DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara (US2020/0069149) in view of Konosu (US2013/0222831).
Regarding claim 1, Yanagihara discloses the image display device comprising: a plurality of circuits configured to process image signals received from an endoscope (wireless endoscope 1, various integrated circuit [0037]), and display an endoscope image on a display (monitor 40 [0043]); a battery configured to supply electric power to the plurality of circuits (individual circuit portions, which are mounted on the substrate 16 and connected to the battery 24c [0039]); and a processor comprising hardware (control portion 12), wherein the processor switches is configured to: switch a control mode in which the electric power is supplied to the plurality of circuits (wireless endoscope can switch between normal operation mode and plurality of standby modes, changing power consumption [0030]), from a normal mode of a case where the image display device receives the image signals (normal operation mode supplies electric power from the battery 24 to all the circuit portion [0049]; this would include imaging and displaying [0035,0043-0044]), to any one of a plurality of standby modes in which power consumption is set to be lower than in the normal mode (standby mode A and B [0049]; power consumption is reduced in standby mode A compared to normal operation [0070]; “n” number of standby modes possible, as seen in Fig. 10). Yanagihara fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to switch the control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of a use schedule, to a second standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance.
In a similar field of endeavor, Konosu teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising a processor and a plurality of circuits (Fig. 2: controller 3 comprising CPU 201 is formed from hardware), wherein the processor is configured to switch a control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of a use schedule, to a second standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance (setting the time period for the apparatus to switch to power saving state may be settable by the user using the UI screen [0096]; example provided demonstrated the power saving state shift time set by the user may be between 08:00-22:00 [0110], demonstrating that a schedule, with a start and end time, may be set for the apparatus to place the apparatus in power saving state, thus also setting a schedule when the apparatus is not in power saving state, which would be the times not selected for the power saving state). In view of Konosu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the method in which the processor is capable of switching power mode based on scheduled times as taught by Konosu, to the device of Yanagihara, as it reduces unnecessary power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 1. Yanagihara further discloses the device comprising: a battery monitor configured to acquire a remaining capacity of the battery (battery level is monitored as a mode transition condition [0114]), wherein the processor is configured to switch the control mode to the third standby mode, in a case where the remaining capacity is less than a first remaining capacity (Fig. 16: if battery level is less than threshold checked in Step S21, transition to standby mode 5 in Step S25). Yanagihara teaches wherein if a battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity, to switch the control mode to a standby mode that consumes even less power. Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, would teach wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a standby mode that consumes even less power than the current standby mode when the battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity.
Regarding claim 6, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 1. Yanagihara further discloses wherein the processor is configured to cancel pairing with the endoscope, in a case of being paired with the endoscope and in a case where the control mode is any one of the plurality of standby modes for a period longer than a second amount of time (if a predetermined period of time has elapsed with the wireless endoscope being left out of use, operation mode transfer to standby B mode, in which the supply of electric power to the wireless communication portion is stopped and the paired state is canceled, significantly reducing power consumption [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 6. Yanagihara further discloses wherein the processor is configured to interrupt a power supply from the battery, in a case where the control mode is any one of the plurality of standby modes for a period longer than a third amount of time (device in standby mode A may be switched to standby mode B, wherein the power from the battery is interrupted to be significantly suppressed compared to the standby mode A, when a predetermined period of time has elapsed with insertion portion 11 being left out of use after launch of standby mode A [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Yanagihara discloses a method for operating an image display device, the method comprising: switching a control mode in which a battery supplies electric power to a plurality of circuits that process image signals received from an endoscope and display an endoscope image (battery 24c [0039] connected to circuit portions; video output portion 36 converts inputted captured image to a format that can be displayed on monitor 40 [0043]), from a normal mode in a case of receiving the image signals (normal operation mode supplies electric power from the battery 24 to all the circuit portion [0049]; this would include imaging and displaying [0035,0043-0044]), to any one of a plurality of standby modes in which power consumption is set to be lower than in the normal mode (standby mode A and B [0049]; power consumption is reduced in standby mode A compared to normal operation [0070]; “n” number of standby modes possible, as seen in Fig. 10). Yanagihara fails to disclose the method comprising switching the control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of use schedule, to a second standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance.
In a similar field of endeavor, Konosu teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising a processor and a plurality of circuits (Fig. 2: controller 3 comprising CPU 201 is formed from hardware), wherein the processor is configured to switch a control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of a use schedule, to a second standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance (setting the time period for the apparatus to switch to power saving state may be settable by the user using the UI screen [0096]; example provided demonstrated the power saving state shift time set by the user may be between 08:00-22:00 [0110], demonstrating that a schedule, with a start and end time, may be set for the apparatus to place the apparatus in power saving state, thus also setting a schedule when the apparatus is not in power saving state, which would be the times not selected for the power saving state). In view of Konosu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the method in which the processor is capable of switching power mode based on scheduled times as taught by Konosu, to the device of Yanagihara, as it reduces unnecessary power consumption.
Regarding claim 9, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method for operating an image display device according to claim 8. Yanagihara further discloses the method comprising: switching the control mode to the third standby mode, in a case where the remaining capacity is less than a first remaining capacity (Fig. 16: if battery level is less than threshold checked in Step S21, transition to standby mode 5 in Step S25). Yanagihara teaches wherein if a battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity, to switch the control mode to a standby mode that consumes even less power. Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, would teach wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a standby mode that consumes even less power than the current standby mode when the battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity.
Regarding claim 13, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method for operating an image display device according to claim 8. Yanagihara further discloses the method comprising: cancelling pairing with the endoscope, in a case where the control mode is any one of the plurality of standby modes for a period longer than a second amount of time (if a predetermined period of time has elapsed with the wireless endoscope being left out of use, operation mode transfer to standby B mode, in which the supply of electric power to the wireless communication portion is stopped and the paired state is canceled, significantly reducing power consumption [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method for operating an image display device according to claim 8. Yanagihara further disclose the method comprising: interrupting a power supply, in a case where the control mode is any one of the plurality of standby modes for a period longer than a third amount of time (device in standby mode A may be switched to standby mode B, wherein the power from the battery is interrupted to be significantly suppressed compared to the standby mode A, when a predetermined period of time has elapsed with insertion portion 11 being left out of use after launch of standby mode A [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Yanagihara discloses an endoscope system comprising: an endoscope (wireless endoscope 1); and an image display device (cart 45 comprises monitor 40 [0034] and processor 30), wherein the image display device comprises: a communication unit configured to receive image signals from the endoscope (wireless communication portion 33 [0040]); a plurality of circuits that include an image processing unit configured to process the image signals (cart 45 comprises electronic devices, which comprise a plurality of circuits; Fig. 4: image processing portion 35[0035]), and a display configured to display an endoscope image which the image processing unit outputs (monitor 40 [0043]); a battery configured to supply electric power to the plurality of circuits (individual circuit portions, which are mounted on the substrate 16 and connected to battery 24c [0039]); and a processor comprising hardware, the processor is configured to: switch a control mode in which the electric power is supplied to the plurality of circuits (wireless endoscope can switch between normal operation mode and plurality of standby modes, changing power consumption [0030]), from a normal mode of a case where the image display device receives the image signals (normal operation mode supplies electric power from the battery 24 to all the circuit portion [0049]; this would include imaging and displaying [0035,0043-0044]), to any one of a plurality of standby modes in which power consumption is set to be lower than in the normal mode (standby mode A and B [0049]; power consumption is reduced in standby mode A compared to normal operation [0070]; “n” number of standby modes possible, as seen in Fig. 10). Yanagihara fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to switch the control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of use schedule, to a second standby mode in which power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance.
In a similar field of endeavor, Konosu teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising a processor and a plurality of circuits (Fig. 2: controller 3 comprising CPU 201 is formed from hardware), wherein the processor is configured to switch a control mode, in a case where a clock time is out of a period of a use schedule, to a second standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in a first standby mode of a case where the clock time is within the period of the use schedule, wherein the use schedule includes a use start time and a use end time and is set by a plurality of users selecting a time zone in which no use is scheduled in advance (setting the time period for the apparatus to switch to power saving state may be settable by the user using the UI screen [0096]; example provided demonstrated the power saving state shift time set by the user may be between 08:00-22:00 [0110], demonstrating that a schedule, with a start and end time, may be set for the apparatus to place the apparatus in power saving state, thus also setting a schedule when the apparatus is not in power saving state, which would be the times not selected for the power saving state). In view of Konosu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the method in which the processor is capable of switching power mode based on scheduled times as taught by Konosu, to the device of Yanagihara, as it reduces unnecessary power consumption.
Regarding claim 16, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the endoscope system according to claim 15. Yanagihara further discloses the device comprising: a battery monitor configured to acquire a remaining capacity of the battery (battery level is monitored as a mode transition condition [0114]), wherein the processor switches the control mode to the third standby mode, in a case where the remaining capacity is less than a first remaining capacity (Fig. 16: if battery level is less than threshold checked in Step S21, transition to standby mode 5 in Step S25). Yanagihara teaches wherein if a battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity, to switch the control mode to a standby mode that consumes even less power. Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, would teach wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a standby mode that consumes even less power than the current standby mode when the battery capacity is less than a first remaining capacity.
Regarding claim 20, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the endoscope system according to claim 15. Yanagihara further discloses wherein the processor interrupts a power supply, in a case where the control mode is any one of the plurality of standby modes for a period longer than a third amount of time (device in standby mode A may be switched to standby mode B, wherein the power from the battery is interrupted to be significantly suppressed compared to the standby mode A, when a predetermined period of time has elapsed with insertion portion 11 being left out of use after launch of standby mode A [0062]).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara in view of Konosu and Ferlitsch et al. (US2011/0296213).
Regarding claim 3, Yangihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 1, however, Yanagihara and Konosu fail to disclose wherein the use schedule includes a date of use. In a similar field of endeavor, Ferlitsch teaches a method and system for managing power in an environment based on individual person’s schedule, further teaching wherein the schedule includes the certain times and dates, wherein if the current time and date is within a scheduled period, a device may be placed in a reduced power state (power manager 130 under processor controls maintains schedule database for individual workers, worker schedule includes work hours and days of the week [0004, 0042-0043], devices such as PC may be put into standby or deep sleep state, more generally scheduled event list includes for each scheduled event, an event start time, an event end time and power state adjustment instructions [0043]). In view of Ferlitsch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the date of use, in addition to the time of use, in the schedule, as including dates would allow for variation in the schedule dependent on the day of the week, and not just the time of day, and a detailed schedule would further conserve power.
Regarding claim 10, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method of operating an image display device according to claim 8, however, Yanagihara and Konosu fail to disclose wherein the use schedule includes a date of use. In a similar field of endeavor, Ferlitsch teaches a method and system for managing power in an environment based on individual person’s schedule, further teaching wherein the schedule includes the certain times and dates, wherein if the current time and date is within a scheduled period, a device may be placed in a reduced power state (power manager 130 under processor controls maintains schedule database for individual workers, worker schedule includes work hours and days of the week [0004, 0042-0043], devices such as PC may be put into standby or deep sleep state, more generally scheduled event list includes for each scheduled event, an event start time, an event end time and power state adjustment instructions [0043]). In view of Ferlitsch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the date of use, in addition to the time of use, in the schedule, as including dates would allow for variation in the schedule dependent on the day of the week, and not just the time of day, and a detailed schedule would further conserve power.
Regarding claim 17, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the endoscope according to claim 15, however, Yanagihara and Konosu fail to disclose wherein the use schedule includes a date of use. In a similar field of endeavor, Ferlitsch teaches a method and system for managing power in an environment based on individual person’s schedule, further teaching wherein the schedule includes the certain times and dates, wherein if the current time and date is within a scheduled period, a device may be placed in a reduced power state (power manager 130 under processor controls maintains schedule database for individual workers, worker schedule includes work hours and days of the week [0004, 0042-0043], devices such as PC may be put into standby or deep sleep state, more generally scheduled event list includes for each scheduled event, an event start time, an event end time and power state adjustment instructions [0043]). In view of Ferlitsch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the date of use, in addition to the time of use, in the schedule, as including dates would allow for variation in the schedule dependent on the day of the week, and not just the time of day, and a detailed schedule would further conserve power.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara in view of Konosu and Kaib et al. (US2017/0003356).
Regarding claim 4, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to switch the control mode to the third standby mode, in a case where a discharge time after the battery is fully charged exceeds a first amount of time. In a similar field of endeavor, Kaib teaches a medical device comprising a battery (batteries 53 of battery park 45 [0120]) and a processor (controller 46 [0152]), wherein the processor switches a control mode from a normal operating mode to a lower power operating mode, dependent on battery condition ([0152]). Kaib further teaches wherein in a case where a discharge time after the battery is fully charged exceeds a first amount of time, the device enters a low power mode (Fig. 6: enter low power operating mode based on monitored battery condition, monitored battery condition determines battery life status [0152]; battery life status includes remaining amount of battery charge in the present battery charge-discharge cycle [0153]; battery life status identified can include an amount of time, or a number of charge-discharge cycles remaining or an elapsed or remaining number of ampere-hours [0214]; controller 46 can be configured to track the total amount of time each battery has been in use to determine if the use has reached a threshold time or time interval, controlled 46 can enter low power mode [0160]). Yanagihara, modified by Konosu and Kaib, teaches wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a lower power operating mode that consumes even less power than the current mode when a discharge time has passed a predetermined first period of time. In view of Kaib, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the low power operating mode condition dependent on discharge time, as taught by Kaib, to the device of Yanagihara, as it is known in the medical field that entering a low power operating mode, lower than the current operating mode, after passing a discharge time threshold will reduce power consumption prolonging the life of the battery and device.
Regarding claim 11, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method for operating an image display device according to claim 8, but fails to disclose the method comprising: switching the control mode to a third standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in the second standby mode, in a case where a discharge time of the battery after the battery is fully charged exceeds a first amount of time. In a similar field of endeavor, Kaib teaches a medical device comprising a battery (batteries 53 of battery park 45 [0120]) and a processor (controller 46 [0152]), wherein the processor switches a control mode from a normal operating mode to a lower power operating mode, dependent on battery condition ([0152]). Kaib further teaches wherein in a case where a discharge time after the battery is fully charged exceeds a first amount of time, the device enters a low power mode (Fig. 6: enter low power operating mode based on monitored battery condition, monitored battery condition determines battery life status [0152]; battery life status includes remaining amount of battery charge in the present battery charge-discharge cycle [0153]; battery life status identified can include an amount of time, or a number of charge-discharge cycles remaining or an elapsed or remaining number of ampere-hours [0214]; controller 46 can be configured to track the total amount of time each battery has been in use to determine if the use has reached a threshold time or time interval, controlled 46 can enter low power mode [0160]). Yanagihara, modified by Konosu and Kaib, teaches wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a lower power operating mode that consumes even less power than the current mode when a discharge time has passed a predetermined first period of time. In view of Kaib, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the low power operating mode condition dependent on discharge time, as taught by Kaib, to the device of Yanagihara, as it is known in the medical field that entering a low power operating mode, lower than the current operating mode, after passing a discharge time threshold will reduce power consumption prolonging the life of the battery and device.
Regarding claim 18, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the endoscope system according to claim 15. While Yanagihara teaches wherein the battery capacity is checked against a second remaining capacity (Fig. 16: battery level is compared to lower threshold in step S27 [0120]), Yanagihara fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to switch the control mode to a third standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in the second standby mode, in a case where the discharge time exceeds a first amount of time. In a similar field of endeavor, Kaib teaches a medical device comprising a battery (batteries 53 of battery park 45 [0120]) and a processor (controller 46 [0152]), wherein the processor switches a control mode from a normal operating mode to a lower power operating mode, dependent on battery condition ([0152]). Kaib further teaches wherein in a case where a discharge time after the battery is fully charged exceeds a first amount of time, the device enters a low power mode (Fig. 6: enter low power operating mode based on monitored battery condition, monitored battery condition determines battery life status [0152]; battery life status includes remaining amount of battery charge in the present battery charge-discharge cycle [0153]; battery life status identified can include an amount of time, or a number of charge-discharge cycles remaining or an elapsed or remaining number of ampere-hours [0214]; controller 46 can be configured to track the total amount of time each battery has been in use to determine if the use has reached a threshold time or time interval, controlled 46 can enter low power mode [0160]). Yanagihara, modified by Konosu and Kaib, teaches wherein, whether clock time of the device is within or outside the period of a use schedule, to reduce the battery consumption by switching to a lower power operating mode that consumes even less power than the current mode when a discharge time has passed a predetermined first period of time. In view of Kaib, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the low power operating mode condition dependent on discharge time, as taught by Kaib, to the device of Yanagihara, as it is known in the medical field that entering a low power operating mode, lower than the current operating mode, after passing a discharge time threshold will reduce power consumption prolonging the life of the battery and device.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara in view of Konosu and Lin et al. (US2019/0247162).
Regarding claim 5, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the image display device according to claim 1, but fails to further disclose the device comprising: a sensor configured to detect movement, wherein the plurality of standby modes includes a third standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in the second standby mode, and the processor is configured to swtich the control mode to the third standby mode during the movement. In a similar field of endeavor, Lin teaches an intraoral scanner (intraoral scanner 1 [0020]) comprising a power supply (power supply may be battery [0021]), a processor (processor 18 for processing and controlling data calculating/processing function [0021]), and a motion sensor for sensing three motion variations corresponding to three axes according to a motion state of the intraoral scanner ([abstract]). Lin further teaches the sensor configured to detect movement, wherein when movement has been detected, the intraoral scanner is set to a standby mode in which a power consumption is set lower than the power consumption of the current mode (when processor 18 determine that all three motion variations are larger than the first three variation thresholds, it means that the intraoral scanner 1 is shaking violently, thus the intraoral scanner is placed in an idle state [0028], if blur threshold is exceeded, processor 18 will disable the image sensor or the projection module [0039]). The movement detection over a certain movement threshold feature could indicate blurry images captured, therefore placing the device into an idle mode, consuming less power by disabling the image sensor or projection module, would conserve battery power without capturing unnecessary blurry images. In view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included the movement detection feature of Lin, to the system of Yanagihara, to prevent capturing unnecessary blurry images and wastefully consuming battery power.
Regarding claim 12, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the method for operating an image display device according to claim 8, but fails to disclose the method further comprising: switching the control mode to a third standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in the second standby mode, in a case of movement, according to a detection result of a sensor which detects the movement. In a similar field of endeavor, Lin teaches an intraoral scanner (intraoral scanner 1 [0020]) comprising a power supply (power supply may be battery [0021]), a processor (processor 18 for processing and controlling data calculating/processing function [0021]), and a motion sensor for sensing three motion variations corresponding to three axes according to a motion state of the intraoral scanner ([abstract]). Lin further teaches the sensor configured to detect movement, wherein when movement has been detected, the intraoral scanner is set to a standby mode in which a power consumption is set lower than the power consumption of the current mode (when processor 18 determine that all three motion variations are larger than the first three variation thresholds, it means that the intraoral scanner 1 is shaking violently, thus the intraoral scanner is placed in an idle state [0028], if blur threshold is exceeded, processor 18 will disable the image sensor or the projection module [0039]). The movement detection over a certain movement threshold feature could indicate blurry images captured, therefore placing the device into an idle mode, consuming less power by disabling the image sensor or projection module, would conserve battery power without capturing unnecessary blurry images. In view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included the movement detection feature of Lin, to the system of Yanagihara, to prevent capturing unnecessary blurry images and wastefully consuming battery power.
Regarding claim 19, Yanagihara, modified by Konosu, discloses the endoscope system according to claim 15, but fails to disclose wherein the image display device further comprises a sensor configured to detect movement, and the processor configured to switch the control mode to a third standby mode in which the power consumption is set to be lower than in the second standby mode, during the movement. In a similar field of endeavor, Lin teaches an intraoral scanner (intraoral scanner 1 [0020]) comprising a power supply (power supply may be battery [0021]), a processor (processor 18 for processing and controlling data calculating/processing function [0021]), and a motion sensor for sensing three motion variations corresponding to three axes according to a motion state of the intraoral scanner ([abstract]). Lin further teaches the sensor configured to detect movement, wherein when movement has been detected, the intraoral scanner is set to a standby mode in which a power consumption is set lower than the power consumption of the current mode (when processor 18 determine that all three motion variations are larger than the first three variation thresholds, it means that the intraoral scanner 1 is shaking violently, thus the intraoral scanner is placed in an idle state [0028], if blur threshold is exceeded, processor 18 will disable the image sensor or the projection module [0039]). The movement detection over a certain movement threshold feature could indicate blurry images captured, therefore placing the device into an idle mode, consuming less power by disabling the image sensor or projection module, would conserve battery power without capturing unnecessary blurry images. In view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included the movement detection feature of Lin, to the system of Yanagihara, to prevent capturing unnecessary blurry images and wastefully consuming battery power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 16, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Konosu.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
4/6/26