1-5, 7, 9-15, 17-18 and 20 are prosecuted given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
● In Claims 7 and 18, Lines 10, “a center portion” should be changed to read - - the center portion - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takai et al (US 11,199,670).
Regarding Claim 1, Takai (In Figs 1A-2B) discloses a pluggable network interface device (transceiver module assembly, Col 1, II. 16-17), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) comprising at least one heat-generating circuit package (14);
a heatsink (30) comprising a first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) and a second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins), the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), and the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package (14), (Col 8, II. 4-8), (Fig 2B); and
a housing (12) comprising:
an outer shell (12A/12D) defining an exterior of the housing (12), (Fig 2B);
a receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) disposed inside the outer shell (12A/12D), (Fig 2B); and
an aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) extending through a first side of the outer shell (12A/12D) from the exterior of the housing (12) into the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), (Fig 2B);
wherein a portion of the PCB (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) and the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A) of the heatsink (30) are both disposed inside the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), (Col 8, II. 4-8), (Fig 2B), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (30) extends from within the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) through the aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) arranging the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) of the heatsink (30) adjacent the exterior of the housing (12), (Fig 2B).
Regarding Claim 11, Takai (In Figs 1A-2B) discloses a pluggable network interface module (transceiver module assembly, Col 1, II. 16-17), comprising:
a split-shell housing (12) running a first length from a first end of the split-shell housing (12) to a second end of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B), the split-shell housing (12) comprising:
a first shell portion (12A) extending the first length and comprising a first cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 2B);
a second shell portion (12D) extending the first length and comprising a second cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 2B), wherein the first shell portion (12A) is joined to the second shell portion (12D), and wherein the first cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) and the second cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) together form a receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) for the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B); and
an aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) extending through a first side of the first shell portion (12A) from the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) to an exterior of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B);
a circuit substrate (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) disposed at least partially within the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), the circuit substrate (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) comprising at least one heat-generating element (14), (Fig 2B); and
a heatsink (30) comprising a first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) and a second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins), (Fig 2B), the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Fig 2B), and the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (14), (Fig 2B), wherein the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A) of the heatsink (30) is disposed inside the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), (Fig 2B), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (30) extends from within the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) through the aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) arranging the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) of the heatsink (30) adjacent the exterior of the first shell portion (12A) of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B).
Regarding Claim 17, Mousa (In Figs 1A-2B) discloses a pluggable network interface module (transceiver module assembly, Col 1, II. 16-17), comprising:
a split-shell housing (12) running a first length from a first end of the split-shell housing (12) to a second end of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B), the split-shell housing (12) comprising:
a first shell portion (12A) extending the first length and comprising a first cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 2B);
a second shell portion (12D) extending the first length and comprising a second cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 2B), wherein the first shell portion (12A) is joined to the second shell portion (12D), (Fig 2B), and wherein the first cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) and the second cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) together form a receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) for the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B); and
an aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) extending through a first side of the first shell portion (12A) from the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) to an exterior of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B);
a circuit substrate (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) disposed at least partially within the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), (Fig 2B), the circuit substrate (printed wiring board PB, Col 4, II. 8-10) comprising at least one heat-generating element (14), (Fig 2B);
a heatsink (30) comprising a first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) and a second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins), (Fig 2B), the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8), (Fig 2B), and the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (14), (Fig 2B), wherein the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) of the heatsink (30) is disposed inside the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D), (Fig 2B), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (30) extends from within the receiving cavity (cavity within 12A/12D) through the aperture (opening, Col 8, II. 4-8) arranging the first surface (surface of 30 attached to fins) of the heatsink (30) adjacent the exterior of the first shell portion (12A) of the split-shell housing (12), (Fig 2B), a spring (32) arranged in contact with the heatsink (30), the spring (32) maintaining the direct contact between the second surface (surface of 30 attached to 14A), (Col 8, II. 4-8) of the heatsink (30) and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mousa et al (US 2024/0126028).
Regarding Claim 1, Mousa (In Figs 1-2) discloses a pluggable network interface device (11), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (24) comprising at least one heat-generating circuit package (77);
a heatsink (33/44) comprising a first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) and a second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44), the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77), and the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package (77); and
a housing (20) comprising:
an outer shell (22) defining an exterior of the housing (20), (Fig 1);
a receiving cavity (55) disposed inside the outer shell (22); and
an aperture (55) extending through a first side of the outer shell (22) from the exterior of the housing (20) into the receiving cavity (55), (Fig 1);
wherein a portion of the PCB (24) and the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) of the heatsink (33/44) are both disposed inside the receiving cavity (55), (Fig 1), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (33/44) extends from within the receiving cavity through the aperture (55) arranging the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) of the heatsink (33/44) adjacent the exterior of the housing (20), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Mousa (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the pluggable network interface device (11) comprises an overall outermost height and an overall outermost width (Fig 1), and wherein the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) of the heatsink (33/34) is in a plane of a surface of the overall outermost height or under the plane of a surface of the overall outermost height (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Mousa (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the housing (20) further comprises: a first outer shell portion (22) extending a first length and comprising a first cavity (55) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 1), wherein the aperture (55) extends through the first side of the first outer shell portion (22), (Fig 1); and a second outer shell portion (23) extending the first length and comprising a second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) running along the portion of the first length (Fig 2), wherein the first outer shell portion (22) is joined to the second outer shell portion (23), (Fig 1), and wherein the first cavity (55) and the second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) together form the receiving cavity (55) for the housing (20), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Mousa (In Figs 1-2) discloses a pluggable network interface module (11), comprising:
a split-shell housing (20) running a first length from a first end of the split-shell housing (20) to a second end of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1), the split-shell housing (20) comprising:
a first shell portion (22) extending the first length and comprising a first cavity (55) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 1);
a second shell portion (23) extending the first length and comprising a second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 2), wherein the first shell portion (22) is joined to the second shell portion (23), and wherein the first cavity (55) and the second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) together form a receiving cavity (55) for the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 2); and
an aperture (55) extending through a first side of the first shell portion (22) from the receiving cavity (55) to an exterior of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1);
a circuit substrate (24) disposed at least partially within the receiving cavity (55), the circuit substrate (24) comprising at least one heat-generating element (77), (Fig 1); and
a heatsink (33/34) comprising a first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) and a second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44), (Fig 1), the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77), (Fig 1), and the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (77), (Fig 2), wherein the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) of the heatsink (33/34) is disposed inside the receiving cavity (55), (Fig 1), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (33/34) extends from within the receiving cavity (55) through the aperture (55) arranging the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) of the heatsink (33/34) adjacent the exterior of the first shell portion (22) of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mousa in view of Pirillis et al (US 2007/0183128).
Regarding Claim 2, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Mousa does not disclose wherein the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a compliant seal disposed between the heatsink and the housing, wherein the compliant seal surrounds a periphery of the aperture and the portion of the heatsink.
Instead, Pirillis (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the pluggable network interface device (5) further comprising: a compliant seal (20) disposed between the heatsink (10) and the housing (30), (Fig 1), wherein the compliant seal (20) surrounds a periphery of the aperture (38) and the portion of the heatsink (10), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis with the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a compliant seal disposed between the heatsink and the housing, and the compliant seal surrounding a periphery of the aperture and the portion of the heatsink to benefit from maintaining a seal between the heat sink and the receptacle, preventing radiation from escaping from the opening (Pirillis ¶ 8, II. 1-10).
Regarding Claim 3, Mousa in view of Pirillis discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant seal is compressed between the heatsink and the housing, and wherein the compliant seal forms an airtight seal between the exterior of the housing and the receiving cavity.
Instead, Pirillis (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the compliant seal (20) is compressed between the heatsink (10) and the housing (30), and wherein the compliant seal (20) forms an airtight seal between the exterior of the housing (30) and the receiving cavity (35), (¶ 7, II. 6-11), (¶ 10, II. 1-9), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis with the compliant seal being compressed between the heatsink and the housing, and the compliant seal forming an airtight seal between the exterior of the housing and the receiving cavity to benefit from maintaining a seal between the heat sink and the receptacle, preventing radiation from escaping from the opening (Pirillis ¶ 8, II. 1-10).
Regarding Claim 5, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Mousa does not disclose wherein the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining a clamp force and the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package.
Instead Pirillis (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the pluggable network interface device (5) further comprising: a spring (50) arranged in contact with the heatsink (10), the spring (50) maintaining a clamp force and the direct contact between the second surface (surface of 12) of the heatsink (10) and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package (electronic module, ¶ 20, II. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis with the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining a clamp force and the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package to benefit from dissipating heat from the electronic module to the heat sink (Pirillis ¶ 10, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 17, Mousa (In Figs 1-2) discloses a pluggable network interface module (11), comprising:
a split-shell housing (20) running a first length from a first end of the split-shell housing (20) to a second end of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1), the split-shell housing (20) comprising:
a first shell portion (22) extending the first length and comprising a first cavity (55) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 1);
a second shell portion (23) extending the first length and comprising a second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) running along a portion of the first length (Fig 1), wherein the first shell portion (22) is joined to the second shell portion (23), (Fig 1), and wherein the first cavity (55) and the second cavity (cavity accommodating 24) together form a receiving cavity (55) for the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1); and
an aperture (55) extending through a first side of the first shell portion (22) from the receiving cavity (55) to an exterior of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1);
a circuit substrate (24) disposed at least partially within the receiving cavity (55), (Fig 1), the circuit substrate (24) comprising at least one heat-generating element (77);
a heatsink (33/34) comprising a first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) and a second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) disposed opposite the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44), (Fig 1), the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) being offset a thickness from the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77), (Fig 1), and the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) arranged in direct contact with an outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (77), wherein the second surface (surface of 33 attached to 77) of the heatsink (33/34) is disposed inside the receiving cavity (55), (Fig 1), and wherein a portion of the heatsink (33/34) extends from within the receiving cavity (55) through the aperture (55) arranging the first surface (surface of 33 attached to 44) of the heatsink (33/34) adjacent the exterior of the first shell portion (22) of the split-shell housing (20), (Fig 1), however Mousa does not disclose wherein a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element.
Instead, Pirillis (In Fig 1) teaches wherein a spring (50) arranged in contact with the heatsink (10), the spring (50) maintaining the direct contact between the second surface (surface of 12) of the heatsink (10) and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (electronic module, ¶ 20, II. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis with a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element to benefit from dissipating heat from the electronic module to the heat sink (Pirillis ¶ 10, II. 1-9).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mousa in view of Pirillis and further in view of Bucher (US 2020/0015385).
Regarding Claim 4, Mousa in view of Pirillis discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant seal is a thermal putty material.
Instead, Bucher (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the compliant seal (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) is a thermal putty material (thermal interface material).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis and further with Bucher with the compliant seal is a thermal putty material to benefit from benefit from increasing thermal transfer efficiency between pluggable module and the heat sink assembly (Bucher ¶ 25, II. 11-14).
Claims 7, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mousa in view of Pirillis and further in view of Elenitoba-Johnson et al (US 2020/0137896).
Regarding Claim 7, Mousa in view of Pirillis discloses the limitations of Claim 5, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the spring is configured as a spring clip, comprising: a first leg comprising a first slot; a second leg comprising a second slot, the second leg disposed offset a width distance from the first leg; and a center spring contact portion disposed between and joining the first leg and the second leg, wherein the first slot of the spring clip engages with a first tab of the heatsink, wherein the second slot of the spring clip engages with a second tab of the heatsink, wherein the first tab of the heatsink and the second tab of the heatsink are arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink, wherein a center portion of the spring clip contacts the PCB, and wherein the center portion of the spring clip contacting the PCB maintains the second surface in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package.
Instead, Elenitoba-Johnson (In Figs 2, 3A-1, 4A) teaches wherein the spring (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) is configured as a spring clip (Fig 2), comprising: a first leg (212) comprising a first slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1); a second leg (212) comprising a second slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1), the second leg (212) disposed offset a width distance from the first leg (212), (Fig 2); and a center spring contact portion (202) disposed between and joining the first leg (212) and the second leg (212), (Fig 2), wherein the first slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) engages with a first tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304), (Fig 3A-1) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), wherein the second slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) engages with a second tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), wherein the first tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3) and the second tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3) are arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), (Fig 2), wherein a center portion (202) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) contacts the PCB (circuit board, ¶ 31, II. 1-7), and wherein the center portion (202) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) contacting the PCB (circuit board, ¶ 31, II. 1-7) maintains the second surface (surface of heat sink attached to component of circuit board), (Fig 4A) in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package (component on circuit board. ¶ 31, II. 1-7), (Fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Elenitoba-Johnson with the spring being configured as a spring clip, and comprising: a first leg comprising a first slot; a second leg comprising a second slot, the second leg disposed offset a width distance from the first leg; and a center spring contact portion disposed between and joining the first leg and the second leg, the first slot of the spring clip engaging with a first tab of the heatsink, and the second slot of the spring clip engaging with a second tab of the heatsink, and the first tab of the heatsink and the second tab of the heatsink arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink, with a center portion of the spring clip contacts the PCB, and the center portion of the spring clip contacting the PCB maintains the second surface in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating circuit package to benefit from strengthening and stiffening the printed circuit board assembly and reducing overall vibration while improving reliability, enabling higher performance through increased power density capabilities of devices (Elenitoba-Johnson ¶ 22, II. 4-8).
Regarding Claim 15, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 11, however Mousa does not disclose wherein the pluggable network interface module further comprising: a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element.
Instead, Elenitoba-Johnson (In Figs 2, 3A-1, 4A) teaches wherein the pluggable network interface module (4A) further comprising: a spring (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) arranged in contact with the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), the spring (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) maintaining the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3) and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (component on circuit board. ¶ 31, II. 1-7), (Fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Elenitoba-Johnson with the pluggable network interface module comprising: a spring arranged in contact with the heatsink, the spring maintaining the direct contact between the second surface of the heatsink and the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element to benefit from strengthening and stiffening the printed circuit board assembly and reducing overall vibration while improving reliability, enabling higher performance through increased power density capabilities of devices (Elenitoba-Johnson ¶ 22, II. 4-8).
Regarding Claim 18, Mousa in view of Pirillis discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the spring is configured as a spring clip, comprising: a first leg comprising a first slot; a second leg comprising a second slot, the second leg disposed offset a width distance from the first leg; and a center spring contact portion disposed between and joining the first leg and the second leg, wherein the first slot of the spring clip engages with a first tab of the heatsink, wherein the second slot of the spring clip engages with a second tab of the heatsink, wherein the first tab of the heatsink and the second tab of the heatsink are arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink, wherein a center portion of the spring clip contacts the circuit substrate, and wherein the center portion of the spring clip contacting the circuit substrate maintains the second surface in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element.
Instead, Elenitoba-Johnson (In Figs 2, 3A-1, 4A) teaches wherein the spring (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) is configured as a spring clip (Fig 2), comprising: a first leg (212) comprising a first slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1); a second leg (212) comprising a second slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1), the second leg (212) disposed offset a width distance from the first leg (212), (Fig 2); and a center spring contact portion (202) disposed between and joining the first leg (212) and the second leg (212), (Fig 2), wherein the first slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink), (Fig 3A-1) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) engages with a first tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304), (Fig 3A-1) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), wherein the second slot (slot in 304 engaging heat sink) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) engages with a second tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), wherein the first tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3) and the second tab (tab of heat sink engaging 304) of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3) are arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink (heat sink, ¶ 25, II. 1-3), (Fig 2), wherein a center portion (202) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) contacts the circuit substrate (circuit board, ¶ 31, II. 1-7), and wherein the center portion (202) of the spring clip (loading springs, ¶ 20, II. 15-17) contacting the circuit substrate (circuit board, ¶ 31, II. 1-7) maintains the second surface (surface of heat sink attached to component of circuit board), (Fig 4A) in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element (component on circuit board. ¶ 31, II. 1-7), (Fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Elenitoba-Johnson with the spring being configured as a spring clip, and comprising: a first leg comprising a first slot; a second leg comprising a second slot, the second leg disposed offset a width distance from the first leg; and a center spring contact portion disposed between and joining the first leg and the second leg, the first slot of the spring clip engaging with a first tab of the heatsink, and the second slot of the spring clip engaging with a second tab of the heatsink, and the first tab of the heatsink and the second tab of the heatsink arranged on opposite width sides of the heatsink, with a center portion of the spring clip contacts the circuit substrate, and the center portion of the spring clip contacting the circuit substrate maintains the second surface in direct contact with the outer surface of the at least one heat-generating element to benefit from strengthening and stiffening the printed circuit board assembly and reducing overall vibration while improving reliability, enabling higher performance through increased power density capabilities of devices (Elenitoba-Johnson ¶ 22, II. 4-8).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mousa in view of Bucher.
Regarding Claim 12, Mousa discloses the limitations of Claim 11, however Mousa does not disclose wherein the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a compliant gasket material disposed between the heatsink and the first shell portion of the split-shell housing, wherein the compliant gasket material surrounds a periphery of the aperture and the portion of the heatsink.
Instead, Bucher (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the pluggable network interface device (14) further comprising: a compliant gasket material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) disposed between the heatsink (18) and the first shell portion (42) of the split-shell housing (40), wherein the compliant gasket material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) surrounds a periphery of the aperture (48) and the portion of the heatsink (18).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Bucher with the pluggable network interface device further comprising: a compliant gasket material disposed between the heatsink and the first shell portion of the split-shell housing, and the compliant gasket material surrounds a periphery of the aperture and the portion of the heatsink to benefit from benefit from increasing thermal transfer efficiency between pluggable module and the heat sink assembly (Bucher ¶ 25, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 13, Mousa in view of Bucher discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant gasket material is compressed between the heatsink and the first shell portion of the split-shell housing, and wherein the compliant gasket material forms an airtight seal between the exterior of the split-shell housing and the receiving cavity.
Instead, Bucher (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the compliant gasket material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) is compressed between the heatsink (18) and the first shell portion (42) of the split-shell housing (40), and wherein the compliant gasket material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) forms an airtight seal between the exterior of the split-shell housing (40) and the receiving cavity (54), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Bucher with the compliant gasket material being compressed between the heatsink and the first shell portion of the split-shell housing, and wherein the compliant gasket material forming an airtight seal between the exterior of the split-shell housing and the receiving cavity to benefit from increasing thermal transfer efficiency between pluggable module and the heat sink assembly (Bucher ¶ 25, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 14, Mousa in view of Bucher discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant gasket material is a gel thermal interface material.
Instead Bucher (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the compliant gasket material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14) is a gel thermal interface material (thermal interface material, ¶ 25, II. 11-14).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Bucher with wherein the compliant gasket material is a gel thermal interface material to benefit from increasing thermal transfer efficiency between pluggable module and the heat sink assembly (Bucher ¶ 25, II. 11-14).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mousa in view of Pirillis and further in view of Qiao et al (US 11,283,218).
Regarding Claim 20, Mousa in view of Pirillis discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Mousa as modified does not disclose wherein the pluggable network interface module is an octal small form-factor pluggable (OSFP) device.
Instead, Qiao (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the pluggable network interface module (400) is an octal small form-factor pluggable (OSFP) device (Col 3, II. 10-11).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mousa with Pirillis and further with Qiao with the pluggable network interface module being an octal small form-factor pluggable (OSFP) device to benefit from double data capacity and bandwidth with achieving 8 high speed channel design using upper and lower metal shell to cover the PCB inside (Qiao Col 1, II. 23-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Electrical Shielding for a receptacle Connector Assembly US 2022/0302651, Pluggable Electronic Receptacle with Heat Sink Assembly US 2005/0195565, Cable Connector Assembly US 2022/0158390, Thermal Optimization for OSFP Optical Transceiver Modules US 2022/0003946. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835