DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2004/0196724 A1), and further in view of Chhabra et al. (US 2022/0199629 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a device comprising:
a power-gate structure configured to selectively cut-off power to power-gated circuitry, the power-gate structure having a header transistor and a footer transistor (Fig. 3, the power-gate structure comprises the header transistor 312 and footer transistor 322. The power-gate structure selectively cut-off power to the power-gated circuitry 330),
wherein the header transistor is coupled between a positive voltage supply and a first intermediate voltage supply based on the positive voltage supply (header transistor 312 is coupled between a positive voltage supply VDD and a first intermediate voltage supply Vload),
wherein the footer transistor is coupled between a ground voltage supply and a second intermediate voltage supply based on the ground voltage supply (footer transistor 322 is coupled between the ground voltage supply GND and the second intermediate voltage supply Virtual GND),
the header transistor comprises a P-type transistor (header transistor 312 is P-type transistor),
the footer transistor comprises an N-type transistor (Footer transistor 322 is N-type transistor), and
Chen is silent in teaching header transistor and the footer transistor are formed with a complementary field effect transistor (CFET) technology such that the P-type transistor is physically disposed on the N-type transistor in a P-over-N (PN) configuration or such that the N-type transistor is physically disposed on the P-type transistor in an N-over-P (NP) configuration.
Chhabra teaches the first transistor and the second transistor are formed with a complementary field effect transistor (CFET) technology such that the P-type transistor is physically disposed on the N-type transistor in a P-over-N (PN) configuration or such that the N-type transistor is physically disposed on the P-type transistor in an N-over-P (NP) configuration (The semiconductor is fabricated using complimentary FET (CFET), ¶0011).
It would have been obvious to a person with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use complementary field effect transistor (CFET) technology such that the P-type transistor is physically disposed on the N-type transistor in a P-over-N (PN) configuration or such that the N-type transistor is physically disposed on the P-type transistor in an N-over-P (NP) configuration in order to reduce the size of the area used for the fabrication which will help increase the density for the memory device.
Regarding claim 13, Chhabra further teaches the device of claim 12, wherein the first transistor and the second transistor have a split-gate configuration such that a gate of the first transistor is coupled to a header control signal and such that a gate of the second transistor is coupled to a footer control signal that is different than the header control signal (Fig. 2A, the gate for T2 and T3 can be split gate configuration. In additional, when T5 is ON, the ground voltage, which is the third voltage node, will be provided to the gate for T2 and T3. The ground voltage can be considered a control signal).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the device of claim 12, wherein: a header control signal is coupled to a gate of the header transistor, and the header transistor operates to power-gate a circuit by way of the header control signal that is used to activate and deactivate the header transistor (
P
D
controls the header transistor 312 to activate and deactivate the header transistor)
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the device of claim 12, wherein: a footer control signal is coupled to a gate of the footer transistor, and the footer transistor operates to power-gate a circuit by way of the footer control signal that is used to activate and deactivate the footer transistor (Pd controls the footer transistor 322 to activate and deactivate the footer transistor).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the device of claim 12, wherein: a header control signal is coupled to a gate of the header transistor, and the header transistor operates to power-gate a first circuit by way of the header control signal that is used to activate and deactivate the header transistor (
P
D
controls the header transistor 312 to activate and deactivate the header transistor to operate the power-gate circuit 354), wherein: a footer control signal is coupled to a gate of the footer transistor, and the footer transistor operates to power-gate a second circuit by way of the footer control signal that is used to activate and deactivate the footer transistor, and the second circuit is different from the first circuit (Pd controls the footer transistor 322 to activate and deactivate the footer transistor to operate the power-gate circuit 352, which is different than the first circuit 354).
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the device of claim 12, wherein the power-gate structure is configured to selectively provide or cut-off the first intermediate voltage supply or the second intermediate voltage supply to the power-gated circuitry (Fig. 3, transistors 312 and 322 selectively provide or cut-off the first intermediate voltage supply or the second intermediate voltage supply to the power-gated circuitry).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-11, 18-21 and 23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
After further search and consideration it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipated nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach, the following limitation(s) in combination with the remaining claimed limitation:
With regards to claim 1, a power-gate structure configured to selectively cut-off power to power-gated circuitry, the power-gate structure having multiple transistors including a first transistor and a second transistor, wherein the first transistor is coupled between a first voltage node and a second voltage node, wherein the second transistor is coupled between the second voltage node and a third voltage node that is directly coupled to the second voltage node, wherein the first transistor comprises a P-type transistor, wherein the second transistor comprises an N-type transistor.
With regards to claim 18, coupling a first transistor of a power-gate structure between a first voltage node and a second voltage node, wherein the power-gate structure is configured to selectively cut-off power to power-gated circuitry: coupling a second transistor of the power-gate structure between the second voltage node and a third voltage node; directly coupling the second voltage node to the third voltage node, wherein the first transistor comprises a P-type transistor, wherein the second transistor comprises an N-type transistor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-16 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824