DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: stationary engagement member in claim 4 (corresponding structure includes a bristles, sponge, or mop, see page 6 lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of cleaning attachments" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 line 10 requires “a cleaning attachment” and it is unclear whether the claim requires just one cleaning attachment or a plurality of cleaning attachments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, US 2004/0146333 in view of CN 114798541 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube defining a base channel in the base tube (hollowed rod 34), the base channel being open on a first end and a second end of the base tube (Figure 4); an extension tube being removably couplable to the second end of the base tube (hollowed rod 36, coupled at 38; see Figure 4), the extension tube defining an extension channel in the extension tube (see Figure 4, paragraph [0030]), the extension channel being open on a proximal end and a distal end of the extension tube with respect to the base tube (Figure 4), the extension channel being in fluid communication with the base channel when the extension tube is coupled to the second end of the base tube (fluid communication via 20, paragraph [0037]); a cleaning attachment being removably couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (24, 24a, 24b; paragraph [0040]). Regarding claim 2, the cleaning attachment comprises a connector (18, see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0036] and [0048]; includes bosses 114 and 116, paragraph [0043] and Figure 7), the connector is operable to releasably couple the cleaning attachment to the extension tube (Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0036] and [0048]). Regarding claim 6, the cleaning attachment is a wiper attachment comprising a wiper blade (266). Regarding claim 7, the wiper blade tapers to an edge (unlabeled, see Figures 4-5), the wiper blade comprising a resiliently compressible material such that the wiper blade is configured to conform to a surface when the edge of the wiper blade is pressed against the surface (blade 266 is a squeegee made of flexible rubber, see paragraph [0050]). Regarding claim 13, there is a power source being electrically coupled to the device (50), the power source comprises a battery (paragraph [0039]). Regarding claim 16, there is a tube valve being coupled to the base tube and movable between an open position and a closed position (274), the tube valve being configured to permit the fluid to travel through the base channel only when the tube valve is in the open position (paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
Fu does not disclose that there is a camera mounted to the extension tube with a processor operatively coupled to the camera.
CN 114798541 discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube and extension tube (two sections of telescopic rod 1); a cleaning attachment couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (roller 4); a camera being mounted to the extension tube (5, Figure 1), the camera being oriented to face a selected cleaning attachment when the cleaning attachment is coupled to the distal end of the extension tube (Figure 1); and a processor being operatively coupled to the camera (controller 7, see English translation). CN 114798541 teaches that the camera presents a picture on a display screen so the user can conveniently observe and control any cleaning being done in situations where the cleaning attachment is otherwise out of view to the operator, such as cleaning narrow or hard to reach spaces (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washing apparatus of Fu so that it further includes a camera mounted to the extension tube so that it faces a cleaning attachment, with a processor being coupled to the camera, as taught by CN 114798541, so that the operator can observe the being done by the cleaning attachment in regions that are physically inaccessible to the operator.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, US 2004/0146333 and CN 114798541 (see English translation) as applied to claim 2, in view of Eden, US 4,547,966.
Fu and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the connector comprises an attachment set screw. In Fu, the connector comprises bosses (114, 116; paragraph [0043] and Figure 7).
Eden teaches a tool attachment (24) that is removably couplable to a distal end of an extension (32, Figure 2), the attachment connects to a distal end of an extension via a connector (36, Figure 2) to releasably couple the attachment to a distal end of the extension (column 2 lines 37-41). Regarding claim 3, the connector comprises a set screw (column 2 lines 37-41).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the bosses (connector) of Fun and CN 114798541 for ones that are set screws, as taught by Eden, in order to conveniently releasably couple the attachment to a distal end of the extension.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, US 2004/0146333 and CN 114798541 (see English translation).
Fu and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously mentioned above. Regarding claim 14, CN 114798541 teaches a processor (controller, 7) that is configured to be in wireless communication with a remote electronic device (6, see English translation), the processor is programmed and configured to receive commands from the remote electronic device (see English translation), the processor being programmed such that it is configured to selectively transmit images from the camera to the remote electronic device (real-time operation, see English translation). CN 114798541 fails to mention that there is a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor, however it would be inherent that there is a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor so that the images from the camera can be transmitted wirelessly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fu and CN 114798541 to further include a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor that is in wireless communication with a remote electronic device as it is inherent for a transceiver to electronically receive a signal to perform wireless communication.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, US 2004/0146333 and CN 114798541 (see English translation) as applied to claim 14, in view of Dayton et al., US 2010/0288520.
Fu and CN 114798541 disclose all elements mentioned above. CN 114798541 has a remote electronic device that displays images from the camera (6, see English translation), the remote electronic device is coupled to the base tube (Figure 1), but there is not a specific device holder discussed.
Regarding claim 15, Dayton et al. teach a system that includes a washing apparatus having cleaning attachments (Figure 2) coupled to an extending base tube (330, Figure 3; or 402, Figure 4; or 502, Figure 5; or 1302 Figure 13), the base tube receives remote electronic devices (1314 and 1370, Figure 13; described as “functional modules”, includes camera with remote viewing screen, paragraph [0032]) by a device holder that is coupled to the base tube (unlabeled, structure on rear of 1370 in Figure 13), the device holder shaped such that it is configured for holding the remote electronic device (Figure 13), the device holder comprises a panel and a pair of opposed clips (unlabeled, Figure 13), the pair of opposed clips being coupled to the panel and are configured to hold the remote electronic device therebetween via snap fit (Figure 13; second to last sentence of paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the remote electronic device of Fu and CN 114798541 so that it is held by a panel and opposed clips snap fit to the base tube, as taught by Dayton et al., in order to secure and support the display of the remote electronic device to the base tube.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 2009/0025164 in view of CN 114798541 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube defining a base channel in the base tube (22), the base channel being open on a first end and a second end of the base tube (Figure 1, paragraph [0009]); an extension tube being removably couplable to the second end of the base tube (62; see Figure 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension tube defining an extension channel in the extension tube (see Figure 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension channel being open on a proximal end and a distal end of the extension tube with respect to the base tube (Figures 1 and 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension channel being in fluid communication with the base channel when the extension tube is coupled to the second end of the base tube (paragraphs [0012], [0014]); a cleaning attachment being removably couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (24, paragraph [0010]). Regarding claim 2, the cleaning attachment comprises a connector (40), the connector is operable to releasably couple the cleaning attachment to the extension tube (Figure 1, paragraph [0010]). Regarding claim 4, the cleaning attachment is a stationary scrubber attachment comprising a head (42, 44; 30) and a stationary engagement member (26, 28; 70), the stationary engagement member being mounted to an exterior of the head (see Figures 1 and 4), the head defining a chamber in the head (space within shroud 68), the chamber having an inlet and an outlet (Figure 1), the inlet being in fluid communication with the extension channel when the stationary scrubber attachment is coupled to the distal end of the extension tube (paragraph [0013]), the inlet being in fluid communication with the base channel when the stationary scrubber attachment is coupled to the second end of the base tube (Figure 1), the outlet being positioned adjacent to the stationary engagement member (Figure 1). Regarding claim 5, the stationary engagement member comprises a plurality of stationary bristles (70, Figure 4; in that they are mounted in a stationary manner). Regarding claim 16, there is a tube valve being coupled to the base tube and movable between an open position and a closed position (20), the tube valve being configured to permit the fluid to travel through the base channel only when the tube valve is in the open position (paragraphs [0004], [0012]; Figure 1).
Kim does not disclose that there is a camera mounted to the extension tube with a processor operatively coupled to the camera.
CN 114798541 discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube and extension tube (two sections of telescopic rod 1); a cleaning attachment couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (roller 4); a camera being mounted to the extension tube (5, Figure 1), the camera being oriented to face a selected cleaning attachment when the cleaning attachment is coupled to the distal end of the extension tube (Figure 1); and a processor being operatively coupled to the camera (controller 7, see English translation). CN 114798541 teaches that the camera presents a picture on a display screen so the user can conveniently observe and control any cleaning being done in situations where the cleaning attachment is otherwise out of view to the operator, such as cleaning narrow or hard to reach spaces (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washing apparatus of Kim so that it further includes a camera mounted to the extension tube so that it faces a cleaning attachment, with a processor being coupled to the camera, as taught by CN 114798541, so that the operator can observe the being done by the cleaning attachment in regions that are physically inaccessible to the operator.
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalton US 6,862,769 in view of Kim, US 2009/0025164 and in view of CN 114798541 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Dalton discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube defining a base channel in the base tube (portion of 12 left of 20 as oriented in Figure 1), the base channel being open on a first end and a second end of the base tube (Figures 1-2, column 2 lines 25-37); and a cleaning attachment being removably couplable to the distal end of the tube (24, removably coupled as it is not integrally formed and attached via an unlabeled set screw at 16 that is shown in Figures 1 and 4-6). Regarding claim 8, the cleaning attachment is a rotating scrubber attachment comprising a housing (24) defining a cavity in the housing (Figure 5), the cavity being in fluid communication with a channel when the rotary scrubber attachment is coupled to the distal end of the extension tube (Figure 5; column 2 lines 38-54), the cavity being in fluid communication with the base channel when the rotating scrubber attachment is coupled to the second end of the base tube (column 2 lines 25-54), the cavity having an opening opposite the tube (at 44, Figure 5) when the rotating scrubber attachment is coupled to the extension tube (Figure 5); a roller being rotatably mounted in the housing (42) and protruding through the opening (Figure 5), the roller being positioned such that the roller is configured to be urged to rotate by the fluid moving from the tube through the cavity of the housing (column 2 line 55 to column 3 line 2); and a rotating engagement member being mounted to the roller (42, 50, 52). Regarding claim 9, the rotating engagement member comprises a plurality of rotating bristles (52). Regarding claim 10, the rotating scrubber attachment member comprises a plurality of fins being coupled to and radially spaced around the roller (50; Figure 5), the plurality of fins being positioned such that the plurality of fins urges the rollers to rotate when impacted by the fluid moving from the tube through the cavity of the housing (Figure 5; column 2 line 64 to column 3 line 2). Regarding claim 16, there is a tube valve being coupled to the base tube and movable between an open position and a closed position (54, 60; Figure 3), the tube valve being configured to permit the fluid to travel through the base channel only when the tube valve is in the open position (column 3 lines 9-19).
Dalton discloses one elongated base tube (12) and fails to disclose an extension tube being removably couplable to the second end of the base tube wherein the extension tube defining an extension channel in the extension tube, the extension channel being open on a proximal end and a distal end of the extension tube with respect to the base tube, the extension channel being in fluid communication with the base channel when the extension tube is coupled to the second end of the base tube. Dalton, Jr. also does not disclose that there is a camera mounted to the extension tube with a processor operatively coupled to the camera.
Kim teaches a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube defining a base channel in the base tube (22), the base channel being open on a first end and a second end of the base tube (Figure 1, paragraph [0009]); an extension tube being removably couplable to the second end of the base tube (62; see Figure 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension tube defining an extension channel in the extension tube (see Figure 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension channel being open on a proximal end and a distal end of the extension tube with respect to the base tube (Figures 1 and 4, paragraph [0012]), the extension channel being in fluid communication with the base channel when the extension tube is coupled to the second end of the base tube (paragraphs [0012], [0014]); and a cleaning attachment being removably couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (24, paragraph [0010]). Notably regarding claim 1, Kim teaches that the extension member (62, Figure 4) is connected to the base tube (22) in order to extend the length of the tube (paragraph [0012]), the extension member using the same connectors as that of the base tube to connect to the cleaning attachment (paragraph [0012]).
CN 114798541 discloses a washing apparatus comprising: a base tube and extension tube (two sections of telescopic rod 1); a cleaning attachment couplable to the distal end of the extension tube (roller 4); a camera being mounted to the extension tube (5, Figure 1), the camera being oriented to face a selected cleaning attachment when the cleaning attachment is coupled to the distal end of the extension tube (Figure 1); and a processor being operatively coupled to the camera (controller 7, see English translation). CN 114798541 teaches that the camera presents a picture on a display screen so the user can conveniently observe and control any cleaning being done in situations where the cleaning attachment is otherwise out of view to the operator, such as cleaning narrow or hard to reach spaces (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base tube of Dalton to include an extension tube that is couplable to the second end of the base tube and defining an extension channel, the channel open to the extension tube and being in fluid communication when the extension tube is coupled to the base tube, as taught by Kim, in order to extend the length of the washing apparatus when cleaning difficult to reach areas and further it would have been obvious to modify the washing apparatus of Dalton and Kim so that it further includes a camera mounted to the extension tube so that it faces a cleaning attachment, with a processor being coupled to the camera, as taught by CN 114798541, so that the operator can observe the being done by the cleaning attachment in regions that are physically inaccessible to the operator.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalton, US 6,862,769, Kim, US 2009/0025164, and CN 114798541 (see English translation) as applied to claim 1, in view of Skarzynski, US 9,320,347.
Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the extension tube has a hooked portion, the hooked portion extends from the elongated portion to the distal portion of the extension tube. Dalton is intended for use as vehicle washing device (Title), the extension tube taught by Kim may have a bend and is selected for a contemplated task (paragraph [0012]), and CN 114798541 shows that the camera is based at a bend of an extension tube facing the cleaning attachment (see Figure 1). None of Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 state that the bend is a hooked portion.
Regarding claim 11, Skarzynski teach a vehicle washing apparatus (10, Abstract, for RV slide outs), the apparatus includes an extension tube that has an elongated portion and a hooked portion (elongated portion is a majority of 11, the hook being formed by the overall shape of the portion of 11 at 25, 12, and 13 as shown in Figure 2) so that the extension allows a user to manipulate the apparatus when cleaning difficult to reach areas (such as the top of a RV slide-out, Figure 2, column 1 lines 43-59).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape profile of the extension tube of Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 so that it is hooked in shape and includes a hooked portion extending from the elongated portion to the distal end of the extension tube, as taught by Skarzynski, as this shape is advantageous in cleaning difficult to reach areas.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalton, US 6,862,769, Kim, US 2009/0025164, and CN 114798541 (see English translation) as applied to claim 1, in view of Gibson, US 11,420,235.
Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that there is a light source operatively coupled to the processor, the light source oriented to face the selected cleaning attachment when it is coupled to the distal end of the extension tool.
Regarding claim 12, Gibson teaches a washing apparatus comprising an extension tube (12) with a removable cleaning attachment (66, Figure 3), the apparatus further comprising a light source (82) that is oriented to face a cleaning attachment when it is coupled to the extension tool (Figure 1). The light source is electrically and operatively connected to a power supply (battery 86, column 3 lines 54-63) and illuminates a surface while cleaning (column 4 lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor and extension tube of Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 so it is operatively connected to a light source oriented to face the cleaning attachment, as taught by Gibson, so that there is a light illuminating the surface while cleaning.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalton, US 6,862,769, Kim, US 2009/0025164, and CN 114798541 (see English translation).
Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously mentioned above, however fail to disclose that there is a pair of cleaning fluid containers mounted to the base tube and a pair of cleaning fluid valves. In Dalton, there is a single fluid container mounted to the base tube (64, Figure 1), the fluid container is in fluid communication with the base channel (Figures 2-3), the fluid container is configured to contain cleaning fluid (soap, column 3 lines 20-25); and a cleaning fluid valve is coupled to an associated cleaning fluid container (66, Figures 2-3), each cleaning fluid valve being configured to permit the cleaning fluid to move from the container to the base channel only when the cleaning fluid valve is in the open position (column 3 lines 20-25). Again, Dalton does not disclose that there is a pair of fluid containers and a pair of fluid valves, just one fluid container and one fluid valve.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dalton, Kim, and CN 114798541 so that instead of one fluid container and one fluid valve, that there is instead a pair of cleaning fluid containers and a pair of cleaning fluid valves in order to introduce additional cleaning fluids depending on the washing operation and would not produce a new or unexpected result, as MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) discusses that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 2009/0025164 and CN 114798541 (see English translation) as applied to claim 1, in view of Simpson, US 1,526,384.
Kim and CN 114798541 disclose all elements previously discussed above. Kim discloses that there is a tube coupler that is coupled to the extension tube (threaded coupling 60, Figure 4), the tube coupler being operable to releasably couple the extension tube to the second end of the base tube (paragraph [0012]). Kim fails to disclose that the tube coupler comprises a set screw.
Regarding claim 19, Simpson teaches a washing apparatus where there is a base tube (14) with a tubular collar (19), to secure the base tube with the outer tube a set screw is used (20, Figure 1 and 6) in order to secure the two tubes at any position (page 1 lines 67-73).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the threaded coupling of the base tube and extension tube with a fastener such as a set screw, as taught by Simpson, as an equivalent fastener that can secure tubes in an adjustable manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention of claims 18 or 20. In particular, none of the prior art teaches the handle comprising an inner member and an outer member, the outer member being movable with respect to the inner member to clamp the inner member against the base tube, the outer member having internal threads which engage external threads of the inner member such that the outer member moves linearly with respect to the inner member when rotated with respect to the inner member, the inner member comprising clamping fins which the outer member urges to clamp against the base tube when the outer member is urged against the clamping fins.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg