DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/17/2025. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 9/17/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasai et al (US 20070143150 A1).
Claims 1, 16 and 18 Sasai teaches medical care assistance system comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware, wherein the one or more processors (par. 40; par. 63) are configured to:
capture a medical image; (par. 118- In the item "image capture condition", by adjusting a mouse pointer MP onto an image capture condition that matches examination information (FIG. 12) shown in the left examination information display area A3 in the left part and left-clicking the mouse, a colored square cursor KS2 is placed on a desired word or phrase)
acquire a medical image; (par. 42 a number of pieces of image data obtained by image capturing with a radiation ray in a department of radiology on patients in the patient list, and report data indicative of radiological reports corresponding to the number of pieces of image data are stored so as to be associated with the names of the patients in the patient list);
acquire additional information associated with the medical image; (par. 42-receiving report data) and
generate an input screen that is for a user to enter an examination result on the medical image and in which one or more items included in a display item group that is identified based on the additional information are arranged; and (par. 45- the doctor of the radiology department enters report data indicative of the radiological report in the input client 40 with reference to a screen on which image data to be stored in the diagnosis information DB 210 is visibly output; par. 46- input screen for reports)-
receive a selection operation for an item displayed on the input screen. (par. 45-48-inputting information/input support function).
Claims 1, 16, and 18 have been amended to recite: the additional information including at least one of information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a site of a subject, information on a lesion, and information on an endoscopic treatment performed in association with the medical image.
Sasai discloses the additional information including at least one of information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a site of a subject, information on a lesion, and information on an endoscopic treatment performed in association with the medical image. (acquiring information on a lesion (info on infarct/ infarctions which are brain lesions: par. 101- the whole network information is narrowed to information related to "male, skull, MRI, brain infarction;" Fig. 13; par. 161-163: when figures or images of characteristic cases are associated with words or phrases belonging to the item "diagnosis 1" and the phrase "lacunar infarct" is designated for the item "diagnosis 1" on the radiological report input screen G1, the figure or image (for example, FIG. 18) of the characteristic case associated with the "lacunar infarct" may be displayed or inserted in the image attaching area A7 or the like. Such a figure or image of the characteristic case may be displayed as a popup image when the mouse pointer MP is placed on the words "lacunar infarct".)
Claim 2. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine whether there is a possibility for a user to select an item based on the additional information; and not display an item with no possibility of being selected.(par. 162-163-attempting to edit/ or modify data)
Claim 3. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify the display item group to be displayed based on the additional information from a plurality of items that can be included in the input screen. (par. 138-139- in a view presented in the report creating area A4, a plurality of elements (words or phrases) belonging to a diagnosis are displayed. By employing such a configuration, a radiological report can be created with reference to a plurality of elements used as elements indicative of a diagnosis in past radiological reports.)
Claim 4. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
acquire information indicating whether treatment with an endoscopic treatment tool has been performed as the additional information; and not include items related to nonneoplastic diseases in the display item group when endoscopic treatment has been performed and include items related to nonneoplastic diseases in the display item group when endoscopic treatment has not been performed. (Fig. 14; par. 106- can select/enter modality and location information)
claim 5. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: acquire at least one of information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a site of a subject, and information on a lesion as the additional information; and identify the display item group based on at least one of the information indicating the observation mode, the information indicating the site of the subject, and the information on the lesion. (par. 149-indicia of subject site: report data indicative of radiological reports accumulated in a hospital in which the server 100 and the terminals 10 to 60 are connected to each other via the network NTW or the like in the hospital so that data can be transmitted/received has been provided in the foregoing embodiment, the invention is not limited to the embodiment. Alternatively, a configuration as shown in FIG. 17 may be also employed. In the configuration, a company for providing services of supporting entry of report data indicative of a radiological report or a specified hospital has the server 100.
Claim 6. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 2, further comprising: a recording device that records past examination results of a plurality of patients, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify the display item group based on the past examination results of the plurality of patients recorded in the recording device. (par. 48- entering report data indicative of a new radiological report from report data indicative of a number of radiological reports stored in the diagnosis information DB 210 as past knowledge; par. 86; par. 129-130)
Claim 7 Sasai teaches The medical care assistance system according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: extract items that satisfy a predetermined display condition from the past examination results of the plurality of patients recorded in the recording device and then include the extracted items in the display item group. (par. 46: using templates: server 100 generates information (input support information) for supporting an entry of report data indicative of a new radiological report by using report data indicative of radiological reports (existing radiological reports) already stored in the diagnosis information DB 210, extracts necessary information from the input support information, and provides the extracted information in the form of a template to the terminal 40; par. 111-118; par. 146-grouping wording commonly used together)
claim 9. Sasia teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: display one or more items that have not been selected by an operation from the user in a manner indicating that the items are already selected. (par.106-107- By selecting one option with respect to each of the attribute items, adjusting the mouse pointer MP onto the condition determination button DB, and left-clicking the mouse, an extraction condition for designating a combination of options (words or phrases) of the four attribute items can be determined)
claim 10. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: display a first display mode indicating that an item not selected by an operation from the user has been selected different from a second display mode indicating that an item selected by an operation from the user has been selected. (fig. 16; par.106-107- By selecting one option with respect to each of the attribute items, adjusting the mouse pointer MP onto the condition determination button DB, and left-clicking the mouse, an extraction condition for designating a combination of options (words or phrases) of the four attribute items can be determined; par. 126- By selecting a radio button provided on the left side of one of the two options VS with the mouse pointer MP, one option (in FIG. 16, "is found") can be designated);
claim 11 Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: arrange the one or more items to be displayed in a manner indicating that the items are already selected above items to be displayed in a manner indicating that the items are not being selected. (par. 127- The words or phrases designated for the four items and conclusive words or phrases designated by the report input unit 41 as described above are displayed in an area (designated word/phrase list area) SS at the bottom of the input support template TP2)
claim 12. Sasai teaches The medical care assistance system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: acquire information indicating a site of a subject as the additional information associated with the medical image; and display an item corresponding to the site information of the subject in a manner indicating that the item is already selected. (par. 127-128-: the words or phrases designated for the four items and conclusive words or phrases designated by the report input unit 41 as described above are displayed in an area (designated word/phrase list area) SS at the bottom of the input support template TP2. In this case, in response to an input from the report input unit 41, the words or phrases displayed in the designated word/phrase list area SS are input as elements constructing findings of a radiological report along the sentence model MD as a predetermined rule to a report constructing unit 131.)
claim 14. Sasai teaches The medical care assistance system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: acquire implementation information for a medical procedure in examination; and display an item corresponding to the implementation information for the medical procedure in a manner indicating that the item is already selected. (par. 126- By selecting a radio button provided on the left side of one of the two options VS with the mouse pointer MP, one option (in FIG. 16, "is found") can be designated. The number of options for conclusive words or phrases may be three or more. The other words constructing a natural sentence such as adjective and adverb may be also selectively designated.)
claim 15. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: display item information on selected items when the user selects one organ and enters a finding on an input screen and display at least a part of the item information on selected items when the user selects the same organ again and enters a different finding. (par. 161-163-modification of image data)
claim 17 Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: associate at least one of the information indicating the observation mode, the information indicating the site of the subject, the information on the lesion, and the information on the endoscopic treatment performed in association with the medical image as the additional information; and identify the display item group based on the additional information. (par. 101- the whole network information is narrowed to information related to "male, skull, MRI, brain infarction;" Fig. 13; par. 145- a search using a number of pieces of single report structured data stored in the input support DB 110 can be conducted. For example, when a keyword is simply entered from the input client 40, report data indicative of a radiological report including a word or phrase matching the keyword is detected by the support information retrieving unit 120 on the basis of the multitudes of pieces of single report structured data stored in the input support DB 110, and the detected report data indicative of the radiological report may be extracted from the diagnosis information DB 210 and visually output (displayed) in the input client 40.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasai et al (US 20070143150 A1) in view of Li ( US 20120300997 A1)
Claim 8. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 7, wherein, as explained in the rejection of claim 7. Sasai further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: acquire at least one of information indicating the observation mode, the information indicating the site of the subject, information on the lesion, and information on the endoscopic treatment as the additional information associated with the medical image; and include items that satisfy the predetermined display condition including information common to the examination information and the additional information in the display item group. (acquiring information on a lesion (info on infarct/ infarctions which are brain lesions: par. 101- the whole network information is narrowed to information related to "male, skull, MRI, brain infarction;" Fig. 13par. 161-163: when figures or images of characteristic cases are associated with words or phrases belonging to the item "diagnosis 1" and the phrase "lacunar infarct" is designated for the item "diagnosis 1" on the radiological report input screen G1, the figure or image (for example, FIG. 18) of the characteristic case associated with the "lacunar infarct" may be displayed or inserted in the image attaching area A7 or the like. Such a figure or image of the characteristic case may be displayed as a popup image when the mouse pointer MP is placed on the words "lacunar infarct".)
Sasai does not expressly disclose recording past/previous examination results information the recording device records past examination results including at least one of the information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a diagnosed site, information on a diagnosed lesion, and information on performed endoscopic treatment. Li teaches a system and method wherein recording past/previous examination results information the recording device records past examination results including at least one of the information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a diagnosed site, information on a diagnosed lesion, and information on performed endoscopic treatment. (par. 56-based on the patient ID, the related information determining means 44 searches through the pathological examination information database 12 and the endoscopic examination information database 14 to identify the pathological examination information and the endoscopic examination information corresponding to the patient ID and relating to the obtained body part.; par. 57-59-checking for the previous examination reports) At the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system/method of Sasai with the teaching of Li to include recording and access to past examination information results for a patient. One would have been motivated to include this feature to have a point of comparison for evaluating the progression of a condition in the patient.
claim 13. Sasai teaches the medical care assistance system according to claim 9, as explained in the rejection of claim 9. Sasai does not expressly disclose, but Lit teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to: acquire a past examination result for a patient who has undergone examination, the past examination result being obtained when the patient underwent the same type of examination in the past; and display an item corresponding to the examination result in the past in a manner indicating that the item is already selected. (par. 56-based on the patient ID, the related information determining means 44 searches through the pathological examination information database 12 and the endoscopic examination information database 14 to identify the pathological examination information and the endoscopic examination information corresponding to the patient ID and relating to the obtained body part.; par. 57-59-checking for the previous examination reports) At the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system/method of Sasai with the teaching of Li to include recording and access to past examination information results for a patient. One would have been motivated to include this feature to have a point of comparison for evaluating the progression of a condition in the patient.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/25 have been fully considered.
(A) Applicant argues the rejections of claims 8 and 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been overcome in light of the claim amendments.
In response, claim rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amended claim language.
(B) Applicant argues that Sasai does not disclose acquiring additional information associated with the medical information.
In response, the examiner disagrees. The Sasai reference discloses acquiring the image and also additional information including information on the lesions. The additional information includes at least one of information indicating an observation mode, information indicating a site of a subject, information on a lesion, and information on an endoscopic treatment performed in association with the medical image. (acquiring information on a lesion (info on infarct/ infarctions which are brain lesions: par. 101- the whole network information is narrowed to information related to "male, skull, MRI, brain infarction;" Fig. 13; par. 161-163: when figures or images of characteristic cases are associated with words or phrases belonging to the item "diagnosis 1" and the phrase "lacunar infarct" is designated for the item "diagnosis 1" on the radiological report input screen G1, the figure or image (for example, FIG. 18) of the characteristic case associated with the "lacunar infarct" may be displayed or inserted in the image attaching area A7 or the like. Such a figure or image of the characteristic case may be displayed as a popup image when the mouse pointer MP is placed on the words "lacunar infarct".) It should be noted that the claim language requires that only one of the options be included to meet the limitation. (information includes at least on of …) Additional reference citations have been provided to address the newly added claim language.
Additionally, new grounds of rejection have been provided to address the amended features of claims 8 and 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RACHEL L. PORTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/Rachel L. Porter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684